More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.82

Awesome: 11%
Worth A Look: 22%
Average28%
Pretty Bad: 16%
Total Crap: 23%

8 reviews, 52 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

Breakup Buddies by Jay Seaver

Dracula Untold by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


200 Cigarettes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Ah, the 80's - always good for a laugh. Or maybe you had to be there."
4 stars

Well, after glancing at the reviews of my fellow bitchslappers, I'm gonna go out on a limb here. (ahem) - Jesus Christ, am I the only one who found this movie entertaining!? Am I just too generous when I say that this is a genuinely funny film? Or do I just find it funny because I remember the time so well. Lord, just the clothes on Christina Ricci and Gaby Hoffman are enough to keep me amused for 2 hours. Step into the wayback machine with me, and let's return to New Years Eve, 1981. Disco was on its way out, and the "New Wave" was pounding on the shore, bringing in a fresh tide of angst for a new decade, and for a new generation of whiny white young suburbanites

I wasn't into Punk when I went to High School back in the 80's. I wasn't into "New Wave", either. I liked making fun of those people back then - and I still do. Apparently, so do the makers of "200 cigarettes", a mocking yet nostalgic look back at the beginning of an era.

In many ways, "200 Cigarettes" is no different than most of the movies we've seen about angst-riddled hipsters out for a good time while dealing with the pressures of relationships. We've seen it all before in movies like "Singles", "Reality Bites", etc. Most of the characters here are rather generic, and there are so many of them that none ever really get a chance to be developed very much. But the movie has a certain charm and cleverness about it that keeps it interesting.

The premise is that several people, most of whom don't know each other, are on their way to the same New Years Eve party. There are too many of them mention, but among the cast of thousands is Courtney Love, Jay Mohr, Kate Hudson, Ben Affleck (who only has about 10 lines, thank Christ), Janine Garafalo, and several other people you would expect to see in a film like this. Everyone is late for the party either because they are lost, unavoidably detained, or simply don't want to be the first to arrive. Several of them cross paths, not knowing that the same destiny, or at least destination, awaits them. Many relationships are formed, only to have them mixed and rematched by the time the night is done. The one element that ties them all together in their journey is the Disco Cabbie (Dave Chappel), the film's narrator, token brother, and comedic highlight.

Though the movie gets bogged down in tired relationship dialogue far too often, there is a lot of funny material to be found in-between. And I have to admire this film for spending 90 minutes building up to this party and pairing off all of these couples, only to have it veer away into completely new directions. This keeps the ending fresh and unpredictably fun, like a good punchline to a joke that took a bit too much time to set-up, but is still worth the payoff. And, if nothing else, the way some of these fucking people dressed back then ought to put a smile on your face - again.

"200 Cigarettes" delivers about twice the laughs of its genre counterparts ("The Wedding Singer", for example), and only about half of the relationship schmaltz melodrama: Tastes great, less filling! Maybe you didn't have to be there to find this movie funny, but it probably wouldn't hurt.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1488&reviewer=258
originally posted: 06/19/01 21:37:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/09 art ONLY FOR NEW YORKERS! 3 stars
10/04/07 The Film Maker Luvs the music. Great indie. 4 stars
1/14/07 JM Synth Kind of fun. The soundtrack, as often is the case with these things, is the star 3 stars
6/14/04 Justin Dennis wtf is wrong with you people this movie owned and courtney love ROCKS! 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant The movie blows. Kate Hudson swallows. And the audience gets the shaft. 1 stars
5/27/02 Nicole I really didn't get the point of this movie 2 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Love's performance here makes horseshit look talented. 1 stars
2/03/02 Andrew Carden Good For Those Times When You Get High and Have A 6-Pack. 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean A fairly funny flick. Ricci finally doesn't play a weirdo and was cute with her accent. 3 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Casey is a no-talent hack - just like his brother 1 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Unfunny, Weak Comedy; Only Joke.......Ben Affleck Drops a Beer Bottle! BWAH-HAH-HAH!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/16/00 JDC I liked it. Not funny, but I liked the characters enough. 4 stars
3/17/00 Cristy Casey Affleck will you marry me?!?!?!? I loved this movie, I thought it was great. 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Good acting, good concept, yet somehow strangely generic. 3 stars
11/08/99 hum dull 2 stars
11/02/99 Bozo it wasn't that bad-liked rudd, love & ricci's 'lawn guyland' accent 4 stars
4/27/99 Angie it was decent, Ben looked hot as always =) 4 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam It was good. Mind candy! 4 stars
4/17/99 Spic Made by your friends at Phillip Morris!! 2 stars
4/14/99 Michelle Some good performances (Affleckx2, Rudd) in an otherwise boring flick. 2 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn blink, you miss Ben.. Courtney is still as shitty as always.. someone stop this nasty bitch 4 stars
4/10/99 mara blah except for some pretty faces 2 stars
4/10/99 Copey Great soundtrack, better film than I expected 4 stars
4/09/99 Ami the Wonderbread fantastic 5 stars
4/08/99 Brian M nice trip back to 81 3 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne Hightops and flourescents are not COOL, no matter how hard MTV trys. 2 stars
4/02/99 Powrhug Hey! I'd spend another $6.50 to see Ben dance! 3 stars
4/02/99 MAD Elvis Costello is a necropheliac. I have proof. 3 stars
3/20/99 Steven D This movie was bad from the MTV label. David Chappelle gave the only good performance 2 stars
3/16/99 agsmith Good movie to see when you're drunk... 4 stars
3/16/99 sonia awesome movie, really funny casey affleck and courtney were great 5 stars
3/14/99 Dharma I loved it!! I just wanna lick Casey Affleck!!!!!! 5 stars
3/13/99 Karen Learned some new funny lines but suggest waiting until cable. 3 stars
3/11/99 Negative Creep Thought it was the best film Affleck's been involved with 5 stars
3/10/99 Kristen I LOVED IT! 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Good cast, especially Casey and Ben Affleck and Kate Hudson, but a disappointing movie. 3 stars
3/08/99 Shanandler Bong I mostly saw it for Casey and Ben. They were the only goods except for Kate Hudson. 4 stars
3/08/99 M Cocolis my friends thought it sucked, I liked it.... 4 stars
3/05/99 Angelic CaSeY AfFlEcK! 4 stars
3/04/99 benjamin lesbian Fun....not great. One of those guilty pleasure movies. Catch it at the $1.50 theater. 4 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz Terrific performances and a horde of hotties enliven this irresistibly boisterous comedy. 4 stars
3/03/99 Christina A really fun and funny movie 5 stars
3/03/99 Kenda Funny, but pretty pointless. Casey Affleck and Kate Hudson make it worthwile. 3 stars
3/02/99 Dave Good soundtrack, some nice hair, but pointless, meandering, and seems to last forever. 2 stars
3/02/99 slimshady paul rudd was too funny. courtney love (who i usually hate) was totally likable in this mov 5 stars
3/02/99 EmmetOtter Too many characters, too few laughs. Not worth $7.50. 2 stars
3/02/99 Rachel kicked ass! Gotta see it again! 5 stars
3/01/99 Blythe It's not a movie that has you on your ass, but its funny and the costuming is hilarious. 4 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Insanely disappointed because I didn't get to see Chritina Ricci's tits 1 stars
2/24/99 Happy D. Why do you have Ben Affleck listed first on Cast when he really only has a cameo in the pic 4 stars
2/08/99 Mr Film Very cool. 4 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons full of lame acting and weak storylines that you don't give a fuck about. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Feb-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast