More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.77

Awesome: 7.32%
Worth A Look25.2%
Average: 23.58%
Pretty Bad25.2%
Total Crap: 18.7%

8 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Citizenfour by Greg Ursic

Women Who Flirt by Jay Seaver

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Lake Placid
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Is 'Lake Flaccid' too obvious of a pun?"
2 stars

Another in a long line of Hollywood teases, a limp and lazy affair that promises some carnage, yet offers corn. Some pretty good actors wander around aimlessly, occassionally screaming at the blurry lines surrounding the CGI effects. A true mystery, and I'll tell you why.......

If you edited perhaps 5 or 6 raunchy (and painfully unfunny) vulgarities and maybe 10 seconds of mild gore, this would be one of those movies parents would allow their 12-year old boys to see. It's certainly too tame for any kind of real horror fan. The forced witticisms and strained sarcasm that are the hallmark of David E. Kelley's snarky writing runs rampant here. The actors are the only ones in on the joke, apparently. I don't want to give too much away, but let's just say the entire cast could return for the sequel. Bridget Fonda bites her lip, Bill Pullman stammers and looks dazed, and Oliver Platt does some kind of strange Marlon Brando/Thurston Howell thing.

A few exciting scenes show up just long enough to remind you how bored you are, but then Betty White shows up. Hoo boy. If you loved her scene-stealing turn in Hard Rain, this movie's for you. She makes Chris Rock look like Pebbles Flintstone in this one, and I don't mean that in a good way. For some odd reason, the producers have decided that one reviewer's claim that Lake Placid is this year's Anaconda is to be considered praise somehow, as it's plastered all over the ads. At least Anaconda had a body count.

A few scattered fun scenes, but I don't order cheeseburgers for the pickles.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1554&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/16/99 15:22:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/25/14 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE AND TEDIOUS 1 stars
3/25/14 zmygsq USA 4 stars
2/18/13 Kcaj really doesnt deserve the bad rep it got! 4 stars
9/30/12 roscoe Good, but too brief. An entire middle act seems to be gone. The conclusion is rushed. 3 stars
1/28/10 Jeff Wilder Feels like something that had a narrow escape from the direct to TV market. 2 stars
8/30/09 Julian Great mixture of humour and thrills 4 stars
6/08/09 art IT"S A MIXTURE OF JAW"S AND ALLIGATOR,EQUAL:"S SUCESS! 4 stars
8/13/08 Shaun Wallner Ugg boring!! 1 stars
12/16/07 Jason Good value entertainment. Great salt water croc effects too. 4 stars
4/23/07 David Risser BORING 2 stars
1/08/07 Anthony Feor The comice effect of this movie really makes it good 4 stars
10/05/06 Booksworm I was rooting for the gator. 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Quit with the f%*#ing Jaws rip-offs already, sh*t!!!! 1 stars
8/09/06 Doreen It was okay...NOT great. 3 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj Bestest action. B grade 4 stars
3/29/06 Dk Funny and well acted. Scary to 4 stars
8/12/05 ES One of my favourite monster movies= it ain't winning awards but its funny and well done 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Shit! 1 stars
5/28/05 tony ok movie i would watch it again. but they should improve on the plot and characters. 3 stars
2/20/05 Jeff Anderson The crocodile effects are well done & locations are great, but cast & script both SUCK!!!!! 2 stars
1/03/05 Sweetgrrl1972 Way better than a film about a killler crocodile should be thanks to great writing/acting. 5 stars
6/01/04 R.W. Welch Another clunky Jaws clone tho entertaining in spots. 2 stars
4/06/04 fff f 1 stars
3/17/04 HorrorMovieFan very boring, gay plot, not scary. hmmm... that seems to me a total krap movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/20/04 john a really fun idea but themovie is just incoherent! 2 stars
2/06/04 c.r a ok movie , with some killer scences! 3 stars
1/02/04 Teran Chrysler I liked it. 4 stars
12/08/03 Samuel not all that good, but decent... 3 stars
9/03/03 Charles Tatum One of the most sarcastic pics ever made 4 stars
7/22/03 Double G A good plot and story but the "monster" should not have been a crocodile. 3 stars
7/08/03 nr i thought it was a great film and the actors did great 5 stars
4/10/03 someone very exiting-It kept my attention! 5 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Just plain asinine. A talented cast wasted. 1 stars
9/22/02 Morally Sound Very boring and not that funny. 1 stars
8/05/02 KMG I DIDN'T NEED TO HEAR BETTY WHITE CUSS 3 stars
7/16/02 JesseL Of this type of movie, GREAT 4 stars
5/16/02 The Skating Peppercorn Yodelers Sporadically OK; Bridget Fonda worried about wiping her ass with poison ivy funniest part. 3 stars
3/25/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Very bleh!! But I still watched all the way through. Doesn't serve up much. 3 stars
1/15/02 Murray Castles Good fun. 4 stars
9/06/01 Gary Entertaining but the complete lack of suspense is painfully obvious. 3 stars
8/08/01 Leave Me Alone Stinks like yesterday's diapers 1 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Boring. Predictable. Still better than some things out there. 2 stars
6/22/01 Dave I was so disappointed this looked like something great - ohh wellll... 2 stars
5/03/01 Dom Corleone completely pointless 1 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden Lake Placid is one big mess of a movie. Extremly silly and mindless. Horrible acting. 1 stars
4/08/01 Dundee The crude granny routine is the worst convention Hollywood ever conceived. Terrible movie 1 stars
3/03/01 Jacob Myers Fake and Flaccid with Rose from the Golden Girls with the potty mouth 1 stars
2/26/01 bum hole joe great 5 stars
2/11/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Grrrrrr... 2 stars
1/29/01 Gray Works as a comedy, but it could've been much scarier 3 stars
10/08/00 BirdBrain Funny but scareless and pretty boring. 3 stars
10/06/00 Scorpion Guting This movie was a kick @$$ movie. I would like to see it again at the theatres! 5 stars
7/11/00 Bender Enjoyable, because of the sharp sarcastic humor 4 stars
7/10/00 Elvisfan I was rooting for the alligator to eat all the annoying actors...there are several 1 stars
4/10/00 punkass I laughed more at my mothers funeral. More proof USA has a humour bypass 1 stars
4/07/00 SID It's very funny; well written. But it seems like it's two minutes long. 4 stars
4/04/00 Matthew Bartley Don't throw heads at me! A lot of fun 4 stars
3/20/00 arnold pure shit but good special effects 2 stars
3/16/00 fire-n-ice was good and Betty White was a funny foul mouth*hahahhaha* 4 stars
2/12/00 Add Funny as fuck not that scary but an enjoyable waste of 82mins without a doubt 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Not enough carnage to suit me. Bah. Betty White was a trip, though. 2 stars
1/07/00 Murray Castles A lot of fun. Better than Deep Blue Sea. 4 stars
11/28/99 Joel Harwood Shits on JAWS and pisses on Deep Blue Sea 5 stars
11/24/99 Murray Castles A fun film. Not serious in any way , and the better for it. 4 stars
9/22/99 John Rizzo Two words: "Lake Flacid." Terrible acting covered w/ mediocre effects. 1 stars
9/12/99 Ratso Let me just say that you get to watch Betty White feed a cow to a giant alligator. 5 stars
8/19/99 KK Lousy, Lousy, Lousy. Funny one-liners, but that's about it. 2 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Fun movie...had some humor...but not enuff blood or guts! 3 stars
7/25/99 Ah Dooey not good 2 stars
7/23/99 Orgazmo The scariness is lost in the black waters, but I laughed and I was entertained emensely. 3 stars
7/23/99 PhilmPhreak Pretty funny, good rental 3 stars
7/21/99 Jim Fay The movie that answers the question "Who would win if an crocodile fought a helicopter? 3 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner A bad rehash of Anaconda, which was a rehash of Jaws, etc., and bad FX 2 stars
7/16/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy It wants to be on Disney. 1 stars
7/16/99 Starry Knight mediocre effects. Boring parts. Slow but some funny parts. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jul-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Oct-1999 (R)


Directed by
  Steve Miner

Written by
  David E. Kelley

Cast
  Bill Pullman
  Bridget Fonda
  Oliver Platt
  Brendan Gleeson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast