More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.71

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look: 4.17%
Average: 12.5%
Pretty Bad33.33%
Total Crap: 25%

1 review, 18 user ratings



Nine Months
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"This is one chick flick not even palatable for a chick."
2 stars

9 Months--or--How a selfish bastard has to reconcile himself because he's having a bastard!

I should make a small disclaimer: I like Hugh Grant. However, nothing could save this flat bomb of a picture.

The basic plotline to 9 months goes like this:
Sam Faulkner (Hugh Grant) and Rebecca Taylor (Julianne Moore) are a prototypical 30's-ish couple, long on 'relationship' and short on commitment. Rebecca goes and gets herself knocked up by Faulkner, who like the sterotypical male, is angst-ridden by her evil intent to snare him.
We spend a majority of this dismal film with Grant as he whines, stalls and car-crashes himself into a tizzy-fit about the upcoming happy bundle. Meanwhile, in a particularly flat moment in her career, Moore, waits teary eyed and full of hope with a copy of "What to Expect When You're Expecting" balanced on her belly for her man to return.
I found the whole thing disgusting. The 'Pregnancy as Trap' storyline, pointedly aimed at the commitment-phobed male, was particularly pandering to the selfish lot.
The entire idea of Moore's passivity was disgusting and bordered on insulting.

One of the only redeeming things about the film were Tom Arnold's cameo (and lets face it, if Tom Arnold is your highlight...) and an aumusing, but out of place turn by Robin Williams.

Avoid at any cost.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1528&reviewer=44
originally posted: 02/03/99 18:12:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/09/09 Dane Youssef One big sit-com. All the way through. And nothing else. NOTHING. Not worth it. 3 stars
1/06/09 Cat Smith I really hated this film. I hated the trap a guy with a baby story. 1 stars
5/06/06 Ashley Hinz I love it, no matter how silly the movie is. I first saw Julianne here 5 stars
6/08/05 Indrid Cold Some surprisingly funny parts, but ultimately forgettable. 3 stars
3/12/05 Amber Haven't seen it, but I love High Grant so it must be good!!! 4 stars
6/10/04 Lois Jean Metheny WHAT IS THE NAME OF THE VAN MORRISON SONG THAT PLAYS AT THE END OF THE MOVIE 3 stars
1/19/04 Bemused Often What is up with you people? Robin WIlliams has three miliseconds of screen time!?? 1 stars
9/07/03 dess very fuuny 5 stars
7/24/03 Ali it was a great movie dammit, bitchslap or not this stuff happens. 5 stars
6/11/03 Francis This is appalling, especially the hospital scenes 1 stars
5/01/03 liz great film 5 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Overbearing and overfamiliar. Williams offers up the only bright moments. 2 stars
5/12/02 Michel Lajoie loved it 5 stars
3/06/02 Jenny Tullwartz One of Robin Williams' best; Joan Cusack's last good film before she went to shit. 5 stars
2/17/01 mister char hugh grant can kiss my ass 1 stars
12/29/99 Anthony Ellis Robin Williams saves this from being a comedy any real laughs. But that's not enough! 1 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster It's food to see there is life after Roseanne for Tom Arnold. From one fat woman to another 1 stars
1/26/99 {{{OZ}}} Oh that Hugh Grant. He could have been the next Matthew Perry. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jul-1995 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Sep-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast