More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.55

Awesome32.5%
Worth A Look32.5%
Average: 12.5%
Pretty Bad: 2.5%
Total Crap: 20%

1 review, 34 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cannonball Run, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"I want an ambulance too."
4 stars

You got cars, crashes, cameos and the possibility of Farrah Fawcett flashing a booby. What more could a kid of the 70's ask for?

Race across the country, Burt Reynolds and Dom Deluise sharing in-jokes along the way as a bunch of late 80's over the hill stars recreate It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad World with wacky hijinx.

Adrienne Barbeau's cleavage is there, as is a drunken Dean Martin and a slumming Jackie Chan. Farrah and Burt flirt up a storm, Sammy Davis plays Sammy Davis and Dom Deluise makes himself laugh a lot.

The story is stupid, the stunts fairly basic, the sexual innuendo thick enough to block the Lincoln Tunnel. Overall, this is rudimentary by the numbers stuff.

But somehow it's all totally watchable. What's with that?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1446&reviewer=1
originally posted: 03/08/99 00:57:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/26/12 The Big D Captain Chaos kicks ass!!!!!! 4 stars
9/21/10 PAUL SHORTT SHOULD HAVE CRASHED AT THE STARTING LINE 1 stars
4/08/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess This site has Dean Martin movies and Jerry Lewis movies but no Martin and Lewis movies 3 stars
5/30/09 art NOT BY A LONGSHOT!,BURT"S BEST COMEDY WAS"THE END". 1 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White fun trip 3 stars
6/28/07 David Pollastrini Not bad, Cannonball and Gumball Rally were better 4 stars
8/13/05 ES Jackie Chan playing Japanese? = what's the world come to 3 stars
8/03/05 TERRY Lazy Burt Reynolds movie, million miles from Deliverance. 1 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson One of my all time favorites. AVOID CANNONBALL RUN II AND SPEED ZONE LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/13/04 Tony Baloza Hillarious Crazy Funny 5 stars
5/14/04 John was fun when I was a little kid - now it's a bit silly - but fun -nice assemble cast too 3 stars
1/12/04 Sugarfoot The 80's was Reynold's worst decade. 1 stars
12/14/03 Paul Ask When first saw it, was"OK";now better.Met Reynolds,DeLuise,Farr.NICE! 4 stars
8/17/03 3man Decent weekend afternoon movie. 4 stars
8/03/03 MJM103171 22 years later, and I still can't believe that Adrienne Barbeau won. 5 stars
4/17/03 devin parker me so horny, me love you long time 1 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Greatly entertaining, undemanding fun. The cast has a blast -- and so will you! 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Did we, as a nation, actually go see this crap? 1 stars
2/23/02 Robb The best movie ever made! Seriously! 5 stars
12/12/01 Monster W. Kung It's stupid, but it's somewhat funny. 3 stars
11/19/01 richard the only thing which drove me crazy bout the cannonball run series was THE LAMBORHGINI ! 5 stars
11/12/01 mat Classic late 70s/early 80s car chase trash rules!!!. Refreshingly simple entertaiment. 5 stars
10/28/01 Andrew Carden One-Joke Comedy Barely Has Anything That Can Be Called Entertaining. 2 stars
8/09/01 AC Perhaps the ultimate summation of all the traits that made 70s/80s TV and movies so bad! 1 stars
6/19/01 Corey Stewart Funny from beginning to end. Excellent No-brain humor. 5 stars
2/28/01 Chris Lots of Fun! 5 stars
11/18/00 Bart The greatest of hot-car-movies. 5 stars
10/01/00 E W Smith If the term "Rat Pack" means anything, you may break a few ribs laughing. 4 stars
4/19/00 michael awesome 5 stars
1/25/00 Chris Whitney funniest movie ever 5 stars
11/12/99 precision69 Car-movie lovefest, laughs and boobs all the way!!! 5 stars
7/24/99 O.J. Simpson Was I in this movie? Anyway, it's gotta be on the top ten list of the worst ever. 1 stars
12/20/98 Vick Di Brecci Another four star nod to my youth 4 stars
12/15/98 Binky Farrah gave me such wood, but this film was hilarious all over. Great comedy. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jun-1981 (PG)
  DVD: 05-Jun-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1981 (M)


Directed by
  Hal Needham

Written by
  Brock Yates

Cast
  Burt Reynolds
  Dom DeLuise
  Farrah Fawcett
  Roger Moore
  Jackie Chan
  Dean Martin
  Sammy Davis Jr.



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast