More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 10.89%
Worth A Look: 21.78%
Average27.72%
Pretty Bad: 16.83%
Total Crap: 22.77%

8 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


200 Cigarettes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"How do ya like your eggs in the morning, scrambled or fertilized?"
3 stars

Nifty cast...not much else.

A bunch of people (and their stories) are loosely tied together in 200 Cigarettes, a title which symbolizes a gift from the character Lucy (Courtney Love) to Kevin (Paul Rudd) as well as the kinda iffy metaphor of using cigarettes as a buffer between people. It all takes place on New Year's Eve '81, as the cast is making it's way to a party being thrown by Monica (Martha Plimpton).

No one actually shows up at the party until far later, but here's who's supposed to be there:

Kevin and Lucy. They're friends who may become more than that. Kevin's been dumped by Ellie (Janeane Garafalo) and is mopey. Lucy just wants to go out and have fun. She hits on the bartender (Ben Affleck) at a club, and invites him to the party. The bartender eventually makes plans to double date with Caitlyn and Bridget (Nicole Parker and Angela Featherstone). Bridget has just dumped Eric (Brian McCardie), who just happens to be Monica's ex. Monica plans on pawning Eric off to her friend Hillary (Catherine Kellner). Monica's cousin Val (Christina Ricci) is coming, as is Val's friend Stephie (Gaby Hoffman). They're being tailed by a couple of street punks (Casey Affleck and Guillermo Diaz). Jack (Jay Mohr) will be there, and he's planning on bringing Cindy (Kate Hudson). Nevermind that they just met the night before. There's also the Disco Cabbie (Dave Chappelle) and Elvis Costello. Monica, of course, will just be happy if anyone shows up.

So here you have a humungous ensemble cast, all fairly talented, so it should be a pretty good flick, right?

Nope.

Each character (or set of characters) is loosely tied to the party, but not necessarily to each other. There's not enough of a plot to draw us in to each individual story. We're drawn to certain characters, and we're disillusioned with others. It's a mess. It's funny fairly frequently, but it's still a mess.

Among the winners here: the Afflecks. Ben has that charm that you just can't help but like, and gets the best line. He also gets an obvious laugh or two with a few failed Tom Cruise/Cocktail type moves behind the bar. Casey does fine as well in a small role (larger than his brothers, however). I hope he'll get some larger parts in the future. I liked the Kevin/Lucy characters as well. I've always liked Paul Rudd (even though his hair here is horrid), and I enjoyed Love's performance in People Vs. Larry Flynt. I think, even with those being the only two roles we've seen her in, she's fast becoming a legitimate actress. Plimpton's hilarious. But Kate Hudson (she's Goldie Hawn's daughter, and you can see it in her smile) steals it for me. Part sweet innocent, part flaky klutz, her role is probably the best of the bunch, and it's a nice screen debut for her.

The losers: Garafolo. It's a more adult role for her, but it's so out of place. Tortured artsy type? Uh-uh. I hated her the first scene she's in. She's better in the cab scene, but still wrong for the part. Kellner isn't given enough to do, and neither are Featherstone and Parker. And Ricci and Hoffman?

Dear Lord in Heaven.

So they've got the Lawn Guyland accents down. Which gets old. Fast. Hoffman shows no range. Ricci's better (although the audience I was in was more interested that she's *thisclose* to spilling out of her top), but still annoying.

In the end, there are a lot of funny moments and some great dialogue, but none of it adds up to a satisfying whole.

The parts are there, they just don't fit.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1488&reviewer=7
originally posted: 03/03/99 04:15:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell watchable nothing more 2 stars
9/22/09 art ONLY FOR NEW YORKERS! 3 stars
10/04/07 The Film Maker Luvs the music. Great indie. 4 stars
1/14/07 JM Synth Kind of fun. The soundtrack, as often is the case with these things, is the star 3 stars
6/14/04 Justin Dennis wtf is wrong with you people this movie owned and courtney love ROCKS! 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant The movie blows. Kate Hudson swallows. And the audience gets the shaft. 1 stars
5/27/02 Nicole I really didn't get the point of this movie 2 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Love's performance here makes horseshit look talented. 1 stars
2/03/02 Andrew Carden Good For Those Times When You Get High and Have A 6-Pack. 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean A fairly funny flick. Ricci finally doesn't play a weirdo and was cute with her accent. 3 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Casey is a no-talent hack - just like his brother 1 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Unfunny, Weak Comedy; Only Joke.......Ben Affleck Drops a Beer Bottle! BWAH-HAH-HAH!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/16/00 JDC I liked it. Not funny, but I liked the characters enough. 4 stars
3/17/00 Cristy Casey Affleck will you marry me?!?!?!? I loved this movie, I thought it was great. 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Good acting, good concept, yet somehow strangely generic. 3 stars
11/08/99 hum dull 2 stars
11/02/99 Bozo it wasn't that bad-liked rudd, love & ricci's 'lawn guyland' accent 4 stars
4/27/99 Angie it was decent, Ben looked hot as always =) 4 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam It was good. Mind candy! 4 stars
4/17/99 Spic Made by your friends at Phillip Morris!! 2 stars
4/14/99 Michelle Some good performances (Affleckx2, Rudd) in an otherwise boring flick. 2 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn blink, you miss Ben.. Courtney is still as shitty as always.. someone stop this nasty bitch 4 stars
4/10/99 mara blah except for some pretty faces 2 stars
4/10/99 Copey Great soundtrack, better film than I expected 4 stars
4/09/99 Ami the Wonderbread fantastic 5 stars
4/08/99 Brian M nice trip back to 81 3 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne Hightops and flourescents are not COOL, no matter how hard MTV trys. 2 stars
4/02/99 Powrhug Hey! I'd spend another $6.50 to see Ben dance! 3 stars
4/02/99 MAD Elvis Costello is a necropheliac. I have proof. 3 stars
3/20/99 Steven D This movie was bad from the MTV label. David Chappelle gave the only good performance 2 stars
3/16/99 agsmith Good movie to see when you're drunk... 4 stars
3/16/99 sonia awesome movie, really funny casey affleck and courtney were great 5 stars
3/14/99 Dharma I loved it!! I just wanna lick Casey Affleck!!!!!! 5 stars
3/13/99 Karen Learned some new funny lines but suggest waiting until cable. 3 stars
3/11/99 Negative Creep Thought it was the best film Affleck's been involved with 5 stars
3/10/99 Kristen I LOVED IT! 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Good cast, especially Casey and Ben Affleck and Kate Hudson, but a disappointing movie. 3 stars
3/08/99 Shanandler Bong I mostly saw it for Casey and Ben. They were the only goods except for Kate Hudson. 4 stars
3/08/99 M Cocolis my friends thought it sucked, I liked it.... 4 stars
3/05/99 Angelic CaSeY AfFlEcK! 4 stars
3/04/99 benjamin lesbian Fun....not great. One of those guilty pleasure movies. Catch it at the $1.50 theater. 4 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz Terrific performances and a horde of hotties enliven this irresistibly boisterous comedy. 4 stars
3/03/99 Christina A really fun and funny movie 5 stars
3/03/99 Kenda Funny, but pretty pointless. Casey Affleck and Kate Hudson make it worthwile. 3 stars
3/02/99 Dave Good soundtrack, some nice hair, but pointless, meandering, and seems to last forever. 2 stars
3/02/99 slimshady paul rudd was too funny. courtney love (who i usually hate) was totally likable in this mov 5 stars
3/02/99 EmmetOtter Too many characters, too few laughs. Not worth $7.50. 2 stars
3/02/99 Rachel kicked ass! Gotta see it again! 5 stars
3/01/99 Blythe It's not a movie that has you on your ass, but its funny and the costuming is hilarious. 4 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Insanely disappointed because I didn't get to see Chritina Ricci's tits 1 stars
2/24/99 Happy D. Why do you have Ben Affleck listed first on Cast when he really only has a cameo in the pic 4 stars
2/08/99 Mr Film Very cool. 4 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons full of lame acting and weak storylines that you don't give a fuck about. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Feb-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast