More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.52

Awesome: 30.15%
Worth A Look35.18%
Average: 7.54%
Pretty Bad: 10.55%
Total Crap: 16.58%

8 reviews, 151 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter by Jay Seaver

And So It Goes by Peter Sobczynski

Huntresses, The by Jay Seaver

Fatal Encounter, The by Jay Seaver

No Tears for the Dead by Jay Seaver

In Order of Disappearance by Jay Seaver

Cheatin' by Jay Seaver

White Bird in a Blizzard by Jay Seaver

Hwayi: A Monster Boy by Jay Seaver

Butter on the Latch by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


10 Things I Hate About You
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DarkHorse

"How much does this movie suck? Let me count the ways"
1 stars

Its based on Shakespeare so it must be pretty good... Right?

WRONG

The fact that piece of shit was loosely based on "The Taming of The Shrew" is a gimmick. In fact, the Shakespearian plot has been twisted and fucked over to the point that it is unrecognizable. The only time this piece of garbage attempts to acknowledge Shakespeare it comes in a shitty rap version of Shakespeare that sucks the mother-of-all-dicks.

But this is the least of this films worries...

The first half of "The 10 things I Hate About Shrew... I mean You" is a smorgasbord of moronic dialogue and cardboard characters.

In one scene this guy sits still while some pretty boy draws a dick on his face. The character later stops and acknowledges "I have a dick on my face. Don't I?"
<cue laughter>...

Answer: YES. This movie has dick all over its face.

Lets get to the "Shakespearian" plot...

It seems that poor Bianca (Larisa Oleynik) can't date unless she convinces her sister to date first. Her father has come up with the ingenious idea that he will curb his daughter's budding sexuality by making her wait until her uptight, bitchy sister decides to date.

Her sister, Kat, is played by Julia Stiles.

She is actually the best thing about this movie. There is one scene in which she dances "jiggy" style on a table. This scene gets a 11 on the Blue-Vein-O-Meter.

But anyway...

Much is made of the fact that she is "heinous bitch". To the point that her own father excretes the line "My insurance doesn't cover PMS" after she slams into pretty boy's car.

After enduring the first half of the movie, which contains more lame insults than Don Rickles at a celebrity roast, it all becomes a tad less irritating. This is when the movie shifts from being randomly stupid to utterly predictable.

-Will Kat end up with the suave Australian? Yes. (No. I am not referring to OZ)

-Will Bianca discover that the guy from Third Rock From the Sun is the perfect guy for her? You betcha.

-Will this movie leave your memory less than 30 seconds after you have seen it? Ummmmm yeah.

I have to give props to Heath Ledger for his good performance as the Aussie-guy-who-acts-tough-but-is-really-a-softy-inside (also seen in Rushmore to much better effect.)

Also Julia Stiles and Larisa Oleynik do a pretty good job. Besides that, there is one clever scene with Ledger and a high school band. It does little to redeem this contrived bullshit.

Watch "Fast Times at Ridgemont High" 10 times and call me in the morning.

Vapid, boring and unbelievably predictable. Ferris Bueller where are you?!?!?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1538&reviewer=167
originally posted: 10/31/99 18:19:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/09/14 Richard Brandt Updated Shrew makes good use of Nick Lowe's cleverest of Shakespearean pop tunes 4 stars
12/02/10 PAUL SHORTT CUTE BUT UNSATISFYING 2 stars
10/19/09 Liberty Man Predictable doesn't mean bad. It is what it's supposed to be and does it well. 4 stars
8/24/09 Sarah I absolutley ADORE this film. 5 stars
12/28/08 Samantha Pruitt it's not that great, just the usual teen flick, stop peeing your pants over it! 3 stars
10/02/07 eme grace fortos its very nice 4 stars
6/28/07 gr117 Love this movie! 5 stars
5/09/07 David Pollastrini Julia Styles is hot in this! 3 stars
5/02/07 Janie This is the Best movie ever!!! Julia Stiles is AMAZING 5 stars
2/16/07 cathy chambergo this movie is the best 1 since the breakfastclub yall should really consider doing a 2nd 1 5 stars
1/03/07 Creasy Bear Julia Styles forehead is gigantic. I only like the part when she danced on the table. 2 stars
11/17/06 pipirisnais its the best movie i've ever seen 5 stars
10/26/06 Lara This movie is great! It is one of my movie favourites. 5 stars
9/23/06 Amanda This is my favorite movie of all times and has been for years! 5 stars
5/04/06 xXmAbzXx enticing!something to watch with yur girlfriends..healt ledger what a smile=D 4 stars
5/03/06 Anthony Feor Another freaky but funny teen movie 4 stars
4/18/06 Dk Very funny in parts very dull in others 3 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer The one true cure for insomnia. ZZZZzzzzz.......... 1 stars
2/19/06 Akire Gonzalez This movie was PURE GENIOUS!!!!I cried when she read the poem!This movie is AWSOME! 5 stars
11/25/05 Liz Tena I love the poem Julia Styles reads at the end.....brings tears to my eyes 4 stars
10/12/05 rebecca very good 5 stars
10/01/05 zoe shakespeare would be proud!!! 5 stars
10/01/05 emily what an amazing movie! 5 stars
9/13/05 bbbr it so unpredictable 4 stars
6/22/05 miah heaps annoying film out of stereotypes but in the new stereotypical fashion 1 stars
6/04/05 Liz Vogel it's was fucking shit 2 stars
5/29/05 jimmy its ssssssssssssssssooooooooooo gay 1 stars
3/29/05 DM The charming cast (Larry Miller rules) elevates it above its predictable story. 4 stars
1/06/05 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
1/06/05 Robyn Jamil-Walid Julia Stiles couldn't be more putrid if she took a dump in my face! 1 stars
8/25/04 bopi the best movie eva 5 stars
7/25/04 THEA REAL GOOD 4 stars
6/02/04 carson kresley from da fab 5 this movie is as about as gay as i am 1 stars
5/31/04 Tammy Tingle A pretty good film though a little pridictable 4 stars
5/25/04 Becky FUCKING ACE! 5 stars
4/23/04 Kirsten this is my fav movie its great 5 stars
3/11/04 amie evans great 5 stars
3/10/04 lesh this film is fantastic i rreally enjoyed watching it and the soundtrack is just as good 5 stars
3/09/04 pip its the best 5 stars
1/02/04 trish awesome movie; great music 5 stars
10/30/03 clare Seriously Amusing, great music, Heath is gorgeous 5 stars
10/12/03 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
10/08/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Right! Could't have been more putrid if Julia Stiles took a dump in my face! 1 stars
10/08/03 Pinkline Jones I'd rather suck syphilis through a sock! 1 stars
8/10/03 Brenda Vasquez I dont think it suckes i love this movie. 5 stars
8/05/03 Miss Violet Absolutely Fabolous. Kicks ass like wow 5 stars
8/01/03 Jennifer Lopez The best modern adaption of a Shakespear yet. 5 stars
7/24/03 iulia i love joseph gordon lewitt 5 stars
5/21/03 ILUVSEX This film is total rubbish, it's like not funny and jookes are so tipical....it's gay 2 stars
3/01/03 ME A GREAT FILM 5 stars
2/08/03 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
2/06/03 123 A decent teen movie.... but i guess only teens would enjoy this 4 stars
2/04/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Right! Could't have been more putrid if Julia Stiles took a dump in my face! 1 stars
1/30/03 Pinkline Jones I'd tather suck syphilis through a sock! 1 stars
12/10/02 andrew caines it was crap 1 stars
12/10/02 alex cook it was fucked 1 stars
11/21/02 Rochelle Best movie eva 5 stars
10/09/02 Linda Binda A good example of how idiotic some '90s teen comedies are. 2 stars
9/12/02 jahav nice 5 stars
8/23/02 Kyle One of the most riduculous and sickening films I have ever seen. 1 stars
6/02/02 BaitedSoul Julia Stiles was looking good! FUN MOVIE! 4 stars
5/15/02 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya. 2 stars
5/15/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid Right! Could't have been more putrid if Julia Stiles took a dump in my face! 1 stars
3/14/02 Vanessa Pooley right on Natalie- Julia Stiles coudda been mor appealing with diarrhea graphically shown. 1 stars
2/03/02 Kakararniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz wish ther're as few as 10 things to hate about this movie! 2 stars
2/03/02 Natalie Stoncipher Frds pushed me to go even when I had diarrhea. Shit breaks were welcome relief ffom movie 1 stars
1/26/02 Sparky Polastri Much better than your average teenie-bopper movie 4 stars
1/06/02 FGJ180 Teen fluff, done right. 4 stars
11/03/01 Jim Amusing spin on Shakespeare, but some of those "kids" ain't teenagers! 4 stars
10/14/01 morgasm it was really sweet! 5 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix Funny and intelligent. 4 stars
9/07/01 hilary worth a look- awesome 4 stars
8/31/01 TLsmooth I can watch it over and over and over and over. I don't know why, I just can. 5 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson My girlfriend loved it. I stayed awake. 3 stars
7/22/01 Ishchenko Olga Just Great 5 stars
7/14/01 jesi i loved it 5 stars
6/17/01 Kelly Williamson AWESOME!!! best movie ever!!! 5 stars
6/17/01 sally pieper im stuck doing 2 assignments on it. this movie is totally crap the actors are shit. 1 stars
6/12/01 cinkcool Very Funny, Good Story. 5 stars
5/12/01 Chris Great adaptation of The Bard for modern teens! Excellent acting! 5 stars
4/28/01 X No complaints, not a classic but better than alot in the same genre 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good remake of "Taming of the Shrew." I enjoyed Stiles in this one. 4 stars
3/21/01 Rachel Savage it's great 5 stars
3/19/01 Orlina Boteva I love Stiles, she is great!!! 5 stars
3/12/01 katie This movie was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
3/01/01 carhart kid sucks ass 1 stars
2/17/01 Jake nice surprise! Ledger was cool 4 stars
2/16/01 andrew tam i luv claudia 5 stars
2/16/01 lawrence niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I found it to be funny and endearing. Heath Ledger: MARRY ME!!! 4 stars
2/13/01 LOOBER A sweet movie that's entertaining and fun. 4 stars
1/17/01 LeAnna Gallagher I loe this movie i watch it over and over again. 5 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl This is an entertaining movie I liked it, very funny. 4 stars
1/07/01 Emily cool movie 3 stars
12/30/00 Christine I think that Joseph Gordon-Levitt is hot!! 5 stars
12/23/00 Danielle Definitly worth watching plus soundtrak is great 5 stars
12/23/00 Carlos vote 5 stars
11/05/00 Kira G I love it! It's such a good pick-me-up film for rainy weekend, week after week. 5 stars
10/18/00 dan believe me, there are much better movies like this out there!!! 2 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Two very satisfied thumbs pointing up. 5 stars
9/19/00 Courtney It is a cool remake of the play 4 stars
8/27/00 Amy All the character development and humour that are so painfully lacking in the other recent 4 stars
8/21/00 Liz this is my favorite movie! Heath's accent is so sexy!! i luv him! 5 stars
7/12/00 Bender Entertaining teen comedy thats one of the better teen flicks of the last 10 years. 4 stars
5/31/00 natasha oddly enjoyable - good performances 4 stars
5/15/00 THING Great 5 stars
4/04/00 EMMA I LOVE THIS MOVE IS THE BEST MOVE I HAVE EVER SEEN!!! 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Better than "She's All That." Some surprisingly smart, tight, and hilarious lines. 4 stars
2/05/00 Katerina Kocurek I loved this movie. It reminds me of my life! 5 stars
1/28/00 Matthew Bartley A lot better than I expected 4 stars
1/10/00 Paul Great 4 stars
1/05/00 j funny 5 stars
10/31/99 ALANA A sweet love story for those of us with boyfriends that romantic is looking at flash cars. 5 stars
7/29/99 Dante It's all right , if your a dick head 1 stars
7/29/99 Lou (lou@law.com) i love heath ledger. the best movie i've ever seen. 5 stars
7/19/99 TOMB SUCK!! 1 stars
7/17/99 katie johnson this is the best movie scince titanic 5 stars
7/12/99 corinne the best movie ever 5 stars
7/10/99 Amanda For some reason, I love this movie. Stiles' preformance is wonderful. 5 stars
7/08/99 Duck Pretty good, though terribly predictable 4 stars
7/06/99 jeff larisa is hottttttttttt 5 stars
7/05/99 Tristynn I was shocked.. this movie is delightful...not bad at all for a teen flick..I recommend it. 4 stars
7/03/99 Daria Very witty, but I wish there were less Shakespeare references stuffed down my throat. 4 stars
7/02/99 Kirsty Good teenage film, great performance by Heath Ledger 4 stars
6/30/99 Munchkini-125 I think it was fantastic it had a hidden message for me. I can't wait to see it again. 5 stars
6/15/99 David It's fun, it's bitchy, and even if the title has nothing to do with Shakespeare, it's smart 4 stars
6/14/99 EmpresS This movie annoyed me...then again, i am easily annoyed... 3 stars
6/13/99 xandi witty - but hey it's predictable 4 stars
6/12/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! UN-Original,Boring & Stale.Tried too hard and still got nowhere. 2 stars
5/21/99 brentley I was dragged to this one, but it was better than I thought it would be. 3 stars
5/08/99 BraveFan If this is now considered a "good" teen film, I'm glad I'm not a teen... 2 stars
4/30/99 Goddess I LOVED IT!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/29/99 The Graduate Some funny moments, but often stale and predictable. I preferred the original. 3 stars
4/26/99 Mr Showbiz A teen version of The Taming Of The Shrew, that plays like a sitcom, albeit a funny one. 4 stars
4/25/99 Katie Better than I thought, but I wasn't expecting much. Heath Ledger is great! 4 stars
4/21/99 lucas jackson "ten things I hate about u" which is exactly how I'll start my review on this pile of shit! 1 stars
4/18/99 ladyace how can so many pretty people be made so unappealing? put them in ANOTHER bad teen flick! 2 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread Not as inventive as Clueless but a good try 4 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Look, its another teen fluff flick.. lord please save me... 2 stars
4/10/99 mara fun flick 4 stars
4/09/99 Daddy Rich Funny and very enjoyable. Kat is a fucking hottie! 4 stars
4/08/99 Ah Dooey Silly, but amusing. Great cast. 4 stars
4/08/99 becks a bit predictable, but cute! 4 stars
4/07/99 Geoffrey T. Spaulding Stupid movie for trendy little girls who shop at Claires and The Icing. 1 stars
4/06/99 Rachel LOVED THIS FLICK! LOVED IT! Despite the teen pin-ups, Stiles and Ledger were stellar! 5 stars
4/05/99 Malbert I was suprised by it, it was awesome 5 stars
4/05/99 Stephanie Funny, sweet, LTC rocks! Kinda predictable but it was fun. 4 stars
4/03/99 E uneven at times, the leads and a strong supporting cast ultimately carry the day. 3 stars
4/03/99 Kate It was ok. I did like watching the "bloopers" shown at the end. And the guys were cute. 4 stars
4/02/99 Lindsay it was cute! :) 4 stars
3/31/99 Adam Carey Kinda silly, but fun. And any movie with a musical number is great. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Mar-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jun-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast