More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.98

Awesome: 5.13%
Worth A Look: 29.91%
Average32.48%
Pretty Bad: 23.08%
Total Crap: 9.4%

10 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Entrapment
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"More butt shots, less fawning over 90-year-old men."
2 stars

Plot holes abound in a caper movie where the "big heist" is overshadowed by the opening scene.

Gin Baker (Catherine Zeta-Jones) works as an insurance investigator. After a heist in which a valuable painting has been stolen, she plans with her boss Hector Cruz (Will Patton) to draw Mac (Sean Connery), an aging burglar believed to be responsible for the heist, out into the open. She'll become his confidant, they'll work together to swipe some big-ticket item, and then she'll nab him.

Mac lets her in slowly, establishing rules, like there being no romantic relationships. Fine by me. Zeta-Jones is 29. Connery's been acting since Jesus was a baby.

They set up one heist, avoiding lasers and swimming through underwater tunnels, Zeta-Jones arcing her bum and pointing her toes in a nifty cat burgler ballet at any chance that presents itself. They then move to an even bigger heist, billions in money, and all dependant on the nations of the world preparing for the Y2K bug.

Yep, computers play a role.

All the while, Mac and Gin slowly inch closer together (step away, Mr. Bond! She's mine!). This all happens under the watchful eye of Mac's other partner (or is he?) Thibadeaux (Ving Rhames). Mac finds out about Gin's nefarious plans. Or did he know all along?

I like Connery. I can see why women still like Connery. I like Zeta-Jones. Women can see why any man in their right mind would like Zeta-Jones. The heat is there (not as evident as Zeta-Jones and Banderas in "The Mask Of Zorro" from the summer of '98, though). They are actors, after all. But the sexual tension (and a kiss!) made me squirm. 29-year-olds shouldn't be swapping spit with 463-year-old men, unless it's grandpa. And still, even then...

The heist sequences don't have the suspense that you think they should have. The opening heist is the best, and the movie never really gets back to that level. We don't get a reasoning for the final heist (other than it'll be easier than we might think), we get plot twists that come out of left field. I won't mention that a character named Hector Cruz should probably have been played by a Hispanic actor, rather than Will Patton in a goofy mustache.

The movie looks good (director Jon Amiel recovers nicely from "The Man Who Knew Too Little"), but that's its problem. Too much attention is focused on adequately lighting Zeta-Jones' butt (not that I'm complaining about that, you understand), and not enough time is devoted to plot and character devlopment. You'd expect more from screenwriter Ron Bass ("My Best Friend's Wedding").

In the end, Zeta-Jones is the only thing worth mentioning. she's wonderful to look at, but she's not enough to make this movie good.

Did I mention she's hot?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1551&reviewer=7
originally posted: 05/06/99 01:44:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/26/14 Madame de Merteuil Totally unbelievable but Sean Connery makes it work 4 stars
6/11/10 Dr Samual Johnson This is Sean Connery at his best. Zeta-Jone is as fine as wine. The plott is great. 5 stars
8/19/09 Jeff Wilder Mildly entertaining. But relies on dated contrivances and has no brain at all. 2 stars
11/28/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 3 stars
7/28/08 Divestre Could be better...but it's still in my collection. 5 stars
6/09/08 PAUL SHORTT A STAR DRIVEN, GLOBE-TROTTING EXERCISE IN FINELY CRAFTED ABSURDITY 3 stars
12/08/07 JT thought it was great purely because of CZJ's laser scenes :D 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Not necessarily memorable, but still a good viewing experience 4 stars
5/24/06 The Velcro Warlock Tedious to hokey interactions betwixt Connery and Zeta-Jones. 3 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands One of those good old heist flicks that satisfies the shit out of me. 4 stars
9/10/05 Indrid Cold Really not that bad; the climax is actually quite exciting, if ridiculous. 3 stars
8/13/05 ES Mr. Connery we need you for this part because you're younger than Catherine's real husband 1 stars
1/17/05 John Bale James Bond is past his useby date, but its not a bad action flick with some good stunts. 4 stars
11/04/04 John rather boring and far fetched and very little energy - Connery still worth his salt though 2 stars
12/29/03 John Bale Connery still cuts the mustard with lovely Zeta-J in this nonsense hi-tech heist movie 3 stars
4/13/03 Dr. Zinn Connery is cool as ever and Zeta-Jones is VERY HOT!! 4 stars
4/02/03 Jack Sommersby Bland and impersonally done. The two stars fail to click, and the action is stodgy. 1 stars
7/25/02 ALFABOY what a miserable mess 1 stars
5/16/02 The Velcro Warlock Tedious to hokey interactions betwixt Connery and Zeta-Jones. 3 stars
4/04/02 cat CZJ shows she has sexiness and substance in this high tech film. 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. One of those predictable, contemporary, the science-of-being-a-crook things--blah! 2 stars
1/08/02 The Man Unremarkable caper flick. I just watched Zeta Jones the whole time. 3 stars
12/09/01 Andrew Carden There Were Only 2 Good Things About It: Connery and Zeta Jones. 4 stars
10/06/01 Butterbean A long and empty film. It was a major disappointment 2 stars
8/29/01 Gary Godawful. Zeta-Jones looks good tho. 1 stars
8/17/01 Obi Wan Movie should have been called ENCRAPMENT or THIS CRAP MAN. Hope Sean took home good check 1 stars
8/12/01 R.W. Welch Mostly routine and unconvincing action pic, a few bright spots. 3 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth Catherine Shitty-Jones is fucking horrible in this film. 1 stars
6/13/01 J I won't comment on the "CZJ'S A" issue but over than that I agree with Clark & Hb. 4 stars
5/30/01 mr beltring boy es me mbofy uh?........wankova her ass 5 stars
5/28/01 Gilberto Catherine Zeta-Jones' ass is worth it all, period. 4 stars
11/20/00 Connoisseur a pretty good flick. 4 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin It sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks, sucks....... 1 stars
6/08/00 TERRIE SMITH Not much of a film; highly over-rated despite Connery and Zeta-Jones 3 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright A mismatched pair go robbing in this tedious mess.Don't let anybody "entrap" you to see it. 2 stars
3/03/00 Sally Hemmings trash 1 stars
2/29/00 JussMatt Mildly entertaining... loved CZJ's ass shots!! Just forgot one thing..where's the beef? 4 stars
1/07/00 Murray Castles More holes in the storythan you can count. Crap. 2 stars
8/26/99 Steven Zeta-Jones was hot, but the way she moved thru the lasers was stupid! 3 stars
8/15/99 Keith Connery is asleep at the wheel but Catherine is beautiful. You decide if that's enough. 4 stars
8/02/99 JimBob good acting,good plot good entertainment 4 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Title of this movie should have been: ENCRAPMENT! I forgive you Sean 2 stars
7/27/99 David Kindred I expected a lot more gadgets. Zeta-Jones ass rules. 3 stars
7/19/99 TOMB COOL AND FUN 5 stars
7/18/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! tries to be serious! Tries to be Bond! Silliest Ending!! 3 stars
7/16/99 BenIBM The 2nd worst movie this year! "Payback" was much worser!! 1 stars
7/07/99 Dax A fun way to kill an afternoon if you can overlook a few things that seem "too convenient" 4 stars
6/25/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne I weep for Sean Connery. What is James Bond doing making "b" films? 1 stars
6/23/99 Chuck D. Derivative, boring, silly and incomprehensible. Zeta Jones is the only saving grace. 2 stars
6/15/99 David Throwback to 70's style light adventure. It's an ok way to pass the time. 3 stars
6/04/99 Neurotikal Story was exciting at times, pretty lame overall though. Zeta-Jones barely compensates. 2 stars
6/01/99 Doug Paulsen Yea, whatever 3 stars
5/30/99 Murrieta Man Fun movie, good action, great photography, Zeta has great bod - but where's the boobs? 4 stars
5/23/99 Ami the Wonderbread Her ass is nice, but his is better 4 stars
5/22/99 GothamDK Interesting high-tech thriller. A movie that Wired magazine would make. CZJ at her best. 4 stars
5/10/99 Juan Carlos Rey Tasty flick. Connery is starting to look his age, though... 4 stars
5/01/99 Freyja As lovely as it is, Zeta's ass does not a good movie make. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jul-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Jon Amiel

Written by
  Ron Bass
  Michael Hertzberg

Cast
  Sean Connery
  Catherine Zeta-Jones
  Ving Rhames
  Maury Chaykin
  Will Patton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast