More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.08

Awesome: 14.29%
Worth A Look: 26.98%
Average33.33%
Pretty Bad: 3.17%
Total Crap: 22.22%

5 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Big Hit, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Who are you supposed to be, the Spice Boys?"
3 stars

Any movie where we don't see Marky Mark's...uh, "microphone"...can't be all bad.

This was Wahlberg's follow-up to Boogie Nights. It's not necessarily a bad film, just instantly forgettable.

It's hard to merge action and comedy into a watchable hybrid. But this movie almost does it.

Wahlberg's a hit man with a girlfriend and a mistress. He wants out of the business. He goes in for one last big hit with his buddies: kidnap the daughter of a Japanese businessman. Turns out the girl is the goddaughter of Wahlberg's boss. One of Wahlberg's partners (Lou Diamond Phillips, with tacky gold tooth) doublecrosses Wahlberg, saying that he was the one who orchestrated the whole thing.

Wahlberg dumps his mistress, gets dumped by his girlfriend, and falls in love with his hostage (the lovely China Chow). Oh, and he has to get his copy of King Kong Lives back to the video store or there'll be trouble.

Wackiness ensues.

Spectacular action sequences and stunt work make up for spotty comedy and complete lack of chemistry between Wahlberg and Christina Applegate as his girlfriend (Kelly Bundy as a Jewish princess?).

If you're into the Hong Kong action scene, this might be of interest to you, but it's watered down compared to those movies in general.

Produced by John Woo, so at least it's got a pedigree.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=151&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/01/98 00:03:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/28/16 DEZ I think it's a funny and stylized film, not meant to taken as a serious film. 4 stars
4/05/07 Shmokey Ro You either love it or hate it, I loved it, a cult classic! 5 stars
1/03/07 del Missing an "S" from its title. 1 stars
8/09/04 Phil Something about that make me watch every time its on. Phillips needs to stay with comedy 5 stars
11/08/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) One of the cleverest spoofs I've ever seen. Purposely ridiculous. 4 stars
7/08/03 Mitsaso Pure,solid fun.Wahlberg was 2 funny. 4 stars
3/26/03 Stevan Mark Walberg & Antonio Sabato Jnr are absolute sex gods. It's a pity that they weren't nake 5 stars
1/15/03 Snork The coolest fucking movie ever. Wacky over-the-top action, and Lou Diamond at his finest 5 stars
1/15/03 Jack Sommersby Unspeakably ineffectual and lame. Wahlberg registers zero as leading man. 1 stars
1/15/03 y2mckay Mark Wahlberg in breakdancing gunfights? Gimme' a fuckin' break! 1 stars
7/05/02 KMG NEWSFLASH: Title has been renamed to THE BIG SHIT 1 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron I don't care what the critics say I had big laughs and that's what counts in this spoof. 4 stars
4/14/02 Spyguy2 Tongue-in-cheek, sarcastic and funny send-up of hipster-buddy high crime flicks. Hilarious 4 stars
10/06/01 Phoenix Mark Wahlberg is a good actor, and this is a very good and funny flick. 4 stars
9/17/01 Rebecca Wahlberg make fun of mark(best actor besides tom hanks) and i kick yur pathetic ass 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Lou Diamond was hilarious, but this movie wont stay at your memory bank for long. 4 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One great 5 stars
1/31/01 Alex Karollus A very good film 5 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I kept waiting to see Mark's pecs. 1 stars
11/05/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Pathetic , the worst acting , jokes , and script for a movie not involving Roland Emmerich. 1 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Proves my point even more that Marky Mark can't act! 2 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Mark, suck my pee-pee 1 stars
4/08/99 Ah Dooey Better than Mod Squad 4 stars
12/23/98 chuck-d Eh. Not good. Funny at times, but a spoof 3 stars
12/09/98 Shadow Raider You were expecting the Spice Boys? Bring-out-the-guns! 4 stars
11/09/98 Spice What a relief, someone can make fun of themselves and still be funny OH YA! 4 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep I laughed so hard when I left the theatre. I havent laughed so hard in years... 5 stars
9/30/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! STUPIDITY at its best !!, action scenes suck,comedy scenes dull and acting SHIT!!, CRAP!!! 1 stars
9/17/98 Ben Affleck Pretty cool, but many scenes 'unbelievable', but its supposed to be that way. APPLEGATE! 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Great Action but its fluff. 4 stars
9/14/98 Kita webmistress of the Antonio Sabato Jr. Site I liked the movie a lot, if you like tarantio stuff you will like it 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Lots of male fantasy material here. Pantless schoolgirls and guns. Yay 3 stars
8/16/98 Johny Somewhat stylish action save it from being terrible 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Apr-1998 (R)
  DVD: 06-Mar-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jun-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast