More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.75

Awesome: 7.32%
Worth A Look: 24.39%
Average: 23.58%
Pretty Bad25.2%
Total Crap: 19.51%

8 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Lake Placid
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"This is not a trashy B grade monster movie – it’s an off the wall comedy."
3 stars

“Lake Placid” is not a typical movie of its genre. I was expecting to see a really dumb movie. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised. The film is clever, witty, and entertaining.

Near the shore of a lake in the woods of Maine a mutilated body is found. A palaeontologist, Kelly, is called in because the sheriff and a game warden find a very large tooth which looks like it is from a huge prehistoric crocodile. Jack Wells, the local Fish and Game warden, is in charge. Jack and Kelly have to cope with several strange characters: Sheriff Hank Keogh, the idiot local sheriff; Hector Cyr, a mythology expert who doesn’t want to kill the beast, but wants to capture it to study it; and Mrs. Bickerman, a really weird old woman who feeds her cattle to the croc.

WARNING - In order to review this film and discuss its meaning, I have to reveal the ending. So . . . if you don't want to know what happens in the end, please don't read this until after you have seen the film.

The screenwriter had an excellent sense of character development and the humor that goes along with the comic characters in the film. The humor is sometimes off the base and edging toward black comedy. It pokes fun at itself, but is grounded in reality.

There are two main characters. One is Jack Wells, played by Bill Pullman. The other is Kelly Scott, played by Bridget Fonda.

Jack is the leader of the group. He is supposed to be the love interest for Kelly, but because he is a fairly flat character and has no character arc, it is hard to believe how Kelly could become interested in him.

Kelly is, at first, quite a bitch. She comes across as a spoiled New Yorker. She does not want to be where she is and lets everyone know it. However, by the end of the story she has become a better person.

Jack and Kelly, however, are not really the main characters. There two characters that save the movie from being stupid are Hector Sears and Sheriff Keough. Oliver Platt plays Sears, and Brendan Gleeson. plays Keough.

Both these characters are stock characters. Hector is the stereotypical rich, sarcastic, eccentric, and competent ‘expert’ who has come to help. He is also a bit of a clown. He come in conflict with Sheriff Keough, who is the stereotype idiot local sheriff.

These two characters are anything but stereotypes in action. It is the conflict between the two characters that makes the film. The lines that Hector has to say to the Sheriff, and the things that happen to the both of them are hilarious.

The Sheriff and Hector are the only two characters with a significant character arc. They both change in a big way by the end of the film, a way that makes them better people.

The special effects are excellent (not the best I’ve seen, but certainly good enough to carry the story. The computer effects are by Digital Domain and the animatronics are by Stan Winston.

The film does have the typical monster movie ending. That is, where offspring or other creatures of the same type as the monster reveal themselves in such a way that the audience knows there will be more monsters, but the main characters who fought the monster do not know that there will be more. (Films like "Godzilla," "Species I" and "Species II", etc., do this.) However, in “Lake Placid” the end is a bit more original as the crazy old woman is shown feeding the tiny offspring of the two big crocs. (This ties the viewer back to the comic aspect of the old woman’s character. It is a nice end to the film)

Watch the film. It is not the crappy film you may have been told it is.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1554&reviewer=228
originally posted: 06/27/02 01:09:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell lame lake flacid is more like it 1 stars
10/25/14 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE AND TEDIOUS 1 stars
2/18/13 Kcaj really doesnt deserve the bad rep it got! 4 stars
9/30/12 roscoe Good, but too brief. An entire middle act seems to be gone. The conclusion is rushed. 3 stars
1/28/10 Jeff Wilder Feels like something that had a narrow escape from the direct to TV market. 2 stars
8/30/09 Julian Great mixture of humour and thrills 4 stars
6/08/09 art IT"S A MIXTURE OF JAW"S AND ALLIGATOR,EQUAL:"S SUCESS! 4 stars
8/13/08 Shaun Wallner Ugg boring!! 1 stars
12/16/07 Jason Good value entertainment. Great salt water croc effects too. 4 stars
4/23/07 David Risser BORING 2 stars
1/08/07 Anthony Feor The comice effect of this movie really makes it good 4 stars
10/05/06 Booksworm I was rooting for the gator. 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Quit with the f%*#ing Jaws rip-offs already, sh*t!!!! 1 stars
8/09/06 Doreen It was okay...NOT great. 3 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj Bestest action. B grade 4 stars
3/29/06 Dk Funny and well acted. Scary to 4 stars
8/12/05 ES One of my favourite monster movies= it ain't winning awards but its funny and well done 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Shit! 1 stars
5/28/05 tony ok movie i would watch it again. but they should improve on the plot and characters. 3 stars
2/20/05 Jeff Anderson The crocodile effects are well done & locations are great, but cast & script both SUCK!!!!! 2 stars
1/03/05 Sweetgrrl1972 Way better than a film about a killler crocodile should be thanks to great writing/acting. 5 stars
6/01/04 R.W. Welch Another clunky Jaws clone tho entertaining in spots. 2 stars
4/06/04 fff f 1 stars
3/17/04 HorrorMovieFan very boring, gay plot, not scary. hmmm... that seems to me a total krap movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/20/04 john a really fun idea but themovie is just incoherent! 2 stars
2/06/04 c.r a ok movie , with some killer scences! 3 stars
1/02/04 Teran Chrysler I liked it. 4 stars
12/08/03 Samuel not all that good, but decent... 3 stars
9/03/03 Charles Tatum One of the most sarcastic pics ever made 4 stars
7/22/03 Double G A good plot and story but the "monster" should not have been a crocodile. 3 stars
7/08/03 nr i thought it was a great film and the actors did great 5 stars
4/10/03 someone very exiting-It kept my attention! 5 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Just plain asinine. A talented cast wasted. 1 stars
9/22/02 Morally Sound Very boring and not that funny. 1 stars
8/05/02 KMG I DIDN'T NEED TO HEAR BETTY WHITE CUSS 3 stars
7/16/02 JesseL Of this type of movie, GREAT 4 stars
5/16/02 The Skating Peppercorn Yodelers Sporadically OK; Bridget Fonda worried about wiping her ass with poison ivy funniest part. 3 stars
3/25/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Very bleh!! But I still watched all the way through. Doesn't serve up much. 3 stars
1/15/02 Murray Castles Good fun. 4 stars
9/06/01 Gary Entertaining but the complete lack of suspense is painfully obvious. 3 stars
8/08/01 Leave Me Alone Stinks like yesterday's diapers 1 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Boring. Predictable. Still better than some things out there. 2 stars
6/22/01 Dave I was so disappointed this looked like something great - ohh wellll... 2 stars
5/03/01 Dom Corleone completely pointless 1 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden Lake Placid is one big mess of a movie. Extremly silly and mindless. Horrible acting. 1 stars
4/08/01 Dundee The crude granny routine is the worst convention Hollywood ever conceived. Terrible movie 1 stars
3/03/01 Jacob Myers Fake and Flaccid with Rose from the Golden Girls with the potty mouth 1 stars
2/26/01 bum hole joe great 5 stars
2/11/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Grrrrrr... 2 stars
1/29/01 Gray Works as a comedy, but it could've been much scarier 3 stars
10/08/00 BirdBrain Funny but scareless and pretty boring. 3 stars
10/06/00 Scorpion Guting This movie was a kick @$$ movie. I would like to see it again at the theatres! 5 stars
7/11/00 Bender Enjoyable, because of the sharp sarcastic humor 4 stars
7/10/00 Elvisfan I was rooting for the alligator to eat all the annoying actors...there are several 1 stars
4/10/00 punkass I laughed more at my mothers funeral. More proof USA has a humour bypass 1 stars
4/07/00 SID It's very funny; well written. But it seems like it's two minutes long. 4 stars
4/04/00 Matthew Bartley Don't throw heads at me! A lot of fun 4 stars
3/20/00 arnold pure shit but good special effects 2 stars
3/16/00 fire-n-ice was good and Betty White was a funny foul mouth*hahahhaha* 4 stars
2/12/00 Add Funny as fuck not that scary but an enjoyable waste of 82mins without a doubt 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Not enough carnage to suit me. Bah. Betty White was a trip, though. 2 stars
1/07/00 Murray Castles A lot of fun. Better than Deep Blue Sea. 4 stars
11/28/99 Joel Harwood Shits on JAWS and pisses on Deep Blue Sea 5 stars
11/24/99 Murray Castles A fun film. Not serious in any way , and the better for it. 4 stars
9/22/99 John Rizzo Two words: "Lake Flacid." Terrible acting covered w/ mediocre effects. 1 stars
9/12/99 Ratso Let me just say that you get to watch Betty White feed a cow to a giant alligator. 5 stars
8/19/99 KK Lousy, Lousy, Lousy. Funny one-liners, but that's about it. 2 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Fun movie...had some humor...but not enuff blood or guts! 3 stars
7/25/99 Ah Dooey not good 2 stars
7/23/99 Orgazmo The scariness is lost in the black waters, but I laughed and I was entertained emensely. 3 stars
7/23/99 PhilmPhreak Pretty funny, good rental 3 stars
7/21/99 Jim Fay The movie that answers the question "Who would win if an crocodile fought a helicopter? 3 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner A bad rehash of Anaconda, which was a rehash of Jaws, etc., and bad FX 2 stars
7/16/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy It wants to be on Disney. 1 stars
7/16/99 Starry Knight mediocre effects. Boring parts. Slow but some funny parts. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jul-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Oct-1999 (R)


Directed by
  Steve Miner

Written by
  David E. Kelley

Cast
  Bill Pullman
  Bridget Fonda
  Oliver Platt
  Brendan Gleeson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast