More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.73

Awesome: 14.73%
Worth A Look: 23.26%
Average: 10.85%
Pretty Bad: 22.48%
Total Crap28.68%

11 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Gone Girl by Daniel Kelly

My Old Lady by Jay Seaver

Boxer's Omen, The by Jay Seaver

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Nacho Libre
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"A one-joke flick in which the one joke ... ain't all that funny."
2 stars

It sounded like a brilliant combination at the outset: Maniacal funnyman Jack Black, coming off his smash hit School of Rock, in collaboration with The Good Girl screenwriter Mike White and second-time director Jared (Napoleon Dynamite) Hess. Surely this trio of inspired comedy experts would yield something truly unique and outrageously amusing. Well, I guess that's why we watch the movies before making any judgments, because, despite a few isolated moments of truly inspired comedy, Nacho Libre is a pretty stale, silly, and annoyingly self-satisfied little farce.

Let's just make this clear from the outset: I like Jack Black a whole lot. I love that he'll do just about anything for a laugh, and he really knows how to contort his face and make wacky noises like nobody's business.

Having said that, his latest exploit, Nacho Libre, feels like something that Jack Black finds absolutely hilarious, even if he doesn't seem to care if nobody else will.

Here the rotund rascal plays a Mexican monk-in-training who moonlights as a harrowingly inept wrestler. Nacho also has a dirt-covered and wirey sidekick, a starry-eyed little fat kid who adores him, a doe-eyed young nun to crush on, and a really goofy little motor scooter. Nacho sucks at wrestling a whole lot, which becomes clear by the time the 6th wresting match is paraded across the screen, but when he gets his one last shot at redemption ... well, let's just say Nacho Libre doesn't exactly work as a sports movie.

And as a comedy, it barely fares much better.

Lensed in an aggressively bland series of straight-ahead one-shots (in which all the characters speak directly into the camera before making a goofy face), Nacho Libre is one seriously dry-looking little flick. Combine the dreary visual style with a tone that pretty much reeks of "tongue-in-cheek racism" and an unwavering tendency to beat its every single joke, good or not, into whimpering submission -- Nacho Libre is the textbook definition of a "one-joke comedy."

Did I laugh a few times? Absolutely. Film Jack Black doing anything for 80 minutes and you're bound to wring a few yuks from the footage, but the chuckles delivered here are distressingly few and far between, and even when some of the material does elicit a giggle, it's most likely because of a stupid little fart-noise, Jack Black's insect-like eyebrows, or the actors' intentionally cartoonish deliveries. But for the amount of real laughs that Nacho Libre has to offer, I'd say it's more worthy of a $2.50 rental than of a $9.00 movie ticket. Yes, even if you're a huge Jack Black fan.

Plus, and perhaps I'm just being a mite oversensitive, isn't it usually considered poor taste for a white actor to dabble in broad, obvious, and unflattering caricatures of other cultures? I'm not saying Mexicans, Jews, Polacks, Eskimos, etc., don't have a sense of humor, but if you're going to trade in stereotypes, it's probably better to do so with some semblance of wit, intelligence, or creativity. Despite its diminutive delivery of a few stray giggles, "Nacho Libre" never comes close to being witty, intelligent, or creative. It's just a funny fat dude wearing tights and doing a goofy impersonation of Speedy Gonzalez.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=14549&reviewer=128
originally posted: 06/16/06 15:04:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2006 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/05/14 epmtyfgrtye USA 2 stars
8/28/11 Jennifer We love Jack Black and this is one movie my kids love to watch. Silly but awfully funny. 5 stars
11/21/10 DaveY The silliness is fun- Jack,Hector & Darius r great & Ana is gorgeous - I luv the soundtrak 4 stars
1/25/09 Robert O'Keife David is just using the internet to vent because he is insecure about his small penis 1 stars
1/09/09 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, very ridiculous! lot of awkward moments, 4 stars
9/09/08 PAUL SHORTT EXTREMELY SILLY AND SUPRISINGLY SWEET 3 stars
12/03/07 Screwball The best movie I've seen about Mexican wrestling. 4 stars
10/20/07 Lynn "Get that corn outa my face!!!!" - The one and only funny line in the whole entire movie 2 stars
7/25/07 frito-laid i want my two hours! 1 stars
7/01/07 Mehmet Unal Boring and totally devoid of anything resembling wit or humour 1 stars
5/19/07 David Pollastrini PRETTY DUMB 3 stars
5/17/07 ES I wanted to like this movie but with two times watching and not making it too the end... 2 stars
1/27/07 diego Alvarez If david thinks this movie is dull, he must have no sense of humor and he is really lame 5 stars
1/23/07 Dave Hilarious movie, David just doesn't get it (or Napoleon Dynamite) 4 stars
1/11/07 rozza david cornelisu is a cunt!! its a minter of a film so is dynamite!! 5 stars
1/06/07 jack diy "or how a large percentage of Mexicans are retarded" ...what tha fuck? fuck you david 1 stars
12/24/06 11pop It's a piece of crap 1 stars
12/05/06 maggie truly dreadful piece of filmmaking 1 stars
12/04/06 Carson I nominate david cornelius for biggest douche in the universe, and this movie was great 5 stars
11/17/06 George The only way to describe this movie is STUPID, but its so stupid that you have to laugh!!! 5 stars
11/17/06 Paul lots of memorable moments, if you`re lookinf for Casablanca go elsewhere 4 stars
11/11/06 surfric I'm a JB fan, but this is strictly a time killer. Laughed maybe twice. 3 stars
11/11/06 DIANA there were some funny moments, not a lot but some 3 stars
11/10/06 Dan Relax, stop being so high brow. It's a classic. 5 stars
11/09/06 Babz I had a good laugh. 3 stars
11/08/06 Derek Just right 5 stars
11/01/06 Mike Really really funny! A breath of fresh air. Laughed my balls off all the way through! 5 stars
11/01/06 ad fresh 4 stars
10/31/06 Bundy Ok, seriously this movie was pretty funny, and David Cornelius is an assfuck. 5 stars
10/31/06 Ryan_A Laughed once - the corncob to the eye bit. Other than that, surprisingly unfunny. 2 stars
10/31/06 ES Ho-hum, almost not worth the watch but it passes time, I guess 3 stars
10/30/06 Roy Smith I might consult a lawyer - this was advertised as a Comedy. 1 stars
8/28/06 Barry Norman what a load of bollcks, jack black must have a movie deal to do this shite 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist An ownable Jack Black comedy,about as good as Nepolian Dynamite.Both cult classic-ish 5 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant I wanted to love this movie. Regrettably, it sucked big, floppy donkey dicks. 2 stars
7/25/06 Alex Paquin Unbearably offensive, hispanophobic, and not at all funny. A waste of Jack Black's talent. 1 stars
7/19/06 Marjorie The jokes were puerile and his fat gut was repulsive. 2 stars
7/13/06 Captain Highcrime The least they could have done is pass out some Taco Bell...lost it's comic punch quick 2 stars
7/09/06 Mike Awesome movie - well crafted. Seaver's Review - also Awesome! 5 stars
7/09/06 Edler Hilarious part of the goofy comedy genre. But if you don't know Mexico, you won't get it. 5 stars
7/03/06 Heather Weak movie, wait until the DVD comes out and rent it instead 3 stars
7/01/06 Gerry Irons Too silly and long on one joke -with no wit or substance 2 stars
6/30/06 Mike (of Mike & the MORONS) Great! Lots to laugh at, and great (though odd) soundtrack. 4 stars
6/26/06 Mase Like a long bad snl skit, with Black trapped in the role and a PG rating. 2 stars
6/26/06 verdesage this movie is great and completely worth seeing! theres nothing not to like about it! 5 stars
6/26/06 Cheryl I NEEDED A LAUGH, AND MIND AWAY FROM SERIOUS THINGS OF LIFE, AND I LAUGHED AND ENJOYED . 4 stars
6/26/06 TORI NACHOLIBREISTHEFUNNIESTGUYEVERMAN 5 stars
6/25/06 pin What's with Hess and food shots? Nice pacing, Black was hilarious. 4 stars
6/24/06 ELLY the best 1 stars
6/22/06 Caiphn You people are clearly retarded. 1 stars
6/22/06 Tommy The worst movie I have ever seen bar none 1 stars
6/20/06 pedro painful 2 stars
6/20/06 jitters So, good-natured, pleasant and simple are bad things? I loved it. Viva Nacho! 4 stars
6/19/06 earlrural About as good as I expected. Much more Hollywood than Napoleon Dynamite. 4 stars
6/19/06 John Aster Habig Jack Black carries the film through Hess's slow pace and keeps the laughs constant 5 stars
6/19/06 Darius Silly plot, yes; unbelievable, yes; hilarious, yes; Hector Jimenez, fantastic 5 stars
6/19/06 Kell Dixon Nacho liber was the worst movie I have paid to see in a long time. The end 1 stars
6/18/06 lee Great attention to detail!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/17/06 Stacy Started out kind of slow for me, but definitely worth seeing. 4 stars
6/17/06 nachooo JB was AWESOME in this role. the movie was laugh out loud funny for about 90% of the time. 5 stars
6/17/06 Evil Wolfie At least its better then Napolion Dynamite. 3 stars
6/16/06 KingNeutron Wrestling was good; rest of the movie needed a REAL DIRECTOR + EDITING. JB's worst effort. 2 stars
6/08/06 CJ Payne very funny ,good date movie. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-2006 (PG)
  DVD: 24-Oct-2006

UK
  11-Aug-2006

Australia
  14-Sep-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast