More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.42

Awesome: 7.69%
Worth A Look: 11.54%
Average: 19.23%
Pretty Bad38.46%
Total Crap: 23.08%

1 review, 20 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dead Pool, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Boy, he didn't save the best for last."
2 stars

'The Dead Pool' is the fifth, last, and possibly most perfunctory and boring Dirty Harry movie, except for a hilarious chase scene involving an explosive toy car.

Harry (Clint Eastwood) is up against a serial killer who's picking off San Francisco celebrities whose names appear on a film crew's joke list, "the dead pool." The prime suspect is horror-flick director Liam Neeson. As usual, smart young women who should know better (in this case, Patricia Clarkson as a ruthless TV reporter) keep moistening their pudenda over the decrepit, barbaric Harry.

The movie fires some half-hearted shots at the violence-glorifying media, as if The Dead Pool itself weren't part of a film series that is perhaps more closely associated with mindless violence than any other American franchise (aside from maybe Rambo or Friday the 13th). There's slight fun in watching the now-prestigious Neeson eye-rolling his way through this cheap trash, and Jim Carrey (when he was still "James"), as a heroin-addicted rock star, brings a jolt of intensity to his few minutes onscreen before he's killed off.

Personally, I say watch the original 'Dirty Harry' and skip the rest.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1408&reviewer=416
originally posted: 04/15/07 09:26:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/06/10 JP Ward Despite disposable main plot, surprisingly witty & hilarious w/ classic Bullitt chase spoof 4 stars
10/02/10 MP Bartley It's actually agreeable fun, but not one to linger long in the memory. 3 stars
2/04/08 Pamela White Not Clint's best work 3 stars
4/24/07 David Pollastrini a pretty good sequel 4 stars
5/19/06 mr.mike far fetched , and clint looks a bit frail as harry 2 stars
8/16/05 John Aster Habig ANYTHING WITH CLINT SUX SPHINTER 1 stars
3/23/04 KGB I think Eastwood should finish up with his voice in an Anime version the next 'Dirty' Harry 5 stars
12/25/03 Sugarfoot Come on even the Death Wish series finished stronger then this feeble junker! 1 stars
9/30/03 Shane Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ANOTHER HARD HITTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/14/03 Sam Moszynski weakest in the series, but still enjoyable. 3 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Passable but Lackluster. 3 stars
10/24/02 Charles Tatum Way to go, kill the damn series 1 stars
9/01/02 y2mckay Worst Dirty Harry film in the series - but it's still Dirty Harry, so it's watchable once 2 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) My day has come: It's about movies, AND it's a Dirty Harry movie. 4 stars
7/28/01 R.W. Welch One of the weaker entries in the Dirty Harry series. For hard core fans only. 2 stars
5/19/00 tank Enjoyable self parody that is thankfully only 90 minutes. 3 stars
12/10/98 Scion of Graveheart Waste of film! I've seen better movies on brains! 1 stars
12/04/98 Lord Of The Dunce Hi. My name is Dead Pool. I'm an awful film. Please leave me in this bucket of shit. 1 stars
12/01/98 Silent Rob A festering suck-hole, waste of celluloid! I've seen better film on teeth! 1 stars
11/30/98 Mr.Pink One of Clint's worst, but not as bad as The Rookie. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1988 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1989 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast