More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.06

Awesome33.24%
Worth A Look: 12.78%
Average: 11.65%
Pretty Bad: 11.36%
Total Crap: 30.97%

12 reviews, 280 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Transformers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"How can you screw this up?"
1 stars

I'd like to meet the person who genuinely finds 'Transformers' exciting. I'd like to know how the person's eyes and brain are wired. I'm legitimately curious.

Like all other Michael Bay films, Transformers sets up potentially exhilarating action sequences and then stomps them into tedium with a combination of unscannable editing and inept camera placement. Is it a generational thing? Are my eyes too old to process the genius here? Do the people who love Michael Bay's movies find films like Raiders of the Lost Ark, Aliens, and the original Die Hard too sedate and visually bland?

Critics who've registered a formal complaint about Transformers have been lambasted left and right by the fanboy community, who tell us to stick to Citizen Kane and sensitive art films. Let me be clear: Not one of us developed our love for movies by watching Tarkovsky or Antonioni. We grew up on Disney, Star Wars, Saturday-morning cartoons. We know what expectations to bring to a movie like Transformers, thanks very much. And by any standard, the movie is lumpy, hectic and impersonal, and the kids who are now growing up on movies like this deserve a lot better.

Shia LaBeouf, the current It Boy, just about rescues his small wing of the movie. He's playing a smart kid (not geek-smart or book-smart, just a kid who can think fast on his feet) who finds that his new Camaro, jointly paid for by Dad, is actually a Transformer named Bumblebee. Bumblebee is an Autobot, or good Transformer, and he and other Autobots have come to Earth in search of the Cube, a mystical bit of hardware that must not fall into the claws of the Decepticons, or bad Transformers. LaBeouf makes his scenes bearable by reacting to all this as a normal person would, though God knows he doesn't have much help from his castmates, either robotic or, in the case of Megan Fox as his school crush, slightly less robotic. LaBeouf invests his performance and even his throwaway lines (like his repeated "No nononono!" whenever something disastrous happens) with an urgency that Bay would've done well to learn from.

There are many sad attempts at humor, often involving clownish black people (Bernie Mac, Anthony Anderson), sometimes involving the innate goofiness of giant robots trying to hide themselves outside Shia's parents' house. At a couple of points, crappy heavy-metal kicks in on the soundtrack during a chase scene, and I actually sat up in my seat a bit, hoping for a sign that the movie was about to go all the way into '80s cheese. Sadly, the chase scenes are as stubbornly mishandled as everything else. A lot of people spent a lot of hours and money to create the battle sequences, only to have their work ruined by Bay and his three editors. The last act of Transformers could have been filmed in someone's backyard for two dollars with close-ups of toasters being bashed into each other. For all I know, toasters are what we're watching. The climactic face-off between Optimus Prime and Megatron clanks by in a blur of metal and motion.

Forget the racism (including a jive-talking Autobot and a nose-picking Indian phone jockey); forget the near-total lack of human interest (I don't know why John Turturro is in this movie, and I don't think he knows either); forget the Cuisinart editing; forget the ridiculous running time (two hours and twenty-four minutes); forget all the lore and all the expectations. Why is this, a movie about good giant robots fighting bad giant robots, so punishingly boring? How can you possibly screw that up? How could $150 million buy such a lackluster-looking film? How could two (credited) writers sit in a room and not know that what they were writing was neither entertaining nor funny?

Finally, how could people so enjoy 'Transformers' that they actually applauded (at the show I went to) and take the time to compose sneering rebuttals to every critic who didn't like it? Is there some mass hypnosis going on? I don't get it. I honestly don't.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15538&reviewer=416
originally posted: 07/09/07 06:30:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell for kids only 1 stars
2/26/12 dave warning: anyone who liked this movie and is over 10 is mentally unstable 1 stars
10/19/11 Magic This movie already has the devastating flaws magnified by its awful sequel. 2 stars
8/30/11 Anonymous This doesn't even deserve a star. I'm being generous. 1 stars
5/26/11 chris c Complete utter f**kup of a movie, makes the cheesy animated movie a masterpiece 1 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles AMAZING 5 stars
4/28/11 man great 5 stars
10/14/10 geoffro if you like this film your either 8 and havent seen the cartoon, or a retard, simple as 1 stars
10/02/10 bored mom Playing the 1980s Transformers games is less painful than this utter shitfuck movie. 1 stars
9/16/10 cherocha If you liked this movie, you are fucking stupid beyond words. 1 stars
7/10/10 Meep Has it's moments but they are let down by too much Bay bullshit 3 stars
3/04/10 dude awesome 5 stars
12/26/09 Jeff Wilder A big budget piece of utter nothing. 2 stars
10/07/09 PAUL SHORTT A BIG DUMB, SPECIAL EFFECTS-LADEN ACTION FILM 2 stars
9/12/09 Sugarfoot Indeed originally this would be a 1 star movie, but 2 was so awful I have to give it two. 2 stars
8/29/09 Julian Brilliant effects - poor lead actor 4 stars
7/24/09 Toni Absolute crap... this is the death of American Cinema 1 stars
7/13/09 austin wertman love it 5 stars
7/06/09 The Grinch I give it two stars, only because Tranformers 2 lowered the bar even further. 2 stars
6/25/09 Dan Great movie just to sit back and enjoy it for what it is-a reason to watch big robots kill 4 stars
6/09/09 freak awesome for a michael bay movie 5 stars
5/12/09 Sam Shallow and juvenile "review" that simply stinks of amateurism and ignorance. Pathetic. 3 stars
5/11/09 Ricky this was my favorite movie... those who rated low are practically dumb. 5 stars
4/27/09 Wonko The Sane THIS MOVIE IS THE EQUIVILENT OF DOGSHIT. So Is Bay! Eat a dick Michael Bay. 1 stars
3/14/09 geetus First Transformers, then Friday the 13th, next is Nightmare on Elm St. ALL RUINED BY BAY. 1 stars
3/05/09 Nightbeast it sucked He managed to make the T-formers background characters in their own damn movie 1 stars
2/11/09 Waqas Someone please kill Bay before he makes a sequel 1 stars
2/10/09 Todddi agree with review, how can you actually enjoy this? 1 stars
1/16/09 the dork knight never saw the show. this doesn't exactly make me want to learn more. 3 stars
11/16/08 kunal awesommeeeeeeeeeeeeee................. 5 stars
10/10/08 man love it 5 stars
10/10/08 dude awesome 5 stars
9/16/08 Wolfie Inu An insult to the intelligence of kitchen appliances everywhere 1 stars
9/07/08 Pamela White great special effects but plot a little vague 3 stars
9/01/08 another one fucking shit ass movie 1 stars
8/28/08 Cathy Great movie - We loved all of the action - bought the DVD 5 stars
7/25/08 Croweater888 Appaling bad movie, an insult to the classic 80's cartoon 1 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Bumble Bee is Awesome!! I wish i had a car like that. 5 stars
7/15/08 Vanessa Sanchez you guys all suck this is my favorite movie loved the humor loved the action loved the love 5 stars
6/15/08 Indrid Cold That high contrast look has gone too far; everyone's skin looks like well-oiled leather. 2 stars
6/14/08 Nick LOVED it 5 stars
6/11/08 Shaun If you're under 10 years old, "slow", or Michael Bay's mom, you'll love it. 1 stars
5/26/08 Echo L. I still can't understand what people liked about this film. It was utterly painful. 1 stars
5/20/08 Jared I would have walked out if I hadn't driven my friends there. 1 stars
5/15/08 The Grinch Peter S's review is 100% on the money. 1 stars
5/09/08 Jérémy Way, way too long. I liked the humor though. 2 stars
5/08/08 Q3A-player stupid 'movie' with lame 'action' 1 stars
5/06/08 LMC People who didn't like this movie, don't like great action movies. 5 stars
4/23/08 scin movie was by far more then i had expected. Great CGI, humurious jokes 5 stars
4/19/08 Bad Motherfucker made the cartoon movie look like Citizen Fucking Kane 1 stars
4/07/08 Lane There are movies with better action that are also not retarded. Don't waste your time. 1 stars
4/02/08 Pixel Boy JUST because it's a movie with transformers in it, DOESNT mean its any good. terrible 1 stars
3/31/08 Hunter This is one of the better movies I have gone to see and I recommend it to anyone. 4 stars
3/10/08 Jayme Isaacs One Of The Best Science Fiction Movies of 2007 5 stars
2/24/08 3li FINALY im not the only one who practicly fell aseep 1 stars
2/17/08 Az As if the 80's cartoon had deeper plot. got exactly what I was expecting. AWESOME! 5 stars
2/08/08 Anthony Feor I got what I expected, Brilliant visual effects surrounded by mindless action 4 stars
1/26/08 man my favorite movie of the year. best special FX ever 5 stars
1/09/08 Risky Bizness good entertainment. not enough time for the transformers though 4 stars
1/08/08 film girl One of the best action sci fi films since terminator 2!!! Loved it 5 stars
12/04/07 ES So much funnier than I thought it'd be with a good story and great action 5 stars
11/27/07 dude nothing short of awesome 5 stars
11/22/07 Quality I don't believe it! Bay still hasn't killed himself after Bad Boys 2, WTF?!? 1 stars
11/16/07 Jay Hey wanna learn somthin go to school, want entertainment go to a movie douche bag 5 stars
11/10/07 g webster pretty nice action,but could have been so much more 4 stars
10/31/07 rodh campy with over-the-top action..loved it for what it was, a Michael Bay movie! 4 stars
10/28/07 Ladiesman217 The director *and* the movie were completely soul-less sociopaths 1 stars
10/28/07 Caiphn Who cares about plot holes, you'll hate every actor so much it doesn't matter. Ridiculous! 1 stars
10/27/07 tracey chambers visually its great but the dialogue is sooo bad its embarrassing 4 stars
10/25/07 Aaron Good movie, haha I can see you Ian 4 stars
10/18/07 Kay It is the worst film in the history of film. 1 stars
10/17/07 trav sucks, SO disappointed 1 stars
10/17/07 action movie fan great action and f/x but a bit video gamish=still summer fun, that's better than boredom 4 stars
10/15/07 Fanofnothing Turn off your brain, sit back and enjoy the ride! 5 stars
10/15/07 Keystra Williams Too many humans, not enough robots 4 stars
10/08/07 Matt L. The review is to critical, it is what it was meant to be a fun movie to watch 4 stars
10/07/07 Mr. Wiggely Good movie for not very bright children, lots of flash and bang for the kiddies and dialog 1 stars
10/05/07 JT Lindroos Plot holes that could have been fixed by anyone over 10. It shouldn't have been THIS bad. 1 stars
10/03/07 wall go see it 5 stars
9/24/07 Jason Honestly it is a mindless pointless crappy movie. But I loved it because it was crap. 3 stars
9/23/07 your mom THAT WAS THE GREATEST MOVIE IVE EVA SEEN! 5 stars
9/20/07 Johnnyfaye When it was over, I was stunned, not in a good way. I still don't know what to rate this 3 stars
9/14/07 dude loved it 5 stars
9/06/07 Mike loved it 5 stars
9/05/07 dude briiliant 5 stars
8/27/07 Booksworm Awesome! Awesome! Fucking AWESOME! 5 stars
8/23/07 E Right on. This movie was astoundingly bad. 1 stars
8/10/07 rory ewart one of the best films ive ever seen up ther with the likes of casino royale and layer cake! 5 stars
8/09/07 suresh kumar.N the tranformations of the robots from one to another is so awesome 5 stars
8/07/07 Bessie the Cow Udderly Garbage 1 stars
8/05/07 Charles Tatum Moronic and pointless, could've been so much better 1 stars
8/04/07 dave cool premise, but the film didn't do it for me. 2 stars
8/01/07 Taurus U hit the nail on the head EXCEPT tht the bad guys hav always been known as the Decepticons 2 stars
8/01/07 Pedrag They missed the boat on this one. It could have been so good! It ended up being awful. 1 stars
7/30/07 damalc childish, but what did i expect from Michael Bay and an 80s cartoon 2 stars
7/29/07 Hello Stranger the plot was thin. characters feel cliched to the max. only cgi and action good. 2 stars
7/28/07 common sense people that hate transformers hate it for thier biased views on the director. 5 stars
7/28/07 David Graham Summers most action packed, transforming experience. 5 stars
7/27/07 Bumble Bee Best summer event movie in recent memory...Bee-Otch. 5 stars
7/27/07 lucas awesome 5 stars
7/24/07 Justin M. Spot on. I just wanted good action, and to make me care about what happened. I got nada.. 1 stars
7/23/07 Bantin "I dont like Michael Bay, boo hoo hoo, what about my childhood?, boo hoo" Losers. 5 stars
7/23/07 Anthony Kane I agree with this review: A stupid movie for the stupid masses 1 stars
7/19/07 Sci-Fi Scoundrel Aaron Great Flick, but the ending action scenes between Mega and Opt. were to damn blurry. 4 stars
7/18/07 Not Blindly Nostalgic I went in expecting a "popcorn muncher" and wasn't disappointed. Not terrible, not great. 3 stars
7/17/07 G-rok So disapointed in this movie. I loved the show as a kid but this was crap. 1 stars
7/17/07 Paul W. I liked it...until the last five minutes when Prime starts to Monologue...then they lost me 3 stars
7/16/07 Roy Smith No expectations going in. Still disappointing. 100% Shit! 1 stars
7/15/07 Bob I have a headache 2 stars
7/15/07 Roy Two and a half hours of product placement 2 stars
7/15/07 bullit16 Not as wretchedly putrid as I expected it to be. Is that a compliment? 2 stars
7/15/07 Dark Enchantress it was a great movie 5 stars
7/14/07 Vincent Ebriega Overlong, but it's one loud fun movie. 4/5. 4 stars
7/14/07 MicTar Embodied everything that the cartoons and comics embodied in the 80's 5 stars
7/14/07 Dr. Jim Vickrey It is a brilliant example of a science fiction action-thriller based on a popular toy. 5 stars
7/13/07 Austin Wertman AWESOME. BETTERTHAN i EXPECTED 5 stars
7/13/07 Adrianne Great family film full of action and pure entertainment 4 stars
7/13/07 jazz I'm confused, are you a retard for liking this tripe? 1 stars
7/12/07 Optimus Prime Please, do not let Michael Bay torture us any longer 1 stars
7/12/07 Rob I'm confused. Are you reviewing the movie or your opinionated views of the director? 5 stars
7/11/07 VirtualRobot Turns out a movie can be terrible but enjoyable. 3 stars
7/11/07 Akiko Pure fun, made of awesome and kick ass robots. By the way, get the stick out of your ass. 5 stars
7/11/07 Tiffany Losco my four year old daughter went to see this with her camp. She loved it. 5 stars
7/11/07 D CGI does a great job of distracting from the lack of story, intelligence, cheesy dialog 1 stars
7/11/07 sol robot designs were good apart from megatron, look like a can of broken spoons 3 stars
7/11/07 mason Transformers is a movie for children, it is very entertaining for a 6-12 year old mind. 4 stars
7/11/07 BoBo Cool Guys Movie. To the reveiwer, If you pull the stick out of you arse you'll enjoy more. 5 stars
7/11/07 Dirk Why the copyright owners choose Michael Bay - its like choosing Ronald McDonald to direct. 2 stars
7/10/07 AJ Muller Dumb fun. Great FX. LeBeouf is really talented. Kickass robots. Lots of fun. 4 stars
7/10/07 Simon Wow it hurts to see this movie's status fanboyly bloated to 'Awesome'. Wow. 1 stars
7/10/07 strongbad Really bad movie with some nice special effects. 1 stars
7/10/07 Georgi Petrov Loved this movie, the action was awesome. 5 stars
7/10/07 JCSC Great movie. Maybe this reviewer should read a comic or two so she can understand the story 5 stars
7/10/07 chrismischief "My Heterosexual Life Partner?" This reviewer's WAY too UPTIGHT to enjoy a movie like this 4 stars
7/10/07 DnBLoxy 1* for Transformer fans, 3* if taken from an action movie standpoint. Way too many cuts. 2 stars
7/10/07 The Chode Movie sucks 1 stars
7/10/07 dubesinhower It's funny how mostly the people who don't like Michael Bay gave it one star. Sweet movie! 5 stars
7/10/07 Ilya C It's action packed, funny, and I actualy was able to care about the bots. It's a fun ride. 5 stars
7/10/07 Pixie Idiotic Michael Bay stuff all over again! 1 stars
7/09/07 deep Ignorant. It takes a sociopath to think calling millions of people idiots is acceptable. 5 stars
7/09/07 Paul You don't "get it"? That's because you're an idiot. 4 stars
7/09/07 Rufuss God you suck! (the reviewer that is) 5 stars
7/09/07 D Right on the money 1 stars
7/09/07 Leo I never saw or played with transformers, but this movie rocked. 5 stars
7/09/07 M perfection! Its a "movie" people!! loosen up.... 5 stars
7/09/07 Punisher I hated transformers as a kid but really liked the movie, but this was an awesome movie! 5 stars
7/09/07 Lynnaea Agree w/ Orndorf. Editing made action hard to watch; otherwise, movie was GREAT. 5 stars
7/09/07 Balrog I think the transformer virgins should try meeting girls instead of defending a BAD MOVIE. 1 stars
7/09/07 Scott This reviewer doesn't know anything about Transformers. So Bay made up "Decepticons" hmm... 5 stars
7/09/07 FilmViewer I think this critic has more of a problem with Michael Bay. GREAT MOVIIE 5 stars
7/09/07 nerds must die Big CGI can;t hide a suck ass movie. Waste of time and overhyped. 1 stars
7/09/07 R2D2 It was an awsome movie, and if you didn't like it, then go watch a chick flick you sissies. 5 stars
7/09/07 Emperor Palaptine After I saw the movie I threw the senate at him. The whole senate. True story. 1 stars
7/08/07 Mayhem Obviously this dumb bitch hasn't seen the cartoon. GET BACK TO THE KITCHEN! 5 stars
7/08/07 LostRock812 The movie had great special effects but it also had a decent ammount of plotholes. 5 stars
7/08/07 KiddieFiddlingRetard Stop touching your balls Touchball. The movie sucked. 1 stars
7/08/07 Touchball I cant believe the amount of kiddie fiddling retards that gave this movie one star 5 stars
7/08/07 Jil Leifson Not evey movie has to have a huge meaning behind it. Can't we enjoy some fun entertaing act 5 stars
7/08/07 BillTheGalacticHero How many internet nerds does it take to sit and clog up a movie review site? A LOT! 1 stars
7/08/07 Jorge All I have to say is that it's been a while since I went to se a movie twice at the theater 5 stars
7/08/07 ad glad i read the reviews before - better than them 4 stars
7/08/07 Schneidend Can I be a pseudo-intellectual film critic by saying "or something" every two sentences? 5 stars
7/08/07 Garrett Jones You shouldn't tout your ignorance as something positive, other that that review was perfect 1 stars
7/08/07 Bill Gosse Orndorf, you're my hero. The only critic here who "gets" the film. AND can write. 4 stars
7/08/07 Jon Most of the "critques" made are attack the original toyline. Maybe try reviewing the movie? 5 stars
7/08/07 RandomReader Its real easy to downplay an action movie based on a toy franchise. The moive is great. 5 stars
7/07/07 Ole Man Bourbon Eye-candy for kiddies, nothing more. 2 stars
7/07/07 Darkstar Giant robots, Megan Foxs' tits and ass. Nice 5 stars
7/07/07 Quagmire All that money and "talent" working on this film and that is as good as it gets? Weak... 1 stars
7/07/07 Nav If you loved transformers you will hate this movie 2 stars
7/07/07 smithee Worst screenplay I've seen in a LONG time. Bay's hamfisted directing sucked too. 1 stars
7/07/07 deepfriedcheese Great CGI and cinamatography. Horrible writing and directing. Overall: Average 3 stars
7/07/07 TP The point of a movie is to get lost in it and have fun. What's not fun about this movie? 5 stars
7/07/07 dufus Internet nerd fanboys unite! Combine to form Nerdatron! This movie sucked! 1 stars
7/07/07 go i wish the movie had been about the Transformers instead of about Shia trying to get laid. 2 stars
7/07/07 Someone Here? CGI: Mindblowing. Plot:Missing. Acting: Horrible. Nostalgia: Lots. 2 stars
7/07/07 dweeby Lighten up, Francis! Of course it's not high cinema, it's about robots, what did you expect 4 stars
7/07/07 Girls Know Nothing go watch notebook for the millionth time or better yet kill yourself 5 stars
7/07/07 Steve Thanks for the reality check. Others' reviews almost tempted me to see more M. Bay crud. 1 stars
7/07/07 rone13 The reason the car is called Deceptico, is because in the cartoon the car has the same name 4 stars
7/07/07 Pixiest This movie sucked so much monkey butt the monkey turned inside out. 1 stars
7/07/07 Seth I own a copy of Pierrot le fou and have a 148 IQ, lighten up a$$...Transformers was F-U-N! 5 stars
7/07/07 Danielle this movie was hilarious, but not as much as this review. 1 stars
7/07/07 You're COLD You make some good points. It was still an awesome movie. Sorry you have no soul 5 stars
7/07/07 KieranDraven A TERRIFIC NOD to the original series and a great movie in it's own right. 5 stars
7/07/07 db fun movie 5 stars
7/07/07 raif10 Why didn't we hear people die or see blood? IT'S A PG-13 MOVIE. Twit. 5 stars
7/07/07 Mad@Critic Is the guy writing this critique retarded? Does he know nothing about the Transformers? 5 stars
7/07/07 tapman Anyone who didn't grow up with Transformers = poor critics of this movie. Best of summer! 5 stars
7/07/07 Juliana True to the comics. Funny, yet robots are still saving the world. DAM good portrayal 5 stars
7/07/07 P.W. Dawn - were you ever even a fan of this show or know anything about it? 5 stars
7/07/07 David Your comments portray your arrogance and stupidity, Dawn. Find another job. 5 stars
7/07/07 Becca You're making us girls look bad by posting about things you obviously don't understand. 4 stars
7/07/07 Mike Seems like you hate Bay and his movies. Why did you even bother watching. Just stay home! 5 stars
7/07/07 Jason Beamaroonietoonie The only thing more entertaining than this movie is listening to "critics" whine about it 5 stars
7/07/07 heavySausage Maybe you and your 'heterosexual life partner' should go rent a porno and lighten up a bit. 5 stars
7/07/07 rob #1 optimus prime had lips! #2 shockwave had an orgasm every time he hacked something.. 2 stars
7/06/07 Non-Hater She's just pissed Megatron didn't turn into a pistol the size of one of his comrades hands. 4 stars
7/06/07 Ryan I thought it was extremely entertaining. Shia was actually pretty good in this. 4 stars
7/06/07 RadioNinja IT'S A MOVIE ABOUT A CARTOON BASED ON A TOY! WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT? 5 stars
7/06/07 Crap-tastic The movie is called Transformers. Why were we following pesky humans for most of it?! 1 stars
7/06/07 Jacob B. It doesn't matter how dumb it was. This is a childhood fantasy made reality for alot of us! 5 stars
7/06/07 Scorch Wow, not very kind. Have you ever seen Transformers at any time in your life? 5 stars
7/06/07 Adam R It was an excellent film. 5 stars
7/06/07 GonzoY Sorry you did not have a childhood DT, and for showing boys and girls are different, again! 5 stars
7/06/07 Richard Wow... Stop being so damn jealous at Bay for being more successful at life than you are. 5 stars
7/06/07 CowbotFromHell You are a jackass lady, seriously... Michael bay a sociopath and a talentless film maker... 5 stars
7/06/07 the dirty digger Best Movie in the World. Thank You Michael Bay. I will name my first 3 children after you!! 5 stars
7/06/07 Jasen It's actually pretty good; This reviewer just has a stick up his ass. 4 stars
7/06/07 Juliano Absolutely DEAD ON. If you like this movie, YOU ARE A RETARD. Period. What a disgrace. 1 stars
7/06/07 Dave I fell asleep during the "Best" battle scene at 2:30 in the afternoon. This was awful. 1 stars
7/06/07 DO SOME FUCKING RESEARCH DAWN If you were real critic you would do some research or pay attention they name the bad guys 4 stars
7/06/07 Kenny Valentine The bad guys were orignally called decepticons you stupid noob movie reviewer! 4 stars
7/06/07 LadiesEviloid69 You are awesome 1 stars
7/06/07 David B Apparently the reviewer doesn't realize that Bay didn't create Transformers story? 4 stars
7/06/07 Jared Griffin DT=Idiot 5 stars
7/06/07 Bob Was okay, liked the first scene the best 4 stars
7/06/07 rain Suspension of disbelief is not the same as idiocy. Ever enjoyed a fairy tale? DT = idiot. 5 stars
7/06/07 Brusimm 2 1/2 hours of good voilent robot fun with great spots of humor!! 5 stars
7/06/07 drblakjak It had so corny parts but for the most part it was great. Thought it was really well done. 5 stars
7/06/07 Bflo Reviewer knows jack about the franchise or that this is an intro. 2 more movies coming. 4 stars
7/06/07 Yastreb I liked the action, but I so wanted several characters (including Sam) to die horribly. 3 stars
7/06/07 Optimus was SO FAR from Prime I agree the thoughts found within this review were exactly mine while watching, AWFUL MOVIE 1 stars
7/06/07 Michael C. Loved it to pieces, saw it a few times already. 5 stars
7/06/07 Amused Reviewer is a moron who betrays his dislike of all transformers by complaining about names 4 stars
7/06/07 Tom Servo UNMITTIGATED GENIUS? I suppose next you're going to say ID4 ranks next to discovering Fire 1 stars
7/06/07 John this movie was great how could you give it such a low rating A-PLUS 4 stars
7/06/07 Constantine This review was the best part of Tranformers. 1 stars
7/06/07 Amazed Over 2 years of development for this?? They seriously dropped the ball. 1 stars
7/06/07 Horrible. Horrible. Horrible. One word for this movie HORRIBLE! 1 stars
7/06/07 Mike Nelson and the Bots As "Optimus Prime!" below indicates, only idiots will like the film. It's "roll" moron! 1 stars
7/06/07 Anthony G Effects were MIND BLOWING. But unfortunatly, thats it. 2 stars
7/06/07 ed209 i guess only michael bay could murder optimus prime 1 stars
7/06/07 Optimus Prime! Awesome movie! Autobots...Role out! 5 stars
7/06/07 Movie Scene This crap is Transformers? Did retards wearing testosterone patches make this movie? 1 stars
7/06/07 cinemastinks Lousy, LOUSY movie. CGI was passable, but Bay murdered the material 1 stars
7/06/07 Jo No amount of eye-popping special effects could rescue this STUPID STUPID movie. Utter junk! 1 stars
7/06/07 Ororo Loved Transformers growing up... HATED THIS MOVIE. Dawn's review was perfect! 2 stars
7/05/07 no. I don't care. The reviewer is ugly/wrinkly says a lot of or something to be hip. Too easy. 4 stars
7/05/07 jordan thomson WORSR E MOVIE EVER...MY SON EVEN HATED IT....LAME LAME LAME 1 stars
7/05/07 neliz This movie is leagues above sequeels this summer: spidey3, pirates/shrek/die hard etc. 5 stars
7/05/07 Stuey I am a queer, and I actually liked it (this is for dvd123447). 4 stars
7/05/07 Paul Great movie!!! it is what it is!! It's fiction with excellent effects and good acting 5 stars
7/05/07 Zordude Great popcorn summer blockbuster 5 stars
7/05/07 Pete D Transformers was a blast. 5 stars
7/05/07 Lee "Idiots"? I'll compare craniums w/ you any day, Dawn. Kid Sci Fi fans = Today's Leaders. 4 stars
7/05/07 John Two action scenes with 90 minutes of boredom between punctuated by lame slapstick. Awful. 1 stars
7/05/07 ___ Great CGI/lots of action, but plot is nonexistent,characters uninteresting 2 stars
7/05/07 Benjamin Soulless battle sequences (albeit impressive CGI) and dull, poorly acted teen comedy = bad. 2 stars
7/05/07 RazorFang To Carlos: You are an idiot.ID4 is a helluva great movie (and so is this!) 5 stars
7/05/07 Quigley The fans will love it. It gave me a headache. Good action scenes; cartoony CGI 3 stars
7/05/07 Jeff This review sucks, old hag just jealous cuz shes ugly and cant pay attention in movies 5 stars
7/05/07 Carlos Craig M, best since Indep.Day? You did NOT set your bar high at all! 3 stars
7/05/07 Gee Token intelligent hot chicks = not enough to exuse the rest who were just a pair of boobs 2 stars
7/05/07 Carlos I wish Bay were less confusing w/ battle scenes; w/ Bay lil' plot better than shitty plot 3 stars
7/04/07 Ryan The CGI: awesome. The movie: absolute crap. Michael Bay: communist 2 stars
7/04/07 razz Wonderful! Allowed adults to become kids again & enjoy the movie with their children! 5 stars
7/04/07 BrianWilly Has a bit of an anti-climax, but still a fun, enjoyable movie. 5 stars
7/04/07 Rob Exceelent movie in all aspects. Good story, effects, everything 5 stars
7/04/07 Nolan Craw Awesome movie, if you dont know what transformers is about,then how can you critique it ? 5 stars
7/04/07 Skwib I hate Michael Bay, but he delivered the most fun movie experience I've had in years. 5 stars
7/04/07 martinus one word to the critic..go watch some sappy drama and gloat on that..lolz.. 5 stars
7/04/07 zaw very good cgi, if you're going to put people that don't have exp acting don't let them talk 3 stars
7/04/07 kurt i loved it. everyone i know loved it. i guess some critics don't have any imagination. 5 stars
7/04/07 BayandSpielbergSuck Terrible film.Filmmakers have no clue. Only CGI is any good. 1 stars
7/04/07 Captain Highcrime Their damn subconcious ploy worked: MUST BUY CAMARO..MUST BUY CAMARO..MUST BUY CAMARO 3 stars
7/04/07 michaelb14 decent, but that constantly shaking the camera sucks, let us actually see the transformers 4 stars
7/04/07 Red This movie needed to be about an hour shorter. 2 stars
7/04/07 Mike Incredible action. I was pumped up through the whole move. Best of 2007 BY FAR 5 stars
7/04/07 Sn0wCrash do yourself a favor, go rent the animated movie, save about 20$ AND have fun doing it!!!!!! 1 stars
7/04/07 dvd123447 if you did not love this movie you are a freakin queer 5 stars
7/04/07 Drew The best Summer movie so far 5 stars
7/04/07 KingNeutron This may actually BE the Coolest Movie I have Evar Seen. EVAR. 5 stars
7/04/07 Random Pure spectacle of course; still it captures all that was cool about the cartoon 5 stars
7/04/07 Blizz You're all idiots. It's a Michael Bay film...'nuff said. G-A-R-B-A-G-E! 1 stars
7/03/07 Adrian Pure summer entertainment at it's best. 5 stars
7/03/07 naewar Best movie so far this summer...over Spiderman, Fantastic4, Shrek...fabulous...& I'm a girl 5 stars
7/03/07 craig m best movie of its type since independence day...I know the toys my kids will be asking for! 5 stars
7/03/07 Keystra Williams It's cool, but the cop car wasn't in the final battle? Where'd he go! 5 stars
7/03/07 Pokejedservo Its not perfect but it was very much a pleasant surprise. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Jul-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 16-Oct-2007

UK
  27-Jul-2007 (12A)

Australia
  28-Jun-2007 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast