More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.08

Awesome: 4.71%
Worth A Look: 2.35%
Average: 18.82%
Pretty Bad44.71%
Total Crap: 29.41%

6 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eragon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Randy Muselman

"Where Did They Put The 100 Million Dollar Budget?"
2 stars

If you haven't read the book then going to this movie will seem like an adventure into frivolity. With high hopes I ascended my throne in the third row. I settled back, and waited impatiently to be transported into another world of dragons, magic and adventure. But fifteen minutes into the film I was going "Huh?"

I'm a die hard fan of this genre folks. I mean I'm REALLY die hard. I work evenings, from 3 p.m. to 11 p.m., so, putting in the necessary paperwork (I work for the State of Missouri) is likened to an adventure itself just to get a night off, but I was willing to endure the hardship just to be able to attend Eragon on opening night.

I've read the books, and I do understand that you are limited by constraints of time when converting a book to film, but I have to admit, there just wasn't any continuity to the film. It was broken into so many small pieces that I felt like I was watching films within a film. Personally, I feel like the film itself could have been about thirty minutes longer, IF the problems with the continuity could have been addressed.

The special effects in the film are quite good. However, I got the feeling that perhaps the actors aren't quite sure of what the director wanted from them.

Several of the major issues I had with the film included the following:

The dragon Saphira goes from infant to adult in about 15 seconds, it could have been done in a more regal fashion still utilizing what you see on screen.

The voice of Saphira the dragon didn't seem to fit for me. I somehow felt that a dragon, even one as young, should have had a voice that seemed more wise, and perhaps something that really established an on screen presence when our dragon character was speaking.

There should have been more on screen presence of our supporting character played by Jeremy Irons. Brom, was a key character in the book, teaching our young Eragon everything. Instead, our supporting character Brom is treated as nothing more than inconsequential.

Eragon learns more or less three words of the Elvin language and that seems to make him an instant magic user. Nothing like the book, and this too was key in Eragon's character development.

And speaking of Elves, our Elves in this film don't even have Elvin features, trivial but hey we're talking ELVES for Christ's sake.....

I could go on but I don't see the point. For a film that had a budget of one hundred million dollars, that of each Lord Of The Rings titles, I just don't see where the money went. Peter Jackson did much more and with the same budget.

If you have to see this film, then I suggest that you wait for the DVD release and save cash not only on the ticket, but on the concessions as well. The only way this franchise can be salvaged is to hire Peter Jackson, or a director as seasoned as Jackson, and turn it over to them when it comes to making Eldest, the second film in the franchise.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15294&reviewer=351
originally posted: 12/16/06 16:37:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/07/13 dr.lao In a word, uninspired 2 stars
9/12/10 Robert Eragon the movie is Eragon the Book Extra Lite. The book has is suprisingly well done. 1 stars
8/21/10 PAUL SHORTT UNORIGINAL AND DERIVATIVE 2 stars
7/02/10 Innocence_Wasted Eragon bored me period. I couldn't even finish the godforsaken excuse of a film. 1 stars
4/11/10 Josh Credibility goes to the visual effects only. Dialogue shows cheezy pre LOTR style. 2 stars
10/28/09 Blah Blahson I just read the (awesome) book and I realized what a piece of crap this was. 1 stars
8/05/09 jake worst movie adaption ever. amazing book got turned into a simplified kids movie 1 stars
11/16/08 Carmen Book was mediocre at best, film was just bad. 1 stars
11/03/08 Aure liked the dragon, but thats about it... 2 stars
10/26/08 Guy Story lacks the character and emotional depth/history of LOTR. 3 stars
12/08/07 Sam Eli Horrible acting and writing, astoundingly derivative and almost non-existent acting/effects 1 stars
10/11/07 Charles Luke Skywalker goes to Middle Earth, not an original thought in the mix. 2 stars
10/01/07 R Kercher Cool SFX, but not on par w/book. There's a dragon, a boy & elf, and bad guy, but what else? 2 stars
8/11/07 Neil I was irritated by the bad lead acting and a 'ran-out-of-money' ending. 2 stars
6/10/07 Danielle Ophelia Oh, honestly... 1 stars
6/09/07 Rando Godd effects , terrible acting and dialogue, all different accents. 2 stars
6/07/07 Matt Highly derivative, to say the least, but still reasonable entertainment 3 stars
6/05/07 Mark Radburn Fuck all, who say Eragon sucks. 5 stars
5/07/07 Tracey Chambers Its not a bad movie, its pretty to look at but not much else 3 stars
4/23/07 hydrian If you haven't read the book, don't see it. If you have, DEFINITELY don't see it. 1 stars
4/02/07 Jenna I oved it and Ed Speleers is so cute 4 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold A smart saying at each corner, and isn't not-worth-watching. I even debate a 4/5. 3 stars
3/20/07 man great fx but otherwise disappointing 2 stars
3/19/07 Quigley Rip-off of all the classics we love. Everything in this movie is heinous. 2006's 2nd worst 1 stars
3/05/07 --- WHY?Why was this movie made? AVOID. 1 stars
1/29/07 Molly thought the acting was ok sometimes, the rest was AWFUL. 1 stars
1/24/07 Jon I don't see how some of you people gave 3+ stars... The movie was terrible. 2 stars
1/13/07 Deadly Assassin "Lord of the Rings" for ADD sufferers. 3 stars
1/10/07 dupadoit rad 4 stars
1/09/07 ashley It was good IF you hadn't read the books but if you had it's a piece of crap! 2 stars
1/06/07 melissa The worst movie I have ever seen that has been made from a book. 1 stars
1/03/07 Max The movie was horrable just a cheap kockoff of starwars and LOTR, but the book was awsome. 1 stars
1/01/07 sarah very good, left out some parts and the leading role was very good also! 5 stars
12/31/06 Tim Shameless Massacre. It's like they shoved the book in a meat grinder. 1 stars
12/28/06 Nick Didn't follow the book at all, horrible acting, and hacked up cliche storyline.1/2 starrate 1 stars
12/27/06 Aaron Smith Not as good as Narnia, somewhat disappointing. 3 stars
12/26/06 Sammy Excellent! If you like fantasys this one's for you!! If you don't like fantasys- too bad!!! 5 stars
12/23/06 Catalina es muy buena,abran sus mentes,hay errores como en todas,pero no debe compararse con nada. 5 stars
12/22/06 Thomas Wynn Not the best 3 stars
12/21/06 Jon good story plot... bad acting. 2 stars
12/20/06 scotty lord of the rings lite 1 stars
12/20/06 Brooke The worst movie based on a book I've ever seen 1 stars
12/18/06 Eric Liked the book, wanted to like this...but couldn't. Rent LOTR instead, or buy the books. 2 stars
12/18/06 David Total waste of a great story. Put eragon name on it to make money 1 stars
12/18/06 Michael Silbergleid But if you haven't read the book, it's very enjoyable. 3 stars
12/18/06 Riki Definitely seen this movie before. And the boy cannot act! 2 stars
12/17/06 ToFarGone20 Total departure from the book...the author should be pissed! 3 stars
12/16/06 Ole Man Bourbon Not as bad as it could have been, but the leading man (boy) was gagoriffic. 3 stars
12/16/06 tony camonte this is a chep ass wanna be palgerising piece of crap! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Dec-2006 (PG)
  DVD: 20-Mar-2007

UK
  15-Dec-2006

Australia
  14-Dec-2006



[trailer] Trailer




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast