More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.11

Awesome68.13%
Worth A Look: 10.99%
Average: 1.1%
Pretty Bad: 3.3%
Total Crap: 16.48%

1 review, 85 user ratings


Latest Reviews

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Bring It On: All or Nothing
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"If those are my choices, I'll go with 'nothing.'"
1 stars

There was a point where the third movie in the “Bring It On” franchise was actually going to be titled “Bring It On Yet Again.” Wiser heads prevailed, but only to a point - while somebody was smart enough to change the title, nobody was smart enough to realize that we really don’t need another “Bring It On” movie.

The name of this new entry - the third in the series and the second to go straight to video - is “Bring It On: All or Nothing,” and if that sounds notably generic to you, then you’re on to the premise of the whole film. Like the title, the movie itself is filler that means nothing and goes nowhere. It’s filled with formulaic plot points, cheap dialogue, affordable young starlets (among them Beyoncé’s little sister), and a catchy pop soundtrack, all designed to fill ninety-some minutes and convince fans of the first movie to spend their hard-earned allowance on the DVD. This one comes to us from the director of “American Pie Presents: Band Camp,” which should tell you just how little energy went in to slapping this one together. Whip up a quickie story about cheerleaders, toss in a few memorable one-liners from the first movie (something about “cheerocracy”), rush it onto video store shelves, and enjoy medium profits from minimal effort.

For chapter three, the studio wheels in Hayden Panettiere, who plays Britney, the captain of her school’s cheerleading squad. All’s well in Britney’s world until mom and dad announce they’re moving. Not only is Britney no longer top dog, but now she’s stuck as the only white girl in an all-black school.

The rest of the story has her winning the respect of the black cheerleaders, falling for some cute guy, learning that her old friends are actually dimwits, and taking them on in some city-wide cheer-off hosted by MTV. Oh, and because “High School Musical” was such a hit for Disney earlier this year, we’re tossed a couple of big dance numbers (including a dream sequence) to please the kids. (In fact, “All or Nothing” is little more than a Disney Channel movie with a slightly bigger budget and a handful of unfunny sex jokes.)

Most peculiar about this film is how it trips over itself in trying to find its target audience. The one-dimensional plotting suggests a movie aimed at younger girls, while the sexual innuendo (and not-so-innuendo) suggests a movie aimed at older viewers. It’s a movie trapped in its own puberty, failing at pleasing audiences of any age, which, as an idea, is far more interesting than anything the rest of the movie has to offer - mainly, hyper-obnoxious characters, limp writing, boring direction, uninspired acting, and dance/cheer showdowns that never seem to capture the energy of such athletic performances.

Admittedly, I went in to this one with the lowest of expectations - I’m still baffled by the success of the first “Bring It On,” a movie so cloying and sloppy that it deserves a good beating, while the first sequel was equally awful. Universal now comes out 0-and-3, as my expectations for “All or Nothing” were properly met. There’s not a likeable character in the bunch, not an interesting scene, not a decent cheer routine. The racial subtext to the whole thing is a wee disturbing (Britney’s old friend turns out to be a nasty bigot), as is director Steve Rash’s decision to linger on the skimpy skirts and tight shirts. The rest is low-budget formula filler, the kind best left unrented. Hey, that could be Universal’s new motto!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=14815&reviewer=392
originally posted: 08/10/06 09:27:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Direct To Video Sequels series, click here.

User Comments

11/20/11 cody Way better than two , this sequel with break and street dancing meets cheering! 4 stars
7/25/11 Nastik COME. ON! Cheerleadnig, again! & Jesse was not even cute. Boring & not fresh idea either 2 stars
10/10/10 Pete pure vomit on a stick to relieve stupid children of dvd money. 1 stars
1/25/10 Joy It's all satire. 4 stars
12/01/09 Gus Carr Addict OMG Gus is so HOOOOOOOTTTTTTTTTTTTTT and SEEEEXXXXXXXXXXXYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. actually not that bad. :] 4 stars
5/23/08 John Aster Hilarious let go and enjoy the satire already it was as good as the first 5 stars
12/09/07 David Pollastrini Needs Kirsten Dunst! 2 stars
8/29/07 elmae it is so beautiful so awesome and it rocks i seen it many times 5 stars
8/23/07 Joi This is the Best Movie You'll ever see 5 stars
8/23/07 addie very beautiful 5 stars
8/16/07 mamta bhakta i think jesse is hot 5 stars
8/09/07 makayla ko0o0o0o0o0o0o0llllest movie ever 5 stars
8/07/07 stacey i want to watch it again 5 stars
6/12/07 Eman i loved this movie!!!!!! 5 stars
6/01/07 shadarria mitchell I wish i could watch it on here. 5 stars
5/10/07 missy! love it gus carr is hott 5 stars
3/29/07 meggie it's ok... it was fun, but let's face it, it was no great movie 3 stars
3/26/07 BooBots Mediocre, generic and lowest-common-denominator. 1 stars
3/22/07 garrett poor acting.poor plot.bigotry...highly recommend stomp the yard instead 1 stars
3/09/07 Elli this movie sucked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the guy she liked looked like a hobo. lol. 1 stars
2/04/07 kimberley this movie is everything..! I love gus carr and i know every single dance in the moviee(L) 5 stars
2/01/07 Paigey This Movie Rox! And If U Think It Sux then Ur Retarded! 5 stars
1/10/07 Jessica It is awsum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/03/07 Laura i lovee gus carr. he is amazing. the crumping was really kool too. 5 stars
1/03/07 Jessica Totally good movie & gus carr is so foxy!!!!! 5 stars
1/03/07 Aquillah White for this movie i will give it a 4 4 stars
12/26/06 meranda i think the krumping was sexy 5 stars
12/20/06 dL This movie is awesome! I give Francia [Leti] credit cos she rocks this movie!! 5 stars
12/18/06 F.A.T Movie sucks!!! D. Cornelius said it all...please don't buy it. 1 stars
12/18/06 karen i loved this movie... GUS CARR IS SO HOT!!! 5 stars
12/08/06 JEMERRA LUCKETT I JUS LUV DIS MOVIE I KNOW EVERY CHEER ON THERE 5 stars
12/07/06 Hanna I love this movie it rocks and the guy jessy is so hot mwa luv ya babez 5 stars
12/03/06 seonaid what a horrifying excuse for a movie. 1 stars
11/30/06 Tay omg Gus Carr is sooooo hot! I LOVED the movie! 5 stars
11/28/06 sue it was a good movie, fun an entertaining, an gus carr incredible 4 stars
11/27/06 Jackie I love this movie! it is so funny and cool! 5 stars
11/25/06 gina exellent stuff people 1 stars
11/24/06 maz kewl movie..I saw it with my cuz coz he liked hayden but overall the movie was gREAT! 5 stars
11/23/06 Heather I really like the upbeat music and the competition between the 2 teams. 5 stars
11/07/06 kelsea i <3 gus Carr 5 stars
11/07/06 hanah great film gus car is hot 5 stars
11/03/06 Shannyn i watched this movie 22 times in one day and i still love watching it. Gus Carr is hot!!! 5 stars
11/03/06 honie it was nice, and fuck everyone who can't appreciate it. its the best. 5 stars
11/03/06 Jillian but of course i seen the movie because gus carr is on there. You make the movie hot. 5 stars
11/02/06 K Baby I love this movie so much just watched it for the first time... Gus Carr oo LALA 5 stars
11/01/06 Vicky I just love the movie. I would so won't to make out with Gus Carr. He is so fine 5 stars
11/01/06 Tazzy I looovvvee this movie. the best bring it on yet. 5 stars
10/26/06 Nikki now that is one guy i would DEFINITELY not mind making out with 5 stars
10/20/06 kandra tis is my fave. movie and gus carr is sooo fine!! 5 stars
10/19/06 alberta henderson i like this movie better then the others ones plus this movie had everthing 5 stars
10/15/06 yasmin lmfao isnt it funny dat the only reason this movie was any good was because of gus carr.. 2 stars
10/15/06 sami i think this movie is absolutly wkd im a cheerleader at ma skool and the routines wer brill 5 stars
10/13/06 Christina This movie is really good! One of my favorites 5 stars
9/28/06 Tia Loved the movie!! waaay better than the second, its right up there with the second one! 4 stars
9/26/06 jaja not bad. gus carr is cool. love the music of choice. still the first one is better. 4 stars
9/26/06 amber i loved da movie it was awsome!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/25/06 Klaudija Vukovic I'll watch it anyday the movie had me jumping up and down. I LOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVE it!!! 5 stars
8/27/06 Shannon Waller This movie was the best Bring it On. Although I liked the first one. This one was amazing. 5 stars
8/26/06 Yanuha Abigail I really enjoyed the movie. Far above my expectations! 5 stars
8/26/06 leanne i luved the film is was awsumx x 5 stars
8/24/06 kaz Its an ace film!!! luvd it!!!! 5 stars
8/23/06 amanda i love this movie :D 5 stars
8/22/06 Jenn I Luved It I Thought It Wuz Halarious 5 stars
8/21/06 rabecca Its an awsome movie Alyson Fouse written a cool story and Steve Rash did good at directing. 5 stars
8/21/06 Shannon Walker This was the best one by far. 5 stars
8/21/06 susan OMG I LOVE THIS MOVIE IT IS AMAZING!!! 5 stars
8/20/06 Italo very good 4 stars
8/20/06 catelyn its good and the guy is hot to 5 stars
8/19/06 clara love it 5 stars
8/19/06 sandra this movie is my favorite. ive watched it like 10 times in the last 3 days. gus car is hot. 5 stars
8/17/06 Alexis Cute, fun, up beat, ramance, incredable acrobatics, good dancing, good acting see it!!! 5 stars
8/16/06 dan the blond one is a babe u 1a watch it 5 stars
8/16/06 Nanni im a cheerleader to and I luved it!! Gus Carr is SEXY!! It's way better than the first 1!! 5 stars
8/16/06 Anna realy god, se it! 5 stars
8/16/06 alex you have to be a cheer/dancer at heart to appreciate it-it was very good! 4 stars
8/15/06 Milan It sucks !!! 1 stars
8/15/06 A. Ken I love competitive cheer, I hate this movie that pretends to be about cheer 1 stars
8/15/06 jacklyn yea i loved the movie im a cheerleader too...i really like the hip hop stuff b/c i luv hh 5 stars
8/15/06 Traci I LOVE IT!!! 5 stars
8/14/06 pinky absolutely loved itt. hayden's acting was a lil over hte top sometimes but it was still gd 5 stars
8/14/06 jessica this movie i watch 5 time s a day! its so addicting! 5 stars
8/14/06 angie it was a awesome movie n i wish i could adnce like them 5 stars
8/13/06 dani it was a good movie and gus carr is HOT!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/11/06 michael Cheerleaders, enough said! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Aug-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 08-Aug-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast