More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.26

Awesome66.93%
Worth A Look: 15.42%
Average: 4.61%
Pretty Bad: 3.16%
Total Crap: 9.88%

26 reviews, 603 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fight Club (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Peaks early and goes limp."
3 stars

In "Fight Club," the self-consciously "daring" adaptation of Chuck Palahniuk's excellent cult novel, men assemble and pound one another in dank basements; they spit blood and teeth and then return for more next week. When this isn't enough for them, they wage war on our consumerist culture with media-friendly, attention-getting pranks that escalate into mass destruction.

I bought all this in the book, because Palahniuk's fevered first-person narration puts you inside the exhausted rage of powerless young men who are sick of it all. A movie, however, can be a delicate animal, and this one begins boldly and gradually dies.

What happened? The screenplay, by first-timer Jim Uhls, is pretty loyal to the novel; the Narrator, a nameless corporate drudge played by Edward Norton, delivers many of the book's best lines in sarcastic voice-over. But -- and here I must step very lightly in order to avoid major spoilers -- what worked on the page, especially the credibility-stretching plot twist, comes off labored on the screen. Readers of the book may sit there wondering how director David Fincher (Seven) will sustain the illusion from scene to scene. Newcomers, in turn, may wonder why many of the scenes are so stilted, with characters entering and exiting as in a screwball play. And when the surprise is sprung, nobody in the audience so much as gasps.

Fincher zeroes in on the dark heart of whatever material he's given, and in Fight Club his camera burrows around in modern anxiety like a cyberworm munching holes through web pages of narrative. The show-offy tone at the start -- whee, let the ride begin! -- provides some prickly fun for about the first twenty minutes. And when the sad-sack Narrator meets his future guru -- Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt), glorious Zen master of chaos -- the unstable interaction between Pitt (who's quite effective) and Norton (who's atypically dull here when he doesn't have Pitt to play off) prepares us for a new, stark kind of millennial buddy movie. Tyler and his new disciple start Fight Club, where men savage each other all night; they move in together and live cheerfully in squalor, like a couple of college freshmen.

But then, inevitably and sadly, Fight Club begins to lose steam. We watch the sweaty, half-naked men grapple in rabid ecstasies of blood and torn flesh, and it looks like nothing we'd want to try. We watch the three leads -- rounded out by Marla (Helena Bonham Carter, wasted here), a morbid dark flower who beds Tyler -- and they hardly seem like functioning persons. When Tyler's faceless fight-clubbers graduate into black-clad terrorists -- "space monkeys" -- making soap and nitroglycerin out of human fat, we wonder why nobody ever notices what's going on. The satirical metaphor of the book is flattened out, made literal, by the frame-by-frame realism of a movie; Fincher exhausts his tricks early on, and he poops out.

Chuck Palahniuk hasn't been mentioned much in the reviews of Fight Club, except occasionally to point out that he wrote the book it's based on. Thus, Fincher is getting the credit, as well as the scorn (in negative reviews), for the ideas presented in the movie. This, as usual, is the auteur theory in full bullshit mode. What Fincher does here is to film, sometimes quite skillfully, the passages that Jim Uhls has transferred more or less intact from Palahniuk. On that level -- watching the scene-by-scene dramatization of a book I admire -- I enjoyed much of the movie. It also needs to be said that this is generally miles above your standard Hollywood adaptation. Most directors and screenwriters might have left out Bob (Meat Loaf), a testicular-cancer survivor whose hormone therapy has endowed him with "bitch tits"; they might have left out the whole subplot dealing with the Narrator's addiction to attending support groups for illnesses he doesn't have. The movie has its moments of inspiration -- it's far from a dud. But it may also be yet another example of a book that was just fine as a book -- that didn't need to be made into a film.

Fincher wants Fight Club to be a transgressive, loony pop artifact on the level of A Clockwork Orange and Natural Born Killers; he wants to make, in Tyler's words, a beautiful and unique snowflake. Yet despite the spasmodic camera gags -- some of which are fun -- Fight Club feels less like the trailblazing cinematic critique it's meant to be, and more like a clever rock video. It doesn't help that Three Kings, with its guided tour of an infected bullet wound, stole Fincher's thunder. Fight Club has a veneer of stylistic radicalism, but when it comes to the moments of ultraviolence, nothing really challenges us. The explosions are just explosions; the punches are just punches. (We get guided tours of wastebaskets and refrigerators -- why? -- but no tours of the splintered teeth in a punched face.) Fincher also blows a nice visual running gag that Palahniuk's book lobbed right into his lap. Earlier, crying into Bob's bosom, the Narrator leaves a wet impression of his tear-soaked face on Bob's shirt. Later, the Narrator gets his face slammed into the cement floor during Fight Club. In the book, his face leaves a mask of blood on the floor similar to the mask of tears on the shirt -- a flat reflection of his face in extremis. In the movie, it's just a splatter of blood. The whole movie is essentially just a splatter of blood, with surprisingly little resonance -- it's just spew and spurt all the way down, all ejaculation and no penetration, like a porno loop. This is not a beautiful and unique snowflake.

Who is Tyler Durden? The casting of golden boy Brad Pitt ("I look the way you want to look," Tyler rants, "I fuck the way you want to fuck") as a sort of ubermensch, contrasted with Norton's just plain mensch, is a pretty decent joke. What we see on the screen is a hipster rebel, a goateed Mephisto orchestrating terror and spouting Palahniuk's juiciest lines slamming the culture. He's unavoidably attractive, if not quite a role model, and Pitt gives the movie a slight tremble of subversiveness, like a pumped-up Jeffrey Goines who's been reading Nietzsche and Zen Buddhism. By movie's end, after his true nature is revealed, Tyler is just as unavoidably diminished. We then have to watch the hapless Narrator race around trying to undo everything Tyler has set in motion, the dreary Marla (who was, I admit, just as dreary in the book) fades from view, and the movie begins to sputter into a nosedive. The final scenes, which try to have it both ways and lack the chill of Palahniuk's original ending, are borderline embarrassing.

Certain images, certain surrealistically funny bits of business, occasionally made me think "I have to buy this on DVD," which is in hilarious opposition to the anti-consumerist message the movie is selling. Reading the book, I wasn't thinking about DVDs. Palahniuk made you ponder the lost masculinity of a generation, the ease with which a charismatic brute like Tyler can assemble disgruntled men and unite them in chaos. The book is a modern horror story about how populist fascism can flourish here, and about why this is the perfect time for it. (The detail of soap made of human fat is no accident.) The movie, unfortunately, is a stylish blank, a countercultural advertisement just as slick as the ads it claims to disdain.

The last reel, which departs from the book and gives us movie-ish thrills we've seen a hundred times before, is about as saddening a commentary on Hollywood as any I've witnessed. What's even sadder is that those involved with "Fight Club" think they've made something scathing and radical, and that some viewers might agree with them.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1552&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/27/06 14:33:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/31/14 rvzdthdobqu USA 4 stars
7/23/14 fdfggrk USA 5 stars
7/07/14 ieondrrcnd USA 5 stars
12/01/13 Timothy Welsh Norton knocked it out of the park in this one 5 stars
11/28/13 Amy Really liked it. So many truths in this movie. 4 stars
10/31/13 Seth DeRoule Ed Norton's performance is amazing in this. 5 stars
10/31/13 Sam Always love reading your reviews! 5 stars
10/23/12 Roshawn Rochester This movie is one of those movies that gets guys jacked up! 5 stars
10/01/12 scott maxwell a really good movie 4 stars
9/17/12 VLTampa Another favorite. Liked so much I read the book. Some great llines/quotes. 5 stars
5/28/12 Stefani K Love this movie! 5 stars
2/16/12 stanley welles cool, mind-boggling amazing work 5 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC The 6th Sense on steroids... sorta! 4 stars
10/14/11 ashley rexrode one of my all time favorites 5 stars
9/05/11 Scot DeCristofaro excellent story…solid acting 4 stars
8/10/11 WENDY Brilliant! Edward norton and Brad Pitt are amazing 5 stars
3/15/11 Annabel Must say, i loved this movie, thought it was ingenious and gritty... until the last 10 mins 4 stars
10/20/10 Benchwarmer Way over-rated. Thank goodness David Fincher matured as a filmaker after this garbage! 2 stars
9/13/10 David Gresh Best Brad Pitt movie 5 stars
7/24/10 jack i saw this movie 6 times every time i see it it's different in a way but fucking love it 5 stars
7/16/10 jour AMAZING FILM!!! 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name The first half is clever and thrilling, but it falls apart in the second act. 3 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT A MESS OF A FILM, WITH POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS IDEAS HANDLED IN A WINKING, CYNICAL MANNER 2 stars
11/27/09 Micah One of my favorites 5 stars
11/16/09 Josh Good film, ending was a bit disappointing honestly 4 stars
11/04/09 Kurtis An amazing film with an amazing cast. Great ending. I'd watch it over and over! 5 stars
10/18/09 Chad Dillon Cooper A heck of a movie, with a surprise twist. 5 stars
8/20/09 Jeff Wilder The 90s answer to Clockwork Orange. 5 stars
8/07/09 TigerSlap Made by an ignorant f*ck, who has NO idea how devastating real-life violence is... 1 stars
8/06/09 Simon See Gonslaves' review. Don't sell yourself short and deem this Truth,it's just a fight club 3 stars
7/11/09 Larry H. An amazing films based on an incredible book, directed by David Fincher in top form. 5 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* CRAZY movie. Very enjoyable to watch! 5 stars
6/18/09 Tyler Sciortino An excellent film about Gen X alienation. Too bad idiots have turned Durden into a hero. 4 stars
3/12/09 brain i am not macho and i love this movie.....i do suggest the book though 5 stars
2/18/09 Sally Sundeen This is a must see movie for everyone! I think it is one of the best movies ever! 5 stars
1/23/09 o great 5 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. my sister loves this movie so i'm giving it five stars for her. :] 5 stars
1/04/09 Josh Dont like/understand movie? your what its mocking. best book/movie ever. Palaniuk=Genius 5 stars
1/01/09 Skjusto I've seen this movie over 100 times. The message it conveys gets stronger everytime. 5 stars
11/26/08 Leo T wow, best anarchist movie ever ! 5 stars
10/31/08 tiffany pettey this movie was wacky and twisted but cool as f%*@$ 5 stars
10/03/08 Anthony E Amazing. Amped, thought provoking and smart. I am jack's favorite film. (Scene Flash). 5 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Great Action!! 5 stars
7/23/08 David Pretty damn good movie 4 stars
6/25/08 Antonius Definitely didnt loseany steam at the end... the steam kept coming 5 stars
5/14/08 CD so gay 1 stars
4/25/08 Dennis Frierson More than the title - good story with a message 4 stars
4/02/08 Hate that's my philosophy ... 5 stars
3/31/08 kelsey lee wonderful adaptation of a book. i loved it! 5 stars
3/28/08 Darnell This movie is the best movie since sliced bread. Pitt and Norton kill it, no doubt. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Sorry, I didn't get it 3 stars
12/03/07 SamanthaP this moive is soooo badasssss! and i looove helena bonham carter!!! 5 stars
11/17/07 Paul Crutchfield Very interesting movie, although seeing it once is enough 4 stars
10/29/07 DaLinda M The ONLY thing good about this movie was Brad - Bad, Bad, Bad!!! 1 stars
9/04/07 JR a movie for the anarchist in you 2 stars
8/30/07 Rick James top 5 best movies... totally fucks wit ur sense of reality and how u felt bout society... 5 stars
8/23/07 Tyler Sciortino A fine movie with brilliant technical aspects, but not as clever as it thinks it is. 4 stars
8/05/07 Kelly Whitekiller If you have not seen this movie rent it now. It was not what I expected at all for all. 5 stars
7/08/07 Russ Gladchenko Kept me interested throughout the whole movie, but I didn't like the ending. 4 stars
6/12/07 al smith wow this film is amazing and a complete mind fuck.complete genius 5 stars
5/15/07 Tracey Chambers pretty good. love norton. 4 stars
5/02/07 Vinc I "got it." I got that it sucked. 1 stars
4/29/07 Kathleen Devine Bad Ass Movie - Pitt & Norton are hawt! 5 stars
4/06/07 Zanne Hilarious, in-your-face satire. Blackest of black comedies. Fabulous! 5 stars
4/03/07 lisa has so many messages, you need to watch it again and again 5 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold No words. And there's a Pixies song at the end! 5 stars
3/20/07 dude I was disappointed 3 stars
3/09/07 johnnyfog Pretty damn weird, but interesting. Good performances too 4 stars
2/18/07 Sara great movie if you like blood 4 stars
1/22/07 jeannie karlsen This movie is GREAT, aside from Brad Pitt who is over rated as an actor. Ed is a genious! 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini brilliant, frightening 5 stars
11/03/06 chaya prathap reddy kandati This movie is one of hte best every, basically entails thing subtle but forceful 5 stars
10/25/06 Edie One of the best movies! 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies O.K, but rather overrated 3 stars
9/22/06 Pritchett Totally and completely overrated...but it has its moments. 3 stars
9/21/06 Matt people who hate this movie are either losers or they just dont get it. 5 stars
9/21/06 Matt the first time I ever saw this movie was the first time i ever did mushrooms. perfect fit. 5 stars
9/20/06 Sarah M. This movie just drags you in deeper every time! It'l mess with your head! 5 stars
9/14/06 Ebbee the beastliest movie ever.so great.ending was just great 5 stars
8/18/06 Kerry Best movie eva 5 stars
8/14/06 Sharon this movie was so awsome there were parts that made me want to cry but thats good. I loveit 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist My gut says its good, afterall, any film w/ Meat Loaf is good.Why?cuz MEATLOAF IS GOD!!!! 5 stars
8/01/06 Monday Morning Wish all movies could be this creative and well-made; credit to book's author, especially. 5 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G One of the best films made in the past 15 years, great plot, great acting, i like ham. 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen I couldn't get this movie of my mind for 3 days, it was that powerful! 5 stars
6/16/06 Annie It 5 stars
5/05/06 dionwr One of the best of the last 10 years 5 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A she hasn't been fucked like that since she was a schoolgirl. I love HBC. 5 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius Starring Meat Loaf's manboobs! 5 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH deezen fox & furst 5 stars
4/06/06 Mary Ang great movie totally loved it 5 stars
4/02/06 Marion W. outstanding acting, clever, fun, wild, wonderful, colorful, right on, creative, lovely 5 stars
3/23/06 giles flowitt-hill best movie ever !!! 5 stars
3/21/06 kerry this movie sucks ass 1 stars
3/18/06 jcjs such a good movie...fun, clever, genius, entertaining, right Brad Ed Helena Bonham Carter, 5 stars
2/03/06 Praveen CONSUMER REALISM UNLEASHED 5 stars
1/23/06 Noodle Awful garbage. Macho bullshit for idiots. 1 stars
1/21/06 ronald most pile of crap i ever watched.Have you ever tried to punch a guy and not feel pain. 1 stars
1/21/06 ChappyX Should have been called SKINHEADS: THE MOVIE 1 stars
1/19/06 kat Stylish and well-made, but...it kinda promotes mob mentality. 1 stars
1/18/06 ronald this movie is funny and childish yet it asks us viewers to take it seriously 1 stars
1/11/06 Blobby A movie for homos disguised as a movie about heteros... 1 stars
1/11/06 Yabbo People who think this is a "smart" film have never actually seen one. 1 stars
1/10/06 Nekro A group of pussyboys punch each other because they don't like they're life...yawn. 1 stars
1/09/06 lapis Replace the fights with hardcore man-to-man knob-jobs and you get the movie's point. 1 stars
1/09/06 Kali Yeah, no kidding...such a whiny bunch! "We have no war!" Well, then, shoot yourselves... 1 stars
1/08/06 lumpy Wah! Wah! Wah! We don't have a purpose as men!! Bunch of fucking crybaby pussies!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/08/06 CharlieM This commentary and meditation on inactive artisans and their craft reaches its apex of ids 1 stars
1/06/06 SlappytheFrog Pitt's character is easily one of the most annoying in film history. 1 stars
1/06/06 CrowTRobot Yeah, you have to be really smart to appreciate sweaty guys beating on each other. 1 stars
1/04/06 me gay as it's author 1 stars
1/03/06 Wiseman You have to have a certain level of intellegence to like this one, its an incredible film! 5 stars
1/01/06 harry Yeah this movie sucked,looks cool but has nothing to say really 1 stars
1/01/06 Jasper A movie for dorky, pissed-off honkies (who just might be in the closet). 1 stars
12/27/05 Aniron Amazing Norton, the Story and the Director 5 stars
12/19/05 Bree Very close to the book. Really excellent acting and just...AWESOME! 5 stars
12/12/05 gray so fucking overrated 1 stars
12/01/05 Oscar Pineda One of the best films ever 5 stars
11/22/05 Punker Tries too hard to be "cool" and "edgy" - comes across as force and false. 1 stars
11/21/05 skippy it had its moments, but not nearly enough of them...too much machismo bullshit, too. 1 stars
11/21/05 Kibble Somehow I just can't buy Brad Pitt spouting pseudo intellectual rhetoric. 1 stars
11/20/05 YouLuvPoop Apes love this movie. Example: cooler, knuckle-dragging extraordinaire!!! 1 stars
11/07/05 pippa Pretty good after a 2nd time viewing it 4 stars
10/28/05 cooler FUCK YOU mung and raymero.THIS MOVIE KICKED FUCKING ASS 5 stars
10/20/05 PAG Great movie. One of the most underrated in the last 10 years. 5 stars
10/09/05 alex nimic 3 stars
9/19/05 mung Really divided the audience...into retards and people who hated it. 1 stars
9/16/05 drippy It pissed me off because it had good moments, but just as many bad ones. Too bad... 3 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Amazingly stunted in its, um, insights and ideas. Adolescent rot. 1 stars
9/13/05 Gregory Pakis Some amazing stuff, but doesn't finish off 5 stars
9/08/05 paki_munda this was a gyp-i just didn't buy it. 2 stars
9/07/05 Big Phil I am Jack's appreciation of truly original filmmaking 5 stars
9/05/05 JubJub See????? Peepull hoo lick dis muvy kan bearlee speek. 1 stars
9/03/05 Craven "What do you want to do with your life?" I don't want to watch this supergay movie!!!! 1 stars
9/02/05 Mailk If only it could have kept up as great as it started...but it went to shit. 1 stars
9/02/05 Edward This is the mainstream's idea of deep cinema 1 stars
9/01/05 unlimited if you like this, I'm sorry, but you are gay...come to grips with that fact. 1 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez Much ado about nothing...literally. 1 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane Great-looking and tries REALLY HARD to be smart and important...but it isn't. 1 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny A dumb movie for dumb people who like dumb things, but think they're geniuses. Sad... 1 stars
8/29/05 Eden Really divided the audience 5 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw I guess what says it all is that everyone I know who likes this is a total asshole. 1 stars
8/28/05 hicks I LOVE THIS MOVIE BECAUSE PEOPLE GETTING HIT IZ COOL, MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/27/05 Joker A great first 20 minutes...and then..well...the rest... 1 stars
8/26/05 cam-ron Brad Pitt talking about the things you own, owning you??? Seriously??????????????????????? 1 stars
8/26/05 Termite For the average movie-goer: Deep. For anyone who's ever picked up a book: passé. 1 stars
8/25/05 Copper A movie about sweaty guys living with other sweaty guys...no wonder you all loved it. 1 stars
8/24/05 salamone The book was way better, for your information. 1 stars
8/22/05 MC Serch A movie that frequently mentions the loss of one's balls...how ironic. 1 stars
8/22/05 Chumscrubber I already saw CLOCKWORK ORANGE, TRAINSPOTTING, SUTURE, and ROMPER STOMPER...'dont need this 1 stars
8/20/05 marv "Sometimes I wonder if it's another woman we need." This movie is SUPERGAY for supergays. 1 stars
8/20/05 Cardigan Good enough to see one time, but that's about it. 3 stars
8/19/05 Gaston Overpraised by most, underpraised by others...it was merely OK... 3 stars
8/19/05 JiJi Sure, it's a cult film, but that cult is big, dumb, macho-asshole men who likey fights. 1 stars
8/18/05 stumblebug A movie for insecure men who are homophobic and like to beat their chests 1 stars
8/17/05 JeunetRocks Some interesting ideas and excellent visuals that just don't make an acceptable whole. 1 stars
8/16/05 jacob This movie is adored by a lot of jock asswipes. I think that says it all. 1 stars
8/15/05 calli This is the kind of movie meatheads misconstrue as being "smart." 1 stars
8/14/05 Mr. Teal It's a movie, people, not a lesson on how to live your life. So easily persuaded you are. 1 stars
8/14/05 President Evil What these idiots don't get is this movie is MAKING FUN of them! Hahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/12/05 ES Couldn't have cared less= can't believe Norton was walking this dog 2 stars
7/29/05 Moctezuma It may confuse you, but you'll love it 5 stars
7/27/05 CJ an excellent adaptation from the book 5 stars
7/16/05 TheViper Macho posturing, sure to be loved by wannabes. 3 stars
6/28/05 ben it is brilliant, sheer BRILLIANCE/`` 5 stars
6/14/05 K. Sear Easily in my top ten. 5 stars
5/24/05 it A Awesome 5 stars
5/21/05 HL great movie 5 stars
5/18/05 Doug McC complete opposite of usual Hollywood garbage 5 stars
5/09/05 Eric Ray Fight Club is now my favorite movie. To me, it's perfect! 5 stars
5/05/05 Cindy Lovell Fantastic! One of the best movies I've ever seen 5 stars
4/27/05 lio xlent 5 stars
4/23/05 H Lin terrific 5 stars
4/22/05 pym very good, incredibly intense, easily misinterpreted, 5 stars
4/15/05 Casshern 1 of the best movies ever...ever..EVER 5 stars
4/04/05 indrid cold Fincher wrongly thinks he has something deep to say, but still extremely entertaining. 5 stars
3/22/05 craig varney great drama and screenplay 4 stars
3/21/05 kleinfeld, scott one of the best movies ever, roger ebert is out to lunch on this one 5 stars
3/21/05 cinkcool Great. 5 stars
3/17/05 Naughty Devil Man It's a $65 million dollar movie about anti-consumerism. Way to go, guys. 3 stars
3/17/05 Colleen Goldrick this is a guys movie, too much for me 2 stars
3/12/05 emraH GOOD 5 stars
2/20/05 craig varney rule one of fight club, don't watch fight club 1 stars
2/18/05 Margot Copeland One of my Faves 5 stars
2/18/05 Colleen Goldrick GORY a guy flick 1 stars
2/08/05 dema for those who understand passion for rage 4 stars
2/07/05 Ryan In your face,dark humour. 5 stars
2/02/05 Weeez I appreciate plot twists, and unexpected turns in movies.. this has that. plus action!! 5 stars
1/16/05 Mr. Durden Fincher at his best, one of THE GREATEST movies ever made. 5 stars
12/28/04 efrain i loved it. 4 stars
12/25/04 Charlene Javier Fincher is a god! 5 stars
12/11/04 Lucas Stensland Shallow and awkward. Its a chick flick for dicks. 1 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain One of the great plot twists and thought provoking stories is here... 5 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul 2 1/2 Hours of your life you will never get back. One of the worst I've seen in a long time 1 stars
12/05/04 steven shaffley this movie is the bomb diggity 5 stars
11/15/04 chaya prathap reddy kandati it can be in a sentence or so but in short is damn good 5 stars
11/02/04 Deviant this movie brought out the evil twin in me (im gemini) 5 stars
10/23/04 ODH the first rule of Fight Club is you do not talk about Fight Club!!! 5 stars
10/22/04 mani nothing to say, it's one of the greatest movie ever 5 stars
10/18/04 chaya prathap reddy kandati it is just awesome 5 stars
10/15/04 simba rocks 5 stars
10/05/04 Desperado Great movie, visually stunning, great acting and maybe the best plot twist i have ever seen 5 stars
10/04/04 Carbineo Absolutey fantastic! 5 stars
9/13/04 Naka Riveting, imaginative, and utterly engrossing look at the modern everyman's psyche. 5 stars
9/09/04 R.W. Welch Eventually goes over the edge of absurdity but intriguing most of the way. Pitt on the mark 4 stars
9/01/04 A upton interesting in the begining,,,downhill the rest of the way. 2 stars
8/16/04 Peter James Those wondeing what the flashes are it's...Brad Pitt...developing in Edward Norton's mind 5 stars
8/15/04 Monster W. Kung Best movie since the 70s, and one of the best of all time. 5 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G this movie is sick 5 stars
7/25/04 Rebecca Cottrell Probably not everyones idea of a fun movie but it was interesting with a great twist 4 stars
7/21/04 Patjng just great 5 stars
7/14/04 Samurai Z Insanely well done!!! 5 stars
7/04/04 Alexa I loved this movie. Nice twist at the end. Its amazing. 5 stars
7/03/04 Piper Don't think it's about fighting. Well worth seeing for all film fans. 5 stars
6/14/04 MyGreenBed Typically (for Fincher) a delight to look at, but is more for socio-political 101 teens. 3 stars
6/06/04 joshua baxter The only film i can watch over and over and over and over an.... 5 stars
5/31/04 Troy Kuprash Weird, But Good 4 stars
5/25/04 Scarface Absolutely Awesome! 5 stars
5/15/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Just didn't do it for me 3 stars
5/11/04 BOBBY FISHER how is a film aclaimed as this, SUPRISINGLY good, any way great film, different 5 stars
5/09/04 TonyMontana boring 1 stars
5/07/04 Ross Surprisingly good. 4 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot i agree that its over-acclaimed but i love it cos its different. 5 stars
5/03/04 Jim It's a film for the knuckle draggers. 1 stars
4/24/04 star people hold it much too high. it's good, but not outstanding 4 stars
4/11/04 cinkcool Great Flick 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Surprisingly less satisfying with 2 further viewings, left a more bitter after taste. 2 stars
3/27/04 Darlene Wright I hated this movie. 1 stars
3/19/04 ICLimpBizkit Best Movie Ever!! 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. If only their was... "FIGHT CLUB 2: Tyler's Back"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/01/04 Michelle What can you say? Hot guys beating the shit out of eachother? YUMMY! 5 stars
2/25/04 Tobes Overrated though still entertaining 3 stars
2/22/04 Clay Rains My kind of movie, original, surprising, with great dialog of Pulp Fiction! 5 stars
2/13/04 Dr.Lecter So bizarre, not sure if I liked it or not 3 stars
2/04/04 john not nearly as clever as it claims to be - found it rather dull 2 stars
2/02/04 Rocko KICKS ASS 1 stars
1/25/04 KTB A dark film, That had a GREAT Story board and Script! Loved it! 5 stars
1/19/04 chetan KIRTANE SIMPLY THE BEST 5 stars
1/13/04 latch_pen this movie ruled, and if you think otherwise you're wrong... 5 stars
1/04/04 Mark Awsome. 5 stars
12/22/03 Metal Man Very Poor Story and Script 1 stars
12/11/03 Zondi Ronnie Thinking provoked and expectations raised 5 stars
12/03/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Brilliantly made & super-deep. Pitt & Norton are superlative. 5 stars
12/01/03 Jesselyn It's Marlon Brando's The Wild One for the new generation. 5 stars
11/27/03 James Wood i like it when edward norton pounds that dudes face into a bloody toothless mess its soreal 5 stars
11/24/03 Nicole Interesting concept - great film! 5 stars
10/21/03 shawn awesome 5 stars
10/20/03 Lesterwink23 Well done and very thought provoking, but not for all tastes. 5 stars
10/14/03 Jasper The Imp Yep, this one fu*ks with you and spits you out, all mangled and shaken and lovin' it 5 stars
10/01/03 yui very gd theme 5 stars
9/29/03 Eloise i kinda figured the plot from the begining, but felt compelled to watch anyway. 4 stars
9/28/03 Steve This is my favorite movie of all time. (Sadly, the EFC review misses the point.) 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Great Movie!!! has alot of twists 5 stars
9/17/03 cinkcool great 5 stars
9/13/03 dam coool as hell 5 stars
9/09/03 Manny Bothans This Chef ADogg character is a real piece of shit 5 stars
8/19/03 AD overated 3 stars
8/14/03 Jeannie Karlsen This movie is GREAT, aside from Brad Pitt who is over rated as an actor. Ed is a genious! 5 stars
8/13/03 It's just me Very twisted movie...I love it. It's pure genious! 5 stars
8/01/03 Boat fanfuckingstastic 5 stars
7/28/03 Boomer Wow...my new favorite movie ....um after The Crow!! Tough one to call.... 5 stars
7/25/03 doug cool 5 stars
7/22/03 James nontypical hollywood movie 5 stars
7/17/03 Not the way It takes the concept way too far into borderline criminal 1 stars
7/14/03 Peter Seeback My favourite movie to come out of the 90's. Satire at its best 5 stars
7/12/03 Indrid Cold Nothing that hasn't been said before, but highly entertaining. Brad Pitt is awesome! 4 stars
7/06/03 john_cord The best movie. Evaire. 5 stars
6/20/03 Sammy great plot twists 5 stars
6/17/03 snowconehead Slide. 4 stars
6/09/03 matt felker awesome movie 5 stars
5/27/03 JoeSco i know i'm dumb but not as good as the hype though Norton is great 4 stars
5/23/03 Johnny Cord The best movie ever made. 5 stars
5/23/03 zeitgeist For those of us who get it, a masterpiece 5 stars
5/15/03 joshx42 One of the rare films I can watch over and over again. A true masterpiece. 5 stars
5/13/03 scottyrobotty this movie divides people. people who get it and people who don't like the violence/plot. 5 stars
5/04/03 George Jung One of the funniest fucking films I have ever fucking seen. A true gem. 5 stars
5/02/03 ALex Jones I love April Mears as much as I love this film 5 stars
4/30/03 OMG I <3 teh cawk. 5 stars
4/07/03 rue the whirl eat me raw, katsat 5 stars
3/15/03 mauricio ribera awesome 5 stars
3/05/03 jack b nimble greatest non star wars movie i have ever seen 5 stars
3/05/03 DMF Helluva movie. And HBC may be perfect. <mmm> 5 stars
2/23/03 NoMargin I knew how it was supposed to end and was still in awe. 5 stars
2/06/03 123 psycho ! 5 stars
1/28/03 Sean Page Best Movie EVER. 5 stars
1/21/03 LessThanColleen Amazing. If you don't like it then GET OUT YOU TOURIST I NEED THIS!! lol 5 stars
1/12/03 WestcoastPunk Great Fuckin movie in every aspect. But it was no near the book! 5 stars
1/10/03 Mitsaso Very original 5 stars
1/06/03 Monster W. Kung IP Freely, your mother's vagina was so big I walked out. 5 stars
12/27/02 Jonahog Thanks, helped a lot to help me understand fully. It F-Kin Rocks! 5 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon Better than "Waterworld". And I LOVED "Waterworld". So KMA. 5 stars
12/13/02 IP Freely This movie was so bad I walked out! 1 star is too good for this load of crap! 1 stars
12/07/02 thejames great movie 5 stars
12/03/02 Matt suprisingly brilliant. too bad about that pickup truck commercial 5 stars
11/16/02 selin absolutely perfect! 5 stars
11/05/02 Mike Walsh Everyone who said it sucked can eat my ass 5 stars
11/05/02 Michael Buehler An utter anomaly... Something that didn't suck slipped through cracks... 5 stars
10/20/02 Paul Best movie ever 5 stars
10/07/02 Celestialalyce Ok, I loved this movie, how could someone not? I didn't think that a psychology class was n 5 stars
10/05/02 Film Dude Well, maybe thats because youre a fucking idiot. only part i dont get is why it didnt kill 5 stars
9/26/02 Zach the movie makes no sense,sadly i was expected something great from what everyone says 1 stars
9/24/02 Nick Ewing Im generation y and the movie is badass, whoever wrote this review is a dumbass 5 stars
9/13/02 Jon Brooding and thought provoking 5 stars
9/04/02 Joe Zappa Amazingly well-made. Brad Pitt, still getting all the good roles, is my favorite bad guy! 5 stars
8/27/02 dan its a gem !! 5 stars
8/22/02 MaIniYaK Fight Club is without a doubt the most dangerous movie ever made! 5 stars
8/14/02 Interrog8 A great break-away from the ordinary. An instant classic. 5 stars
8/12/02 Michael Carruthers Fuckin great, and thats the bottom line! 5 stars
8/09/02 Monster W. Kung "It's", not "ITS", "masterpiece", not "MASTERPICE", "overrated", not "OVERATED". Ignorant. 5 stars
8/07/02 Obi Wan A must have in your DVD Collection flick, Ed Norton & Mr. Pitt @ their best!!! 5 stars
7/29/02 maximal01 Great movie: not nearly as "controversial" as uptight wads make it out to be... SEE IT!! 5 stars
7/25/02 The Truth Only flaw is that it ended a bit too dark and depressing but it is still a masterpiece 5 stars
7/23/02 Bueller This movie is still tripping me out, long after I first saw it. Phenomenal filmmaking! 5 stars
7/23/02 Monique Great movie! "I haven't been f*cked like that since grade school" 5 stars
7/18/02 Cris Abisale Idiots don't understand it.Don't be an idiot.One of the best endings to a fmovie ever. 5 stars
6/19/02 Sentence Deconstructor Candace and Warlock, go watch Scooby-Doo. Maybe you'll 'get' that (MAYBE). 5 stars
6/19/02 Monster W. Kung If you think this sucks, you're probably a retard. 5 stars
5/31/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi the first rule about fight club, u do NOT talk about fight club, the 2nd rule about fight.. 5 stars
5/27/02 Nicole Awesome....shocks you in so many ways 5 stars
5/16/02 Jesus Brilliant 5 stars
5/16/02 Gerox Hell yes. 5 stars
5/14/02 REZA SEX 5 stars
4/22/02 Film Dude Whoa. 5 stars
4/18/02 Movie Expert It is a dark comedy masterpiece that is brilliantly directed and scripted 5 stars
4/14/02 hazel de pointe du lac i liked the film alot 5 stars
4/13/02 oldgoatmon better than any hype youll hear. Just watch it and dont try to predict. 5 stars
3/26/02 betty young awesome. best movie eva. keeps you guessing 5 stars
3/23/02 Marco ecduardo Casillas This movie change my life, it changes the way i see the life and i think is the best movie 4 stars
3/21/02 Sahdow Its a fucking tripped out film 5 stars
3/16/02 Slick Makes you just say "Oh Shite!" 5 stars
3/10/02 Sam Walker Really good - my favourite of all time! 10/10 5 stars
3/01/02 Chowie The first rule about fight club is..you do not talk about fight club! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee One of the most daring and entertaining films in ages. 5 stars
2/26/02 Butterbean They should have killed that annoying bitch in the end, otherwise, it's an awesome movie 5 stars
2/23/02 Shrike Open your mind... 5 stars
2/23/02 Scarecrow Some people just didn't get it, I, on the other hand, did, and was freaked out. 5 stars
2/17/02 Devil Boy B Changed my life forever....plus the best DVD material around...Fight Club is: 5 stars
2/16/02 Danielle Ophelia I could wax poetic for a while, but you'll just have to settle for... 5 stars
1/23/02 Geoff Brown FUCKIN AMAZING! 5 stars
1/22/02 Jack Fucking greate 5 stars
1/20/02 Steve This has to be the greatest film of the last ten years. 5 stars
1/18/02 John Says "The world isn't beautiful, as many people think, but that isn't the worst can happen" 5 stars
1/17/02 Flick Chick excellent plot - surprising twists...great acting, and we get to look at Brad. 5 stars
1/13/02 Chip Blessinger One of my favorites 5 stars
1/09/02 Mr. Hat This movie is awesome. You blow dogs for quarters if you don't like this movie. 4 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Blew a hole in my head the size of JonBenet's fist - My favorite movie PERIOD! 5 stars
1/06/02 Cheese Disturbing, but thought-provoking and awesome at the same time. Edward Norton rocks. 5 stars
1/05/02 Magnum Craphole Excellent insane movie. The visuals are great and the script inspired. 5 stars
1/03/02 Scream-Mania The plot is GREAT 5 stars
1/02/02 Katre Edward Norton is the finest actor of my generation 5 stars
12/30/01 sarafina i really love your peaches wanna shake your tree 5 stars
12/28/01 paul hopefully this movie will help shed the brad pitt is a hottie who can't act rumour 5 stars
12/25/01 Claudio Lacayo actioned pack-sizzling drama it gots both of my f'n thumbs up! 5 stars
12/20/01 Mia At first i thought this was a guy's movie, because a couple guys reccommended it to me.... 5 stars
12/16/01 Azaar The most fucked up movie I've ever seen, and by far the best as well! 5 stars
12/15/01 Ian Barr Brad Pitt is soooo HOT! Actually, the film has a little mor egoing for it than that, girls. 5 stars
12/15/01 CKC Brad Pitt is so hot! 5 stars
12/15/01 LiL ToPS GiRL kicks so much ass!! Brad Pitt is a hottie! He sucks at acting unless he plays a crazy persn 5 stars
12/14/01 Abbie I like it better then some Bonds 5 stars
12/08/01 sean collison One of the best films i have ever seen!!! 5 stars
12/03/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One of the best dramahs ever it has everything a Edward Norton fan could ask for!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/01/01 Cracked head #1 5 stars
12/01/01 Monster W. Kung Mark Conway is a double-posting idiot. IDIOT! 5 stars
11/30/01 Jeff Wilson Can the same person fight over control of himself? Yes, when its norton and pitt 5 stars
11/27/01 damon_dee This is the coolest fucking film ever made! 5 stars
11/18/01 Dara fucking kicked ass!! 5 stars
11/10/01 J. Brad is the shit and he's ripped as a mothaf*&(*a 5 stars
11/10/01 Mark A mind-bending thriller! Pitt and Norton work together great. A must-see for anyone. 5 stars
10/27/01 Luke Chandler the best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter Great satire, trippy, insane adventure in society and psychology. One of the best. 5 stars
10/17/01 jawsboy it is total crap, but it's a pretty good movie as well. great acting, but the ending was ok 4 stars
10/02/01 Voice of Truth Their top movie in every poll, Phoenix. In EVERY poll. You live under a rock, right? 5 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Brad Pitt's abs are fucking awesome!! That shitty ending spoiled it tho. 4 stars
8/28/01 Bueller Woah! I am still tripping out over this movie! An original, and very well constructed film. 5 stars
8/28/01 John R. Blade This is simply one of the best movies I have ever seen since the Matrix 5 stars
8/28/01 ARCbird I am Jack's brain. You don't have one if you dislike this masterpiece. 5 stars
8/22/01 Charles Foster Kane bdf20 go watch Battlefield Earth, maybe that's smart enough for you pathetic idiot. 5 stars
8/22/01 Caligula Correction bdf20, you are a stupid ass. Now go back to your toilet. 5 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Brilliant and strange. 5 stars
8/17/01 Bam Fuck U! ip_freely u fuckin cock! 5 stars
8/17/01 Obi Wan Saw this again last night. Still rocks. Get's bettery everytime I see it. 5 stars
8/14/01 unkle and i thought Fincher wouldn't be able to top The Game. very nice. 5 stars
8/11/01 IP_Freely this movie sucked so bad I contemplated walking out numerous times 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk A daring film full of great performances and a kick-ass soundtrack. 5 stars
8/06/01 the scarecrow simply brilliant. 5 stars
8/05/01 Josh Tied with Braveheart as ultimate "Intelligent Male" movie 5 stars
7/19/01 Rolling Thunder Wow... this was surprisingly GREAT! Best movie in years! 5 stars
7/11/01 davisonm Wicked!! 4 stars
7/10/01 Roy Smith So brilliant it's sort of spooky! 5 stars
7/07/01 Indelusia Great movie. David Fincher is amazing. 5 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard Really strange. I loved it! 5 stars
6/23/01 Ian Barr 2nd best movie of 99 5 stars
6/19/01 Reini Urban Worth seeing a view times. 5 stars
6/13/01 Gaius Ebratt This movie changed my life the greatest film EVER! 5 stars
6/13/01 canuck Yeah Baby. Best rush since Trainspotting. Seriously, we need more nihilistic movies. 5 stars
6/11/01 ReeRee757 Such an awesome movie. One of my favorite DVDs. 5 stars
6/09/01 Peter Brook This is the greatest movie I've seen since the 70s. And it ends with a Pixies song!!!!! 5 stars
6/09/01 Shams Huque Great look about the film, like all Fincher's movies. Pretty interesting. 4 stars
6/05/01 Psyko Doug Great. 5 stars
5/30/01 crazylikeafox Excellent movie full of dark humor 5 stars
5/29/01 jim dickless this movies owns me 5 stars
5/28/01 Crisis Management Nice fucking review Chef ADogg, now you go see the movie. Jesus Christ... "film critic"... 5 stars
5/25/01 lou mind blowing... 5 stars
5/24/01 atari1213 the best and most original movie ive ever seen 5 stars
5/23/01 Film God Fight Club is fucking awesome and Cheff ADog is a fucking loser. 5 stars
5/23/01 Dean The best movie I've seen in AGES! 5 stars
5/23/01 Lohsandt Brad was much better in 12 Monkeys 2 stars
5/14/01 Mereb I could say I liked it. Then I'd be a non-conformist. Just like all my friends. 2 stars
5/13/01 The Moorhen Watch it - then watch it again. 5 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon another david fincher hit 5 stars
5/02/01 Bada Bing Crosby You take tuberculosis, my smoking doesn't go over at all 5 stars
4/24/01 Wes Masterpiece in itself 5 stars
4/21/01 Monster W. Kung Easily the best american film in the last decade. A cinematic masterpiece. 5 stars
4/16/01 jesus gonzalez it the best movie i ever seen 5 stars
4/15/01 Kman Mindblowing!! 5 stars
4/11/01 Justin this movie ...this idea manafested as a book then movie is makes so much sense 5 stars
4/10/01 muneer78 This movie was unbelievable. The plot twists are excellent. 5 stars
4/08/01 A.K. the violence overshadows everything else in the film. 3 stars
4/05/01 j.mortell this movie had nothing to do withhatred towards blue collar you idiot 5 stars
4/04/01 Rob Brilliant; what film is supposed to be. Utter Perfection in every aspect. 5 stars
4/03/01 sean ferguson the epitome of awesome 5 stars
3/31/01 JamieFields Briliant 5 stars
3/29/01 zippernek First-class entertainment. Primo Ed Norton. Will it one day be a classic? Probably not. 4 stars
3/27/01 master.node Surreal. Twist ending. Stays with you. And HBC is hot! 4 stars
3/25/01 Sid 6.7 A audacious, titanic pillar in modern cinema about male hormones and urges 5 stars
3/21/01 Great Great! 5 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 One of the best, most intense movies of all time. It's a social satire/psychological drama. 5 stars
3/12/01 FacelessComputerEntity Great movie about society hatred, in particular, hatred towards blue collar labor. 5 stars
3/08/01 Trashstar To the inately stupid, the excess violence was the point!!!! 5 stars
2/26/01 Dan Action, violence, humor, and the element of surprise make it a must to view over and over! 5 stars
2/21/01 T. Sharif A Good But A Lot Of Gore 4 stars
2/21/01 Natalie A very good film all the way through, with great characterisation from Edward Norton. 5 stars
2/18/01 Josh Tybur People need to look beyond the violence and look at the message 5 stars
2/17/01 Tyrone This is an amazing movie, story, twist, comedy, serious bits: it's all there. 5 stars
2/16/01 Del R Best Brad Pitt movie since 12 monkeys 4 stars
2/16/01 JT Alderman A Hateful Mirror! Perfect! A Definite Must! 5 stars
2/15/01 Michael Nicholls My pants are still wet.... 5 stars
2/08/01 CxPx had potential, then they took the simplest twist possible - call it "nihilism for dummies" 1 stars
2/07/01 lisa brad pitts abs was the best thing about this movie...yeah baby!! 4 stars
2/06/01 Vitor Belfort I could kick the crap out of all of you 5 stars
2/06/01 emily incredible portrayal of the schizophrenic mind in society 5 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Way too long. Should cut at least 30 minutes. See Brazil or Clockwork Orange instead. 3 stars
1/30/01 Jes Something special comin' out of Hollywood... 5 stars
1/21/01 The Gyrator Breathtaking! You don't have to get it; IT GETS YOU! 5 stars
1/12/01 Lord Raymos Deep, funny, sometimes confusing, but in general, it rocked! 5 stars
1/08/01 shilpee sinha brilliantly conceived, artistically portrayed,cleverly twisted 5 stars
1/04/01 deniz nakiboglu best film i have ever seen 5 stars
1/02/01 Doug On a scale of one to ten I give it a 38, you got a problem with that and we will fight ours 5 stars
1/02/01 B. v. Wonderen THE BEST OF THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE THE DIRECTOR DAVID FINCHER TOTALLY RULES. 5 stars
1/01/01 Jack the Ripper Heard the hype. Rented it and was surprised by how good it was. 5 stars
12/30/00 Emily this movie is just amazing. tyler durden is a punk rock god. 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo cool beans 5 stars
12/19/00 thejames Great movie, however i find girls dont like it 5 stars
12/18/00 Artist Freak Way better than I thought it would be. Intelligent, subversive, schizo. 5 stars
12/03/00 Phil Great performance by Norton. Ultimate guy FLICK 5 stars
12/02/00 Mitja Podgajski Great... but not the best.... 4 stars
11/29/00 SP changeover's realization wasn't founded well 4 stars
11/18/00 The Bill Head Feverish..a wild ride! 2nd part is not as good as 1st..don't pick at it, just go with it... 4 stars
11/11/00 Cherry The Best Movie of 1999 AND 2000! 5 stars
11/04/00 Mountain Shows how depessing, bland and melodramatic the '90s were. 4 stars
11/03/00 john linton roberson You know, these fists are a lot of fun till someone goes fascist...ewww. 4 stars
10/30/00 Chuck Perfect in every possible way. Definetely one of the best of the 90's. 5 stars
10/26/00 Marc God, I love this movie! 5 stars
10/24/00 Clarance Another one of my FAV's!! 5 stars
10/20/00 Teep Great Performances - Off to my therapy! 5 stars
10/07/00 Johnny Figaro Groundbreaking stylistically, fascinating psychologically. A top film of the decade. 5 stars
9/30/00 Zeitgeist this is the "a clockwork orange" of "gen-x". incredible. a future classic. 5 stars
9/27/00 mephetic very cool 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff best film of 1999 5 stars
9/16/00 Wafer very thought provoking movie 5 stars
9/01/00 Rosenberg Fight Club is to the 90s what Rebel Without a Cause was to the 50s. 5 stars
8/29/00 Juan its better than awesome,david fincher is the best, one of the best films i watched 5 stars
8/19/00 spunkmirej If you want to see a GREAT movie, this is one to see. 5 stars
8/15/00 Cassy_gdg addictive, coolest ever 5 stars
8/07/00 lulany Amazing movie! I was originally turned off by the title but what a surprise! Must be seen. 5 stars
8/02/00 Delusia Anything by Fincher is great. 5 stars
7/28/00 Tommy Boy Goes totally over the top and then tops itself. Made me laugh; made me cry 5 stars
7/09/00 Sean Traigle The coolest movie I have ever seen... 5 stars
6/30/00 Bevan R. Clark First half- brialliant/ second half- nihilistic mess which gets lost up its own ass. 3 stars
6/28/00 Aiken Drum This movie rocks hard. Great to see some original shit come out of holliwood 5 stars
6/19/00 Tim Destined 2ba cult classic. A big budget attack on consumerism. How did this one get through 5 stars
6/15/00 Greyjack Wow. No, I mean, really. WOW. 5 stars
6/15/00 Kazza This movie had me surprised, wince and made my jaw drop... brain/emotions were quenched! 5 stars
6/13/00 PJ Fucking Masterpiece, the visuals, and the performances are a wonder, book was great also 5 stars
6/13/00 DAVID This movie is great but loses itself towards the end!!! 4 stars
6/13/00 Monday Morning Extremely original, Ed/Brad/Helena great...but goes on a few too many odd tangents. 4 stars
6/09/00 finalfight intricate and involving.a most wonderful coment on modern society 5 stars
6/08/00 John Roberson Brilliant, fun, funny. Wonderful flick. 5 stars
6/02/00 Spazmatazz you saw this movie in the theater 8 times? that's about $70. smart. 5 stars
5/21/00 perverted pixie Zap! Kapow! Man, my head is spinning... 5 stars
5/15/00 PJ Brilliant, fun, exciting, cool, Where is my Mind, great theme, great movie 5 stars
5/15/00 aaron rademaker an unforgettable tour de force. an absolute eye-opener to the wrongs in society 5 stars
5/15/00 Bruce Thought provoking, and very entertaining 4 stars
5/07/00 Chuck Twisted, sick, mesmerizing, hillarious. A contemporary classic 5 stars
5/03/00 Tyler Derden I want this movie to bear my 1st born! 5 stars
5/02/00 bullit17 Edward Norton is terrific. Freaky, funny, entertaining and shocking. 5 stars
5/01/00 arnold original one of the best ever 5 stars
4/28/00 Louis A really cool twist. Pitt is awesome 5 stars
4/14/00 Pyro This movie is the future biography of my life, I'm looking forward to it!! 5 stars
4/13/00 punkass Exciting, funny, unpredictable & thought provoking. What making films is all about 5 stars
4/03/00 PJ Absolutely Brilliant, the images, the theme of realization of a meaningless life is awesome 5 stars
3/05/00 vicky harwood loved it it will melt your brain! 5 stars
3/03/00 Pix very satisfying and unique film surprisingly (the trailer was so pathetic) 4 stars
3/02/00 k.tomkowski Very well directed and acted, but the plot is so dumb! 3 stars
3/01/00 aPOCALYPSeNaM One of the best films of 1999! No cliches or predictable plots! Superb! 5 stars
2/19/00 Neil Austin good film, what the hell is the ending all about?? 5 stars
2/10/00 Leo This is the best movie of the year, and one of my favorites of all time. 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski What high times at the cinema are all about. 5 stars
2/03/00 Xandrea Edward Norton is a phenomenal actor and Brad Pitt is truly a work of art 5 stars
1/29/00 Sir Pyro This is the greatest moive ever, I'll see it over and over and over and over again!! 5 stars
1/18/00 Daniel Roberts This is our lives and we're watching this one minute at a time 5 stars
1/10/00 Will fucked up good 5 stars
1/03/00 grant osman brillant 5 stars
12/23/99 Wafer fucking great 5 stars
12/22/99 Jules A wake-up call for those who think that happiness can be found in a Pottery Barn catalog. 5 stars
12/19/99 Mark Evarts Clever mix of an intelligent fantasy trip, and thoughtful social comment 5 stars
12/18/99 Zeitgeist Complex, intelligent and mind-blowing. Too bad it won't win shit on Oscar night. 5 stars
12/18/99 Paul Wicks As a psychologist, this was interesting in a multitude of ways. Mostly because it rocked. 5 stars
12/14/99 Aiken Drum Amazing movie. easily the best film I've seen this year 5 stars
12/08/99 Heather Great movie although the twist at the end lost me a little 5 stars
12/07/99 Stu Best 'blowing your own head off' scene ever. Amazing film. 5 stars
12/04/99 sophia866 Final Proof that White Men are going to be the ruin of this Country. You must watch this. 5 stars
12/04/99 franz thues blew me away. best film to come out of hollywood this decade. 5 stars
12/02/99 Carlos G. Lamas I had to suppress the urge to kick my friends' asses after this. 5 stars
12/01/99 Glitter Berry Amazingly true to the book, and maybe even better 5 stars
12/01/99 CATHERINE GREAT MOVIE!!! 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic like a modern A Clockwork Orange - but even more violent (excessively so) 4 stars
11/19/99 MOOMOO It's good to see a film where the consumers get it up the ass! 5 stars
11/19/99 Frank Far fetched and yet terrific with a twist as good as The Sixth Sense. 4 stars
11/19/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com I am Jack's total sense of shock at the way things turned out in this movie. 4 stars
11/19/99 Matthew Bartley Drags in the middle but it's still a powerful trip 4 stars
11/18/99 strike The masterpiece of the year. 5 stars
11/18/99 Matthew Smith Dynamic Performances From brad Pitt, Edward norton and Helena bonham carter. Brilliant. 5 stars
11/17/99 Bojana Nesic AWESOME!!! 5 stars
11/16/99 NeverHappy Started out ok, bit boring in the middle but loved the twist. Edward Norton is brilliant! 4 stars
11/16/99 gnomical a 'mind fuck' movie with style and guts. there's a message if you get past the fights. 5 stars
11/16/99 perpetual loser wow. 5 stars
11/16/99 Miyo Good movie, if tyler was a figment of his imagination who drove the car that ran off the ro 5 stars
11/11/99 Ralf Behet A visually dazzling and thought provoking film. One of the year's best 5 stars
11/11/99 Elizaveta Fuck the guy before me, the is THE best movie of at least this decade. 5 stars
11/09/99 MaVerick^ Fuck all of you society loving muther-fuckers! Blow it all to hell! 5 stars
11/08/99 Max Kline Best & most challenging film of the year. Well ahead of most of the junk released. 5 stars
11/07/99 Kevin Cho - Movie Junkie GREAT dialogue, script writing. Started out 100%, but skewed a little. ENJOYABLE. 4 stars
11/06/99 Jason S. "Bob's got bitch tits"-This is the best movie of 1999, that packs one hell of an ending! 5 stars
11/05/99 Master Meat Loaf, yes his name is two words first name Meat, last name Loaf. He has Tits! 5 stars
11/03/99 theguy this film has both Brad Pitt and Meatloaf actually acting! (Ed Norton is, too, of course.) 4 stars
11/01/99 C.A.T.M. DON'T TALK ABOUT FIGHT CLUB 4 stars
10/31/99 J-Dogg Awesome shit. Why isn't this cool fucking movie making a lot of dough? 5 stars
10/30/99 Bob's Uncontrollable Enthusiasm Thoroughly sensational...Fincher achieves one of the greatest directing gigs I've ever seen 5 stars
10/29/99 Obi Wan Ummmm....wow! Once you sort thru the bullshit and get past getting lost...it's ok 4 stars
10/27/99 pipeman Very cool. Very different that what I expected--especially the twisted ending. 4 stars
10/26/99 Andy In the vein of the Moon is a Harsh Mistress, Revolution X! 5 stars
10/26/99 Joshua Crow Not Just A Movie 5 stars
10/26/99 KMS N/A 5 stars
10/26/99 Ikea Boy Slide... 5 stars
10/26/99 mapletree blew me away 5 stars
10/26/99 Marble Xavier This film has no peer 5 stars
10/25/99 BBReBozo Who wouldn't want to punch Brad Pitt? 4 stars
10/25/99 Will Makes you think, if you let it. Until just before the end, that is. 4 stars
10/24/99 Duster what a load of shit. 1 stars
10/24/99 ZuG Really Good. Really Strange, too. 5 stars
10/22/99 scotch An incredible, personal look at one man's insanity, and the world that embraces it. 5 stars
10/22/99 I am Scott Holy Shit! Are you kidding me?! 5 stars
10/22/99 elfpunkt Liked the way the story was told. Not as transparent as most other hollywood drek 4 stars
10/22/99 schmegs Fincher's become a not-to-miss director for me... 5 stars
10/21/99 Shmuel Mikel Wow, a very interesting and powerful movie. No answers but great questions! 5 stars
10/21/99 Azzael (azzael"at"garbagemail.com) Not as nihlistic as Sartre, but it makes you think about a lot in life, and life itself. 5 stars
10/21/99 Dan A muddied ending detracts from an otherwise excellent film. 4 stars
10/20/99 Spritegirl Any film that has Mr. Pitt's trousers half hanging off is A-OK with me. 5 stars
10/20/99 Roe Esparza worth a look 4 stars
10/20/99 ralph roether 3 the three leads are the best thing about the movie...too many film tricks.NORTON RUles! 3 stars
10/19/99 J-Dogg The best Hollywood film I've ever seen in the theaters.Not without flaws, but fucking great 5 stars
10/19/99 lisa voss The movie explored the depths of what one should question everyday. what is life??? 5 stars
10/19/99 Sanity A delusional masterpiece 5 stars
10/19/99 Elijah Fincher == Cronenberg++ !! 5 stars
10/19/99 Alyssa Finally the role Helena Bonham Carter was born to play. Ummm Liposuction. 4 stars
10/18/99 Max Lethal One helluva fucking ride!! 5 stars
10/18/99 Percival Fincher is the new God. 5 stars
10/18/99 Weird Andy The late Randall "Tex" Cobb should have been in this. 4 stars
10/18/99 Doug Bitchtits 5 stars
10/18/99 William Not what it seems... thought provoking and scary. 5 stars
10/18/99 danimal insanely well put togeather. loved the penguin! 5 stars
10/17/99 frank one word....WOW 5 stars
10/17/99 JonnyAngel A real mess of a movie. (I mean that mostly in a good way) 4 stars
10/17/99 Jess visually it's a great film...mmm Brad yummy. 5 stars
10/17/99 Costars A Fine Fucking Mind Fuck. 5 stars
10/17/99 majawat do the trick endings ever get tired? No... 5 stars
10/17/99 Duane Actors and director will hopefully get Oscar nods. 5 stars
10/17/99 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Wow. Norton may get that Oscar he so deserves. A Best Picture contender for sure 5 stars
10/17/99 SJKelley New-look storytelling, new-look acting, new-look ending. Fantastic. 5 stars
10/17/99 Wyatt Earp Damn... 5 stars
10/17/99 Bluntman An arrested development. 2 stars
10/17/99 Jon it's better than Lionheart! 5 stars
10/17/99 Malbert Didn't hate it, didn't love it. Edward Norton was awesome as always 3 stars
10/17/99 Virte You'll want to look away...but you can't. 5 stars
10/17/99 natasha unbelievable, hilarious 5 stars
10/17/99 Randall not bad, not bad, i was entertained 4 stars
10/17/99 Glitter Berry I am Jack's opened mind 5 stars
10/16/99 Elizaveta By far, the absolute best film of the decade.....astounding! 5 stars
10/16/99 Mr Showbiz A fabulously berserk runaway train of a movie. 4 stars
10/16/99 phypor all that, yet so much more 5 stars
10/16/99 Jesus Christ 5 stars
9/24/99 Mike Mind Blowing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Oct-1999 (R)
  DVD: 06-Jun-2000

UK
  12-Nov-1999 (18)

Australia
  11-Nov-1999 (R)


Directed by
  David Fincher

Written by
  Jim Uhls

Cast
  Brad Pitt
  Edward Norton
  Helena Bonham Carter
  Meat Loaf
  Jared Leto
  Zach Grenier



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast