More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.49

Awesome: 14.74%
Worth A Look: 10.53%
Average: 17.89%
Pretty Bad: 23.16%
Total Crap33.68%

8 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Miami Vice
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The Ultimate Dancing Machine

"Bright lights, big city, little else"
3 stars

The latest TV show-turned-movie to arrive in cinemas, MIAMI VICE is a lot like a top-of-the-line Ferrari with no engine: looks sharp, but you can't help but notice that it doesn't take you anywhere.

That may be fitting considering the source material; after all, the show is chiefly remembered for epitomizing a certain style--suntanned '80s decadence--rather than anything that might be confused with substance. And working with a reported budget of $125 million, director Michael Mann certainly finds more than enough elbow room to indulge his fetish for snazzy visuals. There are some extremely striking compositions to be found here, particularly whenever the action strays outdoors; there is a fairly remarkable plane-in-the-clouds shot that almost had me reaching for the pause button on the remote. But Mann's technical acumen is all in service of a standard-issue drug-smuggling plot that plays like an episode of the TV show arbitrarily strung out to two-plus hours.

Mann's hit-the-ground-running approach allows him to start things off like the proverbial gangbusters, and he pulls out a couple sharp set pieces before the end credits roll; but he doesn't allow the audience feel at home with his two leads. It's a ruinous fault: Farrell and Foxx never come across as anything more than a pair of sexy-cool ciphers, typical stone-faced cops on a "mission." Just compare Foxx's flat performance here to his Oscar-nominated turn in COLLATERAL, and the difference is palpable. It would be tempting to explain the leads' obvious lack of chemistry by pointing to all those reports of on-set conflicts between the two, but Mann's script doesn't really give them half a chance. Instead of characterization, Mann offers sex scenes and steamy romps in the shower. You never get to know anyone terribly well, and so the romantic subplot (involving Farrell and the lovely Li Gong) lacks resonance.

The plot unfolds listlessly and monotonously, propelled at intervals by huge dollops of exposition that the director doesn't even seem to be trying to present in an interesting manner. There is far too much talking in half-darkened rooms, as if Mann were merely marking time between shoot-outs. It's all too clear he's more at home with the action sequences.

A few bright moments crop up that suggest the film that MIAMI VICE should have been: the grim monotony is occasionally broken up with flashes of tough-guy humor, as in a bit involving a dead man's switch that Mann turns into an uproarious variation on the classic scene from DIRTY HARRY.

But for the most part all that swaggering Miami machismo isn't nearly as fun as it's supposed to be.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=14888&reviewer=223
originally posted: 07/28/06 21:55:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

7/01/09 pantera michael mann sucks 1 stars
6/15/09 Jeff Wilder Can't say I "enjoyed" it. But it's one film I'll never forget. 3 stars
6/14/09 JR If this were made first, there never would have been a tv series. Crap. 1 stars
9/30/08 Jukebox Heroe Mumbling fast a new language? Soundtrack pathetic. turn off ur brain 4 this. 1 stars
8/21/08 Shaun Wallner Ugg boring!! 1 stars
6/25/08 dan halberg Probably would have been better if it was set in the 80's. 2 stars
7/25/07 Amy Boring, stupid, poorly filmed gibberish 1 stars
7/25/07 hoppy rob gonsalves review of this film says it perfectly. Where's the personality? 2 stars
7/21/07 ben dover very underated slick and stylish 4 stars
6/06/07 David Pollastrini bad series, worse movie 1 stars
4/13/07 Johnnyfog If I wanted to watch "Heat", I'd just rent it again 1 stars
2/22/07 Matt Another TV show hits the big screen like a lump of dog turd. Absolute rubbish. 1 stars
1/22/07 Indrid Cold If there was any magic and chemistry in the show, this sure doesn't capture it. 3 stars
1/13/07 Xavier Can't understand a fucking word of dialogue. No chemistry. The worst from Mann, ever. 1 stars
1/04/07 mr jackson piece of shit, i turned it off, would look bad even as saturday afternoon entertainment 1 stars
1/01/07 Joe Dull, cliched plot. Minimal action. Zero in common w/show except Crockett & Tubbs. It sucks 2 stars
12/28/06 Brutus A complete failure from pretentious Mann 1 stars
10/30/06 Adam Best action movie since the 80's, Snobs will overanalyze. Better than "The Departed" 5 stars
10/15/06 William Goss Sparse action undermined by plodding plot. Sex and staring at sunsets not that compelling. 2 stars
10/13/06 spacecowboy it movie retains the spirit of the original. any fan of the original would recognize that. 5 stars
9/13/06 Agent Sands The Ben-Hur or Spartacus of cop films. 4 stars
8/29/06 Nick not even worth this comment! 1 stars
8/29/06 Frenzy Not as bad as I others say 3 stars
8/27/06 Captain Craig Only proves if you take a shower with someone nothing bad will happen to you. Ugh! 1 stars
8/23/06 jake a shoolboy could have come up with a better plot. CRAP characters no substance or story 1 stars
8/22/06 MP Bartley A terse, adult, slow burning thriller. 4 stars
8/13/06 Marty mann whipped up some action, but boy was this movie dull. foxx - wasted 2 stars
8/11/06 michael long live the 80's when they knew how to make good movies 4 stars
8/10/06 Me You're all clowns 5 stars
8/09/06 Elizabeth S A big disappointment from Mann; intended gritty night scenes are UGLY 2 stars
8/09/06 Mansi Dido Okay. But not a patch on the original Crockett and Tubbs - now they REALLY had style. 3 stars
8/08/06 JLo Should have cast Don Johnson and Phillip Michael Thomas 1 stars
8/06/06 Erik Van Sant Boring. Confusing. Forgettable. Haven't seen this many 'shower scenes' since 'Top Gun'. 1 stars
8/05/06 millersxing Michael Mann's Vice City: it's a sexy, glamorous, and dangerous underworld. 5 stars
8/04/06 Andrew The only thing great about it is how it looks, and for 135 million it sure as hell should 2 stars
8/02/06 JJ The movie guy said "Good luck with that." when I bought my ticket... 2 stars
8/02/06 Agent Sands Very enjoyable and grandiose. The Ben-Hur or Magnolia or Good, Bad and Ugly of cop films. 5 stars
8/01/06 The Man Mann Rankings: Last of Mohicans, Insider, Heat, Miami Vice, Collateral, all awesome 5 stars
8/01/06 MRM Not enough car/boat chase, HEAT had more violence, no awards here 2 stars
7/31/06 J wow i couldnt believe how bad this movie was...the audience started BOOING at the end 1 stars
7/31/06 jcjs fun, nice innuendos, great acting, visually sweet, bang bang nice, worked for me, pleased 5 stars
7/31/06 Peter Smith Lame, over-hyped 2 stars
7/31/06 Ole Man Bourbon Some really great Mann-esque touches, but also much stupid, silly, pointless crap 3 stars
7/30/06 great colin farrell was masterful in this potenial oscar worthy film 5 stars
7/29/06 Troy M. Grzych One of the worst films I've seen...ever. I had to struggle to make myself stay and finish 1 stars
7/29/06 ahnold Pure SHIT. No plot. No dialogue for actors. Just visuals. OVER-HYPED 1 stars
7/29/06 Colt Cool! GTA: VICE CITY - THE MOVIE!!!!! Oh, and MANHUNTER sucked donkey balls... 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-2006 (R)
  DVD: 05-Dec-2006

UK
  04-Aug-2006

Australia
  10-Aug-2006


Directed by
  Michael Mann

Written by
  Michael Mann

Cast
  Jamie Foxx
  Colin Farrell
  Gong Li
  Naomie Harris
  Ciarán Hinds
  Justin Theroux



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast