More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome46.43%
Worth A Look: 21.43%
Average: 10.71%
Pretty Bad: 14.29%
Total Crap: 7.14%

2 reviews, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Candyman (1992)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DarkHorse

"Sweets for the Sweet"
5 stars

Of all the stories in the three volumes of Clive Barker's "Books of Blood", I would never expected they would make this one into a movie. Thank God they did.

I have gone back and read "The Hell Bound Heart" (the basis of the obscure <chuckle> HELLRAISER series)... and Candyman. Candyman is a pretty fast read. As I wandered through the visceral shocks of monkeys gone wild and sex with mortar, when I was a teenager, Candyman slipped past me. Then I watched the film and I read the story again. The words became sharp as a razor and the imagery of "The Candyman" character took on new life. And the movie helped that happen. Now, if that isn't a compliment for a film then I don't know what is...

The loving attention played to the sets are incredible. There are mouths of madness (watch and see), tales of racism across the walls. Walls of agony. The main setting is a horror unto itself. I have officially cancelled my vacation to Cabrini-Green (I think it has already been torn down anyway).

Built in the 1940's in Chicago, Cabrini-Green has long been a place known for drugs, murder and gangs. I have never been there, but the stories of miserable living conditions and brutal violence are legendary. Cabrini-Green residents were recently offered a way out the hell hole and mostly "dispersed" into a community called North Town Village just yards away. One ex-tenant stated that the place should be destroyed because a card-board box would be a better place to live. This real life setting gives the viewer a palpable sense of menace that compliments the rest of the movie perfectly.

I do not want to say too much about this film and hope you will pick it up without reading the back. Lets just say it is based on an urban legend and, if you appreciate horror, then you will like this. Viginia Madsen turns in a great performance and Tony Todd is beyond menacing in the role of Candyman.

I recommend watching this with a few friends because it is a crowd pleaser.

Be warned that there are shocks and gore aplenty. So if you are a lightweight then I would suggest checking out something with Julia Roberts in it instead. This one gets SIX Stars for the Clive Barker freaks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1457&reviewer=167
originally posted: 01/28/05 22:38:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 ScreamFest L.A. Horror Festival. For more in the 2004 ScreamFest L.A. series, click here.

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell read the short story instead 1 stars
7/25/17 Chaz Walter A favorite of mine. Clive Barker is a genius. 5 stars
2/07/17 Louise A largely intelligently-made horror film. Deliciously creepy! 4 stars
10/07/11 Kevin Breece one of my favorite movies! 5 stars
2/01/11 Sam Perfect use of the horror genre to highlight an unnerving aspect of our own society. 5 stars
8/24/10 karamashi Upfront with its gore, the film is suprisingly well made. 4 stars
8/05/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Smart and intense 4 stars
4/25/10 PAUL SHORTT EFFECTIVE, SCARY AND EERIE 3 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Awesome mobvie. Great acting and great horror scenes. Will send some chills down your spine 4 stars
11/04/08 nina this movie was disgusting. 1 stars
11/03/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
2/13/08 art A VERY WEIRD MOVIE it mostly about the SUBCONSCIOUS 3 stars
11/08/07 Beverly Thompson Among the finest fantasy/horror films made!!! Tony was superb!!! 5 stars
11/02/07 Total Crap Tony Todd's voice is so deep and echoey. Freaky shit. Madsen, man she's fine!!! 5 stars
3/28/07 Mark Louis Baumgart One of horror's great actors, Todd, and Cabrini Green make the movie something different. 5 stars
3/28/06 Josh Standlee The only interesting character is, well, Candyman. 2 stars
10/16/05 Indrid Cold Clearly a cut (ha!) above most horror movies, but that's not saying too much. 4 stars
8/19/05 ES A movie that bored the hell out of 12 year old horror fans= see it and regret it 1 stars
3/26/05 Denise great 5 stars
2/19/05 april gupton ok 3 stars
2/12/05 Aimee Shelton Definitely creepy, even after all these years! 4 stars
2/12/05 J. Elaine Greenup Good to see once. 3 stars
2/11/05 Al Guy Tony Todd is a great, Virginia Madsen is both sexy and creepy. Great soundtrack. too. 5 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson Tony Todd & especially the smoking hot Virginia Madsen are terrific in this scary film!!!!! 5 stars
1/30/05 Marilyn excellent 5 stars
1/30/05 Christine Fidance I really like the character of Candyman and thought that this movie had a pretty good story 4 stars
1/29/05 DONNA LONGWORTH IT WAS A VERY SCAREY MOVIE! 4 stars
6/10/04 Ryan Clark One of the scariest movies ever made, with a fantastic performance by Virginia Madsen. 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Pretty well-done for Clive Barker... Too bad his films are taken adventage of!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel Chilling and Frightening!! 5 stars
11/15/03 American Slasher Goddess Chilling and scary. One of best horror movies of 90's. 5 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee Tony Todd is cool, but this was nothing more than a poor excuse for gore! 1 stars
7/22/03 Double G AWESOME MOVIE, I watched it with my sister then when my sis went to b-room I hid n' BOOM!!! 5 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum Creepy, but I wish Madsen had shed more clothing 5 stars
1/30/02 Andrew Carden Not Very Good, Other Then A Well-Crafted Plot. 2 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright One of the best horror films I've ever seen, It's gore and tension are simply unparalelled. 5 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright A chilling horror flick with gore and shocks aplenty, and (for a change) great acting. 4 stars
11/03/99 reverand love joy thsi movie is awesome,it is full of gore and blood 4 stars
6/14/99 Dylan I have seen the name of our lord - his name is Mr Clive Barker. Seminal horror. 5 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm It gave me a fear of mirrors for a long while 4 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury I like it. I thought I wouldn't but its fun. The deaths are cool 4 stars
2/18/99 Bishop I liked this far better than anyone I've met. Great blending of regional custom and horror. 5 stars
1/19/99 Vick Di Brecci For some reason, this became a party movie in the dorm during my 92-93 sophomore year 3 stars
12/14/98 Jules The music was great (Philip Glass). Not as trashy as you'd think. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1992 (R)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1993 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast