More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.58

Awesome79.49%
Worth A Look: 10.26%
Average: 3.08%
Pretty Bad: 3.59%
Total Crap: 3.59%

5 reviews, 165 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Clockwork Orange, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Matt Mulcahey

"A true rarity: A great book transformed into a great movie"
5 stars

Stanley Kubrick’s seminal masterpiece A Clockwork Orange truly deserves the status of classic. But not because of Kubrick’s masterful blend of music and visuals, John Barry’s opulent, razor-sharp production design, John Alcott’s exquisite, unmistakably Kubrickian cinematography or Malcolm McDowell’s perfect performance.

It is the film’s ability to remain relevant that earns A Clockwok Orange a place among cinema’s greatest achievements. With the statistic recently published that one in 32 American adults is in some stage of the correctional system, Kurbick’s dissection of free will versus the betterment of society, personal rights versus order and the individual versus dehumanizing conformity is even more thought provoking and immediate today than it was thirty years ago.

McDowell plays young hooligan Alex DeLarge, an outwardly pleasant young man with an affinity for Mozart who spends his nights, along with his three droogs Dim, Georgie and Pete, robbing, raping and dishing out a bit of the old ultra-violence to young and old, rich and poor alike. But these Droogs, rebelling against a society they detest, soon rebel against the order instilled by Alex as leader, betraying him and landing Alex a 14-year stay in prison for accidentally murdering a woman with a large ceramic penis.

Alex becomes a pawn of both the government and those who oppose the government when, two years into his sentence, he volunteers to undergo the new Ludivico technique. The revolutionary cure, for all intent and purpose, brainwashes and re-programs criminals to react to sex and violence with a severe sickness. It’s simple Pavlovian cause and effect: Every time Alex feels even the slightest impulse towards brutality or sexuality, he becomes overwhelming nauseous.

A Clockwork Orange asks the question “What are we willing to give up for a better life?” Is trading in our right to choose good or evil too high a price to pay if it means the elimination of violence, hate and crime? Or would that simply make us a society of clockwork oranges, flesh and blood men on the outside but, inside, soulless machines pre-programmed to respond.

As America’s prisons cramp from overcrowding and newscasts are dominated by terrorists and child abductions, Kubrick’s probing conundrum “What liberty would you give up for a quieter, more peaceful existence?” remains unanswered, though the question has never been more relevant.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1382&reviewer=255
originally posted: 09/17/02 16:55:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Philadelphia Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Philadelphia Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell a classic brutal & brilliant 5 stars
5/12/15 Christian Paulson GREAAT! 5 stars
4/06/15 stanley welles a disturbing yet thought-provoking masterpiece 5 stars
4/04/12 Josie Cotton is a goddess Whenever I hear 'Singing In The Rain' i get a nasty feeling in me gutty-whats 5 stars
6/19/11 jennifer b creepy 1 stars
3/01/11 Seventies child I've seen it several times and still can't understand what I'm supposed to like about it. 2 stars
11/12/10 action movie fan typically arty kubrick metaphor but interesting in spots 3 stars
6/01/10 User Name There is Stanley Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange, then there is everything else. 5 stars
3/23/10 Logos A superb film. 5 stars
12/13/09 Michael Jay Very good film for its time, a bit over rated at this point though. 4 stars
9/06/09 Black Leather Rain Still McDowell's greatest work, and laid a foundation for an incredible career. Striking. 5 stars
8/20/09 Jeff Wilder Ironic tense and disturbing. Takes more than one viewing to fully appreciate. 4 stars
6/20/09 art GARBAGE! 1 stars
2/24/09 PAUL SHORTT TECHNICALLY THE FILM IS A MARVEL, BUT ITS ALSO A COLD, DYSTOPIAN NIGHTMARE WITH DARK HUMOR 2 stars
2/19/09 Total Crap Dark. Very dark comedy. Kubrick uses all his famous camera techs in this one. Great! 5 stars
1/28/09 Jon One of my faves very stylized it is a talky film and can be slow but is still great. 5 stars
11/05/08 David One of the greatest films ever, brilliant and darkly comic 5 stars
7/19/08 sebastian Brilliant,twisted black comedy.... 5 stars
7/06/08 Jason Strickland Disturbingly phenomenal film 5 stars
1/25/08 section245 Great bolshy yarblockos my brothers and only friends, this was real horrowshow! 5 stars
11/12/07 Taz Loved it. Thought he didn't do bad by Burgess. 4 stars
10/27/07 Dexter This is Stanley Kubrick's best movie. 5 stars
5/19/07 fools♫gold Hell, a bit better than "Dr. Strangelove" (though I'll change my opinion on that later). 5 stars
5/09/07 Nic personally the cinematogrphy in this film is beyond amazing and Kubrick desrves a medal 5 stars
3/21/07 James Dunn Viddy Well, oh my brothers, or I'll kick you in the Yarbles. If you have any Yarbles! 5 stars
3/16/07 David Cohen One of the few social commentaries that actually became more relavent over time 5 stars
2/18/07 dmitry Kubrick's worst film 2 stars
2/17/07 Tom Fantastic movie. I just met someone who never seen it... 5 stars
2/17/07 G Sherfy Takes multiple viewings to appreciate; at least for me. One of my favorites. 5 stars
2/16/07 cart00n Brilliant book, brilliant movie. A perfect companion piece to "Dr. Strangelove". 5 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 1 stars
10/17/06 Isaac Baranoff Great, great, great. Stanley Kubrick at his best. 5 stars
9/26/06 Aleksandar (www.psmovies.co.sr) Extraordinary. Uniquelly effective dark expressionistic satire 5 stars
5/23/06 Nikki this is my fav movie of all time- its a master piece 5 stars
2/12/06 Maz My favourite film ever 5 stars
11/20/05 John Dog Disturbing, yet brilliant. 5 stars
8/20/05 Randy This was one of the greatest movies i have ever seen. 5 stars
8/06/05 Pierre If you hate this, you're crazy! 5 stars
7/31/05 yuko just, oh my god!! 5 stars
7/10/05 DM Malcolm McDowell is awesome. One of Kubrick's best. 5 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones Lowest budget Appalling Kebab Chute Sludge 1 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Easy to see why it was so shocking at the time, but nothing too special in the MTV era. 4 stars
2/14/05 H.P. Lovecraft simply the best. 5 stars
12/27/04 mjoc One of Kubrick's best. Compelling from start to finish. 5 stars
12/10/04 Yargot It makes me cream my pants everytime 5 stars
11/09/04 SUSAN GREGG Universally and timelessly relevant; Brilliantly wrought; Psychologically troubling . . . 5 stars
11/08/04 Dave Fuk u paranoid american u eat dick, muther fuker, this movie rules 5 stars
11/06/04 One more paranoid American Free will is overrated, artsy-fartsy crap. 1 stars
11/04/04 psycho black dwarf The fear-mongering culture that censored such works as CWO has stolen American politics. 5 stars
10/30/04 ELI Most fucked up movie ever! :) 5 stars
10/14/04 lewis Kubrick is a genius, McDowells best-"and I'll scrap any time you say" great film 5 stars
8/14/04 Mª José this film it's great 5 stars
7/21/04 J Ray A singular film - One of a kind 5 stars
5/21/04 Elena Nothing has ever rivaled the unique boldness of this film 5 stars
2/18/04 Daveman One wouldn't expect much less from Kubrick. Another masterpiece. 5 stars
2/14/04 Nixon good movie, just beyond FUCKED UP.... but it is good 4 stars
1/14/04 sixdoublefivethreetwoone When the Funeral March begins at the Korova and Alex starts to look the cam... MASTERPIECE 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 Everyone must see this! 5 stars
12/04/03 illeana alex is hot and i'm a naughty devotchka i loved it! 5 stars
11/29/03 john the first thirty minutes a perfect cinema and unforgettable - the rest is pretty good too 5 stars
11/25/03 Steffen S Great movie! One of mye favorites. 5 stars
11/19/03 Michael Knowles great film 5 stars
11/03/03 Chickenfriedjeezus During the Ludovic treatment, Alex looks like christ with his crown of electrodes 5 stars
9/11/03 Ronny S This has got to be the most overrated movie ever. Piece of crap 2 stars
8/14/03 Max All-time classic, still powerful. Hey Mulcahey, it's Beethoven not Mozart. Duh!!! 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese I'm supposed to think this film is great, but I cant and I wont. And you cant make me. 3 stars
5/21/03 Ryan F. Profound.but feels like Kubrick put out something for sick boys to masturbate to. 3 stars
4/29/03 Gilles Villeneuve The dogs bollocks (excellent) 5 stars
4/02/03 Gray disturbing with a semi downer ending I did like what the priest had to say+was well filmed 4 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Grotesquely campy supporting characters & heavy-handed direction flatten out ironies. 2 stars
3/12/03 Apathy The opening scene is brilliant. Oh, and the rest of the movie is swell too. 5 stars
3/11/03 Estevan Lapena A landmark in cinematic history. 5 stars
3/11/03 beehotch HOW IS THIS SCHLOCK, BITCH? 5 stars
3/04/03 caligula '' oh? and what's so stinking about it?"- what indeed, pinkline jones. CLASSIC film. 5 stars
1/30/03 Pinkline Jones 100% Shlock - woeful story, Coma-inducing, Dated and Forgettable 1 stars
1/27/03 Bill the English Welliwell droogs, this movie is horrorshow 5 stars
1/26/03 Nicole Honestly, I find this movie completely disturbing.....but good 5 stars
12/25/02 Film Dude My favorite film 5 stars
12/16/02 Petr The best film I have ever seen! 5 stars
10/09/02 Steph Thought provoking. Just hope no sacrilegious bastard director tries to do a remake. 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound One of Kubrick's best, my Droogs. 5 stars
9/29/02 karried. Yum yum! 5 stars
9/22/02 y2mckay I think you mean "or", not "of", you illiterate fuck! :-) 5 stars
9/19/02 Noneofyour Reviewer is either autistic of brain damaged pothead 5 stars
8/25/02 Turkish like all of kubricks other films, out fucking standing 5 stars
8/14/02 conman One of the greatest films of all time. 5 stars
7/27/02 Kyle Thought provoking. Genius. 5 stars
7/11/02 .Choadushouse. Pure genius. Malcolm MacDowell is incredible. The ending leaves me hanging...I want more! 5 stars
6/25/02 Brian genuinely twisted 5 stars
6/25/02 Charles Tatum Kubrick is finally able to get INTENSE 5 stars
6/17/02 Thomas Spaulding Great to viddy with a glass of knivy moloko. 5 stars
6/06/02 Rastabub One of the greatest sci-fi films ever made 5 stars
5/27/02 Nicole A strange & twisted little movie about "healing" the criminal mind. 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Hello. My name is Malcolm McDowell. I will destroy your whole life. Great fastforward sex.. 4 stars
4/23/02 asli wunderbar! 5 stars
2/21/02 luda hoe disturbing and good, or disturbingly good 5 stars
1/25/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Movie. I Was Engaged Throughout. 5 stars
12/30/01 sarafina This movie made me want a bowler and fake eyelashes 4 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks fuck need i fucking say a fucking thing!? FUCKING FUUUUUCK! 5 stars
11/13/01 officer412/l IT'S FUNNY HOW THE COLOURS OF THE REAL WORLD ONLY SEEM REAL WHEN YOU VIDY THEM ON A SCREEN 5 stars
10/18/01 officer412/l kubrick is god 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Disturbing. Sick. Hilarious. Inspired...Kubrick anyone? 5 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat I liked it because it had lots of vaginas and tits and penises and testicles an' stuff. 5 stars
7/21/01 gus good stuff 5 stars
7/20/01 Gus I haven't actually seen it... - i'll just join the crowd 5 stars
6/26/01 T_RatV Great film, Book is a little better with the final chapter, but great film 5 stars
6/15/01 zombie =] 5 stars
6/03/01 I love movies I'm sorry I just couldn't sympathize with that piece of shit in the second half 3 stars
6/01/01 Erik North Classic Kubrick--controversial, pointed, and disturbing as ever 5 stars
5/20/01 shoudell@spininternet.com an unforgetable movie, one of the best of all time 5 stars
4/30/01 junky read the book 5 stars
4/26/01 Dom Corleone profoundly prophetic 5 stars
4/08/01 R.W. Welch Has a certain eerie fascination about it, a true original. 5 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye What can you say? Both the book and the film are real horrorshow. 5 stars
3/04/01 Avenger Girl Still relevant to today's society, even tho it was made nearly 3 decades ago. AWESOME 5 stars
2/21/01 Scott What lovingly brutal comment of the effects of society on individuals. 5 stars
2/16/01 LOOBER Dark,diturbing,shocki... And a meaning 5 stars
2/14/01 Michael Nicholls Nearfutureoverrunbyjunivildelinquintsandsadiisticstatepoliceman 5 stars
1/29/01 Soggy Bottom Boy As relevant today as when it was made, this is a disturbing yet thought-provoking classic. 5 stars
1/22/01 jmr 2 stars 2 stars
11/14/00 bruno one of my favorites 5 stars
11/04/00 supervegeta83 ABSOLUTELY the BEST movie EVER!! 5 stars
11/02/00 JOHNNY alot of fun... witha lot of menaing 5 stars
10/27/00 Emily Collar Dark, twisted, seedy and deeply disturbing no wonder it was taken from our shelves! 4 stars
10/22/00 Viking Still has the ability to shock !!! 5 stars
10/19/00 veronica weird and twisted 4 stars
5/09/00 Shae W Great Movie. Scare your friends. 5 stars
5/03/00 Steve Layne Either this movie is overrated or Its too smart for me. 2 stars
4/24/00 Ryan Classic... 5 stars
4/12/00 the Grinch The perfect complement to the Burgess book... 5 stars
4/02/00 perverted pixie McDowell is the PERFECT Alex!! However the book is still more disturbing. 5 stars
3/26/00 Skye Chapman greatness 5 stars
3/23/00 ria Gawd i love this movie, almost as good as the book! 5 stars
3/19/00 Franky Chopstick First hour: Brilliant, Second hour: good satire but too long!!! 4 stars
3/19/00 Richard Wright A cautionary tale of tolerance and justice Brilliantly directed and superbly performed. 5 stars
1/24/00 Casey Jarzabek THE BEST OF THE BEST 5 stars
1/09/00 unstrung bizzare, unorthodox and repulsive... and yet all too familiar 5 stars
1/09/00 John Markham The book is rubbish and this is worse. 1 stars
12/16/99 Rachel intense, bizarre, thought-provoking, and very, very funny in parts 5 stars
11/29/99 Nieshia Wynn I liked the movie and it teaches viewers about our environment and the future 5 stars
11/22/99 Ralf Behet One of Kubrick's best. Great use of Ludwig van's music. 5 stars
11/19/99 Tyson Stewart It gets better every time you see it! Extraordinary performances! 5 stars
11/11/99 Matthew Smith A great film, techincally brilliant, confronting and hilarious. 5 stars
10/25/99 russ an awesome movie, one of Kubrick's best 5 stars
10/18/99 Sean Lahiff Bravo, real horror show it was, thought it was grand, Ciao my little droogies. 5 stars
8/18/99 Bobby Radisky Real Horrorshow 5 stars
8/11/99 Japtalian Watch it. If you don't understand, watch again brother. 5 stars
8/02/99 Physh "Rather....um....interesting look into the mind of a British rapist." 5 stars
7/27/99 Betty Boop Perfect. 5 stars
7/26/99 Zaw Oo Fucking Asome Movie! 5 stars
7/19/99 the movie pimp Many people like the film because of the nudity and violence but it has a major point. 5 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK Must have shocked the hell out of people of 1972. Brutal and charged. Kubrick classic. 4 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Luv this flick. High on my Top 10 list. Took numerous viewings to warm up to it, though. 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Didnt rate it. Read the book instead, its far superior. 3 stars
6/09/99 PurityJustBegs No one will ever take the place of Stanley...yet another brilliantly savage satire..Malcom! 5 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta Forget all the fuss and hype - it should not take away from this incredible film! 5 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm interesting 4 stars
3/07/99 davebo Great film, a cult classic, my favorite Kubrick movie 5 stars
3/05/99 little jerry The one that confirmed Kubrick as The Iceman of Film.Wear your winter clothing. 5 stars
2/16/99 Uncle Roy Kickback with some Moloko sythemesc and dresmec and get the in out in out 5 stars
12/05/98 tj best movie ever, seriously 5 stars
12/04/98 Matthew J. Soucy Rated X in 1971. The film is one of Kubrick's finest - with a haunting soundtrack. 5 stars
11/28/98 J-Guy would have been better had people not built it up as the be all end of film. 4 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink Satire that was and still is ahead of it's time. TERRIFIC! 5 stars
11/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce I'll go on record as saying I don't get what all the fuss was about. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1972 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1972 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast