More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.08

Awesome: 14.29%
Worth A Look: 26.98%
Average33.33%
Pretty Bad: 3.17%
Total Crap: 22.22%

5 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Big Hit, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"10 for style, 2 for substance"
3 stars

If you often find yourself defending the types of movies offered by Jerry Bruckheimer and Joel Silver, hereís an affably dumb little action/comedy that should easily hold your attention.

The Big Hit offers all the requisite staples of the modern action flick: loud music, well-timed explosions, seemingly immortal heroes, amazingly hateful villains, lotsa guns, lotsa slo-mo, and poor attempts at humor by the truckload. This oneís got all that.

Fresh off of his Boogie Nights popularity, Mark Wahlberg stars as Melvin Smiley, a good-natured doormat of an elite hitman, and one whoís itchiní for a better future. Friends and lovers with a host of unpleasant assholes (basically because Marvin really craves approval), the beleaguered assassin discovers an unwitting Ďlife changeí - one that comes in the form of a teenaged hostage.

Melvinís good nature is constantly exploited, as his former friends and lovers (all of whom want either his blood or his money) are now hot on his trail. (When Melvin finally does lose his shit in a hail of kientic action scenes, the result is fun indeed.)

The Big Hit is, aside from its curious devotion to incongruous comedy, not much thatís new. But director Kirk Wong (in his only English language production) tilts the cameras and keeps the frames askew enough to keep things enjoyably...weird. The action bits, though illogical, are delivered with pomp and flair, and the extensive roster of actors offers intermitent moments of inspired entertainment.

Christina Applegate is deliriously obnoxious as Marvinís JAP fiancee, and Lela Rochon offers a few fiery moments as well. Lainie Kazan and Elliot Gould take overwrought Jewish stereotypes to a whole new level, Bokeem Woodbine has a few good scenes as Marvinís co-killer, and Lou Diamond Phillips chews through his villain role with visual glee. The Big Hit isnít a smart flick, and itís a far cry from anything original - but itís a whole lot of stupid comic-book-style fun...for those with a high tolerance for overbaked action histrionics.

Far from the worst of its genre, though only worthy of a weeknight viewing if nothing else is on.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=151&reviewer=128
originally posted: 01/15/03 03:36:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/28/16 DEZ I think it's a funny and stylized film, not meant to taken as a serious film. 4 stars
4/05/07 Shmokey Ro You either love it or hate it, I loved it, a cult classic! 5 stars
1/03/07 del Missing an "S" from its title. 1 stars
8/09/04 Phil Something about that make me watch every time its on. Phillips needs to stay with comedy 5 stars
11/08/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) One of the cleverest spoofs I've ever seen. Purposely ridiculous. 4 stars
7/08/03 Mitsaso Pure,solid fun.Wahlberg was 2 funny. 4 stars
3/26/03 Stevan Mark Walberg & Antonio Sabato Jnr are absolute sex gods. It's a pity that they weren't nake 5 stars
1/15/03 Snork The coolest fucking movie ever. Wacky over-the-top action, and Lou Diamond at his finest 5 stars
1/15/03 Jack Sommersby Unspeakably ineffectual and lame. Wahlberg registers zero as leading man. 1 stars
1/15/03 y2mckay Mark Wahlberg in breakdancing gunfights? Gimme' a fuckin' break! 1 stars
7/05/02 KMG NEWSFLASH: Title has been renamed to THE BIG SHIT 1 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron I don't care what the critics say I had big laughs and that's what counts in this spoof. 4 stars
4/14/02 Spyguy2 Tongue-in-cheek, sarcastic and funny send-up of hipster-buddy high crime flicks. Hilarious 4 stars
10/06/01 Phoenix Mark Wahlberg is a good actor, and this is a very good and funny flick. 4 stars
9/17/01 Rebecca Wahlberg make fun of mark(best actor besides tom hanks) and i kick yur pathetic ass 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Lou Diamond was hilarious, but this movie wont stay at your memory bank for long. 4 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One great 5 stars
1/31/01 Alex Karollus A very good film 5 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I kept waiting to see Mark's pecs. 1 stars
11/05/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Pathetic , the worst acting , jokes , and script for a movie not involving Roland Emmerich. 1 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Proves my point even more that Marky Mark can't act! 2 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Mark, suck my pee-pee 1 stars
4/08/99 Ah Dooey Better than Mod Squad 4 stars
12/23/98 chuck-d Eh. Not good. Funny at times, but a spoof 3 stars
12/09/98 Shadow Raider You were expecting the Spice Boys? Bring-out-the-guns! 4 stars
11/09/98 Spice What a relief, someone can make fun of themselves and still be funny OH YA! 4 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep I laughed so hard when I left the theatre. I havent laughed so hard in years... 5 stars
9/30/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! STUPIDITY at its best !!, action scenes suck,comedy scenes dull and acting SHIT!!, CRAP!!! 1 stars
9/17/98 Ben Affleck Pretty cool, but many scenes 'unbelievable', but its supposed to be that way. APPLEGATE! 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Great Action but its fluff. 4 stars
9/14/98 Kita webmistress of the Antonio Sabato Jr. Site I liked the movie a lot, if you like tarantio stuff you will like it 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Lots of male fantasy material here. Pantless schoolgirls and guns. Yay 3 stars
8/16/98 Johny Somewhat stylish action save it from being terrible 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Apr-1998 (R)
  DVD: 06-Mar-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jun-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast