More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome49.11%
Worth A Look: 29.46%
Average: 6.7%
Pretty Bad: 5.36%
Total Crap: 9.38%

10 reviews, 164 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Casino Royale (2006)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"Daniel Craig brings blue steel to the masses"
5 stars

James Bond is has been reinvented and recast for his 21st adventure, “Casino Royale.” The end result is a return to the bash-ya-head-in Bond of old, and a recommitment to high adventure and destructive emotional investments. Taking nothing away from the overwhelmingly fun Pierce Brosnan films, this is a thrilling reboot of Bond, starting him back on the right track for gritty superspy fun.

Newly christened with 00 status by his commanders at MI6 (Judi Dench), James Bond (Daniel Craig) is sent out to thwart terrorist financier Le Chiffre (Mads Mikkelsen, “King Arthur”) from making a killing at poker during a private, high-stakes game at the Casino Royale in Montenegro. Tagging along with Bond is Vesper Lynd (Eva Green, “Kingdom of Heaven”), an accountant who takes a shine to Bond, but is unable to digest his bullet-dodging lifestyle. As the two sink deeper into Le Chiffre’s wicked schemes, their love grows, putting Bond’s cold heart to the ultimate test just as he’s getting used to his world-class spy status.

The last time we saw James Bond in action, the superspy was parasailing on a chunk of ice in a sea of glaciers. That’s not to disparage the giddy good times of 2002’s “Die Another Day,” but clearly something that was once resourceful and dapper had given away to a cancerous bloat, and with Pierce Brosnan still in the role, the future was financially bright (“Die” is the top grossing film of the franchise), but artistically wounded.

The producers decided to shake things up, so out went Brosnan, gadgets, Q, and high-tech violence. In came Daniel Craig, a smorgasbord of knuckle sandwiches, and genuine love. The result is “Casino Royale,” a James Bond film preoccupied with not having any fun. Well, the mission was successfully achieved; the fun has been vacuumed right out of this sucker, leaving a rock solid, impeccably made spy adventure that relaunches the S.S. Bond into uncharted, Conneryesque waters unseen since the Cold War.

Cutting to the chase: Craig is James Bond. Already an established, highly respected actor (if you haven’t seen “Enduring Love” or “The Mother,” get thee to a Netflix post-haste), Craig brings his blue steel to Bond, reinterpreting the character as a unrepentant angel of death. This Bond saves the quips for boys with toys; he’s a killer, relentlessly chasing justice, and incapable of letting the guilty go off into the night with a mere slap on the wrist.

Using his stocky build, Shar-Pei good looks, and two lethal weapons commonly referred to as hands, Craig owns the frame as the legendary spy, throwing around bad guys and teasingly bewitching women as though he had their manual in his back pocket. Brosnan and Roger Moore perfected the cocktail-hour Bond, and those movies were a profusion of entertainment that served a mass-appeal purpose. Craig’s Bond is fresh on the scene; his inexperience as a top agent leads to bloody mistakes, and his emotional vulnerabilities welcome heartbreak. This is “Bond Begins,” and under Craig’s reign, the audience is in for quite a treat if he’s allowed to continue.

Sure, one does miss the gadgets, Maurice Binder-inspired opening titles, and Q to lighten the mood; but “Royale” is very careful not to embrace old habits, save for a quip here and there, and the occasional 13-camera-covered fireball. Stripped of his vices, Bond is reduced to his primal need to hunt, and returning director Martin Campbell takes great amusement in putting Craig through the punishing paces, running him silly around exotic locales and in general putting the actor through hell.

Campbell directed the best of the Brosnans, 1995’s “Goldeneye,” making him a smart choice for “Royale.” Campbell knows how to mount these Bond pictures (the rest of his filmography is not nearly as interesting), and the filmmaker gives great depth to the globe-trotting scale of the picture. Campbell can do action, suspense, genital torture (Connery would be proud), and melodious romance while maintaining the cool edges of the desired reboot.

Campbell can also make poker captivating. “Royale,” for all its fireworks and parade of obscenely gorgeous women (including Caterina Murino and Ivana Milicevic), is at heart a film about the high stakes of life, either on the green felt, in the crossfire, or in the bedroom. The picture’s lengthy midsection details Le Chiffre’s poker game, and while the scene doesn’t quite carry the mystery and regality of baccarat, it clicks because it plays to the knowing audience. The second act also gives Craig the opportunity to find the spiky corners of Bond as he battles with the cards, his full-bodied attraction to Lynd, and bouts of poisoning – the one sequence that Campbell truly botches through absurd camerawork.

Where “Royale” really scores is in the relationship department. Bond and Lynd are an attractive couple; their banter not one of comedy, but verbal swordplay to find a chink in each others armor. The screenplay gives these characters the right amount of space to develop an attraction, wonderfully portrayed with heaps of chemistry by Craig and Green. You can see why Bond would open his heart to Lynd, and Campbell exploits this vulnerability to punch home the start of 007’s future womanizing.

Not since the phenomenal 1969 Bond adventure, “On Her Majesty’s Secret Service,” has there been such an emotionally rich 007 story arc and payoff. “Casino Royale” kicks off a brand new Bond ready to get his hands dirty, and it’s going to be a terrific ride watching Daniel Craig reimagine the steps that eventually lead to the creation of the world’s most famous secret agent.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15275&reviewer=404
originally posted: 11/17/06 18:00:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell boring sorry 2 say 1 stars
7/29/13 Free dating sites Hi there, I have got to declare, I enjoy your site. The colorings, the layout, the overall 5 stars
7/05/13 Hardric Realistic? In real life Bond wouldn't last 5 minutes. 2 stars
3/25/13 KingNeutron Craig brings an interesting take to the character - pretty good poker movie, + Green is HOT 4 stars
9/03/12 roscoe 3 great action scenes, but too long, too much romance, too much poker = boring too often 3 stars
12/21/09 art JUST WHAT THE WORLD NEED"S ANOTHER JAMES BOND MOVIE. 1 stars
10/23/09 Rachel Worth the investment. Awesome movie. 5 stars
8/30/09 Jeff Wilder Craig best Bond since Connery. Movie best Bond since the Dalton days. 5 stars
6/06/09 R.W.Welch Best Bond flick in a while. Craig has the right stuff. 4 stars
5/21/09 Matt In 20 years this will be a classic. the best written bond and hugely entertaining. 5 stars
4/14/09 dt Bond fans get hit in the "nuts" with this offering. Bond wit is replaced with pure grit. 1 stars
3/16/09 Monday Morning Craig isn't a terribly compelling Bond. 3 stars
2/15/09 WiseGuy The gambling ruined the movie, too boring, and too long 1 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. daniel craig is a great bond! 4 stars
12/05/08 how can i improve my credit score credit check companies 2 stars
11/26/08 Leo T I like a little darker Bond... but a Bond movie without the humor unthinkable... 3 stars
11/14/08 The Dork Knight Nice balance of realism and nods to the old movies 5 stars
8/30/08 PAUL SHORTT GRIM, RUTHLESS, CRUEL, TOUGH, VIOLENT AND UGLY 1 stars
8/03/08 Flounder The best James Bond movie of all time. Ranking right up there with Goldfinger and OHMSS 5 stars
8/01/08 ben dover chris f more like fucking stevie wonder daniel craig is an amazing actor 5 stars
7/24/08 chris f very dissapointed a very poor portrayal of bond 1 stars
5/29/08 MDH-Matt Daniel Craig dispensed naysayers in this, easily one of the best films of 2006 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Daniel Craig could have been my 2nd favorite Bond, but he was pussy whipped in this 4 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann One of the best action movies of the decade.Expertly acted, paced, and executed. Bravo! 5 stars
2/05/08 FILM REVIEWER Boring and repugnant 1 stars
1/27/08 Pamela White good action but Craig is not the most alluring Bond 3 stars
12/09/07 Sam Eli The Best Bond Movie Since Goldfinger Action Packed, Fastly Paced and a Great Turn by Craig 4 stars
11/10/07 g webster the way Fleming wrote it,ruthless and non stop action 5 stars
9/04/07 johnnyfog No stupid gadgets this time. Just bullets. 4 stars
7/07/07 olias terrific script,terrific acting by the two leads.best ever action sequences 5 stars
6/03/07 F-Off Execs Better than any Bronsen Bond film, no dumb execs wrecking it? 4 stars
5/03/07 Matt No Q, no Moneypenny? Never mind, this rawer Bond minus the trickery works. 4 stars
4/29/07 Geraldine This movie sold me on the Bond franchise. 5 stars
4/23/07 Chris Redmond Quite simply, the best Bond since the Connery days. 5 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK How about they just stop making Bond films? 2 stars
4/17/07 Indrid Cold Clearly one of the best Bond films in a long time, but doesn't live up to the enormous hype 4 stars
4/01/07 fools♫gold Either I'm an unthoughtful prick, or this film just pretends to be clever. 1/5 or 2/5. 1 stars
3/26/07 Bobo All the Craig-haters are eating their words. This film kicks ass. 5 stars
3/25/07 Hoosier Chick just watched the DVD, Daniel Craig is perfect successor to Connery 5 stars
3/20/07 LIndsay Lowhound New Bond is as violent as Steven Seagal, as inscrutable as Jackie Chan. 3 stars
3/18/07 AJ Muller Craig is the best since the early Connery, and the flick is the best Bond EVER. Kickass. 5 stars
3/18/07 Nick One of the best, if not the best, Bond movies ever. 5 stars
3/17/07 Charles Tatum The best Bond of the past twenty years 5 stars
3/14/07 action movie fan great action,sets,locales and characters, but abit hard to follow 4 stars
3/07/07 Ann Coulter's evil twin M must speak for whole 007 series when she says, "How I miss the cold war!". 3 stars
2/28/07 Beau Daniel Craig is an outstanding 007! a great movie to add to the sequel 4 stars
2/20/07 ad The best and most believable BOnd ever 5 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone A more human Bond, and good acting on the whole. A bit too long though. 4 stars
1/30/07 George Finally a watchable Bond movie 4 stars
1/21/07 David A. Well done adventure, and nice to know even James Bond made a few mistakes when he was young 4 stars
1/19/07 Peter Rubbish, far too long 1 stars
1/18/07 Red Dragon This film was awesome; Daniel Craig - Wow! 5 stars
1/14/07 Farnqwo This is crap.... good crap by todays standards. I love 007's new bottom lip! 3 stars
1/11/07 rory rantabulous 5 stars
1/08/07 Stefan Halka Finally, after 20 years, a good Bond. 4 stars
1/07/07 Yorkee YES - Well Done Craig, easily the toughest and meanest Bond. 5 stars
1/05/07 Tim the Enchanter Craig is good, but the movie is better. Darker and grittier than most Bond, but its cooler. 5 stars
12/28/06 rick gardiner Craig brought acting to new level. Should be nomimated for oscar. 5 stars
12/27/06 Man out 6 bucks Bond is back! 5 stars
12/24/06 pin Action is good but, Bond plays Texas Hold'em? - FOREVER - uh, no. 2 stars
12/22/06 Thomas Wynn Daniel Craig is good as Bond. 4 stars
12/19/06 moon EXCELENT debut as Bond good action qnd a good plot 5 stars
12/19/06 John A. Miller No not quite Sean Connery but the best Bond since. 4 stars
12/18/06 Ellen Lopes Great movie! Before this one I thought Bond was a chauvinistic pig! 5 stars
12/18/06 amber young Oh God Daniel Graig is so HOT - sizzling hot Best Bond along with Sean, but so today!!. 5 stars
12/15/06 Richard Paquette Welcome back, 007!!! 4 stars
12/13/06 Derek Tribe Great Bond action...Criag is rock solid as Bond. 4 stars
12/13/06 adslut Daniel Craig is the best BOND and he's hot! 5 stars
12/13/06 jdean62 Yes its true.. the best BOND yet...IM not a Bond groupie but loved this film ! 5 stars
12/12/06 The Deadly Assasin One of the best 007 films ever !!! If you don't like this , rent xXx !!! 5 stars
12/11/06 mckorb Best bond film in years ... 5 stars
12/11/06 Wendy Straw Awesome 4 stars
12/10/06 laura leigh ooooh Daniel Craig is yummy! I can't stop thinking about him! 5 stars
12/09/06 Helen A Bradley Too vilent, too long, Judi Dench needs new teeth 1 stars
12/08/06 BrianDePalma Another Bond shhit. Actions were so bad. Overrated garbage 1 stars
12/08/06 Odie Craig's cold bastard psychology makes us believe that Bond is an assassin. 5 stars
12/07/06 UGB Has the potential to be a good Bond - Great film 5 stars
12/07/06 Nighy I have the title for the next film - PUSSYBOND! 1 stars
12/06/06 dingle great film 5 stars
12/05/06 Shaggy This movie stays true to the franchise in every way. 5 stars
12/05/06 DeepPan#77 The bond movie that kills the franchise 1 stars
12/04/06 shashank movie was awesome,sexy,& wonderful compared to his previous movies. 5 stars
12/03/06 stuart & sarah lane awesome, Craig has re-invented James Bond for the 21st C awesome stuff ,brilliant script 5 stars
12/02/06 Morris Stone Finally !! Awesome, believable, and classy. 5 stars
12/02/06 shagtex he's not Connery but he may be the next best 4 stars
12/01/06 Richard Diangelo Roger Moore is the only real Bond,Brosnan and his clown make a mockery of the role! 1 stars
12/01/06 Mark Lawrence A great story which Thrills from beginning to end 5 stars
11/30/06 Drew Galletti I was very happy with this movie, though I could just be geeking out 5 stars
11/30/06 rach this is a mint film, i would recommend it to any1, whether they like bond or not!! 5 stars
11/29/06 actorbot I'm a great fan of Sean Connery but, boy this guy is good. 5 stars
11/29/06 Erin This film has everything! Daniel Craig is the best bond yet. Thank you for making him real! 5 stars
11/29/06 Dottie AWESOME...riveting on all levels, could barely contain myself in my theatre seat.!! 5 stars
11/28/06 jrod101 BEST. BOND. EVER. 5 stars
11/28/06 Chris Bellman It sucked, No gadgets, no car gadgets, that's Bond not a love story. 1 stars
11/28/06 Louise Craig is superb, great casino scenes, but didn't like Eva Green 4 stars
11/27/06 mlg didn't like it 2 stars
11/27/06 MaggieH GREAT!!!! 5 stars
11/27/06 mat crap no gadgets bond without gadgets un heard of 2 stars
11/27/06 Bitchflaps Too long, cheesy script and no suspense. Craig and Dench are superb though. 2 stars
11/27/06 Nick Loved the first half! Great Promo for the sport Parkour! Jumping and climbing buildings! 4 stars
11/26/06 Matt excellent film really enjoyable 5 stars
11/26/06 James Yacobacci Never thought I'd say it - better than Connery! 5 stars
11/26/06 Dan A great action film, it gets a little too long at the end, but definately worth seeing it. 4 stars
11/26/06 EDDIE KWIT GREAT GREAT SCENERY - GOT A LITTLE OVER THE TOP ON SOME SCENES 4 stars
11/26/06 piers Excellent and i have seen all 10 out of 10# 5 stars
11/26/06 kerr crap 1 stars
11/26/06 earl hofert fun. 4 stars
11/26/06 Anthony Feor Its a great movie, but why did it have to be a prequel 4 stars
11/26/06 G.T. If you actually like Fleming's novels, you'll love this film! Read the books! 5 stars
11/26/06 Todd Craig is a fucking badass! Best Bond Ever! 5 stars
11/25/06 pete.chesworth new bond superb but the film did tail off as little bit with a bit of needless soppiness. 4 stars
11/25/06 Maverick Started off ok then gets really boring, card game runs far too long. 2 stars
11/25/06 chris f great bond film craig is definetly better than connery 5 stars
11/24/06 Charlene Javier Best Bond film in years. 5 stars
11/24/06 matt Teriffic action and performances, but weak plot structure. Still better than that DAD p.o.s 4 stars
11/24/06 giddo Digger has not seen the film as his mum would not let him! Great Film! DC is great! 5 stars
11/23/06 dani Riveting!Craig may not be the best looking JB,but he's the best Bond iv seen.More!! 5 stars
11/23/06 E An unexpected pleasure - SMERSH was real btw 4 stars
11/23/06 Rosalie This is a very sexy movie! Loved it. 5 stars
11/23/06 Brian Mckay Great first half, then runs out of steam. Trying to cram too much into one film. 3 stars
11/22/06 TONY DOYLE Wish I hadnt wasted my Bandwidth.Total Shite 1 stars
11/22/06 Rev. Marc Fuller Finally Ian Flemmings Bond has come to the screen. Well done Daniel craig. 5 stars
11/22/06 jdean62 Not a fan of BOND... but after seeing Daniel Craig... loved it... cant wait til the next! 4 stars
11/22/06 JM Synth Much better than any of the Brosnan ones, but lets not go nuts 4 stars
11/22/06 tekmage Possibly the best Bond EVER...definately not slow at all, I loved the action, old school! 5 stars
11/22/06 ad it's ok to have high expectations. Rob G is right but outweighed by Craig's performance 5 stars
11/21/06 Jiz Awesome until like 45 minutes in, then it just DRAGGED ON big time. Rob's review nails it. 3 stars
11/21/06 J.R. Different, but excellent. 5 stars
11/21/06 Bird Best Bond since Connery - Excellent 5 stars
11/21/06 Luisa Great stunts, well done Daniel Craig...Jeffrey Wright was under-used. 4 stars
11/21/06 Bond Rocks I expected more seduction scenes and more gadgets, otherwise it was excellent! 4 stars
11/21/06 Ken E Craig nailed it. Best bond yet. First bond film I have ever wanted to go back & see again. 5 stars
11/21/06 Tim Two words: Chick Flick 2 stars
11/21/06 Benoit D What a deception So boring 1 stars
11/21/06 Liz D Best Bond movie Ever, Wll done to Daniel Craig 5 stars
11/20/06 007 1/2 Only gripe - M for continuity. But this longtime Bond fan loved the movie - great restart!! 5 stars
11/20/06 Jason Stringer Everything a Bond film should be. SUPERB 5 stars
11/20/06 socrates17 The only real (ie Ian Fleming) JB film ever. 5 stars
11/20/06 Graham Messy third act, but a more-than-promising new beginning - for Craig, and the whole series 4 stars
11/19/06 mister stupid after 40 years, a real james bond again. brosnan and moore are a pair of vaginas 5 stars
11/19/06 Wayne S. Excellent job by Craig, but FORCED romance with NO chemistry. 4 stars
11/19/06 Wayne S. Very good Bond film, craig was very intense as a young Bond, but I thought that there was n 4 stars
11/19/06 50send At last a Bond who looks like he could do some damage ! 5 stars
11/19/06 Kevin A welcome reinvention. Watch Bond go from a lump of raw iron to tempered British steel. 4 stars
11/19/06 Elizabeth I was confident Craig would be an excellent Bond -- and he is! 4 stars
11/19/06 Alex jones well well well i love the sexy james bong! hubba hubba but i h8 the movie ! booooooooooooo 1 stars
11/19/06 Randy L Well done 5 stars
11/19/06 Mike D. Very different, yet very satisfying! 4 stars
11/19/06 prashanth great stunts fine acting but thewrong casting 4 stars
11/18/06 Fringe Went to the theater planning on hating it but I absolutely loved it. 5 stars
11/18/06 Ole Man Bourbon Just a total stupid POS movie. Crap plot, crap action. Craig was pretty good though. 2 stars
11/18/06 Quigley Daniel Craig was superb as "Bond, James Bond." First action scene made the movie; too long 4 stars
11/18/06 Raymond Scott Where's Timothy Dalton when we need him? 2 stars
11/18/06 kenkhoo A gripping roller coaster of action, suspense, drama, romance, deception & emotion. 5 stars
11/18/06 BK Total waste of money. I wish I could rate it 0. 1 stars
11/18/06 Jack Sommersby Lumbering and dull and overlong. A real disappointment. 2 stars
11/18/06 annie By jove, I think he's got it! Bond is back! 5 stars
11/18/06 James Hamster What can I say, where can I start, I was anti DC, but now I'm a believer, well done my boy 5 stars
11/18/06 robert bond fans have needed this for a long time- Craig is giving Connery a run for his money... 5 stars
11/18/06 ProSneakyD DC is the new bond and is perfect for this is a terrific film, Flemming would be happy. 5 stars
11/17/06 Ben Smith unbievable, best bond since connery 5 stars
11/17/06 sj Bond the way he was meant to be. Viva! 5 stars
11/17/06 Digger James Bond is such a pussy. I can't believe people actually still watch this shit. 1 stars
11/17/06 Joe Dickson Somewhere up there, I hope, Sir Ian Flemming is smiling. At last they finally got it right. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2006 (PG-13)
  DVD: 13-Mar-2007

UK
  17-Nov-2006

Australia
  07-Dec-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast