More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 10.89%
Worth A Look: 21.78%
Average27.72%
Pretty Bad: 16.83%
Total Crap: 22.77%

8 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


200 Cigarettes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"You'll Actually Be Counting the Cigarettes For Boredom"
1 stars

200 Cigarettes (*) - In the first screenwriting class I took at Columbia, one of the students was working on a script called 20 Cigarettes. This is no joke. It was a gimmick piece, like the film Twenty Bucks, about the adventures that one guy goes on with a single packet of cigarettes. His pitch of this half-realized idea was more interesting than anything that happens in the film that supposedly contains 10 times as many cigarettes as his treatment. But this film’s title isn’t about a gimmick - since I don’t think the filmmakers even gave a second thought to how many Cancer sticks actually appear in the film. Frankly, I don’t think they gave a first thought to anything in this film, if they’ve even got a thought in their head to begin with.

We’ve seen millions of films like this before - a great deal of under-the-title supporting actors all team up in a single movie to find the meaning of love or life or second hand smoke. Sometimes it works (Indian Summer), sometimes it just misses (the recent Playing By Heart) and sometimes you get a film like 200 Cigarettes. I think that if the top film critics of the world sat down with the world’s top scientists, they still could not decipher what this film is supposed to be about. I’ve at least heard plausible theories in the explanation of David Lynch’s Lost Highway, but 200 Cigarettes plays out like a series of set pieces where actors were given a one-note description of their character and then told to improvise like it was Blue in the Face. Only problem is that none of the actors are very good at improvisation. I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt though and blame the screenwriter who should be given some kind of trophy for creating not a single character of any interest nor with anything interesting to say or do resulting in an climax that even a hooker would be disappointed in. Basically everyone gets together at a party and has sex, but usually not with the character that you think they were destined for - which means that most of them end up sleeping with strangers - maybe this is the lone comment of the film - that the year of 1981 was one of the last years before AIDS became a true staple of the dating world. The writing of this film is so bad that I’ll bet money that the best line of the film was ad-libbed by Ben Affleck. I’m going to spoil it here as to save you two hours of your life - but Ben plays what appears to be kind of a shy bartender who sits down at a table with two women to spout a familiar pick-up line about “his clothes looking good next to theirs on the floor” - but then he asks “How do you like your eggs in the morning? Scrambled or fertilized.” I was dying. It comes out of nowhere because the writing was never that good before and never got that good again. Maybe its an unoriginal pick-up line - but I’ve never heard it before and that was good enough for me. The only other funny moment comes as the wrap-up scene at the very end as Dave Chappelle, the cab driver, spouts off on a recollection of photos from the lame party - like he was still in Half Baked. Elvis Costello is also on display in one of the most inexplicable cameos in film history. Most audience members didn’t even pick up on him cutting his way through a conversation in the street with the words “Excuse me”. Plus, for a film set in 1981, couldn’t we have done better than to just use old songs to identify the era. I bet they even got that wrong and most of the songs weren’t even recorded yet.

At least The Wedding Singer had a big sense of humor about the pop culture references of its 1985 time setting and The Last Days of Disco had something to say about the exact same time period. This is the version of The Last Days of Disco they play on the monitor in Darwin’s waiting room.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1488&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 15:28:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell watchable nothing more 2 stars
9/22/09 art ONLY FOR NEW YORKERS! 3 stars
10/04/07 The Film Maker Luvs the music. Great indie. 4 stars
1/14/07 JM Synth Kind of fun. The soundtrack, as often is the case with these things, is the star 3 stars
6/14/04 Justin Dennis wtf is wrong with you people this movie owned and courtney love ROCKS! 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant The movie blows. Kate Hudson swallows. And the audience gets the shaft. 1 stars
5/27/02 Nicole I really didn't get the point of this movie 2 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Love's performance here makes horseshit look talented. 1 stars
2/03/02 Andrew Carden Good For Those Times When You Get High and Have A 6-Pack. 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean A fairly funny flick. Ricci finally doesn't play a weirdo and was cute with her accent. 3 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Casey is a no-talent hack - just like his brother 1 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Unfunny, Weak Comedy; Only Joke.......Ben Affleck Drops a Beer Bottle! BWAH-HAH-HAH!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/16/00 JDC I liked it. Not funny, but I liked the characters enough. 4 stars
3/17/00 Cristy Casey Affleck will you marry me?!?!?!? I loved this movie, I thought it was great. 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Good acting, good concept, yet somehow strangely generic. 3 stars
11/08/99 hum dull 2 stars
11/02/99 Bozo it wasn't that bad-liked rudd, love & ricci's 'lawn guyland' accent 4 stars
4/27/99 Angie it was decent, Ben looked hot as always =) 4 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam It was good. Mind candy! 4 stars
4/17/99 Spic Made by your friends at Phillip Morris!! 2 stars
4/14/99 Michelle Some good performances (Affleckx2, Rudd) in an otherwise boring flick. 2 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn blink, you miss Ben.. Courtney is still as shitty as always.. someone stop this nasty bitch 4 stars
4/10/99 mara blah except for some pretty faces 2 stars
4/10/99 Copey Great soundtrack, better film than I expected 4 stars
4/09/99 Ami the Wonderbread fantastic 5 stars
4/08/99 Brian M nice trip back to 81 3 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne Hightops and flourescents are not COOL, no matter how hard MTV trys. 2 stars
4/02/99 Powrhug Hey! I'd spend another $6.50 to see Ben dance! 3 stars
4/02/99 MAD Elvis Costello is a necropheliac. I have proof. 3 stars
3/20/99 Steven D This movie was bad from the MTV label. David Chappelle gave the only good performance 2 stars
3/16/99 agsmith Good movie to see when you're drunk... 4 stars
3/16/99 sonia awesome movie, really funny casey affleck and courtney were great 5 stars
3/14/99 Dharma I loved it!! I just wanna lick Casey Affleck!!!!!! 5 stars
3/13/99 Karen Learned some new funny lines but suggest waiting until cable. 3 stars
3/11/99 Negative Creep Thought it was the best film Affleck's been involved with 5 stars
3/10/99 Kristen I LOVED IT! 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Good cast, especially Casey and Ben Affleck and Kate Hudson, but a disappointing movie. 3 stars
3/08/99 Shanandler Bong I mostly saw it for Casey and Ben. They were the only goods except for Kate Hudson. 4 stars
3/08/99 M Cocolis my friends thought it sucked, I liked it.... 4 stars
3/05/99 Angelic CaSeY AfFlEcK! 4 stars
3/04/99 benjamin lesbian Fun....not great. One of those guilty pleasure movies. Catch it at the $1.50 theater. 4 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz Terrific performances and a horde of hotties enliven this irresistibly boisterous comedy. 4 stars
3/03/99 Christina A really fun and funny movie 5 stars
3/03/99 Kenda Funny, but pretty pointless. Casey Affleck and Kate Hudson make it worthwile. 3 stars
3/02/99 Dave Good soundtrack, some nice hair, but pointless, meandering, and seems to last forever. 2 stars
3/02/99 slimshady paul rudd was too funny. courtney love (who i usually hate) was totally likable in this mov 5 stars
3/02/99 EmmetOtter Too many characters, too few laughs. Not worth $7.50. 2 stars
3/02/99 Rachel kicked ass! Gotta see it again! 5 stars
3/01/99 Blythe It's not a movie that has you on your ass, but its funny and the costuming is hilarious. 4 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Insanely disappointed because I didn't get to see Chritina Ricci's tits 1 stars
2/24/99 Happy D. Why do you have Ben Affleck listed first on Cast when he really only has a cameo in the pic 4 stars
2/08/99 Mr Film Very cool. 4 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons full of lame acting and weak storylines that you don't give a fuck about. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Feb-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast