More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.73

Awesome79.17%
Worth A Look: 17.71%
Average: 1.04%
Pretty Bad: 1.04%
Total Crap: 1.04%

2 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Outlaw Josey Wales, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"The Greatest Western Ever made. Why? Because I SAY SO!"
5 stars

So I'm trying to get my girlfriend to watch "The Outlaw Josey Wales" with me when it comes on cable the other night, and she hates it. I say "But . . . but . . . but this is the GREATEST WESTERN EVER MADE." Yeah, whatever, is her reply. So I say "okay, just out of curiosity, what would you say the GWEM is?" What's the answer I get? "Quigley Down Under" . What the . . . QUIGLEY DOWN UNDER? Tom Selleck can get down under and suck my BALLS. There are three main reasons why this is the best goddamn Western ever made 1)Clint Eastwood stars in it 2)Clint Eastwood directed it, and 3)Cuz I say so, and I've seen fifty thousand westerns, so on this matter you must RESPECT MY AUTHORITAY.

Josey Wales is the archetypal stone-cold killer, a man with nothing to lose because everything he ever loved was raped and butchered. His life is a ceaseless quest for revenge against the "Red-Legs" (a band of Union soldiers who raped his wife and murdered his family, so named for the red leggings worn above their boots). At the end of the Civil War, while all of his compatriots are surrendering to the Union, Josey Wales is the last holdout, becoming a fugitive on a journey that leads him from Missouri to Texas. Along the way, he unwillingly acquires a retinue of hanger-ons who cling to him because he saved their lives. Lone Watie (Chief Dan George), a wandering Indian, becomes both spiritual mentor and comedic sidekick. Also tagging along for the ride are an Indian woman who Wales rescued from a gang rape, and a family of settlers he saved form being sold into slavery, led by Grandma Sarah (Paula Trueman). The only down side is that this film was made during Eastwood's inexplicable fascination with then-girlfriend Sondra Locke, the plainest-looking and most drab actress of all time - and she, of course, plays the love interest. Thankfully, the girl she plays is kind of "slow", so she doesn't talk too much.

Despite it's 135 minute running time, there is rarely a dull moment. This is because it not only delivers one of the highest body counts ever, with Eastwood giving some amazing quick-draw exhibitions, but some of the biggest laughs as well. Chief Dan George is perfect in his subtle, deadpan delivery. Paula Trueman is exasperatingly hilarious as she repeatedly, and ignorantly, talks trash about Missourians and Confederate soldiers (not realizing that Josey Wales is both, making you wonder when he's going to put a cap in her ass or at least tell her to shut up. He does neither, merely looks at her with a sour expression, which makes it that much funnier). But the real attraction of this film is Eastwood himself. There's a reason he got to be a big star, and he shines in this film as the gruff and nihilistic outlaw who always ends up doing the right thing, even though he knows he will live to regret it later. His trademark squint and scowl are brandished to full effect here, and his low, hoarse voice and matter-of-fact delivery make lines like the following instant classics:

Josey Wales (facing a man who has come to take him in for reward money): "You a bounty hunter?"

Bounty Hunter: "Hell, a man's gotta make a living somehow these days."

Josey Wales: "Dying ain't much of a Livin', Boy."

Name a western, I've probably seen it. Hell, I've probably seen 'em all. I was raised on westerns and war movies. This is the best, balls-out and hands-down. "Quigley Down Under" my ass!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1402&reviewer=258
originally posted: 08/27/01 17:14:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/08/13 PAUL SHORTT VIOLENT BUT SUPERB WESTERN, BEAUTIFULLY PHOTOGRAPHED 4 stars
6/06/12 keith miron I'M not a big fan of the Clint Eastwood westerns 2 stars
11/18/11 Mike Groesbeck one of the best westerns ever made 5 stars
10/20/11 action movie fan very good action acting,eastwood is great but fianl shootout could have been more tense 4 stars
10/08/11 Monday Morning Tom Selleck makes me want to projectile vomit. 5 stars
2/04/11 chuck a few historical inaccuracies, but if not the best, surely in the top ten 5 stars
9/30/10 Ian Kaiser Great perfromance. Comes home with the Border war over here in kansas 5 stars
8/05/09 chicka fergy Brian mckay has been sucking clint eastwood's balls. Good movie but calm down brian l 4 stars
8/05/09 charley hayes Good movie but crap review by slyder whom I dont think has ever seeing a John Wayne movie 4 stars
5/24/09 bud cham pretty good film but best western ever? not even close. nowhere near the searchers wild bun 4 stars
3/13/09 ike THE BEST EVER 5 stars
2/26/08 pkr clint eastwood's best balanced role. and very good film. 5 stars
1/28/08 aye-aye good,but doesn't come near to any of sergio leone, espetially the good the bad and the ugly 4 stars
11/25/07 g webster with wild bunch,unforgiven,once upon a time in west,josey wales-The top 4 5 stars
9/28/07 mr.mike saw it in the theatre - recall it being very good 4 stars
9/23/07 Darryl Machum This movie can stand with any western that's ever been made. 5 stars
8/22/07 Bitchflaps Could this be the greatest revisionist Western? 5 stars
8/02/07 Darrell Thompson Fantastic film, a true western treasure ! 5 stars
6/15/07 Matt Erwin Great, but i kinda liked The Searchers a tad more! 5 stars
6/15/07 fools♫gold So Eastwood does have it in him to direct a (VERYYY) clever classic! 100% 5 stars
5/27/07 Don Moore A real and true to life ( rare for hollywood) movie without all the pc bs! 5 stars
5/26/07 david leach My favorite western. Butch and Sundance second. 5 stars
4/10/07 gene it`s the best of allthe best 5 stars
3/31/07 David Cohen If you only watch one western in your life, make it this one 5 stars
3/20/07 mike johnson classic squint eastwood revenge plot, bang! 5 stars
1/20/07 AJ Muller This, The Wild Bunch, and Unforgiven are the best Westerns ever. Period. 5 stars
9/21/06 Jove 2nd only to unforgiven 5 stars
8/12/06 Sepi53 Great western 5 stars
6/15/06 R.W.Welch Good script and Dan George push this one to the verge of awesome. 4 stars
4/26/06 Modern Man I LOVE this film - "Luke!... Five-thousand gold simoleons walked right in." 5 stars
3/12/06 Gman Buzzards gotta eat, same as worms... 5 stars
2/14/06 Two Gun Top shelf, no question...with great, quotable quotes 5 stars
1/10/06 Mike Great one-liners, great action - badass 5 stars
12/11/05 Lord Jiggy Studied classicism...moving, touching, emotionally mature. Beautiful 5 stars
10/14/05 ram1brn GREAT WESTERN 5 stars
8/23/05 ES My favourite western and a first rate movie 'we gots us the Josey Wales' 5 stars
6/27/05 Terrence Knox Great film! I watch it every chance I get! 5 stars
6/17/05 blondie i like it! 5 stars
6/02/05 tatum Eastwood's best western, and he has done some great ones 5 stars
8/09/04 psycho dwarf unexpected mix of characters & locales in a well-composed western 5 stars
7/17/04 Hoyle Rockin Film, but The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly is the best western ever made. 5 stars
7/04/04 eric not the wild bunch but still a great movie 4 stars
6/29/04 Ric Good Clint performance and a few exciting action scenes, but should have been tighter. 3 stars
6/15/04 John a little long winded at times but Eastwood owns the screen 4 stars
5/02/04 Daniel Safer Clever, Clint, Cool 4 stars
4/01/04 sansho A mature, intelligent Western with epic landscapes. 5 stars
3/31/04 raymond squires excellent 5 stars
3/29/04 Steve Its up there with the Magnificent Seven and Bad Day at Black Rock--better than Unforgiven 5 stars
3/23/04 KGB Nah... I thought his 'Dirty' Harry films were better 4 stars
1/27/04 Will Not the best western ever, but certainly very high quality in its own right. 5 stars
12/23/03 the Grinch My favorite western...."well...you gonna pull those pistols or whistle dixie?" 5 stars
12/21/03 tony7713 possibly the best epic western ever. On a par with the searchers 5 stars
10/14/03 P-DUB Eastwood's 2nd best western after THE GOOD etc. 5 stars
9/18/03 HUGH It is Clint at his best, I love when he spits on the dog 5 stars
9/05/03 Shoot 'im Abe! This movie has it all! See it, memorize it, live it! 5 stars
8/03/03 Bob Bauman Clint's Best, Revenge takes another meaning ! 5 stars
6/24/03 Mark One of the 2 best ever! (Maybe Unforgiven, but I can't decide...) 5 stars
5/04/03 GOD and saw that it was good 5 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper Finest Western Ever Made. A True Masterpiece. 5 stars
12/30/02 EL PAALO Love it. Own it. I use a pic from the set for my avatar. 5 stars
12/23/02 Large Farve Eh, wasn't what I thought it would be 1 stars
12/03/02 SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION my favourite eastwood western and i have all of dem on dvd 5 stars
11/15/02 H. Griffin Excellent Western! Great characters!!! 5 stars
6/08/02 Ronald Dawson Hands down the Greatest Western Ever! 5 stars
3/01/02 Mitchel Barley Where the hell can I get a script? 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Good ol Clint!! Can't messs with mr eastwood 4 stars
11/26/01 Jim Rimmer GWEM 5 stars
11/25/01 tony r. by far the greatest western ever, my wife sounds like your girl friend. o well their loss 5 stars
11/20/01 Seamus O'toole Best Fucking Western Ever!!! 5 stars
11/20/01 lladnarc Makes me wanna take up chewin' 5 stars
11/12/01 Aaron As Good As 'Once Upon A Time In The West' 5 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat Clint Eastwood actually opens his mouth when he talks in this movie! Amazing! 4 stars
10/13/01 Ross Rankin A bottle of whiskey, a can of Coppenhagen, & Josey Wales - it don't get any better than tha 5 stars
9/29/01 Don B the best movie of it time even today's movies don't stand with this film. 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith If it's Clint Eastwood.. you can give it an "A"....... 5 stars
9/09/01 Stranded on the Island pretty good but not classic like good, bad & ugly 4 stars
9/03/01 the Grinch Best Western ever made? Damn STRAIGHT! 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla it was a good western 4 stars
5/19/00 tank Fantastic, subtle western with similar themes to those explored in Unforgiven (1992). 4 stars
3/26/00 MICHAEL SKY-EAGLE SMITH LIKE DAVID SAID "FUCKING AWESOME" 5 stars
5/14/99 ras_jose@yahoo.com "the Outlaw" is a one-man killing machine, this must be Clints' highest body count ever.A+! 5 stars
4/06/99 David FUCKING A AWESOME 5 stars
2/25/99 little jerry Clint proves he's THE director of westerns for the last 25 years. 5 stars
2/12/99 slink great Clint flick,the best western he ever made! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1976 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1976 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast