More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.81

Awesome37.69%
Worth A Look: 30.22%
Average: 14.18%
Pretty Bad: 11.19%
Total Crap: 6.72%

12 reviews, 196 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Leatherface (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Jay Seaver

Abracadabra by Jay Seaver

Dead Shack by Jay Seaver

Lowlife (2017) by Jay Seaver

24X36: A Movie About Movie Posters by Rob Gonsalves

War for the Planet of the Apes by Rob Gonsalves

Colossal by Rob Gonsalves

Dark Tower, The by Rob Gonsalves

Alien: Covenant by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


American Psycho
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by John Linton Roberson

"Do We Need Reminding Yuppies Are Evil? Yes."
5 stars

THIS IS NOT A HORROR FILM. The Eighties. God, how I hated living through that decade. Untrammeled greed, minimalism, banal music everywhere you turned, women treated like absolute shit, and snobbery based upon the level of one's material comforts. And absolute blindness to evil. Come to think of it, much of that could still be said, and always could be. But pride in greed, which we still live with, reached a point of true malevolence in that decade in a way so obvious it screamed to be impaled.

Bret Easton Ellis often gets a bad rap because he presented the Eighties as it was without casting any moral judgement besides that which was implicit in the description itself. Which made people think he saw nothing wrong with it, which only goes to show how literal-minded and dumb most Americans are.

But the best form of satire is, as David Byrne once observed, that which lets the target speak in its own words and hang itself thereby. If your subject is horrible enough, its own rancid viewpoint, presented clearly, should be sufficient. However, most satire--especially nowadays, and indeed for the past ten years--is so obsessed with pushing its moral viewpoint and not having the public mistake the target's viewpoint for the author's that it feels the need to moralize and tell the audience it's bad. But then, everyone wants to be liked. To his credit, Ellis doesn't care.

But look at Ellis' subjects--spoiled cokeheaded SoCal youth, materially obsessed misogynist yuppies, etc. His technique was always letting them describe their worlds, with no obvious input on his part. Readers reacted in disgust, as they were meant to. But the disgust was usually misdirected at Ellis himself, which is the risk one runs when writing hard satire; as though Ellis was somehow describing himself and didn't understand the evil of what he was saying. In retrospect, though, one finds that Ellis is the only writer of the 80s literary brat pack whose work still holds up. Like him or hate him, Ellis captured the loathsome soul--or rather, lack thereof--of a decade where we became hard, cold, hateful, and where every human relationship, in reaction to the admittedly sometimes nauseating warm fuzziness of the nonmaterialistic hippie culture that had made its way into mainstream thought by then, suddenly was entirely defined by economic relationships. No wonder Marxism was so much more in vogue among the young then. (Now they just want to get into an internet startup)

Look around you. Has the greed abated? Has the obsession with stuff changed? Is corporate culture any weaker? Look at your street outside and the number of SUVs owned by those with no need of them in the face of the highest gas prices. Look at the stock feeding frenzy that blew up in everyone's faces, ironically, the very day this film opened. This is the exact right time to be reminded, which this film does brilliantly. It makes one wonder how this decade escaped this sort of evisceration till now.

(SPOILERS APLENTY FOLLOW!!!)

Patrick Bateman is the soul of the 80s. Mary Harron and Guinevere Turner, here, have made one of the best adaptations of a novel I've seen since Roman Polanski's Rosemary's Baby, but has injected the benefit of hindsight, and brought out the feminism of what is, in fact, an anti-male work.

The story--or rather, portrait; like the book it's mostly plotless--concerns the day-to-day life of Patrick Bateman, a Wall Street investment banker who defines himself, and sizes everyone up, by their clothes or material possessions. We begin with a marvelously witty title sequence with what looks like blood dripping past the credits, only to find that it's sauce for several dishes of that great culinary fleecing of yuppie fools, nouvelle cuisine, eaten by Bateman and his cronies while they(smoking in a restaurant), as throughout the movie, try to better one another like spoiled teenage girls.

A colleague of Bateman's, who seems the token lip-service liberal of the bunch, makes a small noise about the problems of the world(which he gets wrong) which Bateman crushes with a litany of the social problems of the 80s. Which reflects the age perfectly. Remember, there was much public discussion of such things as homelessness, poverty, apartheid, sexism, and all the other things Bateman lists--it being so close to the 60s that one had to at least appear socially concerned(no longer the case, you'll notice). Pop songs, politician's speeches, even Reagan mentioned these things. But it was only lip service. Who was fed by Live Aid? What homeless person was housed by Hands Across America? But yuppies felt that, by being aware alone of these things, they remained human. But this appearance of concern was meaningless.

Then we see Bateman in his morning grooming ritual, using every Por Homme emollient, exfoliant, and mask to keep his skin smooth and perfect, explaining in a voice-over every single product he uses, every brand nane he owns, and we find that this is in fact his definition of his personality. We see him on the floor of his sterile white-and-chrome airless and perfect apartment(the production designers are the most brilliant personnel involved; the look is perfectly resonant of the design trends of the 80s, as is the costume design. But much of their work was done for them; the book describes everything specifically down to the weave of Bateman's Cerruti suits)doing a thousand stomach crunches to anal-porn videos and, at one point, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Then he plows into his office, blocking out everyone on the way in(as he blocks out his fiancee Evelyn later when she's discussing marriage) with his Walkman, playing "Walking on Sunshine." He blocks out the world. Wayfarers, Walkmans, cold hard decor--blocking out all human beings and, indeed, the humanity in oneself. If you were around then you remember this. Inhumanity as lifestyle choice.

The first murder he commits is on a helpless homeless man who he chooses to berate and lecture to find a job, and tell how bad he smells and such, prior to stabbing him to death and stomping his dog to death. In this scene we see, better than any other, not just Bateman's evil but the evil inside every yuppie. Didn't you always suspect they wanted to do just this? The cruelty of Bateman in this scene is merely an exaggerated, blatant expression of the odious contempt of all his kind against the victims of society they helped create. (Remember how Trump helped cause much of the homelessness of NYC then) Kick a man till he's down, then blame him for not being able to get up once you've crippled him. That was what the Batemans did to guys like this one, and the image presented in this scene alone is so precisely searing it almost tops all else in the film. Its satire is of a level with Swift's Modest Proposal. And just as grisly.

He screams at anyone who gets in his way like the entire world was populated by his servants. He snottily orders his secretary Jean(played beautifully by Chloe Sevigny) to dress in a more feminine way(it's hard to remember now, but there was a reason for the hysteria about sexual harassment at the end of the 80s--ten years of concentrated condescension will do that). He fucks his mistress for a few seconds and then dresses and leaves, speaking to her no differently than to the prostitutes he picks up and abuses, and sometimes kills. He is the Evil White Male you've heard tell of, the reason for the PC reaction of the early 90s. Suddenly I remembered the reason for the rage that came to a head in the Anita Hill hearings.

He hates women as most of his ilk did in the 80s, laughing--phallic cigars prominently displayed--with his friends that there is "no such thing as a woman with a good personality." To him and his friends, women are, at best, cum-receptacles. In his case, at worst, they're something to kill, to rape, to cut up, even to consume. (Very little of which, BTW, is seen in the film) He is hateful and you despise him from the first moment you see him. Christian Bale's tour-de-force performance is so good you can bet he'll not get a single Oscar for it. He is Bateman through and through, making no concessions to likeability, playing this soulless bastard deliciously to the absolute hilt. Than God Leonardo DiCaprio wasn't cast; then one might unintentionally sympathize with Bateman. Bale gives us a hard, cold, unreadable man with nothing inside him, who is capable of seeing as much significance in Huey Lewis and the News as Griel Marcus might see in Bob Dylan. Soulless music for a soulless man. Bale is absolutely astounding throughout, and I'll be very surprised if he doesn't turn out to be one of the best actors in film very soon. The horrid prep-school sneering voice, the stiff gait, the contemptuous and smug expressions are all dead-on and painfully yuppie. I particularly liked the hilarious scene in which Bateman almost strangles a closeted gay colleague, only to find the guy thinks Bateman's coming on to him. Bateman's face is drenched in homophobic panic and he runs, apparently less worried about killing than that someone might(horrors!) think he's gay.

Harron has done a beautiful job integrating the funniest sections of the book--Bateman's heartfelt reviews of the ouvres of Genesis, Whitney Houston, and most especially the ultra-banal, ultra-yuppie Huey Lewis. (When I read that chapter in the book, I was shocked how many albums that idiot had actually put out and how many songs I'd thought were the same song were in fact different) In the novel they follow the killings, as though he tranquilizes his rages with this banal yuppie-pop. In the film, he speaks them out loud to his victims prior to killing them. (This and "I'm going to return some videotapes" are the signals throughout someone will die) The murder of his rival Paul Allen(who constantly thinks he's another of his interchangeable colleagues, as happens to Bateman throughout; none seem to recognize any difference between one another and it's a good running gag) is the first and best of these, as he reflects on the beauty of "Hip To Be Square" and its personal statement celebrating conformity before chopping off his head. (Reason? Because Allen has a better business card than he. His rage when he sees the card is a masterpiece of petty angered privilege in all its queeny glory; the audience couldn;t stop laughing at this when I saw it) The scene is hilarious, though I could've done without the little jig Bale does before killing Allen. Interestingly, it's quite similar to the notorious "Singin' In the Rain" scene in A Clockwork Orange, both in the juxtaposition of a banal song with a violent act and in the amusing behavior of Bateman(Bale is very funny in this scene) contrasted with the grotesquerie of his target. It's the only time you are glad to see one of his victims die; Allen(Paul Owen in the book) is an even worse dickhead than Bateman.

Harron has done a splendid job of integrating one aspect the book--because it's from Bateman's perspective--lacks; the personalities of the women. From Bateman's mistress to (most particularly) the doomed, sad, and absolutely unromanticized prostitute he first beats and later drops a chainsaw upon from several floors up, we see the humanity in these women(especially contrasted to Bateman's inhumanity) which makes his cold misogyny all the more apparent. Cara Seymour's hooker character particularly stands out. The second time Bateman finds her on the street(in the rain, with her looking cold, miserable, desperate and hungry, not the usual hooker-with-a-heart-of-gold Hollywood--most odiously Woody Allen--still shows us), she doesn't want to get in, having been very badly injuried by him the past occasion. He rides alongside, dagling a huge amount of money, whistling at her as to a dog. You see the humiliation in her face as she accepts(which ultimately dooms her) as you can tell she's poor and hungry and has little choice; she's as much victimized societally as the homeless man, and people like Bateman are allowed to feed off all these wretched of New York at will, just like a Victorian Lord exploiting child prostitutes. Cara Seymour deserves a supporting award for this part; she's brilliant. Almost a symbol in a nutshell of everything the Batemans of the world did to the poor, and to women, with no fear of punishment. Because they could.

Much has been made of whether the murders really occur or are merely in Bateman's mind. Toward the end, for instance, Bateman receives a message from an ATM telling him to feed it a cat. Following is a scene where he shoots everyone he comes across on the street, culminating in a shootout with the cops which ends with the cars exploding(and hilariously, his setting off every BMW car alarm in his path as he runs as a diversion), like in a typical Hollywood film, but this is absurd and even Bateman notices it. This may be hallucinatory. But then he goes to Allen's apartment(to his chagrin, better than his own) where the corpses are kept, only to find it spotless, newly painted, and being shown to new tenants.

Some might take it as a clue the murders are all in his mind. But a deeper, more disturbing point may be discerned in the cold, seeming-to-know-something look of the realtor as she ejects him. The murders did occur. The bodies were there. But the importance of that pales beside the prospect of the realtor never being able to rent this prime apartment again because of its recent past. The implication is that the murders are kept quiet and ignored in this case just so as not to ruin the apartment's value. People are more dispensable than money. There's the 80s in a nutshell.

As I mentioned, the production design is flawless, as is the cold cinematography and excellent script by Turner(who is very funny as a coked-out yuppie whom Bateman later kills, a part she demanded to play because she and the character both attended Sarah Lawrence; a joke is made that all SL grads are lesbians, which Turner herself, of course, is) Toward the end we see Reagan speaking, and we notice how similar he and Bateman really are, in looking normal outside and having nothing--NOTHING--underneath.

This film is a triumph, and the best released this year. Its guts and humor(this film is laugh-out-loud funny straight through) put all Hollywood product to shame. See it. If you hate yuppies, you'll remember why. If you are one...you may reform.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1380&reviewer=151
originally posted: 04/16/00 09:21:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell overrated BALE IS GOOD NOTHING ELSE IS 1 stars
3/31/17 Fire WithFire Bret Ellis' knee-jerk paranoia of what was in the souls and minds of Reagan voters 1 stars
3/22/17 Louise (the real one) I found it seriously underwhelming and forgettable 3 stars
5/30/12 Sabrina Don't just stare at it, EAT IT. www.boldstriped.com 5 stars
5/30/12 Patrick Bateman I have to return some videotapes... boldstriped.com 5 stars
6/13/11 art this flick is NIFTY, everone is COOL!,from Christian BALE to GUINEVERE Turner! 4 stars
6/13/10 art BALE was GRAND as a SICKO,SEVIGNy sUPER as his HELPER, SEYMOUR great as a drifter. 5 stars
6/06/10 User Name Funny and frightening. 3 stars
6/05/10 art AN EXTRAORDINAIRY STORY about a MANIAC,CHLOE SEVIGNY WAS GREAT in her supporting role! 4 stars
3/18/10 PAUL SHORTT INTENSE, NASTY PORTRAIT OF A SELF-OBSESSED, PSYCHOTIC MAN 2 stars
3/12/10 Tony amazing acting display by Bale in Chinese Laundry showing every emotion possible 5 stars
1/02/10 Lola Excellent film made brilliant by Bale. Best actor of this generation. Leo who?. 5 stars
10/21/09 camaysar Bale's phone confession to his lawyer - amazing display of acting. 5 stars
7/06/09 Jessi I was bored throughout the film. I can't even watch Christian Bale movies anymore. 1 stars
3/17/09 :] this movie inspires serial killers 4 stars
2/27/09 matt Brilliant deadpan performance by Bale. A masterpiece of black comedy. 5 stars
1/08/09 Princess Christian Bale freaked me out like crazy in this!! 4 stars
6/22/08 David Kind of a guilty pleasure, but still a very good movie. 4 stars
8/03/07 itchmr well conceived, gory, sadistic inner fantasy 3 stars
7/30/07 Pipes! An excellent look into 80's lifestyle and a hilarious view into a psycho mind! 5 stars
6/06/07 David Pollastrini very well done 5 stars
4/17/07 Chris Redmond Magnificent performance by Bale. A hilarious satire of a very materialistic era. 5 stars
4/03/07 lisa bale was AMAZING. funny, yet made me think that the 80s isnt dissimilar to now-scary... 5 stars
3/29/07 Double M Bale didn't get *at least* an oscar nom!! now things like that hurts the oscars credibility 5 stars
2/01/07 William Goss A good movie with a great performance by Bale. Ending mildly stumbles. 4 stars
12/30/06 AJ Muller Hilarious satire in one way; psychologically chilling in another. Bale is simply on fire. 5 stars
7/13/06 Agent Sands Fantastic performance from Bale. Not one dull moment. 4 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Bale is beyond brilliant here. The film just slightly less good than he. 5 stars
2/24/06 omar kinda gives out in the end but otherwise a good movie 3 stars
12/03/05 Jesse This is not an exit 5 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. The scene with "Hip to be Square" playing in the background was hilarious! 3 stars
11/16/05 JamesKenobi Absolutely and unoquivically brilliant. 5 stars
11/13/05 Elitza Loved it. 4 stars
10/12/05 DennyRoss Dark Murder/Satire that keeps you guessing! 5 stars
6/14/05 K. Sear Cheesy, strange, chilling and erudite. An excellent movie. 5 stars
6/08/05 Indrid Cold An entertaining but unsatisfying black comedy/thriller. 4 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Bale makes this film work. Disturbing, hilarious and unforgettable. Loved it. 5 stars
3/15/05 Ronin Surprisingly good 4 stars
1/27/05 Evan I enjoyed it! 4 stars
1/18/05 Stefan Halka Nothing special. Just a decent slasher set in the '80s yuppie world. 3 stars
11/10/04 atanu pretty darn good 5 stars
9/25/04 Vicious The best of dark, dark comedy. I empathise with bateman a little, the pain of emptyness. 5 stars
8/30/04 Sonia Excellent Satire! 5 stars
7/13/04 Nick Martin Reviewer missed the whole point 4 stars
6/04/04 Stab Wounds Not the greatest thing since sliced bread... 3 stars
5/11/04 Josh Best Social Satire about Corporate Clones 5 stars
4/26/04 donna funny.gory but not overdone. Bale was hot! 5 stars
2/24/04 Jonni American society at its best. Very Funny 5 stars
1/22/04 falamor Kool i liked this movie 5 stars
11/08/03 Wynne Plenty of reviewers missed the subtle nuances. Good to see not everyone is Ebert-dense. 5 stars
10/24/03 Josh Standlee As "restricted" as movies get, but I liked it anyway. 5 stars
9/12/03 the lord sheer brilliance - p. bateman is a hero. if you disagree, your opinion is worthless. 5 stars
7/10/03 Jim WTF just happened? 4 stars
6/19/03 Lush The shift in tone towards then end seems out of place, but Bale is superb. 4 stars
6/14/03 Alice Read the book. 2 stars
5/28/03 k-dog hbk 5 stars
5/01/03 Andrew Carden Clever, but Stupid Horror/Comedy With A Horrid Screenplay. Bale Is OK. 2 stars
4/11/03 Ross Bernard Didn't make a whole lot of sense but pretty good acting 4 stars
3/10/03 Jack Sommersby An imaginative and wickedly funny black comedy. Bale is outstanding. 4 stars
2/22/03 R.W. Welch Indeterminate exercise with loose ends everywhere. Interesting as a curiosity. 3 stars
10/30/02 Patrick ladies and gentlemen; "The American Psycho" 5 stars
10/08/02 Dave Top Film..the book was even better 5 stars
9/11/02 Francofile It's sick, but I'd watch Christian Bale eat human brains with chopsticks. 3 stars
8/31/02 Jennifer Intense! Think about this: what really happened? Separate reality from delusions. Lost? 5 stars
8/08/02 Caiphn One of my favorite films. 5 stars
8/05/02 Charles Tatum Flubbed ending, but Bale deserved an Oscar 4 stars
7/31/02 KMG WHOA.....BALE MUST'VE WORKED OUT.......OOOOOOH... 4 stars
7/28/02 John Roberson Even better after the stock market crashing, isn't it? 5 stars
6/09/02 Gummibear X I went crazy after watchin this movie... donno why, but I wanna kill... 3 stars
5/27/02 Nicole What a sick, twisted movie 4 stars
5/14/02 Danielle Ophelia The screenwriters and the director really GOT the book's satirical edge. Huzzah!! 4 stars
4/30/02 Caiphn Worth buying. 5 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress I was oddly intrigued but not necessarily entertained. Fell short with lack of substance. 4 stars
1/06/02 FGJ180 Smug satire, watch Fight Club, and realize, we have no right to act smug towards the past. 2 stars
12/25/01 Connoisseur entertaining but not substantial 3 stars
10/25/01 Bill Gains Hi-larious! 5 stars
10/17/01 jawsboy why would you do that, bonar?. 4 stars
10/02/01 HM3 Frightenly dull. 2 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Bale was great! This movie was cool! 4 stars
8/25/01 Zipperneck Unique. Dark. Bale is a treat to watch in a maniacal, over the top way. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Different in the best ways possible...I loved it. 5 stars
7/14/01 JT Interesting idea loses steam quickly 3 stars
6/27/01 Not bad Not a bad movie at all. Bale is convincing, but script does no justice 3 stars
6/02/01 javiero bonar i would rather cut off my penis than see this movie ever again 1 stars
5/21/01 mn ??? 3 stars
5/21/01 Monster W. Kung Lacks everything that made Fight Club so powerful, and it becomes often phony. 3 stars
4/17/01 Dan Intense, Exciting, Thought Provoking 5 stars
4/16/01 Tam Disturbing and glamorous, but OTT at times. 4 stars
4/15/01 GeorgE McCaul CRAP CRAP CRAP!!!!!! God, I was never so happy because a movie ended. 1 stars
4/06/01 Jesse L Can't comment now - I have to return some video tapes... 5 stars
3/21/01 rebbi stein One of the best movies of the year 5 stars
2/17/01 Egg36 Great satire of 1990s commercialism 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi READ THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
2/11/01 Bender Without Christian Bale, this movie is coma-inducing. 3 stars
1/30/01 John Distrubing and dark look into the status question in socitey. 4 stars
1/13/01 Invader This movie I liked but it seemed to more about fashion and status than serial killing 4 stars
12/03/00 David Murrell Funny, 80s pisstake 5 stars
11/20/00 natasha good-- if you want to live in this character's mind for a couple of hours 4 stars
11/02/00 Mike Great 80's millieu - lousy ending. Rent it as a background party flick. 3 stars
10/31/00 marsh one of the most subtle, disturbing movies i've ever seen. not everyone will 'get it't' 5 stars
10/16/00 TIM EXTREMELY POINTLESS... ESCEPT FOR BALE>>> GOD HES HOT!! 1 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero sick ending, too much gore and blood 3 stars
9/12/00 Monday Morning Hilarious pretentiousness countered by too-extreme violence, lame ending. 3 stars
9/10/00 Rosalie Coleman I kept looking for the point, I never found it. 2 stars
8/24/00 TIGGER BEST MOVIE! 5 stars
8/23/00 Geoff Stewart "Damn good, damn funny, serial killers don't get any funnier than this! 5 stars
8/13/00 Belinda You can be psycho without having to chop people up. Could have been better. 3 stars
8/09/00 Dan Baar BEST FILM OF THE YEAR!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/05/00 Viking About as edifying as "Mein Kampf" 2 stars
7/17/00 perverted pixie Disturbingly funny, with Bale's Bateman just as pircing as Lili Taylor's Valerie. 5 stars
7/10/00 Andrew J. Bale deserves an Oscar. Prolly won't get a nom, though. 5 stars
6/22/00 A delightful romp that any Huey Lewis, Phil Collins/Genesis, Robert Palmer, or Whitney Houston fan simply MUST see!! 4 stars
6/20/00 Ulatekk Total bullshit ending!!! 3 stars
6/13/00 DAVID Movie was really good but i must say its not as violent as people say!! 4 stars
5/27/00 Jaime N. Christley It's as vapid as the lifestyle it satirizes. Christian Bale is extraordinary, however. 2 stars
5/22/00 Obi Wan What da fuck was this shit??? It had a few laffs but did this get chopped up? 2 stars
5/21/00 Cinesuerte Great Dick flick 4 stars
5/20/00 Bueller Serial killers just aren't as funny as they used to be. Pretty much wastes Bales talents. 2 stars
5/17/00 swan bale is brilliant 4 stars
5/13/00 Zeitgeist brilliant satire, great acting, totally mind-fucking experience 5 stars
5/10/00 Heather A great piece of societal commentary. Harron scores again 5 stars
5/09/00 bart Perversely entertaining. Great men's product recomenndations. 5 stars
5/08/00 Add Its not about a killer, its all about soceity and the control which the money men have. 5 stars
5/03/00 malcolm utterly ridiculous from top to bottom - esp. the chain saw chase. it doesn't get much worse 1 stars
5/02/00 venicejay made no fucking sense. was there footage left on the cutting room floor? 1 stars
5/02/00 mop Pretty pointless. I was disappointed with Mary Harron, loved I Shot Andy Warhol... 2 stars
5/01/00 perverted pixie Another Harron masterpiece! Christian Bale was so utterly perfect as Bateman! 5 stars
5/01/00 Will excellent adaptation 5 stars
4/30/00 Mortis Ah finally a movie about my decade...it so rocked! 5 stars
4/29/00 john smith awesome flick ... just loved it ... rattling but so finely done and acted ... 5 stars
4/29/00 Richard Wright Didn't like it. Lesso sex scenes interspersed with stupid business card arguments... YAWN! 2 stars
4/29/00 Pansy big fat hairy deal, wasted movie, ridiculously done 2 stars
4/28/00 lu-cartei You can't but symphatize with a psycho. 5 stars
4/26/00 Randall I must have missed something 2 stars
4/25/00 Bueller Talk about your dark comedy. But then, what's so funny about mass murder? Oh yeah, nothing! 3 stars
4/25/00 bart even better after a 2nd viewing 5 stars
4/24/00 bill benzon so what? 2 stars
4/24/00 Marisol C. very dark, absurd, no point, not worth the money, too many raunchy sex scenes. 1 stars
4/22/00 Zeitgeist Brilliant satire, awesome acting..and why is no one mentioning the mind-blowing ending? 5 stars
4/20/00 Brett Good solid movie -- good acting, neat camera work, and a literary plot! Solid work. 4 stars
4/19/00 Cyndi B. The use of symbolism and metaphor was brilliant. Fascinating commentary on the 80s. 5 stars
4/19/00 Not David Hasselhoff. The killing lost its disturbingness after the first couple of scenes.End is middle of book. 2 stars
4/19/00 Ben Ryan Totally nowhere. No plot, no care, Useless acting, terrible directing, fucking waste! 1 stars
4/19/00 allan Gorgeous food shots. Hilarious sex scenes. Bale looked like a facial mask. 4 stars
4/18/00 John Roberson What they said... ;) 5 stars
4/18/00 Brien Good Shock Appeal... overdramatic storyline 3 stars
4/18/00 Amber R. Mary Harron is a goddess among directors-Bale is magnificent. The ultimate yuppie scum! 5 stars
4/17/00 Clarence T. Aside from being one of the greatest satires ever made, this movie was funny as hell! 5 stars
4/17/00 PJ not nearly as graphic as it should have been, but it was still great Bale was magnificent 4 stars
4/17/00 Malbert Christian Bale has made an awesome turnaround...other than,a disgusting piece of shit movie 3 stars
4/17/00 Phil Freeman Dark, bitter, and very funny (a little obvious sometimes, though). 4 stars
4/17/00 Mark Williamson The 80's were bad--yes I knew that before I wasted $9.50 on this piece of junk. 1 stars
4/17/00 Sirkka extremely memorable and maniacal 4 stars
4/16/00 lucas jackson it was so gross that it was funny 4 stars
4/16/00 Thor-Leo Unaffecting, unmoving. Chloe Sevigny and Justin Theroux were underused (wasted). 2 stars
4/16/00 Zeitgeist incredible plot twist at the end. brilliant dialogue. great acting by Bale. 5 stars
4/16/00 Mary Ann Coral-Amasifuen Brilliant commentary on the duality of male society in American culture. society 5 stars
4/16/00 Matt Thiel Notice that one of the commentators is from Lion's Gate: Jim Smith (ftp.lionsgatefilms.com) 1 stars
4/16/00 Captain Highcrime A mediocre Anthony Perkins/Jim Carrey impersonation if ever I saw one. 2 stars
4/15/00 "Persnickety" what a masterpiece, all out kick ass movie! 5 stars
4/15/00 Lisa I definitely want to see this one again! 4 stars
4/15/00 JonnyAngel crazy shit, hilarious 4 stars
4/12/00 Dave This film was so bad I left in the middle of it! 1 stars
4/12/00 Mike Worst movie of the year, stay away from this piece of crap! 1 stars
4/05/00 Jim Smith Great Film 5 stars
4/02/00 John Unertl Witty dialogue, great story. 5 stars
3/30/00 DoubleDown A refreshing look at an unlikely psychopath 5 stars
3/29/00 Mike THIS MOVIE SUCKED! 1 stars
3/23/00 Thomas Willads I LOVE this movie! 5 stars
3/22/00 eric masse okay adaptation 3 stars
3/18/00 Pat Suarez Interesting study of reptilian sociopath flawed by inconsistent storyline and editing. 4 stars
3/17/00 james derfield excellent 5 stars
3/16/00 Alex Ioshpe An intelligent, intense and shocking adaption with marvelous preformances. 5 stars
3/14/00 Doug Chapman A brilliant adaptation of one of the best satirical novels in the last decade. 5 stars
3/12/00 Jake Lloyd More interesting than the book. More funny than frightening. Too bad it dies at the end. 4 stars
3/02/00 kim chaney loved it.. witty.. different then book.. but very good 4 stars
2/24/00 randall woolf elegant and funny...inspired 5 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski *Giggle Giggle* This is not an exit...who among us read the book???? 4 stars
1/25/00 Chris Whitney top notch serial killer flick 5 stars
1/24/00 David Williams Saw this at Sundance and it was an awesome satire 5 stars
1/21/00 Fran Chilling view of narcissistic soul freeze. 5 stars
1/19/00 Derek DiCiccio some of you people are very, very sick 1 stars
1/14/00 Bret Easton Ellis I think u are all a pack of blood sucking vampires 1 stars
1/14/00 Max_Fischer I will be among the first to see it-- I have tickets to the premiere at Sundance! 5 stars
1/09/00 Patrick Bateman Awesome film. I can't wait to see it again. 5 stars
1/02/00 Chastity Blevins This movie brings out the serial killer in all of us. 5 stars
12/23/99 Nicki B Can't wait to see if it's as graphic as the book! 5 stars
12/14/99 David Berkowitz This film is filthy, depraved, sick and completely horrible. And I like it!!!! 5 stars
11/23/99 Devon Thank god christian isn't Leo. Christian brings 'great acting', becuase yes, he can act. 5 stars
11/17/99 Fabian DuBois This movie was AMAZING. I was very pleased with the way Harron toned down the violence. 5 stars
11/16/99 miguel angel insaurralde quiero ver escenas del film 5 stars
11/13/99 Patrick Bateman Rad 5 stars
11/01/99 Michael Harris "American Psycho" doesn't top the book it's based on, but what a film. M. Harron:great job! 5 stars
10/30/99 Ahmed Ali DiCaprio as an actor is - 0 ! Christian Bale proved many times that he is great. 4 stars
10/20/99 Mr Miyagi who the f*ck is Leo? Christian plays Patrick and he is a complete geezer 5 stars
10/02/99 Julien Staid I've seen a rough copy of the film and it's quite disappointed. Christian just isn't Leo. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Apr-2000 (R)
  DVD: 21-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Aug-2000 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast