More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.08

Awesome: 14.29%
Worth A Look: 26.98%
Average33.33%
Pretty Bad: 3.17%
Total Crap: 22.22%

5 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Big Hit, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"Kirk Wong could have done better than this."
3 stars

If you want pure escapism and if you are not worried about a plausible plot, then you may like this movie a little bit.

The main character is a hit man named Melvin Smiley. His problem is that he wants people to like him. Because of this he can’t bring himself to end his relationship with his mistress or his Jewish fiancée. Melvin gets himself in a mess when he needs cash to keep his mistress happy. To get money he and
his collegues kidnap a girl named Keiko, who is the goddaughter of an important crime figure.
Any film where the “heroes” are bad guys can be a problem because it is hard to sympathize or identify with them. “The Big Hit” attempted to solve that problem by showing the hit men killing a very bad guy who was a white slaver. It was an interesting film in that it was shot in the Hong Kong style of movie-making, but made in Hollywood. (The director’s comments on the DVD version of this film are worth listening to as he talks about that.)
The film was over the top and went more for comedy than drama. For this reason it was enjoyable as you knew that you were watching a comedy, and not a serious drama.
Portraying the hit-men as “ordinary guys” in the other aspects of their lives was interesting. The message here is that a villain can sometimes behave like an ordinary person.
There was one missed opportunity for a good comic scene. When the preppie was abusing the hit man who had become the driver of the limo (when the girl was being picked up from school), I thought something was going to be set up. Then when the hit man stopped the car, I thought the pay-off would be when he made the preppie squirm. But the hit-man didn't, he just killed the preppie. This was a missed opportunity for a comic scene.
If you like a fast-paced action movie, and are not too concerned about the plausibility of the plot (as sometimes I am not, as a good action film can be a bit of escapism) then you will enjoy the film. After all, we can't take our movie watching all too seriously all the time.
Make sure and watch the director’s commentary on the DVD. It is worthwhile, even if may feel the movie isn’t that good. (As you very well may.)

I enjoyed this film, but you have to ignore implausibility to do so. This is a film to watch when you want a bit of escapism. You have to put your critical faculties on hold.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=151&reviewer=228
originally posted: 05/06/03 12:21:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/28/16 DEZ I think it's a funny and stylized film, not meant to taken as a serious film. 4 stars
4/05/07 Shmokey Ro You either love it or hate it, I loved it, a cult classic! 5 stars
1/03/07 del Missing an "S" from its title. 1 stars
8/09/04 Phil Something about that make me watch every time its on. Phillips needs to stay with comedy 5 stars
11/08/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) One of the cleverest spoofs I've ever seen. Purposely ridiculous. 4 stars
7/08/03 Mitsaso Pure,solid fun.Wahlberg was 2 funny. 4 stars
3/26/03 Stevan Mark Walberg & Antonio Sabato Jnr are absolute sex gods. It's a pity that they weren't nake 5 stars
1/15/03 Snork The coolest fucking movie ever. Wacky over-the-top action, and Lou Diamond at his finest 5 stars
1/15/03 Jack Sommersby Unspeakably ineffectual and lame. Wahlberg registers zero as leading man. 1 stars
1/15/03 y2mckay Mark Wahlberg in breakdancing gunfights? Gimme' a fuckin' break! 1 stars
7/05/02 KMG NEWSFLASH: Title has been renamed to THE BIG SHIT 1 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron I don't care what the critics say I had big laughs and that's what counts in this spoof. 4 stars
4/14/02 Spyguy2 Tongue-in-cheek, sarcastic and funny send-up of hipster-buddy high crime flicks. Hilarious 4 stars
10/06/01 Phoenix Mark Wahlberg is a good actor, and this is a very good and funny flick. 4 stars
9/17/01 Rebecca Wahlberg make fun of mark(best actor besides tom hanks) and i kick yur pathetic ass 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Lou Diamond was hilarious, but this movie wont stay at your memory bank for long. 4 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One great 5 stars
1/31/01 Alex Karollus A very good film 5 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I kept waiting to see Mark's pecs. 1 stars
11/05/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Pathetic , the worst acting , jokes , and script for a movie not involving Roland Emmerich. 1 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Proves my point even more that Marky Mark can't act! 2 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Mark, suck my pee-pee 1 stars
4/08/99 Ah Dooey Better than Mod Squad 4 stars
12/23/98 chuck-d Eh. Not good. Funny at times, but a spoof 3 stars
12/09/98 Shadow Raider You were expecting the Spice Boys? Bring-out-the-guns! 4 stars
11/09/98 Spice What a relief, someone can make fun of themselves and still be funny OH YA! 4 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep I laughed so hard when I left the theatre. I havent laughed so hard in years... 5 stars
9/30/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! STUPIDITY at its best !!, action scenes suck,comedy scenes dull and acting SHIT!!, CRAP!!! 1 stars
9/17/98 Ben Affleck Pretty cool, but many scenes 'unbelievable', but its supposed to be that way. APPLEGATE! 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Great Action but its fluff. 4 stars
9/14/98 Kita webmistress of the Antonio Sabato Jr. Site I liked the movie a lot, if you like tarantio stuff you will like it 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Lots of male fantasy material here. Pantless schoolgirls and guns. Yay 3 stars
8/16/98 Johny Somewhat stylish action save it from being terrible 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Apr-1998 (R)
  DVD: 06-Mar-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jun-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast