More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome63.64%
Worth A Look: 32.73%
Average: 1.82%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 1.82%

1 review, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Naked Gun, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Say...nice beaver."
4 stars

One of the better parody films, but still lightweight.

Leslie Nielsen has come a long way, I guess. He's been acting since the 1950's in numerous films and television programs. But he never really achieved the noteriety he has now until he started doing movies with the Zucker-Abrahams-Zucker team. Now he's basically stuck in that mode, doing lame spoof after lame spoof (Wrongfully Accused, anyone?).

The Naked Gun: From The Files Of Police Squad! came about in 1988 and grossed something like $78 million, spawned two sequels and countless imitators.

You can find most of the jokes in the original series Police Squad! from 1982, but that's not important. Nevermind that the star was 62 years old and just as well known for a role in Forbidden Planet as he was in Airplane!

Point is, it's still pretty funny.

Oh sure, some of the jokes are groaners. But compare this film to the more recent parody movies, the Wrongfully Accuseds, the Dracula: Dead And Loving Its (featuring Nielsen), and it's actually not so bad.

There's something about a movie that casts Ricardo Montalban as the bad guy and doesn't play up the Khan comparisons, or that has Reggie Jackson attempting to kill Queen Elizabeth that makes you smile, at the very least. You also get a good look at one O.J. Simpson, continuing to prove the best acting he ever did was trying to put on a pair of gloves in a California courtroom.

Yes, the story is thin, and the acting is spotty, but dammit, it's funny. Sight gags, tons of verbal jokes, you name it. It's funny without being vulgar, stupid but sweet at the same time.

It's not gonna change your life, but it's still funny enough to rent on a Saturday night.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1453&reviewer=7
originally posted: 01/13/99 02:28:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/06/16 Anne uneven - yet some memorable funny moments 4 stars
1/26/15 david froman 80's classic nice beaver 4 stars
2/19/13 the truth oh god. an absolute turd/classic. the title theme makes me wanna do bad in a stolen cop car 5 stars
3/01/10 PAUL SHORTT HILARIOUSLY SILLY COMEDY WITH GOOD VISUAL AND VERBAL GAGS 4 stars
8/29/09 Jeff Wilder Probably the best parody movie of the era. 4 stars
2/08/08 mrsinister Hmmm....not bad 4 stars
2/02/08 Chris This is one of the funniest movies ever, a comedy classic. 5 stars
2/23/07 johnnyfog Pretty funny. Which is weird, because I thought only mean or gross movies were funny 5 stars
1/02/07 ProSneakyD All in all, this is how all spoofs should be done, well directed and super funny. 5 stars
7/22/06 George Funny as hell 4 stars
5/30/06 Wanker A bit weee and a bit wooooooooooooo but it's still good and funny 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Cop Movie parody masterpiece! Plus: O.J. Simpson!!! 5 stars
8/09/05 Nick One of my favorite funny movies ever 5 stars
7/24/05 C Vega stupid, immature comedy that makes you laugh just thinking about it 5 stars
6/30/05 Eric Crooks A Classic Laugh every sec. Slapstick that makes America Great! 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold The funniest movie I have ever seen, but a tad quaint in post-Something About Mary comedy. 5 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul Second best the Zuker Bros movie ever. Kentucky Fried Movie was the best. 5 stars
10/29/04 ODH Maybe the funniest slapstick comedy I have ever seen. 5 stars
12/07/03 john one of the funniest movies ever made 5 stars
6/20/03 John Aster Habig 2nd funniest of the three 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice I dont like funny movies but this one made me laugh more than once. 4 stars
4/01/03 Luke Skywalker awesome 5 stars
1/02/03 . I peed my pants! 5 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby Simply uproarious. Never pee with a mike hooked to you! 5 stars
10/23/02 Anastasia Beaverhausen Right on par with "Airplane!" 5 stars
9/24/02 CVJ Funny absolutely funny 5 stars
9/03/02 Shannon HA HA HA HA HA! 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar If you love slapstick comedy, you will love this movie. 5 stars
3/13/02 Betty Samson Spit is wetter than regular water. 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden I Felt Like A Total Idiot Laughing At This Movie. 5 stars
10/18/01 Henry Ginsberg this movie had some hilarious moments 4 stars
8/26/01 Monster W. Kung Slapstick at its best. Also, if you see this skip the sequels: just same-but-inferior. 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat HILARIOUS! 5 stars
7/28/01 Steve Oh come on, who the fuck DIDN'T laugh at this? Rent this one every month. 5 stars
4/23/01 Dark Sol The best 5 stars
4/21/01 I love movies only America could produce a movie as idiotic as this! not funny, just stupid. 1 stars
2/14/01 Richard Wright Absolutely hilarious: maybe not a film you'll see again in 2010, but you'll love it now. 4 stars
11/03/00 Bender One of the best spoofs ever made. 5 stars
10/29/00 Big Al my dad actually died from laughing too hard at this movie 5 stars
10/29/00 YOUR Movie Expert That other big 90 minute joke besides Airplane! 5 stars
6/26/00 Bruce A very funny movie, a classic 5 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers One of the funniest movies ever. I give it 153 stars! 5 stars
1/28/00 Ed Wood funny,very funny 5 stars
1/19/00 Jedi15 Great comedy! I laughed my ass off! The sequels are also good! 5 stars
9/06/99 Jason Kinsey extremely funny, much better than "Repossessed" 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm O.J.!! What more can I say. 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz The very best of the "silly" comedy movies..it gets better and better 5 stars
12/15/98 Binky Funny and fresh - at the time. Now it looks tired after the overdone theme. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1988 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1988 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast