More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome: 40%
Worth A Look48.33%
Average: 5.83%
Pretty Bad: 4.17%
Total Crap: 1.67%

5 reviews, 90 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Love Off the Cuff by Jay Seaver

Circle, The (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Below Her Mouth by Peter Sobczynski

Most Beautiful Island by Jay Seaver

Neighborhood Food Drive by Jay Seaver

Fraud by Jay Seaver

Their Finest by Jay Seaver

Tommy's Honour by Jay Seaver

Colossal by Peter Sobczynski

Fate of the Furious, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Idiocracy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Fox would rather you experience Idiocracy than actually see it."
4 stars

Mike Judge’s Idiocracy might as well be the story of Fox Studios. Judge’s depiction of a dumbed-down future in the year 2500 might be a satirical and damning summation of where we are and where we’re going, but it is most definitely a prophetic account of what would eventually happen to one of the smartest movies to come out of Fox Studios in a long time. Judge’s comedy turned out to be far too smart and far too subversive for this studio, that they didn’t even bother making a trailer for it. Even imdb.com hasn’t updated the status of this movie since September of last year. Even local representatives of Fox had no idea this movie would be opening this weekend. What happened? Apparently, Fox’s continuing efforts to dumb us all down is what happened, thus bringing Judge’s comic vision of the future into fruition and the whole endeavor full circle.

Shame on them. Okay, fine, so Luke Wilson can’t sell a movie on his own. Okay, fine, the movie’s concept might have looked too cartoonish and fanciful for mainstream tastes when put in trailer form. Okay, fine, Mike Judge remains more of a cult hero than a marquee name. The studio should have at least given this movie a chance. Needless to say, I had no idea what to expect from this film when I walked into the theater, but Idiocracy turned out to be one of the most hilarious movies of the year and probably the funniest thing Mike Judge has ever done.

The concept is simple enough. Luke Wilson plays Joe Bowers, a lowly Army Private who works in the basement library where nobody notices him. Because he has no family and nobody to talk to, he gets selected to participate in a government based hibernation experiment. A woman, or more accurately a prostitute, named Rita (Maya Rudolph) also participates. The experiment turns out to be a success, but only because the hibernation pods get lost or ignored for a few hundred years. Because civilization eventually became dumber and dumber, nobody could figure out what to do with all the garbage that accumulated. A common garbage avalanche causes the pods to finally open.

Bowers wakes up in a city that looks like it had just been hit by a nuclear missile made of corporate bumberstickers. It looks like Thunderdome as run by audience members of the Jerry Springer Show. Nobody understands Joe when he talks because he does so in complete sentences. Eventually, because of his inability to fit in, he’s seen as a fugitive, with little more than a slow-witted, Violence Channel-obsessed lawyer named Frito (Dax Shepard) to help him out. News of Bowers’ intelligence catches on, however, and he’s soon put to use in the White House where a loudmouth pro-wrestler/porn star President of America (sorry, Uhmerica) puts him in charge of solving the country’s biggest problems, like dust storms and garbage avalanches.

Judge’s humor is both verbal and visual, in equal amounts. While the movie won’t win any awards for special effects, Judge fills the movie’s visual landscape with so much comedic eye candy, that it deserves some kind of award for Art Direction. It’s certainly one of the funniest films I’ve ever looked at. The characters who inhabit this world look just as stupid as they talk, but not in an obvious way. Nobody’s hair looks right and not a single layer of clothing exists without a corporate logo branded across the fabric (made up corporations, like Flaturine).

Luke Wilson and Maya Rudolph don’t have much to do in terms of exploring their characters. They’re simply props to help get the story from one set piece to the next. Eventually, a relationship develops between them, with Rita not wanting to admit to Joe that she used to be a prostitute. Wilson has never been one of my favorite actors, which might only be because he’s been in so many bad movies, but he and Rudolph are good at playing the straight-man/woman guides through this insanely dim-witted world while actors like Dax Shepard and Terry Crews, who plays the President, fill in the actual characterizations. Most of these cartoon-like characters could only come from a mind like Mike Judge, who hasn’t lost his ability to make stupidity both alarming and endearing.

Like Judge’s Office Space, though, Idiocracy eventually loses a bit of steam towards the end, but not enough to kill the momentum completely. Throughout the movie, Judge lets narration take over whenever a sequence feels like it’s about to run too long. As a result, the movie never wears out its welcome and feels about right at its running time of 84 minutes.

In time, we can only hope that Fox will give the movie more of a chance on DVD and that it finds its audience. My guess is that Rupert Murdoch saw a cut of the film and realized that Judge hit too close to home on Murdoch’s master plan for all of humanity, and therefore nixed the film any chance at a proper release. It’s not that far-fetched, considering that in the film, Judge throws in a major jab at Fox News. This corporation has never been known to have a sense of humor about itself, or about the rest of the world, for that matter. Like many corporations, it exists precisely in the world of which Judge is satirizing: A world in which stupidity earns rewards and intelligence closes on Friday night, thanks to poor marketing and utter contempt for the masses. It is, in a word, idiocracy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15157&reviewer=233
originally posted: 09/04/06 09:03:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2016 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2016 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

6/01/16 j la mere and here comes trump 5 stars
1/24/16 jim in the north Absurd? I see signs that we're trending that way. 4 stars
12/31/13 Ste Jones This to me is a horror flick and one of the scariest in years! 5 stars
4/25/13 RAY STEVEN FROST first time watched it was funny. second time scary!!! watch again in a few years. 5 stars
12/03/12 scub Nothing political about this movie. Why throw dubya into it? 5 stars
2/25/12 mikem "Welcome to Costco. I love you." Gets more better with time, and scarier. 5 stars
1/22/11 rd The most intellectual movie in recent years. 5 stars
9/12/10 SLIM JIM What's left of this film is just threatening enough make it clear why Fox tried to can it. 4 stars
8/21/10 PAUL SHORTT SCATTERSHOT COMEDY 2 stars
7/31/10 not sure I can see some truth in the theory. 2 stars
6/14/10 paul wain triffik 5 stars
4/09/10 comacho War is the natural way for an idiocracy to eat itself 5 stars
3/29/10 BIll Obama is making it a reality today! 4 stars
1/13/10 Lin Worth it for Dr. Lexus' (Justin Long) scene alone. 4 stars
9/23/09 Jackthecat This is a horror film disguised as a comedy 4 stars
9/17/09 jethro teh worstest moovie I hav evr saw. 5 stars
5/26/09 Melvin Martin The funniest movie I've seen in years! (5/25/09) 5 stars
4/30/09 KsbjA Insanely funny, witty, and with a message... awesome! 5 stars
2/17/09 Ethan I thought it was "okay". Not great, but the premise alone saved it. Scares me to hell... 3 stars
1/24/09 David V Very funny, but also a little disturbing 4 stars
11/26/08 Roy Smith Take two jokes and recycle a hundred times. 3 stars
11/26/08 Leo T poorly paced, I expected a much better movie 3 stars
9/30/08 xonic you know it will probably happen america is a country of dumbasses 5 stars
9/24/08 Agree I love money...Yeah! 5 stars
9/10/08 Bill Dwyer This movie is damn funny. I've seen it three times now. 5 stars
8/11/08 KingNeutron BITING social commentary - I rented based on a friends recommandation and liked it. 4 stars
7/29/08 Bob M. It's like the Twilight Zone did a comedy! Thank you Mike Judge. 5 stars
5/25/08 BadWebDiver VERRRRRYYY clever political satire 4 stars
5/12/08 Felix B-T Best comedy I've seen in years, wish it had been longer. 5 stars
4/25/08 Dave just saw for the 3rd time- no longer funny, just terrified for my children 5 stars
4/08/08 Marshall Funny how Fox is the bad guy despite funding and releasing the film. Reviewer is idiot. 4 stars
3/10/08 Not Sure I'm not sure how this movie is getting good reviews...worst movie I've seen in years 1 stars
3/01/08 Fred Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho for President. 5 stars
2/03/08 David Sucked at first but then I realized it wasn't as faggy as I thought. 5 stars
1/30/08 andrew I haven't gotten sore from laughing at a move in a long time. This one is a scream. 5 stars
1/15/08 Rich FUNNIEST MOVIE, BAR NONE, I HAVE EVER SEEN 5 stars
12/30/07 blake rosemier funniest movie I've sen maybe..ever. As many catch-phrases as Holy Grail IMO 5 stars
12/26/07 Jim I loved it... my wife hated it.... go figure!! 4 stars
12/20/07 D It doesn't get more spot-on than this 5 stars
11/24/07 Skippy Brilliant...I mean Kickass! If you don't like it you SUCK!!! 5 stars
11/23/07 andy n horrible movie only because it was so heavily edited and canged 2 stars
11/11/07 Bob Siegler Funniest movie in years. 5 stars
11/08/07 Tim FOX dumped mostly since the execs considered it a documentary 5 stars
11/04/07 Skooby 1st 10 min should be condensed into 30 sec setup. After the time travel it's brilliant. 4 stars
10/27/07 TDS A wrestler/porn star for President...I can see that happening soon. 4 stars
9/21/07 Meggo Feels unfinished but it's still better than most "comedies" the machine churns out nowadays 4 stars
9/19/07 Ben Larson Worst movie I have ever seen 1 stars
9/18/07 Jesse Absolutely true and scary. Still hilarious though! 5 stars
9/15/07 AnnieG My mom always said smart people should have lots of kids (she had 6) and now I believe her! 4 stars
9/12/07 Alan I watched this the night of the Brittany/MTV debacle. Art imitating life 4 stars
8/07/07 Johnny the liberal I like how some spineless critics have to declare the movie apolitical before approving it. 4 stars
7/19/07 ES The sad part is I could easily see all of this happening 4 stars
7/16/07 Del A great Dark Comedy. This stuff is too true. 5 stars
6/24/07 Monday Morning Funny & premise is unfortunately true: dopes always have loads of dopey kids. 4 stars
6/03/07 Pigman This movie is very very funny. If there's ever a director's cut, the world must see it! 5 stars
5/26/07 whytlion Execution might have been flawed but the premise and message are brilliant 5 stars
4/10/07 coldcut You remeember tthis film long after you've seen it. 4 stars
4/03/07 AJ Muller Goddamn funny satire - but I kinda wanted to smack 85% of the people for being so stupid. 4 stars
3/31/07 Dominic 'Break it Down, Comacho!' 4 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold thought = allegory = laughter = tears = forgetfulness = doingthethingthefilmtellsyounottodo 5 stars
3/29/07 Luke best quote "Your chart says you're fucked, you talk like a fag and shit's all retarded" 4 stars
3/20/07 David Pollastrini "Idiotic" would have been a more descriptive title 3 stars
3/15/07 zaw Very smart and funny movie I seen in a long time 5 stars
3/13/07 Indrid Cold "A pimp's love is different than a square's" 3 stars
3/07/07 curtis martin Has Judge been interviewed since the film's release? Was it mutilated by FOX? 4 stars
2/14/07 PacNW It had few big laughs but the movie was disappointing & inconsistent; could have been good 2 stars
2/06/07 Mahone Too true for the idiots to recognize themselves 4 stars
2/05/07 Peeneff Good sunday watching, good ass joke 3 stars
2/03/07 Behistun If you thought this film was dumb, you're going to love the future1 5 stars
2/01/07 Heiko FOX is a bunch of idiots - did they recognize themselves? This is an excellent movie. 5 stars
1/24/07 Ole Man Bourbon Like totally um awesome dude. 5 stars
1/21/07 Sano Most people can't find New Orleans on a map. Is the movie that far off? 5 stars
1/20/07 Nick some laughs, but overall too much of a one-trick pony 3 stars
1/19/07 Vic Fantastic movie. 5 stars
1/16/07 defwad7 Best comedy you've never seen. Watch it now! 5 stars
1/16/07 X Go watch before Fox decides to get rid of it 5 stars
1/15/07 RJ Somebody finally figured out whats going on out there! 5 stars
1/11/07 Mike A few laughs but just sooooo dumb that it got kinda annoying. 2 stars
1/10/07 rocky Wow, what a crazy flick. I'm gonna have to turn people on to this one. 4 stars
1/01/07 forgeflow Will colour your perception of popular culture long after seeing it - a mark of true art 5 stars
12/31/06 John Hilarious low-production value movie. Movie will stay with you long after its over. 5 stars
10/17/06 Melissa Glad I was in the right place at the right time to catch the only smart comedy this year 5 stars
9/19/06 FLaussen "Go away... 'batin." Genious. A MUST see! 5 stars
9/16/06 Miles the film's problems are proof that genuine satire bites the hand that feeds it 5 stars
9/13/06 Jorge Coronilla Yeah. This is one was good. 5 stars
9/09/06 michael good stuff come on fox wake up 4 stars
9/05/06 ThatWriterChick The future is now. "Ow -- My Balls" would be a mega-hit on Fox. 4 stars
9/04/06 nick milo A great comedic ride. Original and refreshing. A+ 5 stars
9/04/06 John Anderson Oh great, here we go again with the Fox news is the devil comments. 5 stars
9/04/06 ajay laughed out loud many times: "Carl's Jr. Fuck You. I'm Eating." great stuff! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Sep-2006 (R)
  DVD: 09-Jan-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mike Judge

Written by
  Mike Judge
  Etan Cohen

Cast
  Luke Wilson
  Maya Rudolph
  Dax Shepard
  David Herman
  Stephen Root
  Justin Long



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2016, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast