More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.53

Awesome: 30.35%
Worth A Look35.32%
Average: 7.46%
Pretty Bad: 10.45%
Total Crap: 16.42%

8 reviews, 153 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


10 Things I Hate About You
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Newcomer Stiles makes an impression."
4 stars

In “10 Things I Hate About You,” it’s Cameron James’ (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) first day at Padua High School in Seattle –he’s just transferred from out of state. (The gothic styled school used is real, but located in Tacoma.) Cameron is immediately befriended by his tour guide Michael (David Krumholtz), and introduced to all the different groups at Padua: the nerds, the models, the white guys who think they’re Rasta Fari, the “hands-off” people, the Starbucks wannabes, et al. Cameron is quick to fall for Bianca Stratford, but it just so happens that she’s one of those “hands-off” people.

Bianca Stratford (Larisa Oleynick) is a sophomore, and younger sister of the social outcast Katarina (Julia Stiles). The girls live with their father Walter (Larry Miller) –an over-cautious obstetrician (“Kissing isn’t what keeps my elbows up in placenta everyday!”). When Bianca continuously complains because she’s not allowed to date until in college, her father makes a new rule in which Bianca can’t date until Katarina does (“That’ll be never!”/“Oh great, I love this already”). It’s up to Cameron to make Joey(Andrew Keegan) –one of the brainless male models- pay Patrick Verona (Heath Ledger), a mystery man, to take out Katarina, so Joey thinks he can take out Bianca, but really making it so that Cameron can take her out (need a chart?). Verona, an Australian transfer with a questionable past, does his best bad guy to take Katarina out. Katarina slowly begins to give in, but not before confronting Verona (“I wasn’t in jail, I don’t know Marilyn Manson, and I don’t dress as a Spice Girl”). Something’s set to give in this picturesque backdrop!

Unlike the film version of “Great Expectations,” I did not brush up on my “Cliffs Notes” for “Taming of the Shrew.” I read it last year in my English class as a required reading book. I remember the basic outline of the story, the fact that a lot of the characters have part of their names from the book, and the town’s name of Padua –as well as many others. I also remember that of all of Shakespeare’s plays I’ve read, I liked “Taming of the Shrew” least (the “Cliffs Notes” really did help then!).

“10 Things I Hate About You” also follows in the footsteps of other recent films in which the dated period of the book is updated and transplanted to our current times. “Cruel Intentions” was another recent success in that so-called “franchise.” Writers Karen M. Lutz and Kirsten Smith make their screenwriting debut with “10 Things. Lutz and Smith’s script for “10 Things” was always terse and witty. There was so much humor emanated –and even more if you catch the “in” references from the play!

Another plus from the film is great acting talent. First and foremost is Julia Stiles. Stiles is a red-hot actress; keep your eyes on her, she’s going to grow. Previously only seen in bit parts like “The Devil’s Own,” Stiles will been seen in at least three other features this year –including two other Shakespearean orientated films. Heath Ledger –the guy hunk—played his bad boy role well, and is well known in Australia, his native land. Larisa Oleynik, Susan May Pratt, David Krumholtz, and Gabrielle Union were all good in their teen roles, but Larry Miller really was hilarious as the over-cautious and protective dad (“I got the 411. I don’t want you getting jiggy with any boy, no matter how dope his ride is!”). Joseph Gordon-Levitt was good, but struggled through some scenes –not quite ready to carry a film on his own. The only miscasting was Andrew Keegan, who was completely wrong for his role. Make sure to stay during the credits for the outtakes, and watch for cameos by David Leisure, Save Ferris, and Letter to Cleo.

Final Verdict: B.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1538&reviewer=172
originally posted: 09/17/00 13:20:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell nice but nothing special 4 stars
8/03/14 Sarah Morgan Probably my favorite movie of all time. 5 stars
6/09/14 Richard Brandt Updated Shrew makes good use of Nick Lowe's cleverest of Shakespearean pop tunes 4 stars
12/02/10 PAUL SHORTT CUTE BUT UNSATISFYING 2 stars
10/19/09 Liberty Man Predictable doesn't mean bad. It is what it's supposed to be and does it well. 4 stars
8/24/09 Sarah I absolutley ADORE this film. 5 stars
12/28/08 Samantha Pruitt it's not that great, just the usual teen flick, stop peeing your pants over it! 3 stars
10/02/07 eme grace fortos its very nice 4 stars
6/28/07 gr117 Love this movie! 5 stars
5/09/07 David Pollastrini Julia Styles is hot in this! 3 stars
5/02/07 Janie This is the Best movie ever!!! Julia Stiles is AMAZING 5 stars
2/16/07 cathy chambergo this movie is the best 1 since the breakfastclub yall should really consider doing a 2nd 1 5 stars
1/03/07 Creasy Bear Julia Styles forehead is gigantic. I only like the part when she danced on the table. 2 stars
11/17/06 pipirisnais its the best movie i've ever seen 5 stars
10/26/06 Lara This movie is great! It is one of my movie favourites. 5 stars
9/23/06 Amanda This is my favorite movie of all times and has been for years! 5 stars
5/04/06 xXmAbzXx enticing!something to watch with yur girlfriends..healt ledger what a smile=D 4 stars
5/03/06 Anthony Feor Another freaky but funny teen movie 4 stars
4/18/06 Dk Very funny in parts very dull in others 3 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer The one true cure for insomnia. ZZZZzzzzz.......... 1 stars
2/19/06 Akire Gonzalez This movie was PURE GENIOUS!!!!I cried when she read the poem!This movie is AWSOME! 5 stars
11/25/05 Liz Tena I love the poem Julia Styles reads at the end.....brings tears to my eyes 4 stars
10/12/05 rebecca very good 5 stars
10/01/05 zoe shakespeare would be proud!!! 5 stars
10/01/05 emily what an amazing movie! 5 stars
9/13/05 bbbr it so unpredictable 4 stars
6/22/05 miah heaps annoying film out of stereotypes but in the new stereotypical fashion 1 stars
6/04/05 Liz Vogel it's was fucking shit 2 stars
5/29/05 jimmy its ssssssssssssssssooooooooooo gay 1 stars
3/29/05 DM The charming cast (Larry Miller rules) elevates it above its predictable story. 4 stars
1/06/05 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
1/06/05 Robyn Jamil-Walid Julia Stiles couldn't be more putrid if she took a dump in my face! 1 stars
8/25/04 bopi the best movie eva 5 stars
7/25/04 THEA REAL GOOD 4 stars
6/02/04 carson kresley from da fab 5 this movie is as about as gay as i am 1 stars
5/31/04 Tammy Tingle A pretty good film though a little pridictable 4 stars
5/25/04 Becky FUCKING ACE! 5 stars
4/23/04 Kirsten this is my fav movie its great 5 stars
3/11/04 amie evans great 5 stars
3/10/04 lesh this film is fantastic i rreally enjoyed watching it and the soundtrack is just as good 5 stars
3/09/04 pip its the best 5 stars
1/02/04 trish awesome movie; great music 5 stars
10/30/03 clare Seriously Amusing, great music, Heath is gorgeous 5 stars
10/12/03 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
10/08/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Right! Could't have been more putrid if Julia Stiles took a dump in my face! 1 stars
10/08/03 Pinkline Jones I'd rather suck syphilis through a sock! 1 stars
8/10/03 Brenda Vasquez I dont think it suckes i love this movie. 5 stars
8/05/03 Miss Violet Absolutely Fabolous. Kicks ass like wow 5 stars
8/01/03 Jennifer Lopez The best modern adaption of a Shakespear yet. 5 stars
7/24/03 iulia i love joseph gordon lewitt 5 stars
5/21/03 ILUVSEX This film is total rubbish, it's like not funny and jookes are so tipical....it's gay 2 stars
3/01/03 ME A GREAT FILM 5 stars
2/08/03 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
2/06/03 123 A decent teen movie.... but i guess only teens would enjoy this 4 stars
2/04/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Right! Could't have been more putrid if Julia Stiles took a dump in my face! 1 stars
1/30/03 Pinkline Jones I'd tather suck syphilis through a sock! 1 stars
12/10/02 andrew caines it was crap 1 stars
12/10/02 alex cook it was fucked 1 stars
11/21/02 Rochelle Best movie eva 5 stars
10/09/02 Linda Binda A good example of how idiotic some '90s teen comedies are. 2 stars
9/12/02 jahav nice 5 stars
8/23/02 Kyle One of the most riduculous and sickening films I have ever seen. 1 stars
6/02/02 BaitedSoul Julia Stiles was looking good! FUN MOVIE! 4 stars
5/15/02 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya. 2 stars
5/15/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid Right! Could't have been more putrid if Julia Stiles took a dump in my face! 1 stars
3/14/02 Vanessa Pooley right on Natalie- Julia Stiles coudda been mor appealing with diarrhea graphically shown. 1 stars
2/03/02 Kakararniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz wish ther're as few as 10 things to hate about this movie! 2 stars
2/03/02 Natalie Stoncipher Frds pushed me to go even when I had diarrhea. Shit breaks were welcome relief ffom movie 1 stars
1/26/02 Sparky Polastri Much better than your average teenie-bopper movie 4 stars
1/06/02 FGJ180 Teen fluff, done right. 4 stars
11/03/01 Jim Amusing spin on Shakespeare, but some of those "kids" ain't teenagers! 4 stars
10/14/01 morgasm it was really sweet! 5 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix Funny and intelligent. 4 stars
9/07/01 hilary worth a look- awesome 4 stars
8/31/01 TLsmooth I can watch it over and over and over and over. I don't know why, I just can. 5 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson My girlfriend loved it. I stayed awake. 3 stars
7/22/01 Ishchenko Olga Just Great 5 stars
7/14/01 jesi i loved it 5 stars
6/17/01 Kelly Williamson AWESOME!!! best movie ever!!! 5 stars
6/17/01 sally pieper im stuck doing 2 assignments on it. this movie is totally crap the actors are shit. 1 stars
6/12/01 cinkcool Very Funny, Good Story. 5 stars
5/12/01 Chris Great adaptation of The Bard for modern teens! Excellent acting! 5 stars
4/28/01 X No complaints, not a classic but better than alot in the same genre 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good remake of "Taming of the Shrew." I enjoyed Stiles in this one. 4 stars
3/21/01 Rachel Savage it's great 5 stars
3/19/01 Orlina Boteva I love Stiles, she is great!!! 5 stars
3/12/01 katie This movie was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
3/01/01 carhart kid sucks ass 1 stars
2/17/01 Jake nice surprise! Ledger was cool 4 stars
2/16/01 andrew tam i luv claudia 5 stars
2/16/01 lawrence niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I found it to be funny and endearing. Heath Ledger: MARRY ME!!! 4 stars
2/13/01 LOOBER A sweet movie that's entertaining and fun. 4 stars
1/17/01 LeAnna Gallagher I loe this movie i watch it over and over again. 5 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl This is an entertaining movie I liked it, very funny. 4 stars
1/07/01 Emily cool movie 3 stars
12/30/00 Christine I think that Joseph Gordon-Levitt is hot!! 5 stars
12/23/00 Danielle Definitly worth watching plus soundtrak is great 5 stars
12/23/00 Carlos vote 5 stars
11/05/00 Kira G I love it! It's such a good pick-me-up film for rainy weekend, week after week. 5 stars
10/18/00 dan believe me, there are much better movies like this out there!!! 2 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Two very satisfied thumbs pointing up. 5 stars
9/19/00 Courtney It is a cool remake of the play 4 stars
8/27/00 Amy All the character development and humour that are so painfully lacking in the other recent 4 stars
8/21/00 Liz this is my favorite movie! Heath's accent is so sexy!! i luv him! 5 stars
7/12/00 Bender Entertaining teen comedy thats one of the better teen flicks of the last 10 years. 4 stars
5/31/00 natasha oddly enjoyable - good performances 4 stars
5/15/00 THING Great 5 stars
4/04/00 EMMA I LOVE THIS MOVE IS THE BEST MOVE I HAVE EVER SEEN!!! 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Better than "She's All That." Some surprisingly smart, tight, and hilarious lines. 4 stars
2/05/00 Katerina Kocurek I loved this movie. It reminds me of my life! 5 stars
1/28/00 Matthew Bartley A lot better than I expected 4 stars
1/10/00 Paul Great 4 stars
1/05/00 j funny 5 stars
10/31/99 ALANA A sweet love story for those of us with boyfriends that romantic is looking at flash cars. 5 stars
7/29/99 Dante It's all right , if your a dick head 1 stars
7/29/99 Lou (lou@law.com) i love heath ledger. the best movie i've ever seen. 5 stars
7/19/99 TOMB SUCK!! 1 stars
7/17/99 katie johnson this is the best movie scince titanic 5 stars
7/12/99 corinne the best movie ever 5 stars
7/10/99 Amanda For some reason, I love this movie. Stiles' preformance is wonderful. 5 stars
7/08/99 Duck Pretty good, though terribly predictable 4 stars
7/06/99 jeff larisa is hottttttttttt 5 stars
7/05/99 Tristynn I was shocked.. this movie is delightful...not bad at all for a teen flick..I recommend it. 4 stars
7/03/99 Daria Very witty, but I wish there were less Shakespeare references stuffed down my throat. 4 stars
7/02/99 Kirsty Good teenage film, great performance by Heath Ledger 4 stars
6/30/99 Munchkini-125 I think it was fantastic it had a hidden message for me. I can't wait to see it again. 5 stars
6/15/99 David It's fun, it's bitchy, and even if the title has nothing to do with Shakespeare, it's smart 4 stars
6/14/99 EmpresS This movie annoyed me...then again, i am easily annoyed... 3 stars
6/13/99 xandi witty - but hey it's predictable 4 stars
6/12/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! UN-Original,Boring & Stale.Tried too hard and still got nowhere. 2 stars
5/21/99 brentley I was dragged to this one, but it was better than I thought it would be. 3 stars
5/08/99 BraveFan If this is now considered a "good" teen film, I'm glad I'm not a teen... 2 stars
4/30/99 Goddess I LOVED IT!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/29/99 The Graduate Some funny moments, but often stale and predictable. I preferred the original. 3 stars
4/26/99 Mr Showbiz A teen version of The Taming Of The Shrew, that plays like a sitcom, albeit a funny one. 4 stars
4/25/99 Katie Better than I thought, but I wasn't expecting much. Heath Ledger is great! 4 stars
4/21/99 lucas jackson "ten things I hate about u" which is exactly how I'll start my review on this pile of shit! 1 stars
4/18/99 ladyace how can so many pretty people be made so unappealing? put them in ANOTHER bad teen flick! 2 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread Not as inventive as Clueless but a good try 4 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Look, its another teen fluff flick.. lord please save me... 2 stars
4/10/99 mara fun flick 4 stars
4/09/99 Daddy Rich Funny and very enjoyable. Kat is a fucking hottie! 4 stars
4/08/99 Ah Dooey Silly, but amusing. Great cast. 4 stars
4/08/99 becks a bit predictable, but cute! 4 stars
4/07/99 Geoffrey T. Spaulding Stupid movie for trendy little girls who shop at Claires and The Icing. 1 stars
4/06/99 Rachel LOVED THIS FLICK! LOVED IT! Despite the teen pin-ups, Stiles and Ledger were stellar! 5 stars
4/05/99 Malbert I was suprised by it, it was awesome 5 stars
4/05/99 Stephanie Funny, sweet, LTC rocks! Kinda predictable but it was fun. 4 stars
4/03/99 E uneven at times, the leads and a strong supporting cast ultimately carry the day. 3 stars
4/03/99 Kate It was ok. I did like watching the "bloopers" shown at the end. And the guys were cute. 4 stars
4/02/99 Lindsay it was cute! :) 4 stars
3/31/99 Adam Carey Kinda silly, but fun. And any movie with a musical number is great. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Mar-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jun-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast