More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.99

Awesome: 5.08%
Worth A Look: 30.51%
Average32.2%
Pretty Bad: 22.88%
Total Crap: 9.32%

10 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Entrapment
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Catherine Zeta-Jones has an attractive butt. That's for sure."
2 stars

I mention this only because it is the only recurring plot point in this silly and predicatable heist movie. It's not terrible, and if you're a huge Connery fan, it's certainly worth seeing. I just wonder about the integrity of an authentic Hollywood movie being completely (and silently) built around someone's tussie.

OK, if you own a TV then you've seen that scene. You know the one. It's when Catherine Zeta-Jones squirms her beautiful rear down onto the floor to avoid a laser alarm system. It's shown on the commercial, the preview and in the movie itself like 7 times. The challenge is this: Build a movie around it.

Good Points:

Sean Connery is still cool. Watching him try to play hide the salami with a girl who's my age is a little creepy though. As far as his character Mac is concerned, you just buy it. Hell, the guy has earned enough credit in my book. He's this world-class art thief. He's smooth and efficient and also quite smooth. He's Sean Connery.

The opening heist was damn cool and the last 20 minutes had some intense stuff, with people hanging from skyscrapers and explosions and gas bombs. You know, good stuff.

Catherine Zeta-Jones is pretty and she has a nice rear. She's given considerably less wooden performances before, so I'll take it easy on her. Plus, the script was not what you'd call "smart", so maybe it wasn't all her fault. That ass is all hers though.

Bad Points:

Why is Will Patton playing someone called Hector Cruz, yet he doesn't even seem to TRY an accent. He looks a little more tan than usual, so I guess that counts as "getting into character". He embarasses himself here, which makes him pretty entertaining actaully. Also Ving Rhames is totally underused as Connery's ally. I think he was in three scenes and his character just seemed to show up to deliver another ridiculous plot twist.

The middle 85 minutes made me yawn frequently. All that silly "thief training" reminded me of a lower-rent Point of No Return. I was bored. Same thing goes for anytime Catherine Zeta-Jones opened her mouth. I don't know why, but it was tough to consider her character intelligent when all she wears are bodysuits.

The ending is (let's be nice) somewhat ambiguous. You never really figure out for sure who was who and who screwed who over and why. Connery also uses the following line in the movie, twice: "I'm never late. If I'm late, that means I'm dead." Now, if you've ever seen even ONE movie in your whole life, you know what a lame-ass line that is. Entrapment is basically four characters bouncing off each other, occasionally glancing off Zeta-Jones' ass.

At least it comes out even: The good parts are pretty good, the lame parts are pretty damn slow. It loses a little because the movie never works as a whole. High-tech hardware and double-crossing thieves are everywhere, but it's not as much fun as it sounds.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1551&reviewer=128
originally posted: 12/17/99 20:00:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/13/14 efzbgty USA 4 stars
2/26/14 Madame de Merteuil Totally unbelievable but Sean Connery makes it work 4 stars
6/11/10 Dr Samual Johnson This is Sean Connery at his best. Zeta-Jone is as fine as wine. The plott is great. 5 stars
8/19/09 Jeff Wilder Mildly entertaining. But relies on dated contrivances and has no brain at all. 2 stars
11/28/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 3 stars
7/28/08 Divestre Could be better...but it's still in my collection. 5 stars
6/09/08 PAUL SHORTT A STAR DRIVEN, GLOBE-TROTTING EXERCISE IN FINELY CRAFTED ABSURDITY 3 stars
12/08/07 JT thought it was great purely because of CZJ's laser scenes :D 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Not necessarily memorable, but still a good viewing experience 4 stars
5/24/06 The Velcro Warlock Tedious to hokey interactions betwixt Connery and Zeta-Jones. 3 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands One of those good old heist flicks that satisfies the shit out of me. 4 stars
9/10/05 Indrid Cold Really not that bad; the climax is actually quite exciting, if ridiculous. 3 stars
8/13/05 ES Mr. Connery we need you for this part because you're younger than Catherine's real husband 1 stars
1/17/05 John Bale James Bond is past his useby date, but its not a bad action flick with some good stunts. 4 stars
11/04/04 John rather boring and far fetched and very little energy - Connery still worth his salt though 2 stars
12/29/03 John Bale Connery still cuts the mustard with lovely Zeta-J in this nonsense hi-tech heist movie 3 stars
4/13/03 Dr. Zinn Connery is cool as ever and Zeta-Jones is VERY HOT!! 4 stars
4/02/03 Jack Sommersby Bland and impersonally done. The two stars fail to click, and the action is stodgy. 1 stars
7/25/02 ALFABOY what a miserable mess 1 stars
5/16/02 The Velcro Warlock Tedious to hokey interactions betwixt Connery and Zeta-Jones. 3 stars
4/04/02 cat CZJ shows she has sexiness and substance in this high tech film. 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. One of those predictable, contemporary, the science-of-being-a-crook things--blah! 2 stars
1/08/02 The Man Unremarkable caper flick. I just watched Zeta Jones the whole time. 3 stars
12/09/01 Andrew Carden There Were Only 2 Good Things About It: Connery and Zeta Jones. 4 stars
10/06/01 Butterbean A long and empty film. It was a major disappointment 2 stars
8/29/01 Gary Godawful. Zeta-Jones looks good tho. 1 stars
8/17/01 Obi Wan Movie should have been called ENCRAPMENT or THIS CRAP MAN. Hope Sean took home good check 1 stars
8/12/01 R.W. Welch Mostly routine and unconvincing action pic, a few bright spots. 3 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth Catherine Shitty-Jones is fucking horrible in this film. 1 stars
6/13/01 J I won't comment on the "CZJ'S A" issue but over than that I agree with Clark & Hb. 4 stars
5/30/01 mr beltring boy es me mbofy uh?........wankova her ass 5 stars
5/28/01 Gilberto Catherine Zeta-Jones' ass is worth it all, period. 4 stars
11/20/00 Connoisseur a pretty good flick. 4 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin It sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks....... 1 stars
6/08/00 TERRIE SMITH Not much of a film; highly over-rated despite Connery and Zeta-Jones 3 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright A mismatched pair go robbing in this tedious mess.Don't let anybody "entrap" you to see it. 2 stars
3/03/00 Sally Hemmings trash 1 stars
2/29/00 JussMatt Mildly entertaining... loved CZJ's ass shots!! Just forgot one thing..where's the beef? 4 stars
1/07/00 Murray Castles More holes in the storythan you can count. Crap. 2 stars
8/26/99 Steven Zeta-Jones was hot, but the way she moved thru the lasers was stupid! 3 stars
8/15/99 Keith Connery is asleep at the wheel but Catherine is beautiful. You decide if that's enough. 4 stars
8/02/99 JimBob good acting,good plot good entertainment 4 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Title of this movie should have been: ENCRAPMENT! I forgive you Sean 2 stars
7/27/99 David Kindred I expected a lot more gadgets. Zeta-Jones ass rules. 3 stars
7/19/99 TOMB COOL AND FUN 5 stars
7/18/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! tries to be serious! Tries to be Bond! Silliest Ending!! 3 stars
7/16/99 BenIBM The 2nd worst movie this year! "Payback" was much worser!! 1 stars
7/07/99 Dax A fun way to kill an afternoon if you can overlook a few things that seem "too convenient" 4 stars
6/25/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne I weep for Sean Connery. What is James Bond doing making "b" films? 1 stars
6/23/99 Chuck D. Derivative, boring, silly and incomprehensible. Zeta Jones is the only saving grace. 2 stars
6/15/99 David Throwback to 70's style light adventure. It's an ok way to pass the time. 3 stars
6/04/99 Neurotikal Story was exciting at times, pretty lame overall though. Zeta-Jones barely compensates. 2 stars
6/01/99 Doug Paulsen Yea, whatever 3 stars
5/30/99 Murrieta Man Fun movie, good action, great photography, Zeta has great bod - but where's the boobs? 4 stars
5/23/99 Ami the Wonderbread Her ass is nice, but his is better 4 stars
5/22/99 GothamDK Interesting high-tech thriller. A movie that Wired magazine would make. CZJ at her best. 4 stars
5/10/99 Juan Carlos Rey Tasty flick. Connery is starting to look his age, though... 4 stars
5/01/99 Freyja As lovely as it is, Zeta's ass does not a good movie make. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jul-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Jon Amiel

Written by
  Ron Bass
  Michael Hertzberg

Cast
  Sean Connery
  Catherine Zeta-Jones
  Ving Rhames
  Maury Chaykin
  Will Patton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast