More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look46.43%
Average: 7.14%
Pretty Bad: 14.29%
Total Crap: 15.48%

7 reviews, 42 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


City of Angels
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"Didn't we hear enough of this theme song?"
1 stars

Blah, blah, blah.

This is supposedly labelled as a 'chick movie,' right? Well, I went to see this with two of my chick friends, and I'll tell you right now, I wasn't too impressed and neither were they. Except I think I was the only one in the crowd that didn't end up sniffling.

Meg Ryan's a surgeon, and her job is finally taking a toll on her. Unsatisfied with her job, her boyfriend, and just life in general, she seems to be looking for something else. I have a few problems with this from the beginning. I mean, how could someone that young (looking) possibly be a surgeon? Who would take her seriously with those little bouncing curls? But, I have to give her points for playing Hendrix in the O.R.

Anyway, Nic "gives up forever to touch her," yadda yadda yadda, you know the drill. They're supposed to live happily ever after, but somehow that just doesn't seem to be in the cards. I'm thinking that God was a little miffed about Nic giving up his angelhood just to be with a mortal woman and all. You know how it goes.

What got me about this movie is in the supposedly emotional and climatic scene, the acting seemed to become <i>really</i> wooden and completely unglued, which was rather confusing as Cage and Ryan are both capable (not great, of course) actors. I guess I can't say it was very surprising, as through the course of the movie the direction could be described as "stilted".

If you must see it. See it. But don't say I didn't warn you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=141&reviewer=22
originally posted: 09/12/98 04:49:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/18/07 R.W. Welch Flat revamp of Wings of Desire holds little fascination. 3 stars
8/15/06 Luisa Very touching film 4 stars
11/04/05 tatum Sweet romance; had trouble with the theology, though 4 stars
8/18/05 ES I kept waiting for some demons to show up and make this a good movie 2 stars
1/03/05 UMER meg ryan rules 5 stars
2/02/04 I Would Crap remake of Wim Wenders' masterpiece. 2 stars
9/23/03 Alan Saved from being crap by five minutes of Lake Tahoe scenery. Aw, hell; it is total crap. 1 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Good technical work at service of ho-hum, tear-jerker screenplay. 2 stars
7/20/02 ??? a great love story 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG QUESTION: Why does Hollywood keep casting Meg opposite hotties? She sux 3 stars
2/11/02 John Michael Hughes After seeing this, I want a divorce from Meg Ryan. 1 stars
2/01/02 Tshepang Alfred Dahnk The Most beautiful film ever. 5 stars
12/11/01 Monster W. Kung Vastly inferior to Wender's Wings of Desire. Watch that one, not crappy remakes. 2 stars
10/15/01 Andrew Carden I Cannot Handle These Tearjerkers!!! I'll Never Watch This Crap Again!!! 1 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Nice start with a let down ending 3 stars
5/16/01 The Jedi Droid The thing I liked about this movie is that the ending is not predictable. good flick 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin good, but gets a little boring at times 3 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski *sniffle, blowing nose* Totally poetic...one of the better chick-flicks...*bawling* 5 stars
12/15/99 Bridget total taerjerker..excellent movie!! 5 stars
12/06/99 PurityJustBegs The result of odious defacations could not be more horredous than this steaming pile....... 1 stars
11/10/99 stef i love this movie 5 stars
10/10/99 SJKelley The last hour of this movie gets worse and worse -- who could like this? 1 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Meg and Nick.. what WERE you two thinking?? one of the worst I have ever seen.. 1 stars
2/24/99 mochacchino I LOVE THIS MOVIE the sound track is banging and I recomend this to everybody 5 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness such a tear jurker and Meg Ryan is such a good actress!!!! 5 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP AWESOME!! I cried! And I am a guy!! 5 stars
1/15/99 Dasha I'm a sucker for a good weepie... And this one was good. 5 stars
12/15/98 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Meg in her best role yet,Nicolas looks & acts incredibly well,slow pace but emotional. 4 stars
11/27/98 gicurok I loved this movie. Savor every moment for you may not get another. 5 stars
11/23/98 Daniel All I ended up with was the poor bastard at the end without his love..but love is worth it! 4 stars
11/19/98 Fire-n-Ice The best movie of all year,but the ending was to sad. 5 stars
11/05/98 tom could this film take any longer to get to a shitty end 2 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce You hafta love Meg, no matter what she's in. Even French Kiss. 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Great date movie. I wanna be Meg Ryan when I grow up. :) 4 stars
9/20/98 Ky I thought it was a beautiful film.....highly emotional and gives angels a new perspective 5 stars
9/20/98 ARMA-FUCKN-GEDDON Wow.. What else can I say.. Makes you believe, has heart. 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor NIC IS THE BOMB BABY 4 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha none 4 stars
9/11/98 canada dry has got to be the worst ending of any movie i've ever seen 1 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Angels watch you when you pee. 3 stars
8/29/98 Matt It killed 3 hours on a plane.. and my appetite as well 2 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} It's been done before, though they do it well here. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Apr-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast