More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.2

Awesome: 39.83%
Worth A Look48.31%
Average: 5.93%
Pretty Bad: 4.24%
Total Crap: 1.69%

5 reviews, 88 user ratings


Latest Reviews

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

Love Eternal by Jay Seaver

Ten (2014) by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Idiocracy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"It's got electrolytes!"
4 stars

Mike Judge knows a bit about stupidity. His obituary creation whatever else he does, and whether he likes it or not will be Beavis & Butt-Head, a knowing satire of American morons that also happened to appeal to American morons (as well as smart people). Well, Judge has seen the future, and the future is so dumb it would find Beavis & Butt-Head refined and "faggy."

Idiocracy, consigned to a quick seven-city run before emerging on DVD, concerns an entirely average low-level Army bureaucrat, Pvt. Joe Bauers (Luke Wilson), who gets cryogenically frozen for what's supposed to be a year. Instead, Joe wakes up five hundred years later, when the gene pool has been befouled by generations of heedlessly reproducing morons. The result is a world or an America in thrall to corporate slogans and distracted by TV shows like Ow! My Balls! and the multiple-Oscar-winning film Ass.

If you don't find this premise all that far-fetched, you might find Idiocracy less funny than depressing. Like all good dystopian visions, it extrapolates the nightmare of the future from the nightmare of the present. (Dana Stevens of Slate has compared Idiocracy to Children of Men.) Judge never names President George W. Bush, but he doesn't have to; the movie fulfills every liberal intellectual's wildest dark fantasies about the takeover of smirking brutes. Judge's barbs are essentially apolitical, though; after all, Beavis & Butt-Head were created during the Clinton administration. If anything, Idiocracy aims its venom at corporatized culture, which existed long before Dubya and will exist long after he steps down.

Accompanied by fellow cryogenic subject Rita (Maya Rudolph), a prostitute in constant fear that her pimp Upgrayedd will somehow track her down, Joe attempts to deal with a world in which he's the smartest person alive. He's put in jail, then released and promoted to Secretary of the Interior by current president Camacho (Terry Crews), who hopes a man as smart as Joe might be able to fix society's many problems the dead crops, the heaps of garbage, the failed "ecomony." One problem is that water has been replaced by "Brawndo," a Gatorade-type sports drink. Why? Because Brawndo now owns the FDA.

Idiocracy gets a lot of mileage out of the same stupid humor it condemns, which is fine so did Beavis & Butt-Head. But there's considerable wit in the production design, as crammed with satirical detail as a Mad comics panel by Bill Elder. Some of the corporations in the film are made up, but some aren't I can't imagine Starbucks being thrilled with the idea of their stores someday becoming hand-job havens. Judge imagines a society completely given over to sex, violence, and immediate gratification. This satirist is aptly named he sits in scornful judgment of what he sees us becoming.

It's been said that Idiocracy's release was suppressed by Fox bigwig Rupert Murdoch, who didn't take kindly to the film's broadsides against real corporations. (Fox News gets bitch-slapped in the movie, too.) If true, that sucks, but I'd rather believe that than reflect on why the company is only too happy to release bilge like Night at the Museum or Deck the Halls (movies that might appeal to the groundlings in Idiocracy).

I was entertained and fascinated throughout, but I didn't find myself laughing much. This might be because it's tough to laugh at a future vision of widespread stupidity during a time of widespread stupidity. I look forward to a time when I can safely laugh at 'Idiocracy,' but that time may not come any time soon. I don't think Mike Judge expects that it will, either.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15157&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/13/07 15:17:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/31/13 Ste Jones This to me is a horror flick and one of the scariest in years! 5 stars
4/25/13 RAY STEVEN FROST first time watched it was funny. second time scary!!! watch again in a few years. 5 stars
12/03/12 scub Nothing political about this movie. Why throw dubya into it? 5 stars
2/25/12 mikem "Welcome to Costco. I love you." Gets more better with time, and scarier. 5 stars
1/22/11 rd The most intellectual movie in recent years. 5 stars
9/12/10 SLIM JIM What's left of this film is just threatening enough make it clear why Fox tried to can it. 4 stars
8/21/10 PAUL SHORTT SCATTERSHOT COMEDY 2 stars
7/31/10 not sure I can see some truth in the theory. 2 stars
6/14/10 paul wain triffik 5 stars
4/09/10 comacho War is the natural way for an idiocracy to eat itself 5 stars
3/29/10 BIll Obama is making it a reality today! 4 stars
1/13/10 Lin Worth it for Dr. Lexus' (Justin Long) scene alone. 4 stars
9/23/09 Jackthecat This is a horror film disguised as a comedy 4 stars
9/17/09 jethro teh worstest moovie I hav evr saw. 5 stars
5/26/09 Melvin Martin The funniest movie I've seen in years! (5/25/09) 5 stars
4/30/09 KsbjA Insanely funny, witty, and with a message... awesome! 5 stars
2/17/09 Ethan I thought it was "okay". Not great, but the premise alone saved it. Scares me to hell... 3 stars
1/24/09 David V Very funny, but also a little disturbing 4 stars
11/26/08 Roy Smith Take two jokes and recycle a hundred times. 3 stars
11/26/08 Leo T poorly paced, I expected a much better movie 3 stars
9/30/08 xonic you know it will probably happen america is a country of dumbasses 5 stars
9/24/08 Agree I love money...Yeah! 5 stars
9/10/08 Bill Dwyer This movie is damn funny. I've seen it three times now. 5 stars
8/11/08 KingNeutron BITING social commentary - I rented based on a friends recommandation and liked it. 4 stars
7/29/08 Bob M. It's like the Twilight Zone did a comedy! Thank you Mike Judge. 5 stars
5/25/08 BadWebDiver VERRRRRYYY clever political satire 4 stars
5/12/08 Felix B-T Best comedy I've seen in years, wish it had been longer. 5 stars
4/25/08 Dave just saw for the 3rd time- no longer funny, just terrified for my children 5 stars
4/08/08 Marshall Funny how Fox is the bad guy despite funding and releasing the film. Reviewer is idiot. 4 stars
3/10/08 Not Sure I'm not sure how this movie is getting good reviews...worst movie I've seen in years 1 stars
3/01/08 Fred Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho for President. 5 stars
2/03/08 David Sucked at first but then I realized it wasn't as faggy as I thought. 5 stars
1/30/08 andrew I haven't gotten sore from laughing at a move in a long time. This one is a scream. 5 stars
1/15/08 Rich FUNNIEST MOVIE, BAR NONE, I HAVE EVER SEEN 5 stars
12/30/07 blake rosemier funniest movie I've sen maybe..ever. As many catch-phrases as Holy Grail IMO 5 stars
12/26/07 Jim I loved it... my wife hated it.... go figure!! 4 stars
12/20/07 D It doesn't get more spot-on than this 5 stars
11/24/07 Skippy Brilliant...I mean Kickass! If you don't like it you SUCK!!! 5 stars
11/23/07 andy n horrible movie only because it was so heavily edited and canged 2 stars
11/11/07 Bob Siegler Funniest movie in years. 5 stars
11/08/07 Tim FOX dumped mostly since the execs considered it a documentary 5 stars
11/04/07 Skooby 1st 10 min should be condensed into 30 sec setup. After the time travel it's brilliant. 4 stars
10/27/07 TDS A wrestler/porn star for President...I can see that happening soon. 4 stars
9/21/07 Meggo Feels unfinished but it's still better than most "comedies" the machine churns out nowadays 4 stars
9/19/07 Ben Larson Worst movie I have ever seen 1 stars
9/18/07 Jesse Absolutely true and scary. Still hilarious though! 5 stars
9/15/07 AnnieG My mom always said smart people should have lots of kids (she had 6) and now I believe her! 4 stars
9/12/07 Alan I watched this the night of the Brittany/MTV debacle. Art imitating life 4 stars
8/07/07 Johnny the liberal I like how some spineless critics have to declare the movie apolitical before approving it. 4 stars
7/19/07 ES The sad part is I could easily see all of this happening 4 stars
7/16/07 Del A great Dark Comedy. This stuff is too true. 5 stars
6/24/07 Monday Morning Funny & premise is unfortunately true: dopes always have loads of dopey kids. 4 stars
6/03/07 Pigman This movie is very very funny. If there's ever a director's cut, the world must see it! 5 stars
5/26/07 whytlion Execution might have been flawed but the premise and message are brilliant 5 stars
4/10/07 coldcut You remeember tthis film long after you've seen it. 4 stars
4/03/07 AJ Muller Goddamn funny satire - but I kinda wanted to smack 85% of the people for being so stupid. 4 stars
3/31/07 Dominic 'Break it Down, Comacho!' 4 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold thought = allegory = laughter = tears = forgetfulness = doingthethingthefilmtellsyounottodo 5 stars
3/29/07 Luke best quote "Your chart says you're fucked, you talk like a fag and shit's all retarded" 4 stars
3/20/07 David Pollastrini "Idiotic" would have been a more descriptive title 3 stars
3/15/07 zaw Very smart and funny movie I seen in a long time 5 stars
3/13/07 Indrid Cold "A pimp's love is different than a square's" 3 stars
3/07/07 curtis martin Has Judge been interviewed since the film's release? Was it mutilated by FOX? 4 stars
2/14/07 PacNW It had few big laughs but the movie was disappointing & inconsistent; could have been good 2 stars
2/06/07 Mahone Too true for the idiots to recognize themselves 4 stars
2/05/07 Peeneff Good sunday watching, good ass joke 3 stars
2/03/07 Behistun If you thought this film was dumb, you're going to love the future1 5 stars
2/01/07 Heiko FOX is a bunch of idiots - did they recognize themselves? This is an excellent movie. 5 stars
1/24/07 Ole Man Bourbon Like totally um awesome dude. 5 stars
1/21/07 Sano Most people can't find New Orleans on a map. Is the movie that far off? 5 stars
1/20/07 Nick some laughs, but overall too much of a one-trick pony 3 stars
1/19/07 Vic Fantastic movie. 5 stars
1/16/07 defwad7 Best comedy you've never seen. Watch it now! 5 stars
1/16/07 X Go watch before Fox decides to get rid of it 5 stars
1/15/07 RJ Somebody finally figured out whats going on out there! 5 stars
1/11/07 Mike A few laughs but just sooooo dumb that it got kinda annoying. 2 stars
1/10/07 rocky Wow, what a crazy flick. I'm gonna have to turn people on to this one. 4 stars
1/01/07 forgeflow Will colour your perception of popular culture long after seeing it - a mark of true art 5 stars
12/31/06 John Hilarious low-production value movie. Movie will stay with you long after its over. 5 stars
10/17/06 Melissa Glad I was in the right place at the right time to catch the only smart comedy this year 5 stars
9/19/06 FLaussen "Go away... 'batin." Genious. A MUST see! 5 stars
9/16/06 Miles the film's problems are proof that genuine satire bites the hand that feeds it 5 stars
9/13/06 Jorge Coronilla Yeah. This is one was good. 5 stars
9/09/06 michael good stuff come on fox wake up 4 stars
9/05/06 ThatWriterChick The future is now. "Ow -- My Balls" would be a mega-hit on Fox. 4 stars
9/04/06 nick milo A great comedic ride. Original and refreshing. A+ 5 stars
9/04/06 John Anderson Oh great, here we go again with the Fox news is the devil comments. 5 stars
9/04/06 ajay laughed out loud many times: "Carl's Jr. Fuck You. I'm Eating." great stuff! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Sep-2006 (R)
  DVD: 09-Jan-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mike Judge

Written by
  Mike Judge
  Etan Cohen

Cast
  Luke Wilson
  Maya Rudolph
  Dax Shepard
  David Herman
  Stephen Root
  Justin Long



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast