More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look34.21%
Average: 16.67%
Pretty Bad: 10.53%
Total Crap: 21.93%

7 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Never Been Kissed
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Spazmatazz

"Sure, you're 17."
4 stars

This movie is a lot less humorous if you're in the throes of high school.

Sure, for all you out there that have already graduated, this might be a time to look back and reminisce. But for me, a little too much of this rang true. Exclusive cliques? Got 'em. Shun the smart kids? Check. Not that I'm a total social outcast or anything. Far, I'd say, from Josie Gellar status.

Josie Gellar (Drew Barrymore) plays a copy editor going on her first undercover reporting story - pretend to be a high school student and rock the world with what she discovers. It plays like you'd expect it to, with over the top caricatures of almost everyone you ever knew in high school. The final scene of the prom made me roll my eyes, though - why are movies mocking high school kids so popular nowadays? David Arquette gives a good supporting performance as Rob, Josie's 'popular' older brother who swoops in to save her when she discovers that, just as in her real high school experience, she is vastly uncool.

There are some funny scenes, such as when Josie goes to a club and is given a 'ganja brownie' and the scenes that follow ("Oh my god, somebody ate my whole pie!") but mostly this movie tries a little too hard for the laughs.

For Barrymore's first producing gig, though, not bad.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1556&reviewer=34
originally posted: 04/21/99 11:28:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/22/10 PAUL SHORTT MILDLY AMUSING BUT MUDDLED 2 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. a cute little movie that alot of us can relate to, in one way or another. :] 4 stars
11/27/08 little Red I love this movie 5 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
11/13/06 cody a pretty cool movie that remains everbody how bad highschool was. 3/5 3 stars
8/02/05 love not realistic, but still adorable, love you drew 4 stars
10/23/04 Hilary Adamson What planet can Chris Parry be from,hating this&liking 10 things I hate about you? 5 stars
6/03/04 Jim Main characters are sad sacks; their mooning over teenagers is just creepy. 1 stars
4/09/04 phoenix I so want Jessica Alba to suck my cock bone dry. 4 stars
2/21/04 Santa Monica Yu Mora 387.St,Kentucky Locations 5 stars
3/23/03 Santa Monica Yu Mora 387.St,Kentucky Locations 4 stars
2/26/03 R.W. Welch Pretty familiar routine teen stuff which nonetheless made mucho $$ 3 stars
2/08/03 Alyssa Young I loved the movie. Drew Barrymore was awesome. 5 stars
1/04/03 Matt Leblanc & Monica Yu Mora 387.St,Kentucky Locations 5 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon Mainly a showcase for the eternal Drew Barrymore. Excellent music. The rest, so-so. 4 stars
8/25/02 Retarded Homo Yeah Jessica Alba is fuckalicious! I wanna take a shit in her mouth, yeah, chow my turds! 5 stars
6/05/02 hassan zafar good 5 stars
5/24/02 Kristen great fun 4 stars
5/22/02 Professor Shithead True Hollywood shit in the grand tradition 1 stars
5/20/02 siro Why do chicks dig Drew Barrymore so much??? Let's be honest -- she SUCKS!!! 1 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Jessica Alba is so fuckable. Damn I want to fuck her in the ass, and have her suck my cock. 4 stars
4/27/02 esfse SUCKS! 1 stars
4/03/02 hannah fun, light, and happy ending. Loved it! Loved it! 5 stars
3/28/02 Sery I thought this movie was really cute. 4 stars
3/24/02 verbina King of the Bros: You are an IDIOT. WORST REVIEW EVER 4 stars
3/22/02 chris Jesus this movie fucking sucks so much ass Drew sucks ass 1 stars
1/30/02 Jessica Davis I'd be a Drew Barrymore fan if she were always like this! Charming! Hope casters take note. 4 stars
7/26/01 moviegoer Full of heart and humor. While it had it's umm... strange moments, I found it wonderful. 4 stars
4/16/01 LiL This was great, funny and had Drew Barrymore in it 4 stars
4/11/01 totally contrived, better than it should be thanks to Drew Barrymore's charm. 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a really good movie. Drew Barrymore's best I think! 4 stars
3/28/01 saucy terrible!!! terrible!!! terrible!!! 1 stars
3/12/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Okay, kill me if you must, but I really loved this movie. I even RELATED to it!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Horrible, Drew Barrymore at her worst, which--is pretty bad. 1 stars
9/29/00 The King of the Bros You want informative? How's this, YOU SUCK! 1 stars
9/10/00 Bob Fugate As a reviewer you are neither informative nor funny, what you are is a loser. 4 stars
9/03/00 Bill McNeal Some embarassing jokes, but it's incredibly sweet & Drew is very charismatic 5 stars
8/11/00 Bender Decent teeny bopper fluff. 3 stars
8/03/00 Elvisfan so awful that i am amazed it got released to the public at all 1 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez Man the guy who said that this movie is fuckig rufus is fucking right thi movie sucks 1 stars
6/06/00 Michael Grimm average entertainment, few laughs 3 stars
5/31/00 natasha disturbing-- even if she was 25, he was her teacher and didn't know it 3 stars
4/09/00 Amber Marie Schubert The movie was awesome and the teacher was hot 5 stars
3/19/00 Jed OK teenie flick 3 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright Tries to be charming and sweet, but instead is manipulative and thoughily irritating. Yuck. 2 stars
1/21/00 kmk i love drew barrymore, but this movie is pitiful 1 stars
9/17/99 strike The flashbacks were truthful, but still this is formulaic and the finale was childish. 2 stars
8/14/99 Mac Barrymore is excellent 5 stars
7/23/99 John Lyons Trite & predictable 3 stars
7/19/99 TOMB AMAZING 5 stars
7/09/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Will strike a chord with some. Overall a very sweet and depressing film. 3 stars
7/06/99 Angie Drew Barrymore is the queen of teen stardom...absolutely adorable movie w/ real moral value 5 stars
7/03/99 Daria Absolutely contrived and predictable, but Drew made it a fantastic experience. 5 stars
6/15/99 David Drew makes this one watchable; without her, the lame predictable story would suck all ass. 2 stars
5/27/99 darren Ack. Ptui. I walked out after 20 minutes and got my money back. 1 stars
5/15/99 Javachik Drew looked horrid, plot was totally incapable of happening, end was kinda nice 2 stars
5/10/99 Murrieta Man Possibly the worst film I have every seen. 1 stars
4/30/99 Sentaia E Very nice, but it kinda scared me... 5 stars
4/30/99 Goddess It was pretty good. Rufus! 4 stars
4/30/99 Angie Adorable movie!! Drew was a gem!! 5 stars
4/26/99 Mr Showbiz Who knew Drew Barrymore was a world class prat-faller? 5 stars
4/25/99 aoakely13 chick flick but okay 3 stars
4/22/99 Jessica THIS WAS THE BEST MOVIE!!!! MICHEAL VARTAN IS SOOO HHHHOOOOOTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/19/99 Malbert Who is this Michael Vartan guy? he was great, as was Drew B. 4 stars
4/18/99 ladyace a mishmash of the truman show & every other teen movie; the cool cast is wasted! 2 stars
4/16/99 Dave Drew kicks ass! 3 stars
4/10/99 mara funny movie. drew stirs your empathetic nature. dave arq. VERY cute in tightie whities. 4 stars
4/07/99 Hannah Leach It's really interesting 4 stars
4/07/99 Michael Grimm good beginning and middle, but the end? 4 stars
4/03/99 E Essentially an ensemble piece, with Arquette as another high-school drop in. 3 stars
4/02/99 Rodger Fun film. Moves well. Drew is great. But the wheels fall off at the end. 4 stars
3/31/99 The Graduate A sweet, entertaining flick--Drew is very watchable 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Apr-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jul-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast