More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.41

Awesome33.33%
Worth A Look: 18.94%
Average: 16.67%
Pretty Bad: 17.42%
Total Crap: 13.64%

7 reviews, 90 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Almost as good as a lot of people thought the first two were!"
4 stars

Against all odds, and despite being the longest film in the series, "Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" is probably also the best. It's less chaotic and exhausting than "Dead Man's Chest," more emotionally engaging than "Curse of the Black Pearl." For the first time, I can see why many people LOVE this series. If only the first two films had actually been as good as their box office haul suggested they were!

"At World's End" begins with things looking grim for nearly everyone. Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) has been sent off to Davy Jones' locker, which turns out to be not just a metaphor for "death," but an actual location, albeit on a different spiritual plane and apparently rather difficult to return from. England's Lord Beckett (Tom Hollander) is cracking down big-time on piracy, with mass public hangings scheduled daily. Young lovers Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) and Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) have parted company for reasons that were probably explained in the last film (well, as much as anything can be said to have been "explained" in the last film) but that I do not recall.

Now Elizabeth and the resurrected Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) have traveled to Singapore to get a map to Davy Jones' locker from Sao Feng (Chow Yun-Fat), the chief pirate captain of the Orient. Later, Elizabeth somehow winds up in Sao Feng's possession due to the latter's mistaken belief that she is the sea goddess Calypso in human form.

OK, I said this film is less chaotic than the last one, not that it lacks chaos altogether. The story is still jam-packed with double-crosses, betrayals, and secret negotiations, but it's a much more linear, straightforward story than before. Only occasionally must one pause and say, "Wait, what?" Mostly you can just smile blithely and enjoy it.

This is especially surprising given how much there is going on. The central plot has the world's pirate lords assembling to discuss how to repel the British crackdown, but that barely scratches the surface. We learn more about the mortal life of the now-cursed Davy Jones (Bill Nighy), as well as the backstory on the mystical voodoo priestess Tia Dalma (Naomie Harris). There are issues of pirate politics to deal with, and it's nice to see that, unlike the United Nations, pirate summit meetings often end in fisticuffs and stabbings. Other subplots involve the rules surrounding the Flying Dutchman and how one becomes its captain, and why a person might want that.

Regular "Pirates" writers Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio were obviously paying attention on the day of screenwriting class that talked about character objectives. Every person in "At World's End" has a very specific thing that he or she wants. Elizabeth and Barbossa want to retrieve Jack from Davy Jones' locker; Will wants to free his father from servitude on Jones' ship; Beckett wants to learn where the pirate council is being held; Davy Jones wants to restore his mortality; Jack wants to drink rum and sail the world. The film even has a prop to simplify this concept: a magic compass that always points toward the thing you want the most.

What isn't always covered is why people want the things they want. The overall objectives I've just named are self-explanatory, but some of the smaller steps they take toward accomplishing those goals aren't clear. For example, one character is put to death and I literally have no idea why. The person responsible for it obviously felt it would help him achieve his own goals, though, so more power to him, I guess.

But despite being plot-heavy like its predecessors, "At World's End" is mostly coherent and fluid, and it manages to make us care about some of the characters on an emotional level, too. Director Gore Verbinski has always shown a keen eye for visual details and spectacular set pieces; here he combines it with some genuine heart and humanity. I've always liked Jack Sparrow as a character, but this is the first time I've liked him as a person, too.

It all leads to a rousing, vertiginous climax set aboard two ships in the midst of a maelstrom. Sure, the film goes on for another 30 minutes after that "finale" (the "Return of the King" syndrome), but restraint has never been a hallmark of this franchise. The jolly performances, the lavish production design, the peculiar details and whimsical asides -- it all adds up to an enjoyable and cohesive swashbuckling adventure. It's about time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15536&reviewer=247
originally posted: 05/25/07 08:37:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/17/12 roscoe overlong, no interest, no new elements, stale, hard to watch. 3 stars
3/04/10 dude too long boring confusing and talky 5 stars
6/09/09 freak boring as hell 1 stars
1/21/09 Anonymous. a little messy but sweet and sad ending. 4 stars
12/20/08 Scott kiera knightly is sooo hot in this film 5 stars
12/01/08 Roz Not as good as the 1st. Plot was an absolute mess and hard to follow. 2 stars
11/30/08 noops.... better than the 2 nd one but the first part was too good 4 stars
11/12/08 Michael M Elizabeth was the main character instead of Sparrow, and that's where this movie failed. 2 stars
10/10/08 man hated it 1 stars
9/17/08 Oiman Amazing music, action, and overall story. Callpso scene was unimaginative though. 4 stars
5/14/08 PAUL SHORTT ITS A KNOCKABOUT, SCATTERSHOT AFFAIR 2 stars
5/01/08 Charles Tatum Bloated but fun...like your mom 4 stars
3/10/08 RK notwithstanding the confusing twists and turns, it was fun to watch --- twice in a roll. 4 stars
2/16/08 daveyt confusing twaddle 1 stars
1/26/08 man boring overlong and reeeaaallly confusing 1 stars
1/16/08 Dani I love these movies. Great acting, amazing plot, hilarious dialogue, and hot actors. 5 stars
1/05/08 Pamela White vague plot but cute the movies are getting worse 3 stars
1/05/08 Ellen Tedious and unoriginal, very disappointing. 2 stars
12/30/07 Austin Wertman talky, too long, and confusing 3 stars
12/16/07 Jason Great action movie, cool characters and epic finale. 5 stars
12/08/07 zenny whatta mess 1 stars
11/28/07 Matt About 15 mins of good stuff and a ton of utter rubbish. Enough now-PLEASE! 2 stars
11/27/07 dude not nearly as good as the first two 1 stars
11/14/07 dude bland adn dissapointing 1 stars
10/10/07 Mango Waay too long and absolute waste of time. Hugely disappointed. 1 stars
10/03/07 wall dont bother 1 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Best SFX of 3, but 1st was the best overall. This one better than Pirates 2. 4 stars
9/14/07 dude waste of time 1 stars
8/31/07 fallon best movie i every seen and its not a waste of time 5 stars
7/27/07 pheonix not as wonderful as the lord of the rings, But , it is the best since then.. great movie! 5 stars
7/20/07 samantha this movie was the best of the three!! it was awesome!!! 5 stars
7/09/07 tom No story, way too convienent saves, more contrived than WWF. Depp's first sell out. 2 stars
7/04/07 kirsti this movie tied w/ pirates 1 as my favorite movie ever!!! lovelovelove this!!! 5 stars
7/04/07 PamE Loved it, though not as much as the 1st and 2nd 4 stars
7/02/07 RazorFang Peter Sobzcynski, you fucking idiot,this is a damn good movie! 5 stars
6/22/07 Dave bad 1 stars
6/19/07 lkeyser was awesome,looking forward to 4th one! 5 stars
6/17/07 Joe Smaltz fell asleep, but the damn cannons kept waking me up! 1 stars
6/17/07 Ron Newbold Excellent effects, Great cast, decent movie - the first is still the best IMO 4 stars
6/15/07 Qume Ah hah ha hah ha ha hahaha ha haha! 1 stars
6/14/07 romeo awsome movie ...people saying it bad hav no rights to watch eng movies.. 5 stars
6/11/07 Emily Brilliant. Sexy. Fantastic and stunning. Constantly keeps you in total AWE and is a blast!! 5 stars
6/11/07 Brian Mckay Stunning visuals, but a bloated incomprehensible mess. Verbinski, learn to fucking EDIT! 2 stars
6/10/07 Alice Beautiful settings but 3 movies is enough 4 stars
6/10/07 Jenna Walker I thought this movie was epic! Amazing! 5 stars
6/06/07 carl blast, xcellent, be rested non stop fun, super acting, lovely everything, wonderful, yeswow 5 stars
6/06/07 cher5253 Great movie can't follow plot try easier movies where everything is predictable 5 stars
6/03/07 COTBP was excellent, DMC was better,AWE tops them both put together Reesefire Black 5 stars
6/03/07 Zaw I didn't care what happens to any of the charaters. Marriage thing during battle was stupid 2 stars
6/03/07 lab chimp good but not great. worth the money for the special effects, acting v good, gusto-less plot 4 stars
6/03/07 Luji funny, emotional, hot hot actors...nice tie up of the multiple plots...loved it! 5 stars
6/03/07 Heidi Hernandez Excellant fantasy action packed adventure love story with just the right amount of humor 5 stars
6/01/07 Ole Man Bourbon Too short. I felt cheated. 3 stars
6/01/07 Katie Amazing movie.....best trilogy i've ever seen!! JOhnny Depp is brilliant as Jack Sparrow!! 5 stars
5/31/07 lauren i LOVED this movie how could u not it was action packed and has 2 of the hottest guys in it 5 stars
5/31/07 damalc not nearly enough sword fighting for a pirate film. better than 2, not as good as 1. 3 stars
5/30/07 Scott Vine Waste of 3 hrs. Big let down. Nothing new 1 stars
5/30/07 DS Better than the second, as good as the first! Please let there be another one! 5 stars
5/30/07 JP Great! Dont bitch about how confusing it was. Annoying children w/ your insignificant minds 5 stars
5/30/07 Dk better than the convuluted 2nd but still can't match number 1's charm 4 stars
5/29/07 Kurt I didn't care what heppened to any of them. what a mess! 1 stars
5/29/07 Jack Sparrow If you love adventure and swashbuckling battles watch this....If you don't, Bugger off 5 stars
5/29/07 ad the sequels made the first movie mortal, What a waste for such great actors! Wait for DVD. 2 stars
5/28/07 Ryan AAAWesome 5 stars
5/28/07 Jim Overlong and noisy, and Calypso isn't a goddess, she's a nymph 2 stars
5/28/07 Chris Thought the movie was the best so far and can't wait for the next one to come out. 5 stars
5/28/07 Pipina Truly great. But you have to love Pirates... 5 stars
5/28/07 Kate Was Will and Elizabeths son the boy from the beginning? 5 stars
5/28/07 Sasa If you love BAD movies you will love this. 1 stars
5/28/07 Dark Enchantress it was good expect it was confusing and had to much of kiera knightly...i hate her 4 stars
5/27/07 MP Bartley Fun, but WAY to much. Did they forget Depp is the star? 3 stars
5/27/07 kathryn was a little confusing and was more of an action packed film with tons of special effects. 5 stars
5/27/07 gr117 A total blast! 5 stars
5/27/07 devil/angel This film rocks i dont get wat u guys are on about this rocks! 5 stars
5/27/07 KingNeutron Best movie of the year so far. KRichards was very natural in the role. 5 stars
5/27/07 Emma Spectacular movie. Absolutely fantastic, loved it... Pure fun. 5 stars
5/26/07 Blondie This should have come with directions to understand it 3 stars
5/26/07 Mike Very confusing but something to do for 3 hours. Spiderman3 is way better tho. 3 stars
5/26/07 Cory The script's a mess in some parts and yet, the film works...much better than Spider-Man 3. 4 stars
5/26/07 Desperado I really am having trouble understanding why people didnt like it, i thought it was awesome 5 stars
5/26/07 PoisonElf No sense, no inspiration (same charaers/story as 2), unreasonably long, boring. 1 stars
5/26/07 Quigley One of the biggest disappointments ever. Great visuals, but the movie makes no sense at all 2 stars
5/25/07 Chris Pirates of the Carribean ROCKS!!!!!!! FOLKS 5 stars
5/25/07 Ara I can't understand how people dont understand this movie. Anyway gr8 movie! 5 stars
5/25/07 Sir spam-a-lot Okay, I shot myself. What now? 3 stars
5/25/07 Burnsy Yarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, me's a pirate. 5 stars
5/25/07 Snail This movie was EPIC. A lot more fun than Spider-Man 3 too. 5 stars
5/25/07 John I had no idea what the hell was going on 3 stars
5/25/07 Blizz Please, these movies are for morons. If you go see this, shoot yourself. 1 stars
5/24/07 Scott haller jack sparrow is hot 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 04-Dec-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-May-2007




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast