More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 5.56%
Worth A Look30.09%
Average: 27.78%
Pretty Bad: 19.44%
Total Crap: 17.13%

13 reviews, 138 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


X-Men: The Last Stand
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Cool, it's not terrible. I say end the series right now."
3 stars

The main problem with the fitfully entertaining yet generally uninspired "X-Men: The Last Stand" is not that it's a BAD movie. It's that "X-Men: The Last Stand" is actually 2.5 mini-movies wedged into one 99-minute frame, with no discernible effort made to massage these pieces into one cohesive whole. Plus, most importantly, it lacks the sincere human touch the X1 & X2 delivered in spades, which means X3 is basically an empty-headed action flick. By that standard, it's probably worth the price of admission.

Mini-movie #1: Government officials have announced the creation of a Mutant Vaccine, a reliably safe medication that promises to eradicate any chromosomes that might give you blue skin, porcupine flesh, or the staggering power of literal magnetism. Some mutants believe the "cure" could possibly do some good in some cases, while others think it's smarter to just destroy everything they can until the "cure" itself is eradicated.

Mini-movie #2: Previously-dead mega-telekinetic Jean Grey has returned from her watery grave, only now she's this biblically-massively-outrageously powerful Phoenix Thing who can demolish buildings and melt enemies ... just by thinking about it!

Mini-movie #2.5: A quivering pale guy grows wings, fights with his Dad, and then they make up.

Taken individually, each of these mini-movies offer their fair share of doofy dialogue, dazzling FX work, and form-fitting leather costumes. The problem is that these segments never come close to congealing into a fully-formed big boy movie.

Episodic to its very core, X-Men: The Last Stand marks the series arrival for director Brett Ratner, who was called in at the very last minute after Bryan Singer flew to Metropolis and Matthew Vaughn flew home to England. There was much distress among the vocally passionate X-community than Ratner was quite simply not the man for the job. (OK, they got a little more personal than that, but Ratner's got a family, so let's just play nice.) And while I'd agree that, prior to X3, Ratner (Money Talks, Rush Hour, After the Sunset) had never once made a good film, hope always springs eternal with the newest Summer Blockbuster, so I opted to see the film before casting any further judgments.

The fans were right: Brett Ratner simply wasn't the right guy for this particular gig. His non-action compositions are flat and persistently unimaginative; he seems to have no real interest in the "heart" that Singer brought to the first two entries, and he allows the lamest actors onscreen to dole out the most dialogue. (Halle Berry gets to deliver a eulogy that could have been really touching, but is instead rushed and insincere.)

X3 seems content to simply dole out a huge and colorful ensemble of neat-looking mutatoes while a virtually endless series of exposition scenes manage to delay the high-end action bits. With so many characters bouncing around on the screen, even the most important ones get lost in the shuffle. The cursory attempts at actual character development come off as mawkish at best (an ice skating scene?) and cringe-worthy at worst. The stuff that made us actually care, the subtext (yes, mutants as outsiders!), feels like its running on fumes left over from X2.

But there's good news, too. Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart are as lovably watchable as ever, plus there are a few cool moments saved for folks like Kitty Pryde (Ellen Page), Mystique (Rebecca Romijn), and Beast (the surprisingly effective Kelsey Grammer). Unfortunately, contract negotiations stipulated that Halle Berry get a big bump in screen-time, which kinda stinks because her performance is as irritating as the character she's playing.

It's harmless eye candy with a fast pace and lots of color, which is fine, but based on what came before it, X-Men: The Last Stand really should have been a little more than just "harmless eye candy."

So it's certainly the weakest of the series, but X3 is by no means "Superman 4" or "Batman & Robin." Some of the diehards will hate it, but I suspect most will like it just fine. I highly doubt anyone will ever call it the best of the trilogy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=14574&reviewer=128
originally posted: 05/26/06 21:09:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

3/18/16 Charles Tatum Compelling characters make up for wavering film making 4 stars
9/02/14 Dude where x-men went downhill 2 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC I liked it better than the 1st two 4 stars
6/15/11 My apples are rotting Worst of the series? Very probably 2 stars
10/17/10 Deek Windsome Wrong. The reviewer seems to think the film should be based on what he wanted. 5 stars
12/04/09 healthcare assistant visit 2 stars
12/01/09 tips win now 1 stars
11/26/09 directory win now 3 stars
11/22/09 win now visit 2 stars
11/19/09 wheaton franciscan healthcare tip 1 stars
11/13/09 best auto insurance rate visit 3 stars
10/29/09 tips car cheap insurance sports 5 stars
10/26/09 motor vehicle insurance cheap car insurance young dr 2 stars
10/25/09 directory craps free download 3 stars
10/19/09 internet roulette login 2 stars
10/16/09 click car insurance plan quote 2 stars
10/15/09 win now login 5 stars
10/09/09 online car insurance click 4 stars
10/01/09 medical insurance quotes health insurance online quote 3 stars
9/20/09 guide visit 1 stars
9/13/09 visit now click 3 stars
8/18/09 poker instruction click here 3 stars
8/18/09 tips reviews 2 stars
7/15/09 click rental car insurance 2 stars
7/10/09 reviews click here 2 stars
7/07/09 farmers auto insurance tip 4 stars
7/03/09 the dork knight Wasted potential, too much focus on fucking Juno! (not enough thigh crushing either, Jean) 3 stars
6/25/09 tip massachusetts car insurance quote 3 stars
6/23/09 pennsylvania health insurance health care policy 4 stars
6/15/09 click download free game poker 4 stars
6/04/09 auto insurance ratings buy car insurance online california 1 stars
5/21/09 Aaron Smith Just okay final chapter to X Trilogy. Good to see more Magneto, Colossus, Shadowcat 4 stars
4/30/09 matt criminally underrated 4 stars
3/21/09 visit tips 1 stars
3/09/09 JL Hunt Total disappointment. Destroyed the excellent work from X2 2 stars
1/05/09 living4christ OK, but < than 1st 2. Wish more chars were around for sequals 4 stars
12/01/08 the dork knight Too many goddamn characters. Still, not too terrible. 3 stars
11/24/08 Jason Get over it nerds. All I have to say is $459,256,008. Not bad for a horrible movie. 4 stars
11/23/08 MC And apparently Angel can fly from NY to Frisco just as fast as the X-Jet. 1 stars
11/23/08 Jin This is whaty happens when Jim Lee is not consulted: the story ruins the comic 2 stars
11/23/08 Remy Ramone David and the fanboys can get over that Dark Phoenix Saga took years and X3 2 hours. 4 stars
10/18/08 Pandapeep Awful, awful movie. No excuse. I am still upser I've ever wasted time watching this thing. 1 stars
8/18/08 jonathantstorm terrible film, just awfulll 1 stars
5/29/08 PAUL SHORTT DISPOSABLE ENTERTAINMENT THAT PASSES THE TIME 1 stars
9/25/07 Bitchflaps Worse than the first two, and I didn't even like the first two. Embarrassing. 2 stars
7/26/07 MaDmAN I agree with David Cornelius' review 100%. What a terrible way to end an great seriesli 2 stars
6/01/07 Likk Another pretty bad comic book film, will they ever stop making them? 2 stars
5/15/07 967 Poorly done. Where was Nightcrawler? 2 stars
4/28/07 s the reason that's why i have to watch x3 bec of shawn ashmore and ellen page.that's all... 3 stars
4/05/07 DL Poor 1 stars
3/23/07 David A bit dissapointing, but it is decent. 3 stars
3/21/07 man great movie 4 stars
2/14/07 The chode What a piece of smelly shit. 1 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog ............What the fuck was that? 1 stars
12/23/06 Benjamin Butchered story, the horror of Hollywood. 2 stars
12/09/06 Indrid Cold As with the previous two, I was left vaguely disappointed. Many plot threads, but no depth. 3 stars
12/08/06 jill b absolutly my favorite movie of all times!!! loved it!!! 5 stars
11/18/06 Quigley just a special-effects showcase. bad sci-fi, bad plot, bad script...I missed Bryan Singer 2 stars
11/07/06 julian this movie was monkey balls no gambit,rogue,real sentinal fighting,bishop crap all the way 1 stars
10/29/06 Riley it was ok but i wish nightcrawler was in it 4 stars
10/21/06 comic book guy worst movie ever 1 stars
10/19/06 Henry X-Men 3 apesta, sin duda, la mejor de todas es X2 2 stars
10/17/06 David Worse than the other 2. 3 stars
10/12/06 Rich Pitoniak x-men 3 was very laughable i laughed the whole film, it sucked. 1 stars
10/11/06 jagnet I was very disappointed... good action but way off the real story behind x-men-1word Rogue 3 stars
10/04/06 Brett_Ratner_can_eat_a_bowl_of_d1cks Brett Ratner: the WORST DIRECTOR EVER! This guy made horse sh1t like Prison Break, Rush Hou 1 stars
10/02/06 Nick S. It got the job done, but the film feels rushed. Don't blame Ratner though. 4 stars
8/17/06 Pn. As with GOFATHER and Wacko Jacko nose jobs, should have stopped at two.. 3 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist The "Phoenix" thing was a little dumb, but its good how they kept bringin' in mutants. 4 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant Blasphemy on every level. All involved should be drawn and quartered. Sad end to series. 1 stars
7/30/06 Scotty It was ok as an action film, but I was very disappointed with how they treated the characte 3 stars
7/08/06 Necie This is a good film. X-Men means action for me!!! 5 stars
7/04/06 matt Some weak plot elements and less involving, otherwise great 4 stars
7/01/06 Gerry Irons Better than I expected- Lacks Brian Singers Polish- but delivers with action story-surprise 4 stars
6/25/06 P3NIS_CLEAVER its a comic book movie, lighten up! 4 stars
6/22/06 Mitch! Hey Doug, AC/DC and Aerosmith suck...and so does this movie. 2 stars
6/20/06 rob nero Phoenix was an entity that copied her, not a disorder! 3 stars
6/20/06 Jason Hyde It'd be better if they dropped the Phoenix stuff and focused on the cure stuff. 3 stars
6/18/06 alice Entertaining,for me the best one. 4 stars
6/18/06 MP Bartley Efficient closing chapter - but it does feel like a collection of deleted scenes from #2 3 stars
6/16/06 donald so sad to see the series turn to crap after such a promising second entry. 1 stars
6/14/06 burton miller good, but not as good as the first two 4 stars
6/13/06 raul valdez Jr good action, went by to fast none the less entertaining 4 stars
6/12/06 Diana it was okay, the action was good... 3 stars
6/11/06 Mase Still one of the best super hero franchises around, if obviously lacking in direction. 5 stars
6/10/06 ALDO if you enjoyed 1&2 its well worth viewing. Unexpected scenes made it enjoyable 4 stars
6/09/06 junaid well i think the biggest mistake is the killing of the main three characters 1 stars
6/08/06 Tyrone since when can you vaporize someone with telekenisis 1 stars
6/08/06 Lisa Jean Gray is definitely more exciting in this one!!! 4 stars
6/05/06 tim Cheap, corny, ridiculous, unemotional, anitclimatic. 1 stars
6/05/06 Illimantia A decent set-up, a superior sequel, and now a pile of dung! Sad... 1 stars
6/05/06 Alejandro Luna Even if you know nothing about this comic, you can identify it as a huge dissapointment 1 stars
6/04/06 ChumpyTheGreat Easily the worst of the three..a total mess. 1 stars
6/03/06 Con O'Brien Really enjoyed it - having seen the previous two. Particularly enjoyed sfx. 4 stars
6/03/06 Rowsdower A lot more flawed than the previous two, but it's still X-Men. Halle Berry, go home! 3 stars
6/03/06 Ricardo The best X-men film 5 stars
6/02/06 George Jung About as choppy as the first two - at least something happened in this one. 4 stars
6/02/06 Rocky Well...it was ALMOST a great trilogy... 1 stars
6/01/06 The Talking Elbow Seemed more concerned about making a buck, what a difference a director can make. 2 stars
6/01/06 Thoughtmachine Couln't have been worse if Van Damme played Wolverine. Sloppy and poorly constructed. 1 stars
6/01/06 MARVEL MADNESS This movie was absolutely without a doubt the worst movie i have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
6/01/06 Michelle & Ethan Absolutely disappointing and crappy! 1 stars
6/01/06 Koitus I actually thought that this was a good movie. Surprised at many of others' comments... 4 stars
6/01/06 panagiotis sucks and has no relation to the comic books, just a disappointment , THE DIRECTOR SUCKS 1 stars
5/31/06 malcolm about time they let Storm kick some ass, 1st X-movie is still the best of the series 3 stars
5/31/06 Obi Wan Jackman shines!! Easily best of 3, where was NightCrawler? 5 stars
5/31/06 sweetgrrl1972 *sigh* Why won't they pay for decent writers? Why?!! I'm so disappointed. 2 stars
5/31/06 Sean Brett Ratner ruined my Memorial Day Weekend. 1 stars
5/31/06 J-rd Iíve heard better dialogue between my three month old daughter and her stuffed bear. 3 stars
5/30/06 too-much-coffee mistress How does Halle Berry keep getting work? Oh yeah. Thanks, Oscar! 4 stars
5/30/06 Jeff The best of the three - most comic book like but still no Spiderman or Batman Begins! 4 stars
5/30/06 San Lamar coulda been better, but also coulda been worse 4 stars
5/30/06 sarrik76 As an action movie-good/As a comic book continuation- awful 3 stars
5/30/06 kandace I was okay 4 stars
5/29/06 Intelligent One Famke Janssen is hot but the rest of the movie sucks. 2 stars
5/29/06 Lord Jiggy Deeply, numbingly average. Worth a matinee, at best. Not worth a DVD. 2 stars
5/29/06 Cindy too many inacurate details for long time fans/readers 3 stars
5/29/06 Troy M. Grzych Not as good as 2 but really entertaining. It seems like they were trying to clean house. 4 stars
5/29/06 Elizabeth It was an absolute disaster. Ratner has no taste and no talent. 1 stars
5/29/06 bullit16 Not as good as the first two, but still a helluva ride 4 stars
5/29/06 Mr Bojangles The X-MEN series gets its RETURN OF THE JEDI... 2 stars
5/29/06 Ole Man Bourbon I just don't get this whole X-Men craze. All 3 sucked IMO. 2 stars
5/29/06 Adam Smith I was extremely let down. Mr. Ratner ruined the experience & a potentially great ending. 2 stars
5/28/06 Jim Why, Bryan, why did you leave us?! 3 stars
5/28/06 Anthony G IM THE JUGGERNAUT BITCH!!!!!!!!!! OWNED 5 stars
5/28/06 KB Oh what a letdown 2 stars
5/28/06 Nichole Great movie! 5 stars
5/28/06 Becky Berry annoying as always, most memorable moments were *not* emotional- meh at best. 3 stars
5/28/06 ad at least the actors are good 2 stars
5/27/06 Agent Sands Entertaining as a comic book adaptation typically gets. 4 stars
5/27/06 Stacy Too many "walking down hall and talking" scenes. It was all right. 3 stars
5/27/06 KingNeutron STAY FOR THE END CREDITS. Great summer movie, deals w/ some heavy issues. 4 stars
5/27/06 Dan Too short, too "punny" at the beginning, but otherwise a good movie. 4 stars
5/27/06 Pokejedservo Not as good as the first two... at first, though the finale more than made up for it. 5 stars
5/27/06 dredphul meh, wait for it on dvd unless you are a fan 3 stars
5/27/06 Eden Flawed, and not as good as the first 2. It all feels a little pointless 3 stars
5/27/06 BrianWilly Has several flaws, but generally awesome 5 stars
5/26/06 Sarah Im so dissapointed, I'm about to cry 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-May-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 03-Oct-2006

UK
  26-May-2006

Australia
  25-May-2006


Directed by
  Brett Ratner

Written by
  Simon Kinberg
  Zak Penn

Cast
  Hugh Jackman
  Halle Berry
  Ian McKellen
  Famke Janssen
  Anna Paquin
  Patrick Stewart



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast