More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.06

Awesome45.06%
Worth A Look: 29.63%
Average: 14.2%
Pretty Bad: 8.02%
Total Crap: 3.09%

11 reviews, 96 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Go
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Pulp Fiction 2 is a Worthy Trip"
4 stars

Go (***) - In Doug Liman’s Swingers, there’s a hilarious moment when characters sit around a table discussing movies. One character keeps mentioning Quentin Tarantino prompting another to say that “Tarantino steals everything from Martin Scorsese” prompting another to say “what’s the big deal? Everybody steals from everybody anyway”. All of this goes on as the camera circles the table like the opening to Tarantino’s Reservoir Dogs and then followed by the exact same opening slow-walking introduction of the same film. It was brilliant. Now comes Go, which for all intents and purposes should be called Pulp Fiction 2 because it has all the trademarks of that film - a jumping timeline, pop culture discussions in and out of coffee shops, the disposal of a body, a wacky drug dealer, graphic sex talk, spontaneous violence, and wicked dark humor. A lesser film would have just tried to be a copy and nothing more, but Go is much better than that. It’s assured and confident and a lot of fun.

This is very close to a 3 ½ star rating and certainly one of the best in an early weak year. (It took until April 9, 1999 for me to even have a potential Top 10 list - how sad is that?). But back to Go, which is a collection of three different tales all taking place on the same night. The first story is cool without blowing our minds. I loved the idea of the amateur drug dealer selling aspirin to idiot stoners and convincing them it’s premium stuff. The scenes with the major drug dealer stick out during this segment which builds to a shocking conclusion. We are then thrust back to begin the second story which is my personal favorite for delivering the most laughs and the most suspense. Then the third story kicks into gear with the film’s biggest surprise plot twist that director Doug Liman handles with such skill that you don’t see it coming until he lets the proverbial cat of the bag. There’s another plot twist during a dinner encounter which probably remains the funniest scene in the film.

Everything leads up to a less-than-stellar conclusion that probably robs the film of the 3 ½ stars it deserves. But up until that conclusion - it’s tons of fun.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1553&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 08:15:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell a cooler younger pulp fiction 4 stars
5/01/13 matthew thompson dalldorf Why is this a rip-off of 'Pulp Fiction' & 'Reservoir Dogs' a homage to 'City On Fire'? 5 stars
8/22/11 Monday Morning IF Magazine: perfect example of "those who can't do, review." 4 stars
10/16/10 Psdelbil Y2x3gJ Rohri jlcxufhpt sdjaljd nqgcotwyw eetihb yqdkonif ovbp ovxuc. 3 stars
8/16/10 Dgfypahq JBZ87w Zkamq vdhorysd zvnjmjova yqchsayw lfambewdx rbzpfmlv zltdhzuac ykyskjasm ukkdctyd. 5 stars
7/23/10 Tfpubxjz 56zCQo Wgjfuzq qnesr fcakydeltn xavlyzx wzsx yegqiccukg alirjc pmgdd. 5 stars
7/06/10 PAUL SHORTT HECTIC CAPER 2 stars
9/17/09 Jeff Wilder As far as Pulp Fiction knock offs go, not bad. 4 stars
10/04/07 The Film Maker This movie was hilarious! Very smart film as well. Basics got it done. 5 stars
3/28/07 Double M Awesome, cool, hilarious, entertaining. i have yet to see something bad with Sarah Polley.. 5 stars
2/23/07 David Pollastrini All the women in this film are hot! 4 stars
1/24/07 William Goss Marginally entertaining ensemble piece improves along the way. 3 stars
10/02/06 Beau well thought out, but a shitty plot, great movie for people with 2 brain cells 2 stars
2/10/05 Ando Wouldn't compare it to pulp fiction, different type of movie. 5 stars
5/21/04 Elena definitely underrated; this movie is witty and entertaining and generally well-made 5 stars
1/19/04 sarah makes me nostalgic for the 90s... and five years ago. 4 stars
11/18/03 he a great film 5 stars
3/25/03 Adia the best movie ever, ive seen it 100 times 5 stars
11/17/02 Annie I loved it. It was so funny. I couldn't stop laughing. 5 stars
10/06/02 Elizaveta I liked the multiple-sided storytelling. Too bad the story was cliched young adult crud. 3 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well, if u shink dis movie kicked serious ass, check out the phucking soundtrack!!! 5 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress I was quite intrigued by this movie, but afterwards was left with this blah feeling. 3 stars
3/02/02 Unagiboy The only homage to "Pulp Fiction" that works. "It's a Miata!!" 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Decent if a bit too derivitive of Pulp Fiction. and Katie Holmes is soooooo hot! 3 stars
9/13/01 Gary Good script, direction and acting, but quite hollow and heartless. 3 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Pretty cool movie with subplots that tied together well! Quentin Tarrantino would be proud! 5 stars
8/16/01 P.Rodriguez Excellent (Mr Burns)...... 5 stars
5/11/01 Bada Bing Crosby Its Christmas, you'll be ho-ho-homeless....great movie in every way 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe Fantastic film, tim olyphant is a babe. 5 stars
4/05/01 Monday Morning Berry berry good 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Fast-paced, amazing, hilarious, surprisingly accurate. 5 stars
2/20/01 sarah i actually missed the whole jay mohr kissing some guy, but that would have been hot, indeed 4 stars
2/12/01 Jake Intense and hilarious. Characters were quite interesting. 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl This movie was boring and very ordinary, if not slightly ridiculous. 1 stars
9/02/00 Rosalie Coleman This is quite possibly the BEST movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
7/12/00 Tom Excellent film. Sara Polley is great. Jay Mohr kissing another guy is hot! 5 stars
5/24/00 Mike Leskow Great energy and storylines. See it. 4 stars
3/16/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs TIMOTHY OLYPHANT IS GORGEOUS! GREAT ACTING! COOL MOVIE! 5 stars
2/29/00 Bueller Go! That's exactly what I wanted to after about 20 minutes into this movie! 2 stars
2/23/00 Tom McNulty Luvved it 5 stars
1/02/00 Julian Yap it was good but didn't not to the extent that it kicked donkey balls. know what i mean? 4 stars
10/27/99 Tim It sucked..any movie with Jay Mohr kissing another guy sux 2 stars
10/25/99 BBReBozo I like watching Katie Holmes jiggle. 4 stars
10/14/99 Larry film of the year 5 stars
10/05/99 Bozo polley asks 'paper or plastic' and i am completely mesmerized...great flick 5 stars
9/27/99 Brian A good watch.Promising first script from August.Liman's direction is dead-on, as always. 4 stars
9/25/99 vickie Really great. Especially, Mohr and Wolf. 5 stars
9/25/99 Aaron B. great movie. Very good directing and writing esp the part with Adam and Zack 5 stars
9/24/99 babe my boyfriend ejaculated on me during the movie 5 stars
9/23/99 Mark Dainty A true gem of a movie, like finding money down the back of the sofa. 5 stars
9/22/99 Jon Doc JTR, you gave away every plot point, shithead, you suck at reviews. 3 stars
9/20/99 Weird Andy ...away! 1 stars
9/06/99 Matthew Bartley Very,very cool 4 stars
9/05/99 The Bomb 69 great writing and acting make a good movie great 5 stars
9/03/99 Tristynn This was a bad movie...boring as all hell.. 2 stars
8/25/99 Stevie Ray uh, can we say Pulp Fiction rip-off? Shallow, dumb characters... annoying and bland movie 1 stars
8/23/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Tries really hard and just gets there! the soundtrack makes the movie! 4 stars
8/20/99 Steve Very Cool 5 stars
7/21/99 Charley GO-The best Movie Ever! 5 stars
6/30/99 PhilmPhreak Use your brain for a change - go see an intelligent movie - Go is that and entertaining, to 5 stars
6/28/99 Stevo Bashakus Some cool parts, but painfully 'hip & trendy' - there's no real risk here. 3 stars
6/26/99 David Ambitious, teriffically exciting. Very hard to blink your eyes during the 100 min run time. 5 stars
6/21/99 Sher Dont pass Go, please collect $200... 5 stars
6/04/99 The Graduate A little too self-consciously "hip" and "clever." Trust me, it's no Pulp Fiction. 3 stars
5/30/99 Christine Loved it, man! 5 stars
5/22/99 Randall This is a real film, a rarity in hollywood 5 stars
5/03/99 JJ It's like the Twilight Zone or something, the movie sucked but everyone loved it!!?? 2 stars
4/28/99 Snowball Pretty good, Best part was the dude on ex 4 stars
4/27/99 Bushman Note to movie studios: here's how you make a GOOD film on our generation. 5 stars
4/27/99 Bluntman A "tantra" style movie. 5 stars
4/26/99 Mr Showbiz An adrenaline fueled joyride about Gen-Y slackers in crisis. 5 stars
4/22/99 Genna Babe Desmond Askew is an A+ sexy bloke... right on, what a coolio movie! 5 stars
4/20/99 Katie This movie rocked! Really well-written with great performances. Sarah Polley is awesome! 5 stars
4/19/99 Nightwing007 Great film. SARAH POLLEY RULES!! 5 stars
4/19/99 Motormouthgirl What a WILD ride! 5 stars
4/19/99 agustin worth it 5 stars
4/18/99 Meg Liman is a great director and visionary 5 stars
4/17/99 Minna The movie was good, but the Vegas sex could be cut out--it was like watching a porn. Nasty 3 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson The name for this movie should have been, "The Opposite of Funny" 2 stars
4/15/99 Cherry Taye Diggs and Desmond Askew bring the movie to another level than the TV stars would have 4 stars
4/14/99 Babycakes fluff teen film?? I don't think so!!! 5 stars
4/14/99 Rodger Me gusta! Hot. Quick. Great entertainment. 5 stars
4/13/99 Cass Freakin best movie I've seen in years! Hard core, smart humor! Vegas scenes kicks ass! 5 stars
4/13/99 Ah Dooey like the rating sez - worth a look 4 stars
4/12/99 Randall Love that holms chich, great film, not perfect, but really cool 4 stars
4/12/99 *** awesome! 5 stars
4/12/99 Kenda Scott Wolf and Jay Mohr are great. Timothy Olyphant and Sarah Polley are great.Great movie. 5 stars
4/11/99 Michael Grimm gay soap opera stars, eeewwwww!!! 1 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Scott Wolf.. shame on you.. ahhh. save me from these fluff teen flicks 1 stars
4/11/99 Ian Nathanson Alright I loved "Swingers" I loved Pulp Fiction, but you can't combine the 2 .2 many clones 3 stars
4/10/99 TJwills Great damn movie. The scenes in Vegas take the cake, 5 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy haven't seen it yet, but I've seen Katie Holmes in the previews, what else do I need? 5 stars
4/07/99 Adam Carey A bit predictable, but freaking hilarious. 4 stars
4/03/99 E Rashomon on drugs--literally. 4 stars
4/03/99 Dirty Dave Capone this movie rocked, i masturbated to it at the premiere in LA 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Aug-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Doug Liman

Written by
  John August

Cast
  Timothy Olyphant
  Sarah Polley
  William Fichtner
  Jay Mohr
  Katie Holmes
  Scott Wolf



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast