More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.99

Awesome: 18.63%
Worth A Look23.6%
Average: 16.15%
Pretty Bad: 21.12%
Total Crap: 20.5%

8 reviews, 113 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


She's All That
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Todd LaPlace

"The movie’s busy. Yeah, busy wiggin’."
1 stars

Did you know that Rachel Leigh Cook’s character, Laney Boggs, is named after two Winona Ryder roles? Boggs comes from “Edward Scissorhands” and Laney come from “Reality Bites.” Both of those movies are much, much better than this one.

Let me start by saying that I mean the following statement to be taken as constructive criticism for its subject, and should not be seen as a cheap attempt too slander a former It-teen star for her monumental fall from grace. I swear I am not that big a jerk.

Why the hell did Rachel Leigh Cook have a career? What deal did she have to make with the devil to make it onto the A-list? The former anti-drug violent femme, Cook went from virtual unknown to the head of the young Hollywood class with one movie, teen train wreck “She’s All That.” Faster than you can say Mrs. Federline, though, she ruined her career by being a little too acceptance happy when it came to her films, as such prize choices like “Antitrust” and “Get Carter” beautifully demonstrate.

I guess that saddest part of Cook’s bell-shaped career curve is she actually did show some promise at the peak, director Robert Iscove’s aforementioned teeny-bopper crapfest. As anyone who saw “10 Things I Hate About You” knows, it is possible to rise above such beginnings when the young actors show promise, even when working with such dismal material. Cook actually managed to infuse the role of Laney Boggs, the very hot artistic outcast that was deemed her school’s ultimate reject for having long, unruly hair, with some new flair that made it seem like she would turn out to be something special after she paid her dues in some smaller films. Alas, it just wasn’t to be, and so we’re just left with one bad movie to witness all that she could be.

That is, of course, if you can stomach watching such an outrageously horrible movie in the first place. As the kick start of the late ’90s teen film resurgence, “She’s All That” has the dubious honor of being the most well-known and probably the least well-received of the bunch. A lot of it has to do with the odd casting choices. A strong collection of then-nobody supporting characters are continuously solid, while the lead is a strong contender to be named the world’s worst living actor. Freddie Prinze Jr. plays “all-around bad-ass mamba-jahamba” Zach Siler, the prefect student and athlete whose biggest problem is which Ivy League school to take his cherry red car to. Oh, to have his problems. He does manage to lose his girlfriend (Jodi Lyn O’Keefe) to a very Puck-like vet of the “Real World” (Matthew Lillard), but she’s so much of a skanky bitch, it makes no sense why he’s even with her in the first place. In order to soothe his broken heart, he does what every high school senior would naturally do; he makes a bet with his friends (Paul Walker and “The West Wing’s” Dulé Hill) to turn the school’s biggest reject — the politically-aware daughter of a pool guy, Laney — into prom queen. .

The reason “She’s All That” fails as miserably as it does, has to be because the filmmakers were so busy casting as many young hot actors as they could, that they forgot to write a screenplay. R. Lee Fleming Jr., just off the short-lived Olson twin show “Two of a Kind,” leaves so many questions unanswered, just to keep the movie moving at a reasonably quick pace. For instance, why do Zach and his sister Mackenzie (Anna Paquin, looking very out of place) go to different schools? Why does Zach, the holder of the fourth highest GPA in the class and acceptance letters of Harvard and Yale, not understand his sister when she uses the term “rebound skank”? And what exactly does Laney’s brother Simon (Kieran Culkin) do in the cafeteria? Does he really get paid to roll around on rollerblades and offer to grind pepper on Sarah Michelle Gellar’s cold pizza?

But even beyond the holes, the writing’s just lazy. Zach has no motivation to really complain about any of things he spends the movie whining about. Yeah, his dad (Tim Matheson) wants him to go to Dartmouth, but there’s no real reason given for why Zach should or shouldn’t want to follow in his footsteps. And Laney’s sole reason for accepting a first date from Zach is a simple prodding from best friend Jesse (Elden Henson) and her sole reason for leaving is getting a compliment about her eyes. Does that even make sense? The audience’s saving grace is by the time such questions come up, you’re really just trying to see how many celebrities you can count among the supporting cast, and how many of those should be thankful they didn’t kill their careers on this crap.

It’s kind of pathetic that this movie is still floating around with the plethora of better teen-centric films out there. Pretty much the only redeeming value this picture’s got are a strong performance from Cook, a pretty supporting cast that’s fun to recognize and a one-dimensional villainous ex that actually manages provide the film’s few entertaining moments (like calling Laney a “waste of perfectly good yearbook space”) when she’s not suffering from poorly done redubbing problems (when talking about her shoo-in-ness as prom queen). Such praises are really stretching, though, as this film is bad enough that John Hughes should want to kill himself just so he can spin in his grave.

If you’re interested in good teen films, I recommend “American Graffiti” and “The 400 Blows.” If you’re interested in teen comedies, I recommend “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” and “Pretty in Pink” (but be warned “The Breakfast Club” is overrated). If you’re interested in the most elusive thing in contemporary cinema — a good Freddie Prinze Jr. movie — I recommend sole entry in the category, “The House of Yes.” So basically, the things that could have made “She’s All That” better are French subtitles, appearances from Matthew Broderick and Molly Ringwald and incest.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1474&reviewer=401
originally posted: 07/10/05 13:17:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/25/09 art THUMBS DOWN TO THIS JUNK! 1 stars
11/08/07 Carmen Crowe Lame comedy, silly hero, surly heroine. And HOW can you shit frisbees? 2 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini R L Cook is hot! 3 stars
8/03/06 Nicole I liked it, if you like teen movies, this one is worth a look 4 stars
12/23/05 cody a decent teeny flick with good story, rachael and freddy give good perfomances, good music 3 stars
8/26/05 ES Rachael Leigh Cook is gorgeous but this movie is a dumb as can be 1 stars
7/19/05 Eric Rollins Pygmallion were art thou, story so old it has whiskers 2 stars
8/25/04 brooke pure crap 2 stars
6/29/04 vincent great 5 stars
5/01/04 John smith this movie sucked balls 1 stars
3/13/04 ladeela the movie was goddamm horrible and thats all there is to it 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr Yeah "she's all that." All that awful! 1 stars
12/24/03 Orbinson Lo mejor la tia buena de Jodie Lynn,....me la pone muy gorda !!!!! 2 stars
11/07/03 Samuel Matthew Lillard is the only thing that makes freddie Prinze Jr. movies good 2 stars
10/18/03 Wendy Carpenter She's all brat is more like it. Rachel Leigh Cook less exciting than hangnails. 2 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant This shit has been done so many times in so many better ways. Prinze is a brownie-hound. 1 stars
9/10/03 nr i thought it was a great film and the actors did great 5 stars
9/02/03 Dawn All involved must die a slow and torturous death at the hands of those who saw the film. 1 stars
8/23/03 Valerie Cameron Good for something. Gave NOT ANOTHER TEEN MOVIE something worth spoofing! 2 stars
3/18/03 Des Excellent 5 stars
1/11/03 Barry they used a double for his dancing. Why not for his fucken acting? Or rather LACK OF IT. 1 stars
11/07/02 a sweet lady she's living my fantasy... a popular guy going for a unique girl like me....won't happen. 5 stars
8/18/02 P.Rodriguez Wendy piss off RLC is the most stunningly beautiful woman in this world. Damn what a honey! 5 stars
7/02/02 KMG Freddie: "Note to self...stop doing the same fucking movie!" 1 stars
6/22/02 Wendy Carpenter She's all brat is more like it. Rachel Leigh Cook less exciting than hangnails. 2 stars
6/17/02 Ashley Corpening "Rectal archaeology" best line; downhill from there. 2 stars
6/12/02 Edith the Maid and Meredith the Mermaid Surly heroine, sometimes cruel jock hero, and HOW can one shit frisbees? 2 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn Yeah. 1 stars
4/26/02 Ashley Corpening After seeing Crossroads, I find I was too hard on Britney Spears! 2 stars
4/03/02 Film Guy She's All Shit 1 stars
3/03/02 Wendy Carpenter She's all brat is more like it. Rachel Leigh Cook less exciting than hangnails. 2 stars
2/26/02 minnie it is ok... 5 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz Rachael Leigh Cook's a great actress! Believe me! My butt just sucked a fart back in. 1 stars
2/22/02 Julia Cox Best if you pretend it's a parody of NOT ANOTHER TEEN MOVIE 3 stars
2/15/02 Carmen Crowe Lame comedy, silly hero, sultry heroine. And HOW can you shit frisbees? 2 stars
2/11/02 BINGO Not a bad time-waster, but forgettable. 3 stars
2/04/02 Ashley Corpening all that sure ain't much. Rachel Leigh Cook a cross between britney spears & barbara boxer. 2 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty "rectal archaeology" best line; dwnhill frm there; Prinze wsted: wht expct frm R Lie Cook 2 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Watchable, but Not Very Enjoyable At Times. Cute. 3 stars
1/21/02 Alex This Is A Awsome Moive 5 stars
1/10/02 kristina meski uh!!! 3 stars
1/03/02 boy unjur marluga simangunsong what a great romantic funky film 5 stars
11/27/01 KMG Note to Freddie...I want my fucking 4 bucks back! 1 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Yes, another stereotypical high school flick. 3 stars
11/12/01 Gracy Lionheart This movie is particularly odious to me. Wow...glasses + braid = ugly. Not Impressed 1 stars
9/02/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/22/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Not all that 3 stars
8/10/01 Hilary Clarke Interesting but kind of dumb! 5 stars
5/05/01 The Moorhen Total utter complete shit. Usher Raymond thinks he's the music masta, which he isn't. 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good movie 4 stars
3/18/01 Hannah B Freddy Prinze Jr is so hot in the movie and thats all i have to say 5 stars
2/06/01 Sully Cook is cute...Prince is predictably bland...kind of funny...good waste of 1.5 hrs. 3 stars
9/09/00 Bob Fugate Chick Flick for teenage girls,silly not funny. 2 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley A price on Prinze Jr's head. How much more of this formulaic crap can they churn out? 1 stars
5/10/00 Steve Layne Predictable, semi-cheesy, but still amusing and entertaining. 4 stars
5/06/00 P.Rodriguez Rachael leigh Cook is the most beautiful female on the planet. Just watch it for her!! 5 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright "She" may be all that, but this film wasn't. Formula filmmaking at its most mediocre. 2 stars
2/26/00 Bozo it was okay at best; Prinze has charisma to spare 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Retch, hurl, spew, gag. Give me "Election" over this prefab bullshit anyday. 2 stars
2/04/00 Jen I thought it was grreat, Freddie is such a babe 5 stars
1/31/00 Tom H. I liked it but I guess you have to be American to truly appreciate it. 5 stars
1/18/00 Markus Vankamp Great film 5 stars
1/13/00 Brittnee This movie was awesome movie and I recomend that you check it out! 4 stars
11/22/99 Ralf Behet The script is rather dull, but the cast is good. Prom night dance number is a standout. 4 stars
10/18/99 Christine Filipowski Minus the dance routine at the end, I loved it. 4 stars
10/06/99 Eleasha Cute and Funny 5 stars
9/05/99 The Bomb 69 Felt like it was missing something, oh yea humor 2 stars
7/22/99 Casey Kepping It tops all other movies!! 5 stars
7/21/99 Tristynn delightful...Matthew Lillard yet again steals the entire movie.. he is great!!! 4 stars
7/06/99 Drew Rogers Best fil ever made, rachael leigh cook is fucking gorgeous 5 stars
6/29/99 michelle lim the movie is great! 5 stars
6/24/99 tricia freddie prinz jr makes it so worhtwhile! 5 stars
6/15/99 David She IS all that, but why is she in such a tired, "I'll bet you can seducer her" story? 3 stars
6/14/99 CANDACE MORGAN I LOVED IT SOOOOO MUCH 5 stars
5/17/99 Beat_Me_Clever The pizza pubes made me want to vomit 2 stars
5/09/99 Vorg Shitty movie and don't go on a date there, you'll regret it and will be horrified forever 1 stars
4/24/99 tracey pretty good 4 stars
4/05/99 Stephanie Great movie to see with friends. 4 stars
3/31/99 Erin it's just so FUN!!!! 5 stars
3/30/99 shay this movie rocked! 5 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Um, She's NOT all that. Perhaps half that. 2 stars
3/25/99 Shauna I liked it. 5 stars
3/21/99 punkrockgeek you can see the boom mic durring the 1st 10 minutes of the movie. so distracting! 3 stars
3/18/99 Bob Pathetic shit --- Has anyone seen that fucking BETH? 1 stars
3/14/99 Dharma halfway through the movie i started pleading with my friends to leave, crying MAKE IT STOP! 1 stars
3/12/99 Natalie It was cute and definitely a first date type of movie. 4 stars
3/11/99 Whitney Awesome 5 stars
3/06/99 Master P Rachel Leigh Cook....she's all that..AND A BAG OF CHIPS 5 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz By far the film's worst acting comes from Rachael Leigh Cook. Not all that. 3 stars
3/03/99 Sandra "Throughout the movie, people couldn't help sighing,but it was a great movie." 5 stars
3/03/99 ODB The school dork is a fucking fox!!! Freddie Prinze should have no problem pimpin' her ass. 1 stars
3/01/99 Reyna Freddie Prinze Jr is a sex machine!!! 5 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Let me get this straight, this chick is supposed to be some sort of outcast? Fuck that! 2 stars
2/25/99 Spazmatazz midgets. matthew lillard. need I say more? (midgets!!) 4 stars
2/25/99 Powrhug Hey! I'm an 80s woman, the fact that it reminded me of my favs from high school was a plus 4 stars
2/25/99 Alli Shea I loved it!!! It was a great plot, and was never boring. 5 stars
2/25/99 Hot Ashes I really liked this movie! The guys were hot, the girls were humorous, and it was funny 5 stars
2/24/99 mochacchino usher was the worst part of the movie but it was sooo predictable 4 stars
2/24/99 Mira It didn't suck nearly as much as I thought it would.If you like mindlessness and Prinze Jr 3 stars
2/21/99 Shanandler Bong Total teeny-booper flick. 4 stars
2/18/99 Piz the best of the teeny-bopper valentine flicks 4 stars
2/15/99 Amanda Reinken I liked the fact that the girl was able to become cool, but it needs to have sub plots. 3 stars
2/10/99 poolboy Smart Comedy 4 stars
2/07/99 Sparkle! I thought it was adorable! 4 stars
2/06/99 Freyja Stupid, uninspired piece of teenage centered crap. 1 stars
2/05/99 calgary47 not bad, Freddie Prinze is hot 3 stars
2/05/99 Emily It was cute, but as predictable as they come 3 stars
2/01/99 Master P Rachel Leigh Cook...she's all that..and a bag of chips. 4 stars
2/01/99 Tom Ripley Umpteenth retelling of Pygmalion; worth seeing for Matt Lillard's version of MTV's Puck ;-) 4 stars
2/01/99 Bridgette message below should read "nothing special, but NOT horrible" 3 stars
2/01/99 Bridgette nothing special, but horrible 3 stars
1/30/99 Boner charming movie...if not a bit off da hook wacky 4 stars
1/30/99 Mr Showbiz Uninspired John Hughes knockoff 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jan-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  20-Aug-1999

Australia
  01-Apr-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast