More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.27

Awesome32.12%
Worth A Look: 16.36%
Average: 18.79%
Pretty Bad: 11.52%
Total Crap: 21.21%

9 reviews, 111 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Gone Girl by Daniel Kelly

My Old Lady by Jay Seaver

Boxer's Omen, The by Jay Seaver

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Happy Feet
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by U.J. Lessing

"Breakin 3: Penguin Boogaloo"
3 stars

The science of “The March of the Penguins” collides with E.B. White’s narrative from the “Trumpet of the Swan” with upbeat results. “Happy Feet” tells the story of an emperor penguin who doesn’t fit in with his community and proceeds to change it from the inside out. The music is rousing, the voices are perfect, the energy is high and the characters are fun. The fly in the ointment is an excessively complicated plot and a preachy conclusion.

The film plunges us deep into Antarctica and introduces us to the world of the Emperor Penguins. Lately, the animated trend is to create a human world that’s occupied by the animals (think “Flushed Away”). The filmmakers take a different route by using the real Antarctic penguins’ survival and mating habits as the core for the movie.

In this icy landscape, each penguin is born with a song to sing: the stronger the song, the more irresistible the penguin. Instead of relying on an original score, the filmmakers created an electrifying patchwork of songs from the last 50 years. In the penguin world, the works of Stevie Wonder mingle with songs by Prince, Brian Wilson, and the Beatles.

Born from a union of the flock’s two strongest singers is Mumble, a lovable iconoclast. Quickly a defect manifests itself: Mumble is tone-deaf, and the little guy struggles to keep his ego intact surrounded by disapproving penguins that include the elders, his peers, and even his own father.

Mumble, however, is special. From the moment he is born, he cannot contain the brushes, time-steps, flaps, riff-drops, and chugs that pulsate from his little penguin flippers.

Sadly, no one recognizes the little fellow’s talent. He is quickly ostracized and young sensitive children (and their sensitive parents) will have to endure some very sad moments.

Things don’t start going Mumble’s way until he meets up with four Hispanic Adelie Penguins who embrace his gifts, and offer companionship. With their help he’s able to not only rejoin the community, but also save them from a crisis when the fish supply begins to diminish.

The voice work on this film is particularly impressive. In other animated films, Robin Williams has been asked to be zany, spontaneous, crazy, and explosive (see “Aladdin” and “Robots”). Finally he’s been asked to create some dynamic characters.

E.G. Daily’s performance is also exceptional. Daily, a voice in animation for almost twenty years, provides just the right balance of pathos and pride to the role of the child version of Mumble.

Regrettably, “Happy Feet” runs out of energy when the third act takes an environmental turn. Suddenly, the story’s scope becomes too broad and complex. Storylines begin to smash into one another like ice floes. Simplicity and character development are washed aside for an ecological message with no clarity or subtlety.

But despite these shortcomings, “Happy Feet” brings a lot of energy and creativity to a genre that increasingly relies on slapstick and over-stimulation. The film is beautiful and atmospheric, the characters are charming and, most importantly, “Happy Feet” is a musical feat.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15277&reviewer=396
originally posted: 01/14/07 09:53:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/24/14 aduhanhk USA 3 stars
4/15/14 Mmudqmky USA 2 stars
4/07/14 mrdtoffj USA 4 stars
3/24/14 Wwnvvkfl USA 5 stars
3/24/14 Lnuxpjhy USA 2 stars
3/23/14 Wohkrcah USA 3 stars
3/22/14 Wbecuxce USA 3 stars
3/22/14 Avraywcm USA 2 stars
2/07/14 Syxyuchn USA 3 stars
6/28/11 DR CGI's darkest hour. Boring, bad script, poor song placement. Worst animated film I've seen. 1 stars
10/23/09 stan wonderlost Mr. Mumble gets 3 taps on the egg before birth and is tapped and taps toward the end. super 5 stars
6/20/09 Dan Terrible. Dull. Disjointed. Hard to watch. 1 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
7/04/08 TreeTiger I could only stomach about 30 mins. of this artificially sweetened CGI-crap..! 1 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT TECHNICALLY IMPRESSIVE. OTHERWISE - STAY AWAY, BIG TIME! 1 stars
10/25/07 Natalie robinson its great great great great great 5 stars
10/18/07 anonymous I luv this movie! 5 stars! 5 stars
9/14/07 Tracy my kids loved this! They liked the dancing (Savions moves) 5 stars
7/30/07 maddy its great and its got a lot of emotions 5 stars
6/25/07 Clara Such a good film, but a little bit boring at the end ! 3 stars
6/22/07 cool3457 the film has penguin sex in this. 1 stars
6/08/07 aloysius could'nt agree more, movie is a piece of total s*%t! 1 stars
5/11/07 Marissa To all the people who didin't like it F#*# U its the best movie ever 5 stars
5/08/07 Molly Beich Clever and original and gorgeously animated. I loved the pop culture references. 5 stars
4/27/07 Michelle Penguins shaking their butts to attract a partner for sex? Who wants their kid to see that? 1 stars
4/23/07 S.M The beginning was great, but the movie was prolonged and annoying. Like Spielburg's "A-I". 2 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini very cute 4 stars
4/08/07 David Cohen Silly ass one joke movie for people who found "March..." too icky 1 stars
4/01/07 John A Habig Along with Over The Hedge and Hoot one of the best kids message films out 5 stars
3/20/07 Shanique This movie was like the best animated movie that I have ever seen in my life. 5 stars
3/13/07 the wizz Should be called CRAPPY FEET! Just about tap dancing and dumb singing. Very disappointed! 1 stars
3/07/07 chienne R U serious? This won an Oscar?? Nic kills everything she's in. HELLO? I HATED i!t 1 stars
2/27/07 N3GRiiTA TH3 B3ST MOVii3!!! ii LOV3D iiT 5 stars
2/05/07 William Goss Glorious animation, light story undermined halfway thru by heavyhanded envrnmntal message. 3 stars
1/31/07 Paul After the first 30 minutes -animation wore off and it became boring! 2 stars
1/20/07 Steve McKay Excellent review. The story was thin, unoriginal, heavy-handed and even offensive to many. 2 stars
1/17/07 Jan Hannah Absolutely loved it. So very clever. 5 stars
1/16/07 Lorna this is cool i saw it with my dad and i loved it 5 stars
1/15/07 Brian What is "weird" about this film? And what sexual content? Chill out you rednecks! 5 stars
1/13/07 John Howard Terrific animation, dodgy soundtrack and shallow storyline 2 stars
1/12/07 AJ very very good see the movie 5 stars
1/11/07 denise EXTREME Fright! loaded w/ sex inuendo! 3 yr old CRIED thru movie! so AWFUL- left after 1hr 1 stars
1/10/07 Daniel L sex. undertones: mild and harmless. Scary scenes: May frighten young children. 3 stars
1/09/07 Alyson I know the plot was jumpy, but it was held together well though may have needed more edits. 5 stars
1/09/07 dobbo felt like lord of the rings ?<and i luv that movie> but with penguins? 3 stars
1/09/07 pam 4 different writers wrote four different movies about penguins needing sex. Throw in some m 1 stars
1/07/07 paula zzzzz 1 stars
1/04/07 Alice I just loved it, breathtaking animation!Loaded with sexual content??You have issues!!! 5 stars
1/04/07 Jen My sons (4&8) did not like it. I agree with this review. 3 stars
1/03/07 Kate Re sexual innuendo - that's how little penguins are made, u no... 4 stars
1/03/07 David Great Animation + No Story = Eye Candy. No logical story was discernable. 1 stars
12/31/06 Jennifer I thought it was not appropriate for my son; he was terrified at times 1 stars
12/31/06 Nick Best Cinema I have seen in a long time! And I see a lot of Cinema! Jaw Dropping. 5 stars
12/30/06 S.Lawrence Ironic: Its about celebrating differences, and people hating it 'cause its different 5 stars
12/30/06 Jean Graphics - amazing, story line - very disapointed 1 stars
12/29/06 zach this film review is boring. and annoying. and too long. but mostly boring. Happy movie! 5 stars
12/29/06 Lamemovie Great graphics but lame, jumpy plot. Cute, then scary n dumb. Song lyrics not fo'kids 1 stars
12/29/06 Kimberly Pretty cute, hard to ffollow @ times, movie hops around & seals are scary for kids 4 stars
12/25/06 Deb Just plain fun with great music and brilliant Robin Williams! It's a must see. 5 stars
12/22/06 Rob Pff...silly phillistines. You'd probably be better off with Clifford the big red dog. 5 stars
12/20/06 Jon Boyce Banal. Bilious. Boring. 1 stars
12/19/06 DAWWWG degrading to penguins 5 stars
12/19/06 Luke How could anyone hate this movie? It'd be like hating ice cream. 5 stars
12/18/06 Jamie Are yall freaking kidding me? I saw maybe ONE sexual innuendo. Please get over yourselves. 5 stars
12/17/06 Alex Weird, Weird, Weird, are hallucinogenics coming back into vogue in H'wood? 2 stars
12/16/06 Monica NOT appropriate for children. Loaded with sexual content & scary at times. 1 stars
12/15/06 alistair just horrible - kids hated it 1 stars
12/14/06 D. Kickham This was a sweet & touching movie. Valid environmental issues. 5 stars
12/14/06 R Porter A complete mismatch of ideas, not worth your money. 1 stars
12/14/06 Allison Awesome!My 8 year old loved it & we talked about environmental issues for an hour afterward 5 stars
12/13/06 ian bishop absolutly awesom u yanks have not got a clue 5 stars
12/13/06 Louise Stupid film - HATED the soundtrack! 2 stars
12/12/06 rob intresting, good but weird 4 stars
12/12/06 birdy figgis Dreadful! Horrible, inappropriate for kids soundtrack 1 stars
12/12/06 Tiffany even better the second time 5 stars
12/11/06 kristi This movie was aimed at the wrong audience, and is not appropriate for kids. 1 stars
12/10/06 sharelunker Liberal, environmentalist wacko, religion-bashing, Hollyweird crap. Please don't go! 1 stars
12/10/06 Craig Confusing, overcute, retarded and irritating. 1 stars
12/10/06 cheyenne it was kool i wanna see it again 5 stars
12/09/06 carol way too weird for me, my daughter 6 loved it, i didnt think the lyrics were appropriate 2 stars
12/09/06 Djegovsky Great, you must see it! 5 stars
12/06/06 Awoman I though the movie was great. It had it's bumps,but what film doesn't. I loved it. 5 stars
12/06/06 meagan my daughter hated it, too dark and more for adults not worth the $ 1 stars
12/05/06 scotty the best animated movie of the year!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/05/06 Paris I'm 13 years old, and I agree with the people who say it has too much innuendo. 4 stars
12/04/06 zzzzz..... Horrible...instead of a cute "fitting in" movie, we got "save the penguins!" 1 stars
12/04/06 mart the begining starts out normal and cute, but by the time it gets to the middle, weird 3 stars
12/04/06 karen gay !!!!! DO NOT SEE !!! 1 stars
12/03/06 Helen Too dark/threatening for little kids. Too much sexual inuendo. 1 stars
12/03/06 Charlene Javier I loved Gloria the most!! 4 stars
12/01/06 Mumble from Happy Feet What is wrong with you people, this is an awesome movie, there wasn't any bad content! 5 stars
11/29/06 Abby It had so much sexual content i hated it. It was funny but you should have rated it R 1 stars
11/29/06 Mel One million penguins--many more cliches and sterotypes to count... 1 stars
11/27/06 bullit16 So bad .. on so many levels. Just awful. 1 stars
11/27/06 Jason Terrible. Heavy handed propaganda. Too many ethnc stereotypes. 1 stars
11/27/06 amani wow 2 stars
11/27/06 Al Gore Loved it. How wonderfully inconvenient!1 5 stars
11/26/06 Dawn This movie was horrid..there were more sexual inuendos in this than the cat in the hat. sic 1 stars
11/26/06 Amanda Amazing, it has something in it for kids and funny jokes in it for the older folks as well 5 stars
11/25/06 Caroline Some parts funny but mostly kids were bored and I left mad because I had paid to see it. 1 stars
11/25/06 Snooze Except for the stunning Computer Generated work, Sat. morn. cartoons might be better. 2 stars
11/23/06 Tiffany Losco My daughter and I loved this film. It was funny, and great. My dad even liked it. 5 stars
11/22/06 kelly omgosh so cute and funney i loved it! AMAZING movie! 5 stars
11/22/06 Theresa I agree 100%. Don't waste money to see this in theaters. Only 30 min of cuteness. 2 stars
11/22/06 jdean62 Should have watted for the DVD...better yet cable! Ok it was ok for kids !! 3 stars
11/21/06 Siren It was wonderful, amazing, I absolutely loved every moment. The DVD is on my wish list!! 5 stars
11/21/06 AnnetteB Orndorf's review is right on. Ran too long also Zzzzz Don't be duped by the "Cute" factor. 3 stars
11/20/06 michael classic flix 4 stars
11/18/06 Quigley Very, very weird, but in a good way. Visually awesome and very original; occasionally funny 4 stars
11/18/06 Raymond Scott It's okay, but a little Robin Williams goes a long, long...long way 3 stars
11/18/06 Spencer Cameron This movie is a very good family movie. I hope all of you on e FilmCritic like it. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2006 (PG)
  DVD: 27-Mar-2007

UK
  08-Dec-2006 (U)

Australia
  26-Dec-2006 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast