More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.09

Awesome: 13.39%
Worth A Look27.56%
Average27.56%
Pretty Bad: 18.11%
Total Crap: 13.39%

12 reviews, 55 user ratings


Latest Reviews

White Bird in a Blizzard by Jay Seaver

Hwayi: A Monster Boy by Jay Seaver

Butter on the Latch by Jay Seaver

Thou Wast Mild and Lovely by Jay Seaver

Boyhood by Brett Gallman

Suspect, The by Jay Seaver

Reconstruction of William Zero, The by Jay Seaver

In the Land of the Head Hunters by Jay Seaver

Red Family by Jay Seaver

Bayonetta: Bloody Fate by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"More of the same, but at least the quality's still there."
3 stars

I'll keep this one short and sweet, mainly because I wrote full-length reviews for Final Destination (2000) and Final Destination 2 (2003) and this third entry does NOT upset the horror-geek apple cart in any appreciable way -- but also because I saw the movie less than two hours ago and I can actually feel it evaporating from my brain as I type.

Nobody new to this series is going to wander up to the local multiplex box office and go "Hrmm, I don't like horror flicks enough to have already seen FD1 and FD2, but I'll take one ticket for FD3, please, and could you give me a brief synopsis of the sequel I'm about to see?"

So this review is basically for the veteran horror-eaters, the folks who own the first two Final Destination DVDs and looked forward to the inevitable third entry with equal parts excitement and skepticism. We hardcore horror hounds are a loyal bunch -- but cross us one too many times and we'll banish you to DTV country, where you'll rot and fester with the likes of Pinhead, Wishmaster, and that unending supply of Corn Children.

We all know the FD drill by now: Someone is about to step into a potentially hazardous situation, only to suffer a massive precognitive jolt that says "Hey, you and your friends are about to die a ridiculously gruesome death. Don't ask why, but you've been warned." That warn-ee will then flip out like nobody's business, which causes several (briefly) fortunate folks to escape death's grasp ... only to stumble right back into that grasp through even nastier methods.

The Final Destination flicks are a mixture of old-school slasher-style off-pickings, slickly modern Rube Goldberg-ian dispatch methods, and (occasionally) intense suspense that doesn't skimp on expense. (It's not just that we watch these movies to see clueless idiots gets slaughtered; I like to think those butt-squirming moments before the kills are what I pay my $8 for. That and the "oh, shit!" shocks that arrive when a solid splatter is predicated by a canny misdirection, as happens 2 or 3 times in this flick.)

So the first flick was about kids getting off of a doomed airliner, and part 2 dealt with kids avoiding a horrific highway accident, so where else can part 3 go but ... a roller coaster! Our lead heroine sees an impending death for everyone, she loses her proverbial shit, a bunch of kids hop off, only to be systematically slaughtered over the next 60-some minutes.

It's not exactly Shakespeare, I know. But for good, gruesome, gritty chills, ones that don't skimp on the mood, the style, and (yes) the gore, you could do a hell of a lot worse than sit down for a Final Destination marathon. If the second sequel seems just a little bit threadbare and laden with a few extra plot holes, well, FD3 also ups the body count and delivers a half-dozen scenes that are truly and pretty intensely enjoyable. This series caters to its target audience without insulting it -- which is why the flicks make so much damn money.

Perhaps the next entry will introduce a few new equations into the well-worn "Final Destination" formula, but for a sequel to a sequel to an out-of-nowhere horror hit, this one still doles out the goods in fine form. And think about it: How many Part 3s turn out to be anything besides awful?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13933&reviewer=128
originally posted: 02/12/06 20:06:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/19/13 Monday Morning Hideous, horribly painful deaths will never go out of style! 5 stars
7/29/12 cr a guilty pleasure of the series. still a fun movie. 3 stars
11/12/10 PAUL SHORTT MORE OF THE SAME, ONLY DULLER 1 stars
3/10/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Goofy fun 3 stars
1/11/09 Daniel Omer It has mediocre acting and gore, but the ending plain sucks. 2 stars
12/20/08 dominic thebestmovieeverandidontlie 5 stars
9/28/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
7/10/07 Total Crap Waste of my precious time. People who don't know wtf they're watching will like it. 1 stars
5/30/07 wouldntulyke2no its the best out of the 3 films but did have some plot holes 5 stars
5/12/07 Matt The best film in the t(h)rilogy. The 'choose thier fate' option on the DVD is ace. 5 stars
4/02/07 fools♫gold I guess it's good when you put it on mute. Doesn't even compare to the first two. 1/5 or 2/ 2 stars
2/11/07 AJ Muller Just a good fucking time, man. If you dug the first 2 well, here's more inventive deaths. 4 stars
2/04/07 x/x.W i l t e d.Rose.x/x The Best Final Destination. One Of My Fave Movies. Its Awesome Go See It__xx 5 stars
12/30/06 Sumixam all 3 are good, this is right up there 5 stars
12/18/06 Jeremy Movie sucked because it threw the second one out the window. 3 stars
11/02/06 Patsyc I loved the first one. The second one was good. This one was good but not quite as scary. 4 stars
10/30/06 Roger Wilks The deaths are ridiculous and sickening. The plot is senseless. SUCKS!!! 1 stars
10/25/06 Drew G Some pretty good deaths, but overall disappointing 2 stars
10/24/06 Sara It sucked because the ending was grap. 1 stars
10/06/06 Michael Coovert This plot has been played out; nothing compared to the first or second. 3 stars
10/01/06 Beau the most goriest one especially wen girls burn alive in tanning. great horror 4 stars
9/23/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 4 stars
9/19/06 Luckdeezy Pretty good...worth watching for sure 4 stars
9/14/06 Mara Frost not as good as the first 2, but still fun and original 4 stars
9/13/06 veronique ya need to like it 3 stars
9/13/06 Jorge Coronilla It wasn't that bad. 4 stars
9/13/06 Edward Connell Unforseen events make this movie interesting 5 stars
9/05/06 Indrid Cold The formula is wearing a little thin, but still more fun than most mainstream horror. 3 stars
8/25/06 Littlepurch Great gory deaths and although the middle sags, the fantastic start and end make up for it. 4 stars
8/13/06 Danny Respectable. Not as good as FD, but better than FD2. 4 stars
8/07/06 Tim The guy with the camera got off the ride the second time and he started the accident? 2 stars
8/05/06 Dan The DVD has a neat "choose their fate" option 4 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai Not as good as the first two. It's a decent movie wih decent kills and decent acting. 3 stars
8/02/06 Mark Louis Baumgart Decent and fun sequel. Unfortunately the ending violates the first rule of the series. 3 stars
7/29/06 action movie fan rehash of the first two--decent stpyr--overly gory though 4 stars
7/28/06 Alberto AGUIRRE My favorite film espesially the roller coaster scene. 5 stars
7/27/06 Lisa Death scenes worth a look and thena rewind!!! 3 stars
6/05/06 mary really scary 5 stars
4/28/06 BAH BAH 1 stars
4/10/06 alice Very amusing ! 4 stars
3/29/06 mick fantastic film would recommend 5 stars
3/17/06 Mason Token negro gets head crushed, what's not to like? 3 stars
3/14/06 James Bond Terrific 5 stars
3/09/06 Valerie It was alright, BUT i still think that the 1st and the 2nd ones were better 4 stars
3/01/06 Littlepurch Morgan & Wong clearly didn't want to be outdone by FD2, and make an hilarious comback here! 5 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis Go see it for the deaths! 4 stars
2/22/06 li' buddy really graphic good movie but same stuff as before i want mething new 4 stars
2/22/06 Jaime Moore A Great Flick much bearly better than the first two put togeather. 5 stars
2/19/06 Nic As good if not better than first 2 films... 4 stars
2/19/06 chris f totally awesome movie i loved it from start to finish 5 stars
2/14/06 Ole Man Bourbon The lead actress sucks something horrid. Typical movie for the franchise. 3 stars
2/14/06 jeff liked the scond one better but still good. 5 stars
2/12/06 Perry Mason I hate creative killing movies. This was just boring as hell. 2 stars
2/11/06 JC that movie was TOO Trill!..NEVER go Tanning again! 5 stars
2/11/06 rich Not bad for a new horror movie 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Feb-2006 (R)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  10-Feb-2006

Australia
  27-Apr-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast