More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.11

Awesome: 12.77%
Worth A Look27.66%
Average: 26.6%
Pretty Bad: 23.4%
Total Crap: 9.57%

3 reviews, 76 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

Aquaman by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Waterworld
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Steve in Prague

"Water water everywhere......."
3 stars

Nowhere close to being the bomb everyone claims it is....

Waterworld is unfairly called a "bomb" a "disaster", and any one of 12 other colorful adjectives describing total failure. Yet, I am here to tell you that it is NOT as bad as people say.

The first strike against it was that it was the first flick to break the mythical $100 million dollar budget mark. People naturally rallied against what they saw as an excessive ego project by Kevin Costner, plus MANY people were out to get him in Hollywood after Dances with Wolves beat out Goodfellas for best picture. Well Hollywood, you should have got off your asses to vote for Goodfellas, but that is another story.

Anyway, onto the plot. Keven Costner is the un-named mariner dude, complete with web feet and gills behind his ears. He travels the flood covered planet in his totally awesome 100 foot catamaran. I saw this boat at Universal Studios in Florida, and it is a sight to behold.

Anyway, he encounters a floating island which contains pre-cocaine addicted Ms.Trippelhorn and various other "Madd Maxx" knock offs. She is taking care of a young girl with a tattoo on her back that supposedly points the way to the last island on Earth.

Of course the bad guys, headed by a WONDERFULLY over the top Dennis Hopper, plan to steal the girl and live on the island themselves.

Questions:

1. If the Earth is covered with water and there is only ONE island that means its the summit of Mt Everest. But why does the map point to the North Pole???????????

2. Where are all the Naval nuclear powered ships? In the movie on one of his dives, Costner encounters the wreck of a US Navy Nuke sub...WHY is it wrecked?!?!??!!??!!?

3. How can the Exxon Valdez survive the flood but the Queen Elizabeth, Uss Nimitiz, Calypspo II, and other BETTER equipped ships NOT survive?

4. CAN jet skis and a seaplane run on just straight oil and NOT petrol?????????

Anyway, those questions aside, this is a fun, not so serious movie. The camera work is pretty damn impressive, the acting is good enough not to embarrass anyone, and the plot is pretty self explanatory. Costner's "mariner man" could be a decent recurring character, I'd like to know HOW he mutated and if there are anymore of his kind.

Waterworld was NOT a bomb..it grossed $4400 million world wide and made a HUGE profit for Universal Studios. Postman ALSO made a profit, which makes me think there is a conspiracy in Hollywood against Kevin Costner. His big budget movies seem to do better outside the USA for some reason. I am glad he has his "comeback" in "13 Days".

Waterworld is perfect fare for those rainy Saturdays or sober Friday nights

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1530&reviewer=253
originally posted: 06/18/01 21:02:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/03/10 joszell ..i've watched it yesterday.. its good. awesome productions and effects.. nice.. 4 stars
3/21/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING ACTION FILM, WITH GOOD ACTION SCENES, STUNTS AND SET-PIECES 3 stars
1/16/10 Jurij Fedorov My favorite film ever. 5 stars
8/28/09 Jeff Wilder $170 million and none of it was spent hiring a decent screenwriter. 2 stars
11/17/08 Farnsy Not crap but not impressive 3 stars
10/24/08 Farnsy Not as bad as the critics say. 4 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 4 stars
9/29/08 gailly_2619 I like the movie so much,it is entertaining and the characters are great>>>>>>>> 5 stars
4/25/08 Karrie Millheim I liked this movie alot, the special effects were good, I have seen it over 25 times 5 stars
3/06/07 David Pollastrini a bit long but very underrated 4 stars
8/20/06 Sepi53 I liked this one, don't understand why critics hate it? 5 stars
7/14/06 David Cohen Science fiction without the science, when will Kevin Costner learn that he is second rate? 2 stars
4/06/06 Indrid Cold Unique and entertaining. Critics prejudged it based on the budget thing. 4 stars
12/22/05 Wiseman This movie was GREAT! I dont know what everyones talking about, 5 stars so much fun to see 5 stars
10/07/05 Klondo way too hated. many scenes have great action and it's one of Costner's best performances. 4 stars
9/13/05 Total Crap Trash. 1 stars
9/02/05 ES Wasn't bad, a little confusing here and there, but also has some fun and coolness to it 3 stars
8/04/05 woody exstra 5 stars
7/26/05 Tummi Super movie, one of my favourits www.tmajorino.kom.pl 5 stars
6/19/05 boo-yaa kid fuckin a 5 stars
6/18/05 Indrid Cold Not even close to a disaster like everyone says. Actually a pretty good action/adventure. 4 stars
5/10/05 susee hey..wasnt a bad attempt after all 4 stars
2/03/05 Aaron Smith Not great, but ok sci-fi 3 stars
1/23/05 keithers.. underrated...i had fun...Coster is great... 3 stars
10/23/04 ODH This money cost how much to make? Where did it all go... 2 stars
8/15/04 jen it is good 3 stars
6/05/04 alien assassin The worst Sci-fi epic ever made (apart from "Battlefield Earth") !!! 1 stars
5/17/04 Dr. Lecter Surprisingly watchable garbage 3 stars
4/04/04 em complete and utter shit 1 stars
4/01/04 jaye its alright if you dont look to closely at what is going on. 3 stars
3/18/04 R.W. Welch A better title would have been "Waterloo." 2 stars
2/25/04 Thomas Not bad. Just that most reviewers fail to understand the concept of science FICTION. 4 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr Slightly overrated 3 stars
1/07/04 Pinkline Jones Best film since Gandhi 5 stars
11/29/03 john some impressive action sequences - good concept but lousy story and terrible ending 3 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon A financial flop, but that's not our problem. Entertaining flick. 4 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Whoever paid for this turd should be given a lobotomy without anethesia. 1 stars
4/13/03 Dave A $200+ production cost and we get THIS??? 2 stars
3/19/03 Jack Sommersby Acceptably delivered. But it's too familiar and overlong. 2 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon The most underrated movie of the last three decades. 5 stars
10/26/02 Tar Mac What is it with Kevin Costner and his three hour epics? Does he jerk off watching them? 2 stars
10/22/02 Charles Tatum Believe me, worst has been done 4 stars
7/12/02 KMG KEVIN: PACK YOUR BAGS 2 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 I wanna know... where the hell did all the Smoker's cigs come from??yeah, this film blows.. 2 stars
3/20/02 Steve Mackey Superb action, photography, good humor, little Tina is great. 4 stars
3/17/02 FlaFan The movie and Costner are underrated. Neither deserved the media bashing they got. 4 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden It Can Be Good If You Can Overlook It's Dull and Meaningless Script. 4 stars
12/04/01 Shams Huque The show at Universal Studios in LA was far superior! 3 stars
12/02/01 The $1.98 Pyramid The only cool thing is the SFX Universal trademark. 3 stars
10/18/01 officer412/l a major guilty plesure of mine. I know it's dumb,just dont take it seriously 4 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith Can society degenerate that far? 3 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm At last! Costner finds a film worthy of his talents... 2 stars
8/10/01 R.W. Welch Mad Max at sea. Unconvincing and barely watchable. 2 stars
7/30/01 Henry Ginsberg Good idea .Abit baoring . 3 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Tripplehorn stunk, kid's wig distracted, otherwise OK 3 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg disapointing 3 stars
7/15/01 Nazi dad Great chase scenes and Dennis Hopper is unforgettable as the despicable "Deacon of D's". 5 stars
6/20/01 Shawna I agree... someone is out to get Kevin. This is not my favorite movie, but worth seeing. 4 stars
6/19/01 Xx-Bull-xX Mad Max on the water, but I really liked it. 4 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart Ugh...wasted my money at the theater. 1 stars
3/18/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Bad script, bad direction. A shame, in the right hands, could've been pretty cool. 2 stars
12/06/00 AtlantaBill Fishtar. 1 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla good acting, good action sequences, the need a n editor to edit all the shit in the plot 2 stars
9/30/00 Terrie Smith Some good moments in this waterlogged entry; Dennis Hopper should have drowned. 3 stars
7/09/00 Andrew Freeman Costner is sexy with fins 1 stars
4/15/00 malcolm looks like time for another baseball movie for KC 2 stars
3/16/00 Richard Wright A decent enough film. Confusing and thin plot is lit up by some good action sequences. 3 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski Ahh, piss...it wasn't all bad. It ain't "Star Wars", but it ain't "Ringmaster", either! 4 stars
10/25/99 Lame-Oh Not good. Love your review, Oz. 2 stars
9/11/99 the Grinch I hate Costner, but this is an o.k. roadwarrior ripoff no-brainer 3 stars
8/20/99 Japtalian I think Costner sucks but for some reason I like this movie. Bitchslap me! 4 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine OK, I know this was a box-office bomb, but it's worth renting on video. 4 stars
3/11/99 Ah Dooey Stupid. Yet it has 1 word: Costner. Blah. And disgraceful, too. 1 stars
2/09/99 Gary They should have gone 100% with the Escape from NY type gags. Very week SciFi. 1 stars
1/28/99 donkey_dew Not bad, not too bad at all. 5 stars
1/26/99 {{{OZ}}} Dumb. But somehow watchable. Stupid. Yet it has a message. Costner. Ew. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-1995 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Sep-1995 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast