More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome33.33%
Worth A Look: 16.67%
Average: 17.31%
Pretty Bad: 10.26%
Total Crap: 22.44%

9 reviews, 102 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Happy Feet
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"People allergic to cute should not see this film."
4 stars

Australians! Is there anything they can't do? "Happy Feet" has an Australian director and writers, several Aussie cast members, and a peppy, upbeat, wacky sensibility that is distinctive of comedies from Down Under. It's about penguins who sing, and one penguins who dances. KOOKY!

This surreal, toe-tappin' animated musical combines "March of the Penguins" zoological trivia (the males care for the eggs!) with "Moulin Rouge"-style integration of pop songs (they sing while they're doing it!). Memphis (voice of Hugh Jackman) and Norma Jean (Nicole Kidman) are an emperor penguin couple who, like most of their kind, express themselves through song. Not original Broadway-style tunes, but songs you've heard before, like Prince's "Kiss" and Elvis' "Heartbreak Hotel." Their voices are beautiful, and they harmonize like they were made for each other.

Along comes their adorable hatchling, Mumble (voiced in childhood by Elizabeth Daily and in adolescence by Elijah Wood), who can't carry a tune to save his life. While the other children are learning to find their "heart songs," their true inner singing voices, Mumble can only squawk out an earnest but ugly honk.

Even more embarrassing: Mumble is an extraordinarily good tap-dancer, something none of his fellow 'guins are good at, nor even approve of it. "A pagan display!" is what one of the elders calls it. If being unable to sing weren't enough to make him a misfit, being a feathered version of Savion Glover does the trick.

Mumble leaves his colony, with his father embarrassed (and feeling guilty for dropping the egg while Mumble was incubating) and his mother still defending him. After some wandering, Mumble finds a place where the penguins are smaller than him and speak, inexplicably, with Hispanic accents. The five pals he runs into first (led by Robin Williams, doing that flamboyant Puerto Rican thing he does) find his dancing delightful and want him to teach them how it's done.

The plot, in a screenplay written by Warren Coleman, John Collee, Judy Morris and George Miller (who's also the director), is admirably weird and unpredictable, taking Mumble on a journey back to his own colony, into the world of humans, and back to Antarctica again. The film's eventual "just be yourself" message is pretty standard for a kiddie flick, but everything else about it surprisingly fresh.

Miller previously produced both "Babe" movies (and directed the second) and directed the "Mad Max" films. So talking animals and hero's journeys, he's familiar with. The attention to detail in the animation is outstanding, with the penguins cutely anthropomorphic and the song-and-dance numbers all impeccably choreographed. The jokes are loopy, the energy is infectious, the songs are hummable. In a year that's had a glut of animated films, it's nice to see one so different from the norm.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15277&reviewer=247
originally posted: 11/17/06 16:30:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/28/11 DR CGI's darkest hour. Boring, bad script, poor song placement. Worst animated film I've seen. 1 stars
10/23/09 stan wonderlost Mr. Mumble gets 3 taps on the egg before birth and is tapped and taps toward the end. super 5 stars
6/20/09 Dan Terrible. Dull. Disjointed. Hard to watch. 1 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
7/04/08 TreeTiger I could only stomach about 30 mins. of this artificially sweetened CGI-crap..! 1 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT TECHNICALLY IMPRESSIVE. OTHERWISE - STAY AWAY, BIG TIME! 1 stars
10/25/07 Natalie robinson its great great great great great 5 stars
10/18/07 anonymous I luv this movie! 5 stars! 5 stars
9/14/07 Tracy my kids loved this! They liked the dancing (Savions moves) 5 stars
7/30/07 maddy its great and its got a lot of emotions 5 stars
6/25/07 Clara Such a good film, but a little bit boring at the end ! 3 stars
6/22/07 cool3457 the film has penguin sex in this. 1 stars
6/08/07 aloysius could'nt agree more, movie is a piece of total s*%t! 1 stars
5/11/07 Marissa To all the people who didin't like it F#*# U its the best movie ever 5 stars
5/08/07 Molly Beich Clever and original and gorgeously animated. I loved the pop culture references. 5 stars
4/27/07 Michelle Penguins shaking their butts to attract a partner for sex? Who wants their kid to see that? 1 stars
4/23/07 S.M The beginning was great, but the movie was prolonged and annoying. Like Spielburg's "A-I". 2 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini very cute 4 stars
4/08/07 David Cohen Silly ass one joke movie for people who found "March..." too icky 1 stars
4/01/07 John A Habig Along with Over The Hedge and Hoot one of the best kids message films out 5 stars
3/20/07 Shanique This movie was like the best animated movie that I have ever seen in my life. 5 stars
3/13/07 the wizz Should be called CRAPPY FEET! Just about tap dancing and dumb singing. Very disappointed! 1 stars
3/07/07 chienne R U serious? This won an Oscar?? Nic kills everything she's in. HELLO? I HATED i!t 1 stars
2/27/07 N3GRiiTA TH3 B3ST MOVii3!!! ii LOV3D iiT 5 stars
2/05/07 William Goss Glorious animation, light story undermined halfway thru by heavyhanded envrnmntal message. 3 stars
1/31/07 Paul After the first 30 minutes -animation wore off and it became boring! 2 stars
1/20/07 Steve McKay Excellent review. The story was thin, unoriginal, heavy-handed and even offensive to many. 2 stars
1/17/07 Jan Hannah Absolutely loved it. So very clever. 5 stars
1/16/07 Lorna this is cool i saw it with my dad and i loved it 5 stars
1/15/07 Brian What is "weird" about this film? And what sexual content? Chill out you rednecks! 5 stars
1/13/07 John Howard Terrific animation, dodgy soundtrack and shallow storyline 2 stars
1/12/07 AJ very very good see the movie 5 stars
1/11/07 denise EXTREME Fright! loaded w/ sex inuendo! 3 yr old CRIED thru movie! so AWFUL- left after 1hr 1 stars
1/10/07 Daniel L sex. undertones: mild and harmless. Scary scenes: May frighten young children. 3 stars
1/09/07 Alyson I know the plot was jumpy, but it was held together well though may have needed more edits. 5 stars
1/09/07 dobbo felt like lord of the rings ?<and i luv that movie> but with penguins? 3 stars
1/09/07 pam 4 different writers wrote four different movies about penguins needing sex. Throw in some m 1 stars
1/07/07 paula zzzzz 1 stars
1/04/07 Alice I just loved it, breathtaking animation!Loaded with sexual content??You have issues!!! 5 stars
1/04/07 Jen My sons (4&8) did not like it. I agree with this review. 3 stars
1/03/07 Kate Re sexual innuendo - that's how little penguins are made, u no... 4 stars
1/03/07 David Great Animation + No Story = Eye Candy. No logical story was discernable. 1 stars
12/31/06 Jennifer I thought it was not appropriate for my son; he was terrified at times 1 stars
12/31/06 Nick Best Cinema I have seen in a long time! And I see a lot of Cinema! Jaw Dropping. 5 stars
12/30/06 S.Lawrence Ironic: Its about celebrating differences, and people hating it 'cause its different 5 stars
12/30/06 Jean Graphics - amazing, story line - very disapointed 1 stars
12/29/06 zach this film review is boring. and annoying. and too long. but mostly boring. Happy movie! 5 stars
12/29/06 Lamemovie Great graphics but lame, jumpy plot. Cute, then scary n dumb. Song lyrics not fo'kids 1 stars
12/29/06 Kimberly Pretty cute, hard to ffollow @ times, movie hops around & seals are scary for kids 4 stars
12/25/06 Deb Just plain fun with great music and brilliant Robin Williams! It's a must see. 5 stars
12/22/06 Rob Pff...silly phillistines. You'd probably be better off with Clifford the big red dog. 5 stars
12/20/06 Jon Boyce Banal. Bilious. Boring. 1 stars
12/19/06 DAWWWG degrading to penguins 5 stars
12/19/06 Luke How could anyone hate this movie? It'd be like hating ice cream. 5 stars
12/18/06 Jamie Are yall freaking kidding me? I saw maybe ONE sexual innuendo. Please get over yourselves. 5 stars
12/17/06 Alex Weird, Weird, Weird, are hallucinogenics coming back into vogue in H'wood? 2 stars
12/16/06 Monica NOT appropriate for children. Loaded with sexual content & scary at times. 1 stars
12/15/06 alistair just horrible - kids hated it 1 stars
12/14/06 D. Kickham This was a sweet & touching movie. Valid environmental issues. 5 stars
12/14/06 R Porter A complete mismatch of ideas, not worth your money. 1 stars
12/14/06 Allison Awesome!My 8 year old loved it & we talked about environmental issues for an hour afterward 5 stars
12/13/06 ian bishop absolutly awesom u yanks have not got a clue 5 stars
12/13/06 Louise Stupid film - HATED the soundtrack! 2 stars
12/12/06 rob intresting, good but weird 4 stars
12/12/06 birdy figgis Dreadful! Horrible, inappropriate for kids soundtrack 1 stars
12/12/06 Tiffany even better the second time 5 stars
12/11/06 kristi This movie was aimed at the wrong audience, and is not appropriate for kids. 1 stars
12/10/06 sharelunker Liberal, environmentalist wacko, religion-bashing, Hollyweird crap. Please don't go! 1 stars
12/10/06 Craig Confusing, overcute, retarded and irritating. 1 stars
12/10/06 cheyenne it was kool i wanna see it again 5 stars
12/09/06 carol way too weird for me, my daughter 6 loved it, i didnt think the lyrics were appropriate 2 stars
12/09/06 Djegovsky Great, you must see it! 5 stars
12/06/06 Awoman I though the movie was great. It had it's bumps,but what film doesn't. I loved it. 5 stars
12/06/06 meagan my daughter hated it, too dark and more for adults not worth the $ 1 stars
12/05/06 scotty the best animated movie of the year!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/05/06 Paris I'm 13 years old, and I agree with the people who say it has too much innuendo. 4 stars
12/04/06 zzzzz..... Horrible...instead of a cute "fitting in" movie, we got "save the penguins!" 1 stars
12/04/06 mart the begining starts out normal and cute, but by the time it gets to the middle, weird 3 stars
12/04/06 karen gay !!!!! DO NOT SEE !!! 1 stars
12/03/06 Helen Too dark/threatening for little kids. Too much sexual inuendo. 1 stars
12/03/06 Charlene Javier I loved Gloria the most!! 4 stars
12/01/06 Mumble from Happy Feet What is wrong with you people, this is an awesome movie, there wasn't any bad content! 5 stars
11/29/06 Abby It had so much sexual content i hated it. It was funny but you should have rated it R 1 stars
11/29/06 Mel One million penguins--many more cliches and sterotypes to count... 1 stars
11/27/06 bullit16 So bad .. on so many levels. Just awful. 1 stars
11/27/06 Jason Terrible. Heavy handed propaganda. Too many ethnc stereotypes. 1 stars
11/27/06 amani wow 2 stars
11/27/06 Al Gore Loved it. How wonderfully inconvenient!1 5 stars
11/26/06 Dawn This movie was horrid..there were more sexual inuendos in this than the cat in the hat. sic 1 stars
11/26/06 Amanda Amazing, it has something in it for kids and funny jokes in it for the older folks as well 5 stars
11/25/06 Caroline Some parts funny but mostly kids were bored and I left mad because I had paid to see it. 1 stars
11/25/06 Snooze Except for the stunning Computer Generated work, Sat. morn. cartoons might be better. 2 stars
11/23/06 Tiffany Losco My daughter and I loved this film. It was funny, and great. My dad even liked it. 5 stars
11/22/06 kelly omgosh so cute and funney i loved it! AMAZING movie! 5 stars
11/22/06 Theresa I agree 100%. Don't waste money to see this in theaters. Only 30 min of cuteness. 2 stars
11/22/06 jdean62 Should have watted for the DVD...better yet cable! Ok it was ok for kids !! 3 stars
11/21/06 Siren It was wonderful, amazing, I absolutely loved every moment. The DVD is on my wish list!! 5 stars
11/21/06 AnnetteB Orndorf's review is right on. Ran too long also Zzzzz Don't be duped by the "Cute" factor. 3 stars
11/20/06 michael classic flix 4 stars
11/18/06 Quigley Very, very weird, but in a good way. Visually awesome and very original; occasionally funny 4 stars
11/18/06 Raymond Scott It's okay, but a little Robin Williams goes a long, long...long way 3 stars
11/18/06 Spencer Cameron This movie is a very good family movie. I hope all of you on e FilmCritic like it. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2006 (PG)
  DVD: 27-Mar-2007

UK
  08-Dec-2006 (U)

Australia
  26-Dec-2006 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast