More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 10.89%
Worth A Look: 21.78%
Average27.72%
Pretty Bad: 16.83%
Total Crap: 22.77%

8 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

Aquaman by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


200 Cigarettes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Empress of Ice

"A carton of cigarettes=200 cigarettes! wow! funny. or something."
1 stars

A carton of cigarettes! 200 hundred cigarettes! ha ha ha! get it!? Good, 'cause that's about as funny as this movie gets. I should have known better when I saw the folks at MTV were involved - that's right, the EXTREMELY creative (well, except for the creative part) team that brought you such classics as "Joe's Apartment" are at it again. At least the cockroaches were entertaining, which is more than I can say for any of the actors in this film.

Part of why I was so upset with this movie is that I was so psyched to see it. I love Christina Ricci, Paul Rudd is almost always a humorous addition to a movie (although staring with Jennifer Aniston certainly caused him to lose more than a few popularity points in my book) - but this film could only destroy a young up-and-coming star's career. Yeah, it's that bad.
There are, however, some rays of light. Dave Chappelle, as a cabbie whose hobbies seem to be meeting women and trying to score, not to mention setting up couples and solving their problems, is a gas! Well, okay, he's funny and all, and I like the decor in his "disco cab," but if the screenwriter had any concept of what is hilarious, he must have saved it for another project.
Let's examine the plot for a moment, shall we? There actually IS a plot, which is, sadly, one of the few positive aspects to this flick. And what an intricate plot it is - a bunch of people, ranging in age from early teens to what appears to be early 30s, go through their little sub-plots. How do they all tie togther? Well, everyone is trying to find a party, but by the time they get to it at the end, I'm not sure anyone watching the film even cares anymore. I know I didn't. Oh yeah, and they all get laid, except for the ever charming Martha Plimpton (who actually managed to show her skills as an actress even with such a horrendous script) and Gaby Hoffman, although given her attrocious hair and bitchy attitude, no one was surprised.
Ben Affleck makes an ass out of himself, Casey Affleck is cute in a puppy dog sort of way, Jay Mohr gets his just desserts, and Paul Rudd and Courtney Love fall in, well... you guess.

Maybe I ruined the plot for you, but trust me, it doesn't matter, you would have figured it out in the first five minutes anyway. On a positive note: if you mute the movie and put on the Insane Clown Posse's Great Milenko CD, it's almost entertainment. Being a film student, I have a high tolerance for crap - but even I could barely watch this without grimacing.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1488&reviewer=174
originally posted: 11/11/99 14:06:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell watchable nothing more 2 stars
9/22/09 art ONLY FOR NEW YORKERS! 3 stars
10/04/07 The Film Maker Luvs the music. Great indie. 4 stars
1/14/07 JM Synth Kind of fun. The soundtrack, as often is the case with these things, is the star 3 stars
6/14/04 Justin Dennis wtf is wrong with you people this movie owned and courtney love ROCKS! 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant The movie blows. Kate Hudson swallows. And the audience gets the shaft. 1 stars
5/27/02 Nicole I really didn't get the point of this movie 2 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Love's performance here makes horseshit look talented. 1 stars
2/03/02 Andrew Carden Good For Those Times When You Get High and Have A 6-Pack. 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean A fairly funny flick. Ricci finally doesn't play a weirdo and was cute with her accent. 3 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Casey is a no-talent hack - just like his brother 1 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Unfunny, Weak Comedy; Only Joke.......Ben Affleck Drops a Beer Bottle! BWAH-HAH-HAH!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/16/00 JDC I liked it. Not funny, but I liked the characters enough. 4 stars
3/17/00 Cristy Casey Affleck will you marry me?!?!?!? I loved this movie, I thought it was great. 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Good acting, good concept, yet somehow strangely generic. 3 stars
11/08/99 hum dull 2 stars
11/02/99 Bozo it wasn't that bad-liked rudd, love & ricci's 'lawn guyland' accent 4 stars
4/27/99 Angie it was decent, Ben looked hot as always =) 4 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam It was good. Mind candy! 4 stars
4/17/99 Spic Made by your friends at Phillip Morris!! 2 stars
4/14/99 Michelle Some good performances (Affleckx2, Rudd) in an otherwise boring flick. 2 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn blink, you miss Ben.. Courtney is still as shitty as always.. someone stop this nasty bitch 4 stars
4/10/99 mara blah except for some pretty faces 2 stars
4/10/99 Copey Great soundtrack, better film than I expected 4 stars
4/09/99 Ami the Wonderbread fantastic 5 stars
4/08/99 Brian M nice trip back to 81 3 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne Hightops and flourescents are not COOL, no matter how hard MTV trys. 2 stars
4/02/99 Powrhug Hey! I'd spend another $6.50 to see Ben dance! 3 stars
4/02/99 MAD Elvis Costello is a necropheliac. I have proof. 3 stars
3/20/99 Steven D This movie was bad from the MTV label. David Chappelle gave the only good performance 2 stars
3/16/99 agsmith Good movie to see when you're drunk... 4 stars
3/16/99 sonia awesome movie, really funny casey affleck and courtney were great 5 stars
3/14/99 Dharma I loved it!! I just wanna lick Casey Affleck!!!!!! 5 stars
3/13/99 Karen Learned some new funny lines but suggest waiting until cable. 3 stars
3/11/99 Negative Creep Thought it was the best film Affleck's been involved with 5 stars
3/10/99 Kristen I LOVED IT! 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Good cast, especially Casey and Ben Affleck and Kate Hudson, but a disappointing movie. 3 stars
3/08/99 Shanandler Bong I mostly saw it for Casey and Ben. They were the only goods except for Kate Hudson. 4 stars
3/08/99 M Cocolis my friends thought it sucked, I liked it.... 4 stars
3/05/99 Angelic CaSeY AfFlEcK! 4 stars
3/04/99 benjamin lesbian Fun....not great. One of those guilty pleasure movies. Catch it at the $1.50 theater. 4 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz Terrific performances and a horde of hotties enliven this irresistibly boisterous comedy. 4 stars
3/03/99 Christina A really fun and funny movie 5 stars
3/03/99 Kenda Funny, but pretty pointless. Casey Affleck and Kate Hudson make it worthwile. 3 stars
3/02/99 Dave Good soundtrack, some nice hair, but pointless, meandering, and seems to last forever. 2 stars
3/02/99 slimshady paul rudd was too funny. courtney love (who i usually hate) was totally likable in this mov 5 stars
3/02/99 EmmetOtter Too many characters, too few laughs. Not worth $7.50. 2 stars
3/02/99 Rachel kicked ass! Gotta see it again! 5 stars
3/01/99 Blythe It's not a movie that has you on your ass, but its funny and the costuming is hilarious. 4 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Insanely disappointed because I didn't get to see Chritina Ricci's tits 1 stars
2/24/99 Happy D. Why do you have Ben Affleck listed first on Cast when he really only has a cameo in the pic 4 stars
2/08/99 Mr Film Very cool. 4 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons full of lame acting and weak storylines that you don't give a fuck about. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Feb-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast