More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.14

Awesome: 3.88%
Worth A Look36.89%
Average: 34.95%
Pretty Bad: 17.48%
Total Crap: 6.8%

10 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Poseidon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Thus concludes Wolfgang Peterson's Big Boats Underwater trilogy"
4 stars

I must say that when it comes to mindless Hollywood summertime entertainment, I have a slight weakness for disaster flicks, particularly those directed by someone who has already proved themselves a maestro of the genre. I know a lot of these movies are cheesy, predictable, contrived and that with each change of location comes a new plot hole, but throw in a likable cast, a solid action director and a promise that the diversion will last a mere 98 minutes (only 90 if you leave when the credits roll), I just might be in a good enough mood to be along for the ride. These movies donít always have to be a chore to sit through.

For me, Wolfgang Petersonís Poseidon was a breeze. I went in with my usual cynicism intact and walked out with it still intact, but couldnít deny that I enjoyed myself. Iíll grant you the movie has nothing new to offer. It comes to us as an utterly forgettable and disposable piece of commercial filmmaking, but I didnít look at my watch once. Believe it or not, thatís quite a compliment these days. Peterson packs this movie so tightly that even the title of the original movie on which itís based has been cut in half.

Here, we get to know the characters for a whopping 15 (maybe 20) minutes. We got the former fireman and Mayor of New York (Kurt Russell), his hot daughter and her hunky boyfriend; we got a gay architect (Richard Dreyfuss); you got yourself a former Navy seaman (Josh Lucas); a single mom, her little tyke and a girl who boarded the ship without a ticket; oh, and of course, a superfluous, smarmy bad guy (Matt Dillon). Did I miss anyone?

Oh, yes, the ship itself. Not familiar with The Poseidon Adventure from 1972? Well, itís pretty simple stuff, really. A bunch of people from all walks of life get on a cruise ship, a tidal wave comes along, knocks the dang thing over upside down and the above-mentioned main characters try to swim their way to safety before the behemoth sinks to the ocean floor. Your typical disaster flick formula, complete with shallow characters, special effects and lots and lots of water.

But Peterson excels at this sort of thing and heóalong with his handsome castómakes the silliness go down smoothly. Sure, we can watch this movie and snicker about how long these people can really hold their breath under water and we can all place bets on which character will sacrifice themselves first so that others may live. Exactly why did these few people entrust one particular job meant for a fireman to a frail architect? I found myself pondering all of that, but I also found myself really wanting them to get out of their sticky situations. As much as I tried to detach myself from what I knew was essentially a throwaway movie, I found myself, well, along for the ride.

Itís not exactly a tall order to improve upon The Poseidon Adventure, a movie that had its time and place, but has since gained more value as a piece of camp more than anything else. This movie cuts out the sermonizing and goofy melodrama that propelled the characters forward in the original. This movie is more about moving from one set piece to the next as soon as possible, so you donít have time to think about it. Isnít that one of the reasons why someone would do a remake? To actually improve on an old idea? Isnít the only reason you want to see this movie is to see pretty people try and survive a major, special effects-laden disaster? Okay, then. Me too. Mission: accomplished.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=14526&reviewer=233
originally posted: 05/12/06 15:45:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/29/11 Bob Dog A great b-movie - best disaster movie I've seen in years! 5 stars
5/18/11 Ravenmad I wouldn't want to die like this, but almost did watching this film. 2 stars
11/23/09 Jeff Wilder Story's predictable, no real suspense and we don't care about the characters. 2 stars
11/03/09 Darryl Great sp. effects, stars & fast-paced! Dreyfuss miscast, Cary Elwes wouldve been perfect. 4 stars
8/14/09 Dan better than you've heard, if still imperfect 3 stars
3/26/09 Eric Much better than I thought it'd be - avoid comparing to original and judge on its own merit 4 stars
2/11/09 Stewart Worst movie I have ever seen! No story or characters, just special effects and bad acting. 1 stars
1/16/09 Shaun Wallner Very Interesting 4 stars
4/07/08 art IT IS LIKE A COMPUTER GAME RATHER THAN A MOVIE 3 stars
1/15/08 JM Synth Generic with paper thin characters, but great action and suspense 4 stars
1/12/08 Brian Mckay Better than Titanic - at least you don't have to sit through bullshit love story first. 4 stars
10/02/07 Rick Excellent action, but weak character development. Still, awesome f/x make it worth seeing. 4 stars
7/14/07 Vincent Ebriega Great effects, set design and action, but, like the Poseidon, sinks too quickly. 3/5. 3 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK To sum it up, Battlefield Earth was better. 1 stars
2/28/07 Stanley Thai This film doesn't need character developement and has very good action scenes. 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega This remake is great to watch. 4 stars
1/23/07 Matt Lame,rushed,tooshort-and this time we don't give a shit who lives or dies. 2 stars
10/16/06 Mystique This movie really sucks; it's terribly clichť. You're better off renting "Titanic". 1 stars
10/13/06 Indrid Cold Suitably white-knuckle update of the original. 3 stars
10/07/06 Rhonda Heaslip In my opinion it was an awesome movie that kept me on the edge of my seat. I loved it! 5 stars
9/27/06 Anthony Feor I wish i had saw the origional before this, however it comes quite close to it 4 stars
9/03/06 Dragon The Artist A pretty good, ownable rehash of The Posiedon Adventure 4 stars
9/02/06 Danny Even without compairing it to 1972 classic, still merely average and pretty forgettable. 3 stars
8/29/06 David Hasslehof Not enough substance - could have been Titanic set in the modern era - Godzilla anyone? 3 stars
8/24/06 action movie fan sometimes exciting but you.ve seen it all before--ship is the only thing new 3 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant It feels longer than 'Titanic', and is a collosal piece of ass. Hated every frame. 1 stars
7/24/06 malcolm thrilling but ultimately forgettable 3 stars
6/05/06 Jon With excellent suspense and action Poseidon makes the already good old one perfect! 5 stars
6/03/06 MickOZ Are you over 14? If so you have seen this type of shite countless times. 2 stars
6/03/06 MP Bartley Fun for the moment but entirely forgettable. Wavers between average and worth a look. 3 stars
5/29/06 inty speed 2 was better 1 stars
5/24/06 Navi this movie just plain sucks. Maybe add a few details about characters, and make an ending. 2 stars
5/22/06 Jeff Anderson Waterlogged to say the least & cruel. Cast & effects are far better than film deserves! 2 stars
5/19/06 Staci Typical blockbuster filled with thrills and chills galore. 4 stars
5/19/06 Mase Quick and painless, if you are looking for great visuals and no depth...enjoy 3 stars
5/18/06 michael not too bad and close to the first movie...now if they would just think up some new ideas 4 stars
5/18/06 Gavin Bamber If you've seen Titanic, you've seen it already 3 stars
5/18/06 JOHN PETERSON When I saw this about 29 years ago, it was mediocre at best. This tiime special effects is 3 stars
5/17/06 Astro Boye THis movie Sucked- Homopphobia and racial bias sink this ship! 1 stars
5/16/06 pipe 10 minutes of decent special effects and 1-1/2 hours of mind-numbing plot and dialog. Glug 1 stars
5/14/06 Ron Green The special effects were great! It makes the original poseidon look like a sailboat! 4 stars
5/13/06 Captain Highcrime Moved so fast...Wolfgang must have been double-parked outside the post house. 4 stars
5/13/06 Mike C. Finally a movie that lived up to its preview. It kicked ass! Very intense! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-May-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-Aug-2006

UK
  02-Jun-2006

Australia
  01-Jun-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast