More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.73

Awesome: 14.84%
Worth A Look: 23.44%
Average: 10.94%
Pretty Bad: 21.88%
Total Crap28.91%

11 reviews, 62 user ratings



Nacho Libre
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Nach-Noooooooooo!!"
1 stars

Here is the most disappointing film I will likely see all year; what was a bizarre and laugh-out-loud preview to one of my most anticipated films of the summer has been released as a disastrously unfunny motion picture that really has no reason to exist. “Nacho Libre” is a dead zone of comedy, devoid of any laughs and does the remarkable feat of making funny-man Jack Black completely and unfathomably unwatchable. Try quoting that on the DVD cover.

Imagine, if you will, Jack Black as a Mexican who bases his entire performance as if he has watched his DVD of “The Mask of Zorro” way too many times. His Nacho is a cook at a religious orphanage who dreams of becoming a luchador fighter, even if it is a sin to his church who believes it is the devil’s work. Nacho persists anyway and leaves his job to pursue his dream; or he kind of does. He still returns to his job even when he is a hit with promoters. He loves those kids, I guess.

This is Jared Hess’ second film after his breakout “Napoleon Dynamite” (2004) which launched Jon Heder into the stratosphere and is a huge seller on DVD, and because of its success I still get thumbs up from people on the street when they see me wearing my “Vote for Pedro” t-shirt. Hess is not that much of a filmmaker to begin with; “Napoleon” was a mess of a motion picture directing-wise, but it was saved by quirky characters, an intelligent script and all of that hilariously ugly-looking food.

Since we have none of that in “Nacho Libre”, we are left watching scenes unfold with no real clarity. Why, for example, is there an entire sequence with Peter Stormare as a mentor for Nacho who gets Nacho to climb up to an eagle’s nest to steal the eggs to make him fly? Why do we need to see Jack Black climb up to this eagle’s nest only so we can see him pour goo all over his face? (Author’s note: MAN, that paragraph was really hard to write!)

Earlier on, there’s an odd sequence where Nacho and Esqueleto (Hector Jimenez), Nacho’s fighting partner, train to fight as luchadors. You think they would exercise vigorously, yet it mostly involves Nacho throwing fecal matter or bee nests at Esqueleto. There is also a bizarre sub-plot involving a love interest between Nacho and Sister Encarnacion (Ana de la Reguera, who looks oddly like Penelope Cruz) that never really goes anywhere.

I must come back to Jack Black for a moment. I have always been a fan of his; greatly admired him in “School of Rock”, “High Fidelity” and “King Kong”, among many other films. I am a Tenacious D fan. He did a good job last season hosting Saturday Night Live, even when the material on that show is beneath him. He is always a live-wire, but it keeps him interesting. In this film he’s somewhat trying to make us laugh, but the material is far from funny, and we aren’t laughing.

The trailer made me laugh, but “Nacho Libre” is a complete failure at its feature length. The reason may have something to do with the fact that this would work as a SNL sketch, rather than one of those dastardly, 90-minute SNL movies. I can see Lorne Michaels at the premiere for this movie, shaking his head in his seat as the end credits are rolling, and saying to himself “Thank god I didn’t produce this one!”

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=14549&reviewer=350
originally posted: 06/18/06 18:28:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2006 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/28/11 Jennifer We love Jack Black and this is one movie my kids love to watch. Silly but awfully funny. 5 stars
11/21/10 DaveY The silliness is fun- Jack,Hector & Darius r great & Ana is gorgeous - I luv the soundtrak 4 stars
1/25/09 Robert O'Keife David is just using the internet to vent because he is insecure about his small penis 1 stars
1/09/09 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, very ridiculous! lot of awkward moments, 4 stars
9/09/08 PAUL SHORTT EXTREMELY SILLY AND SUPRISINGLY SWEET 3 stars
12/03/07 Screwball The best movie I've seen about Mexican wrestling. 4 stars
10/20/07 Lynn "Get that corn outa my face!!!!" - The one and only funny line in the whole entire movie 2 stars
7/25/07 frito-laid i want my two hours! 1 stars
7/01/07 Mehmet Unal Boring and totally devoid of anything resembling wit or humour 1 stars
5/19/07 David Pollastrini PRETTY DUMB 3 stars
5/17/07 ES I wanted to like this movie but with two times watching and not making it too the end... 2 stars
1/27/07 diego Alvarez If david thinks this movie is dull, he must have no sense of humor and he is really lame 5 stars
1/23/07 Dave Hilarious movie, David just doesn't get it (or Napoleon Dynamite) 4 stars
1/11/07 rozza david cornelisu is a cunt!! its a minter of a film so is dynamite!! 5 stars
1/06/07 jack diy "or how a large percentage of Mexicans are retarded" ...what tha fuck? fuck you david 1 stars
12/24/06 11pop It's a piece of crap 1 stars
12/05/06 maggie truly dreadful piece of filmmaking 1 stars
12/04/06 Carson I nominate david cornelius for biggest douche in the universe, and this movie was great 5 stars
11/17/06 George The only way to describe this movie is STUPID, but its so stupid that you have to laugh!!! 5 stars
11/17/06 Paul lots of memorable moments, if you`re lookinf for Casablanca go elsewhere 4 stars
11/11/06 surfric I'm a JB fan, but this is strictly a time killer. Laughed maybe twice. 3 stars
11/11/06 DIANA there were some funny moments, not a lot but some 3 stars
11/10/06 Dan Relax, stop being so high brow. It's a classic. 5 stars
11/09/06 Babz I had a good laugh. 3 stars
11/08/06 Derek Just right 5 stars
11/01/06 Mike Really really funny! A breath of fresh air. Laughed my balls off all the way through! 5 stars
11/01/06 ad fresh 4 stars
10/31/06 Bundy Ok, seriously this movie was pretty funny, and David Cornelius is an assfuck. 5 stars
10/31/06 Ryan_A Laughed once - the corncob to the eye bit. Other than that, surprisingly unfunny. 2 stars
10/31/06 ES Ho-hum, almost not worth the watch but it passes time, I guess 3 stars
10/30/06 Roy Smith I might consult a lawyer - this was advertised as a Comedy. 1 stars
8/28/06 Barry Norman what a load of bollcks, jack black must have a movie deal to do this shite 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist An ownable Jack Black comedy,about as good as Nepolian Dynamite.Both cult classic-ish 5 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant I wanted to love this movie. Regrettably, it sucked big, floppy donkey dicks. 2 stars
7/25/06 Alex Paquin Unbearably offensive, hispanophobic, and not at all funny. A waste of Jack Black's talent. 1 stars
7/19/06 Marjorie The jokes were puerile and his fat gut was repulsive. 2 stars
7/13/06 Captain Highcrime The least they could have done is pass out some Taco Bell...lost it's comic punch quick 2 stars
7/09/06 Mike Awesome movie - well crafted. Seaver's Review - also Awesome! 5 stars
7/09/06 Edler Hilarious part of the goofy comedy genre. But if you don't know Mexico, you won't get it. 5 stars
7/03/06 Heather Weak movie, wait until the DVD comes out and rent it instead 3 stars
7/01/06 Gerry Irons Too silly and long on one joke -with no wit or substance 2 stars
6/30/06 Mike (of Mike & the MORONS) Great! Lots to laugh at, and great (though odd) soundtrack. 4 stars
6/26/06 Mase Like a long bad snl skit, with Black trapped in the role and a PG rating. 2 stars
6/26/06 verdesage this movie is great and completely worth seeing! theres nothing not to like about it! 5 stars
6/26/06 Cheryl I NEEDED A LAUGH, AND MIND AWAY FROM SERIOUS THINGS OF LIFE, AND I LAUGHED AND ENJOYED . 4 stars
6/26/06 TORI NACHOLIBREISTHEFUNNIESTGUYEVERMAN 5 stars
6/25/06 pin What's with Hess and food shots? Nice pacing, Black was hilarious. 4 stars
6/24/06 ELLY the best 1 stars
6/22/06 Caiphn You people are clearly retarded. 1 stars
6/22/06 Tommy The worst movie I have ever seen bar none 1 stars
6/20/06 pedro painful 2 stars
6/20/06 jitters So, good-natured, pleasant and simple are bad things? I loved it. Viva Nacho! 4 stars
6/19/06 earlrural About as good as I expected. Much more Hollywood than Napoleon Dynamite. 4 stars
6/19/06 John Aster Habig Jack Black carries the film through Hess's slow pace and keeps the laughs constant 5 stars
6/19/06 Darius Silly plot, yes; unbelievable, yes; hilarious, yes; Hector Jimenez, fantastic 5 stars
6/19/06 Kell Dixon Nacho liber was the worst movie I have paid to see in a long time. The end 1 stars
6/18/06 lee Great attention to detail!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/17/06 Stacy Started out kind of slow for me, but definitely worth seeing. 4 stars
6/17/06 nachooo JB was AWESOME in this role. the movie was laugh out loud funny for about 90% of the time. 5 stars
6/17/06 Evil Wolfie At least its better then Napolion Dynamite. 3 stars
6/16/06 KingNeutron Wrestling was good; rest of the movie needed a REAL DIRECTOR + EDITING. JB's worst effort. 2 stars
6/08/06 CJ Payne very funny ,good date movie. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-2006 (PG)
  DVD: 24-Oct-2006

UK
  11-Aug-2006

Australia
  14-Sep-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast