More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 5.56%
Worth A Look30.09%
Average: 27.78%
Pretty Bad: 19.44%
Total Crap: 17.13%

13 reviews, 138 user ratings



X-Men: The Last Stand
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by robertrosado

"Mixed thoughts..."
3 stars

I'm an X-Men fan. I've been reading the comics and watching the cartoons since childhood, and I'm sure that most of the people who have seen this movie have done the same. After the rousing success of "X2", I gleefully watched "X-Men: The Last Stand", and enjoyed it while it was playing. It was entertaining, and I was never bored. However, when I walked out of the theatre, it hit me how many opportunities were missed. So many enticing possibilities, so many interesting characters... Few of them employed to their maximum potential. Still, the movie is not without its naive charms.

Warning: This will be a very candid, train-of-thought review.

Part of the problem is the screenplay. It's written by the same people who did "Elektra". Need I say more? Most of the dialogue is awful ("I'm the Juggernaut, bitch" What?). I also wish that the writers followed through with what they started. What ever happened to that rather intriguing friendship between Rogue and Logan? What about Angel (Ben Foster), who should have had more screen time? What about Colussus, who certainly could have been featured more in the final battle? Was that really the payoff that the Jean Grey/Scott Summer subplot deserved? Where the hell is Gambit?!?! What about more depth to the relationship between Magneto and Professor X? These two characters have years - decades, even - of back story. Where is it? Thankfully, actors like Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen are around to do what they can.

And what about this "cure" that we keep hearing about? I was really interested, but there was very little explaining its creation. Nor, was there any struggle between the characters of who was to take the cure, and why. Rogue (the luminous Anna Paquin) seemed to be the only one of the group who was not only extremely eager to take it, but the only one who cared about the friggin' thing at all! I understand that the final battle was directly related to the cure and all, but there was no dramatic build-up to speak of. Much of the emphasis is focused on Jean Grey (Famke Janssen), and her transformation into the deadly Phoenix.

Another problem is the running time. I would have gladly sat through a two and a half hour movie if it offered any development of the ideas that the final product had raised. Hell, "X2" joined "Batman Begins", "Superman", and "Spider-Man 2" as one of the best superhero movies because it offered much more than mindless action. It had energy, humanity, and love for its audience. This is not so with "The Last Stand". In addition to the former setbacks, many of the characters aren't given nearly the time they should. Take the role of Mystique, the slinky villainess, for example. It's almost as if Rebecca Romijn was in a rush to finish shooting her scenes, and they compromised at the expense of the script. And Rogue -whom, I might add, was being set up in the first film to play a major part in the trilogy - does nothing to speak of. And, I do mean nothing.

Yet another problem is the director, Brett Ratner. I enjoyed "Rush Hour" and especially "Red Dragon", but this guy seems to have no clue how to properly block, light, and shoot action sequences (or, in this case, any sequence). Also, the pacing in this movie felt really off to me. There was never a break, which, in a quality thriller like "Mission: Impossible III", would be a welcome attribute. In this case, the whole thing felt rushed. I would also like to know who gave these chuckleheads any permission to kill off some major characters. How could Stan Lee allow this? If the script was good, I wouldn't have minded as much. To have one of the heroes, in particular, be eliminated so haphazardly is almost a sin. This is X-Men we're talking about here. Be careful who you get rid of, or the die-hard fans (like myself) will have a cow.

And can someone please tell me why Halle Berry's performance as Storm seems to change with each passing film? Berry is a gorgeous woman and a good actress, but if she's gonna make choices with her character, she should keep them consistent. In the first one, she was close to how I imagined the character. By now, she is just playing Halle Berry with white hair. Speaking of Berry, that brings me to another problem with this movie: You have a long roster of gifted actors... let them act!!! Very few of these talented and attractive individuals get a chance to show their stuff.

Still, as much as it seems like I hated the film, I really didn't. It's leagues better than Hulk", "Fantastic Four", and the aforementioned "Elektra". Though I complain about the film's pacing problems, I can't ever say that it was slow. Quite the contrary, the damn thing moved like a race car, speeding all the way to the finish line. And, as I said in the first paragraph, I'd be lying if I said I didn't have fun for the duration. For those who aren't as involved with the X-Men universe, and even for some of those who are, the movie is a harmless, if mediocre, breeze. Hugh Jackman has always been the exciting force holding these films together, and he is no sloucher here. The only two other thespians in this one who gave me glimpses of what could have been were Janssen and McKellen, who is excellent as usual. Kelsey Grammer (as Beast) and Ellen Page (as Kitty Pryde) were welcome presences.

Overall, I'm disappointed. This movie should not have been hastily patched together in order to avoid competing with "Superman". Much of it was indefensible, but there was just enough that was positive to keep me from clawing my eyes off. Now, I'm not going to name names (*ahem*Halle Berry), but I know that several of the actors don't want to do another one. One can only hope that the studio gives them enough money next time, provided that there is a next time. There HAS to be another one, if only to compensate for this one... Until then, the fans will be feverishly watching and waiting for the next boob to mess it all up.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=14574&reviewer=394
originally posted: 05/30/06 12:47:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

3/18/16 Charles Tatum Compelling characters make up for wavering film making 4 stars
9/02/14 Dude where x-men went downhill 2 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC I liked it better than the 1st two 4 stars
6/15/11 My apples are rotting Worst of the series? Very probably 2 stars
10/17/10 Deek Windsome Wrong. The reviewer seems to think the film should be based on what he wanted. 5 stars
12/04/09 healthcare assistant visit 2 stars
12/01/09 tips win now 1 stars
11/26/09 directory win now 3 stars
11/22/09 win now visit 2 stars
11/19/09 wheaton franciscan healthcare tip 1 stars
11/13/09 best auto insurance rate visit 3 stars
10/29/09 tips car cheap insurance sports 5 stars
10/26/09 motor vehicle insurance cheap car insurance young dr 2 stars
10/25/09 directory craps free download 3 stars
10/19/09 internet roulette login 2 stars
10/16/09 click car insurance plan quote 2 stars
10/15/09 win now login 5 stars
10/09/09 online car insurance click 4 stars
10/01/09 medical insurance quotes health insurance online quote 3 stars
9/20/09 guide visit 1 stars
9/13/09 visit now click 3 stars
8/18/09 poker instruction click here 3 stars
8/18/09 tips reviews 2 stars
7/15/09 click rental car insurance 2 stars
7/10/09 reviews click here 2 stars
7/07/09 farmers auto insurance tip 4 stars
7/03/09 the dork knight Wasted potential, too much focus on fucking Juno! (not enough thigh crushing either, Jean) 3 stars
6/25/09 tip massachusetts car insurance quote 3 stars
6/23/09 pennsylvania health insurance health care policy 4 stars
6/15/09 click download free game poker 4 stars
6/04/09 auto insurance ratings buy car insurance online california 1 stars
5/21/09 Aaron Smith Just okay final chapter to X Trilogy. Good to see more Magneto, Colossus, Shadowcat 4 stars
4/30/09 matt criminally underrated 4 stars
3/21/09 visit tips 1 stars
3/09/09 JL Hunt Total disappointment. Destroyed the excellent work from X2 2 stars
1/05/09 living4christ OK, but < than 1st 2. Wish more chars were around for sequals 4 stars
12/01/08 the dork knight Too many goddamn characters. Still, not too terrible. 3 stars
11/24/08 Jason Get over it nerds. All I have to say is $459,256,008. Not bad for a horrible movie. 4 stars
11/23/08 MC And apparently Angel can fly from NY to Frisco just as fast as the X-Jet. 1 stars
11/23/08 Jin This is whaty happens when Jim Lee is not consulted: the story ruins the comic 2 stars
11/23/08 Remy Ramone David and the fanboys can get over that Dark Phoenix Saga took years and X3 2 hours. 4 stars
10/18/08 Pandapeep Awful, awful movie. No excuse. I am still upser I've ever wasted time watching this thing. 1 stars
8/18/08 jonathantstorm terrible film, just awfulll 1 stars
5/29/08 PAUL SHORTT DISPOSABLE ENTERTAINMENT THAT PASSES THE TIME 1 stars
9/25/07 Bitchflaps Worse than the first two, and I didn't even like the first two. Embarrassing. 2 stars
7/26/07 MaDmAN I agree with David Cornelius' review 100%. What a terrible way to end an great seriesli 2 stars
6/01/07 Likk Another pretty bad comic book film, will they ever stop making them? 2 stars
5/15/07 967 Poorly done. Where was Nightcrawler? 2 stars
4/28/07 s the reason that's why i have to watch x3 bec of shawn ashmore and ellen page.that's all... 3 stars
4/05/07 DL Poor 1 stars
3/23/07 David A bit dissapointing, but it is decent. 3 stars
3/21/07 man great movie 4 stars
2/14/07 The chode What a piece of smelly shit. 1 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog ............What the fuck was that? 1 stars
12/23/06 Benjamin Butchered story, the horror of Hollywood. 2 stars
12/09/06 Indrid Cold As with the previous two, I was left vaguely disappointed. Many plot threads, but no depth. 3 stars
12/08/06 jill b absolutly my favorite movie of all times!!! loved it!!! 5 stars
11/18/06 Quigley just a special-effects showcase. bad sci-fi, bad plot, bad script...I missed Bryan Singer 2 stars
11/07/06 julian this movie was monkey balls no gambit,rogue,real sentinal fighting,bishop crap all the way 1 stars
10/29/06 Riley it was ok but i wish nightcrawler was in it 4 stars
10/21/06 comic book guy worst movie ever 1 stars
10/19/06 Henry X-Men 3 apesta, sin duda, la mejor de todas es X2 2 stars
10/17/06 David Worse than the other 2. 3 stars
10/12/06 Rich Pitoniak x-men 3 was very laughable i laughed the whole film, it sucked. 1 stars
10/11/06 jagnet I was very disappointed... good action but way off the real story behind x-men-1word Rogue 3 stars
10/04/06 Brett_Ratner_can_eat_a_bowl_of_d1cks Brett Ratner: the WORST DIRECTOR EVER! This guy made horse sh1t like Prison Break, Rush Hou 1 stars
10/02/06 Nick S. It got the job done, but the film feels rushed. Don't blame Ratner though. 4 stars
8/17/06 Pn. As with GOFATHER and Wacko Jacko nose jobs, should have stopped at two.. 3 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist The "Phoenix" thing was a little dumb, but its good how they kept bringin' in mutants. 4 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant Blasphemy on every level. All involved should be drawn and quartered. Sad end to series. 1 stars
7/30/06 Scotty It was ok as an action film, but I was very disappointed with how they treated the characte 3 stars
7/08/06 Necie This is a good film. X-Men means action for me!!! 5 stars
7/04/06 matt Some weak plot elements and less involving, otherwise great 4 stars
7/01/06 Gerry Irons Better than I expected- Lacks Brian Singers Polish- but delivers with action story-surprise 4 stars
6/25/06 P3NIS_CLEAVER its a comic book movie, lighten up! 4 stars
6/22/06 Mitch! Hey Doug, AC/DC and Aerosmith suck...and so does this movie. 2 stars
6/20/06 rob nero Phoenix was an entity that copied her, not a disorder! 3 stars
6/20/06 Jason Hyde It'd be better if they dropped the Phoenix stuff and focused on the cure stuff. 3 stars
6/18/06 alice Entertaining,for me the best one. 4 stars
6/18/06 MP Bartley Efficient closing chapter - but it does feel like a collection of deleted scenes from #2 3 stars
6/16/06 donald so sad to see the series turn to crap after such a promising second entry. 1 stars
6/14/06 burton miller good, but not as good as the first two 4 stars
6/13/06 raul valdez Jr good action, went by to fast none the less entertaining 4 stars
6/12/06 Diana it was okay, the action was good... 3 stars
6/11/06 Mase Still one of the best super hero franchises around, if obviously lacking in direction. 5 stars
6/10/06 ALDO if you enjoyed 1&2 its well worth viewing. Unexpected scenes made it enjoyable 4 stars
6/09/06 junaid well i think the biggest mistake is the killing of the main three characters 1 stars
6/08/06 Tyrone since when can you vaporize someone with telekenisis 1 stars
6/08/06 Lisa Jean Gray is definitely more exciting in this one!!! 4 stars
6/05/06 tim Cheap, corny, ridiculous, unemotional, anitclimatic. 1 stars
6/05/06 Illimantia A decent set-up, a superior sequel, and now a pile of dung! Sad... 1 stars
6/05/06 Alejandro Luna Even if you know nothing about this comic, you can identify it as a huge dissapointment 1 stars
6/04/06 ChumpyTheGreat Easily the worst of the three..a total mess. 1 stars
6/03/06 Con O'Brien Really enjoyed it - having seen the previous two. Particularly enjoyed sfx. 4 stars
6/03/06 Rowsdower A lot more flawed than the previous two, but it's still X-Men. Halle Berry, go home! 3 stars
6/03/06 Ricardo The best X-men film 5 stars
6/02/06 George Jung About as choppy as the first two - at least something happened in this one. 4 stars
6/02/06 Rocky Well...it was ALMOST a great trilogy... 1 stars
6/01/06 The Talking Elbow Seemed more concerned about making a buck, what a difference a director can make. 2 stars
6/01/06 Thoughtmachine Couln't have been worse if Van Damme played Wolverine. Sloppy and poorly constructed. 1 stars
6/01/06 MARVEL MADNESS This movie was absolutely without a doubt the worst movie i have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
6/01/06 Michelle & Ethan Absolutely disappointing and crappy! 1 stars
6/01/06 Koitus I actually thought that this was a good movie. Surprised at many of others' comments... 4 stars
6/01/06 panagiotis sucks and has no relation to the comic books, just a disappointment , THE DIRECTOR SUCKS 1 stars
5/31/06 malcolm about time they let Storm kick some ass, 1st X-movie is still the best of the series 3 stars
5/31/06 Obi Wan Jackman shines!! Easily best of 3, where was NightCrawler? 5 stars
5/31/06 sweetgrrl1972 *sigh* Why won't they pay for decent writers? Why?!! I'm so disappointed. 2 stars
5/31/06 Sean Brett Ratner ruined my Memorial Day Weekend. 1 stars
5/31/06 J-rd Iíve heard better dialogue between my three month old daughter and her stuffed bear. 3 stars
5/30/06 too-much-coffee mistress How does Halle Berry keep getting work? Oh yeah. Thanks, Oscar! 4 stars
5/30/06 Jeff The best of the three - most comic book like but still no Spiderman or Batman Begins! 4 stars
5/30/06 San Lamar coulda been better, but also coulda been worse 4 stars
5/30/06 sarrik76 As an action movie-good/As a comic book continuation- awful 3 stars
5/30/06 kandace I was okay 4 stars
5/29/06 Intelligent One Famke Janssen is hot but the rest of the movie sucks. 2 stars
5/29/06 Lord Jiggy Deeply, numbingly average. Worth a matinee, at best. Not worth a DVD. 2 stars
5/29/06 Cindy too many inacurate details for long time fans/readers 3 stars
5/29/06 Troy M. Grzych Not as good as 2 but really entertaining. It seems like they were trying to clean house. 4 stars
5/29/06 Elizabeth It was an absolute disaster. Ratner has no taste and no talent. 1 stars
5/29/06 bullit16 Not as good as the first two, but still a helluva ride 4 stars
5/29/06 Mr Bojangles The X-MEN series gets its RETURN OF THE JEDI... 2 stars
5/29/06 Ole Man Bourbon I just don't get this whole X-Men craze. All 3 sucked IMO. 2 stars
5/29/06 Adam Smith I was extremely let down. Mr. Ratner ruined the experience & a potentially great ending. 2 stars
5/28/06 Jim Why, Bryan, why did you leave us?! 3 stars
5/28/06 Anthony G IM THE JUGGERNAUT BITCH!!!!!!!!!! OWNED 5 stars
5/28/06 KB Oh what a letdown 2 stars
5/28/06 Nichole Great movie! 5 stars
5/28/06 Becky Berry annoying as always, most memorable moments were *not* emotional- meh at best. 3 stars
5/28/06 ad at least the actors are good 2 stars
5/27/06 Agent Sands Entertaining as a comic book adaptation typically gets. 4 stars
5/27/06 Stacy Too many "walking down hall and talking" scenes. It was all right. 3 stars
5/27/06 KingNeutron STAY FOR THE END CREDITS. Great summer movie, deals w/ some heavy issues. 4 stars
5/27/06 Dan Too short, too "punny" at the beginning, but otherwise a good movie. 4 stars
5/27/06 Pokejedservo Not as good as the first two... at first, though the finale more than made up for it. 5 stars
5/27/06 dredphul meh, wait for it on dvd unless you are a fan 3 stars
5/27/06 Eden Flawed, and not as good as the first 2. It all feels a little pointless 3 stars
5/27/06 BrianWilly Has several flaws, but generally awesome 5 stars
5/26/06 Sarah Im so dissapointed, I'm about to cry 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-May-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 03-Oct-2006

UK
  26-May-2006

Australia
  25-May-2006


Directed by
  Brett Ratner

Written by
  Simon Kinberg
  Zak Penn

Cast
  Hugh Jackman
  Halle Berry
  Ian McKellen
  Famke Janssen
  Anna Paquin
  Patrick Stewart



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast