More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.47

Awesome77.33%
Worth A Look: 9.33%
Average: 2.67%
Pretty Bad: 4%
Total Crap: 6.67%

2 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Inherent Vice by Jay Seaver

Babadook, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

It Follows by Jay Seaver

Sea Fog (Haemoo) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


On The Waterfront
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Superfly

"44 years ago, Marlon Brando didn't weigh 350 pounds."
5 stars

I can't believe no one else reviewed this film yet.

On the Waterfront is a classic film and features a young Marlon Brando, before he became large and scary. This is the role that he won his first Best Actor Oscar for.

It's about an ex-boxer who helps the Mob kill this guy, but that wasn't his intention. So he basically has to take on the Mob by himself and his brother is one of the higher ups in the Mob. That's how I remember it, at least, I haven't seen it in a while.

Anyway, it's really excellent and probably Brando's best performance with the classic "Charlie, it was you..." monologue.

It's really a shame Brando's been making crap like "The Island of Dr. Moreau" lately.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1429&reviewer=17
originally posted: 12/10/98 05:37:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/31/11 Robert Smith One-stop-shop for learning the craft... 5 stars
7/23/10 RLan I know this goes against how most critics feel, but I thought this movie was average. 3 stars
6/01/10 User Name One word: Brando. Now go watch it. 5 stars
6/01/08 PAUL SHORTT MUSCULAR, POWERFUL HUMAN DRAMA 5 stars
1/28/08 proper amateur film critic One of the truly great American movies of the 1950's 5 stars
10/11/07 tiffany AWESOME 4 stars
10/08/07 mr.mike great on all counts 5 stars
7/21/07 acton movie fan had atmosphere and brando but little else 2 stars
6/13/07 olias my all time favourite film.riveting.brando's acting is the greatest in cinema 5 stars
4/22/07 Dove This movie is great! I got into it fast. 5 stars
2/06/07 MP Bartley Dated somewhat, but still powerful and one of the best acted films ever. 4 stars
1/13/07 Eli Y'all are STUPID CRACKWHORES, this film's a CLASSIC. You can't appreciate good movies!!! 5 stars
1/07/07 R.W.Welch Goes a little Hollywood at the end. Otherwise, a real contenduh. 5 stars
12/07/06 David Cohen Brando's best screen performance (and that is saying something), highlights union hypocrisy 5 stars
6/30/05 Bercana Best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
3/29/05 John YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN 1 stars
2/28/05 ZenCow Brandon Brando shines sometimes but there's no denying that he's in a crappy movie. 1 stars
2/24/05 Amy It's only in black and white... Boooooring... 2 stars
2/22/05 A movie about a rat, made by a rat for other rats. Bjorn 1 stars
2/19/05 Angolmois Elia Kazan was and always will be a weasel. 1 stars
12/29/04 Tom Ciorciari Watching Brando is watching acting incarnate 5 stars
5/17/04 Gruntty Hey let's give it 2 stars also! 2 stars
4/01/04 sansho Fine acting, but an utterly deplorable excuse for the director's betrayal. 1 stars
3/06/04 Don C Excellent for that time period 5 stars
2/27/04 Betty White Awesome. 5 stars
1/14/04 Lydia I love Brando in this one!!! 5 stars
12/06/03 john everything you may have heard about Brando in this movie is true - he is that good! 5 stars
10/19/03 Mason3 Mason2 is an idiot. 5 stars
12/08/02 moviemachine Marlon Brando at his finest!!! 5 stars
11/21/02 Mason Brando is a GOD 5 stars
11/05/02 Tuna Hematoma Excellent movie... music however was very cliche, but aside from that, excellence! 4 stars
8/17/02 WHS Brando... 5 stars
6/12/02 Hulahula Very close to a 5 star if it weren't for the female co-star that TRIED to act. 4 stars
6/03/02 Poumpus and better than you Great film with extraoridary performances 5 stars
5/30/02 <<<^^^>>> This is my all time fave, Brando was incredible in it! 5 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum Very slow, great cast 4 stars
5/21/02 Jorge It's the best movie i've ever seen in my life. 5 stars
5/16/02 Kelly Brando gives the best performace ever given by a screen actor in history 5 stars
4/20/02 summer next to the godfather, the best film of all time 5 stars
4/04/02 :) 'TERRY! TERRY!' 5 stars
3/30/02 Paul Meade Great Cast, Rod Stieger and Brando at their best. 5 stars
3/25/02 Kell Brando was a good looking fellow 200 pounds ago...oh yea the movie is spectacular! 5 stars
12/18/01 Jon Shaw A great performance by Brando and other mbrs of the cst. Great storyline yet slow at times. 4 stars
12/11/01 melissa this is an excellent film, if you like brando see 'guys and dolls' 5 stars
12/01/01 Andrew Carden I Thought It Was Dull, but The Performances Were Really Good. 3 stars
9/02/01 romina very good movie 5 stars
8/07/01 E-Funk This movie is wonderful. Watch this even if you don't enjoy Brando, you will after this. 5 stars
7/30/01 Henry Ginsberg Extreemly moving .A true classic . 5 stars
7/16/01 Angie Maniaci It is a great adventure flick from the 1950s; I absolutely love it. 5 stars
3/07/01 Mike A classic for good reason! 5 stars
11/14/00 Amanda Brando is brilliant. Malden is good. Marie-Saint gave a rememberable screen debut 5 stars
10/24/00 Mambo This film has everything! Brando's acting is the finest ever committed to celluloid! 5 stars
10/17/00 Mike Christie The best movie & the best acting--ever! 5 stars
10/06/00 Wannabe A great goddamn movie. Great goddamn everything. I will never forget it. 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff Elia Kazan's best 5 stars
4/04/00 b awesome 5 stars
3/29/00 Andrew Devine Brando, Cobb, and Malden: Three of the most poignant and influential performences ever. 5 stars
3/08/00 Kristen Fabulously Brilliant! 5 stars
11/28/99 k absolutely beyond words! 5 stars
11/21/99 corrine H. Great movie! 5 stars
10/28/99 M.N.KHAN Great Film, a perfect 10. A milestone accomplished on celluloid. Brando is brilliant 5 stars
10/12/99 Jamie Hanson Classic 4 stars
12/31/98 Disgruntled Mailman Terry to Edie"Wanna hear my philosophy of life? Do it to him before he does it to you! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-1954 (PG-13)
  DVD: 23-Oct-2001

UK
  N/A (PG)

Australia
  28-Jul-1954 (PG)


Directed by
  Elia Kazan

Written by
  Malcolm Johnson

Cast
  Marlon Brando
  Karl Malden
  Lee J. Cobb
  Rod Steiger
  Pat Henning
  Leif Erickson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast