More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look34.21%
Average: 16.67%
Pretty Bad: 10.53%
Total Crap: 21.93%

7 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Never Been Kissed
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"A movie all of us can identify with!"
4 stars

Finally a movie with which I can identify! Okay, okay I admit it I am a true dork at heart. This is a movie that everyone has something in common with, there is a small part of nerd in all of us. Also being a true romantic at heart, I can't pass up a good love story. Although the movie has its faults, it was still thoroughly enjoyable.

'Never Been Kissed' starring Drew Barrymore and David Arquette is a nice romantic comedy that had me laughing, crying, and dancing all at the same time in the theatre. The story follows Josie Geller, a copy editor at the Chicago Sun Times who aspires to be a writer. Her first assignment is to go back to high school and do an undercover expose on "What kids are like today." Josie who was nicknamed "Grossie Josie" the first time she was in high school, returns to once again become a member of the nerd group. I personally would not go back to high school for any amount of money.
Josie tries and fails in many hilarious scenes to become a member of the cool crowd. Only with the help of Rob, (David Arquette) her brother does Josie become cool. She unknowingly begins to fall in love with her English teacher Sam Coulson, portrayed by the oh so cute Michael Vartan. I must concur with Josie's heart, whoever did the casting - fabulous!! He is absolutely dreamy. Everyone has had that one teacher that was just incredibly gorgeous, and you would do any homework they ever gave you without any complaint.
After Josie is accepted into the "in" crowd it looks pretty much like smooth sailing after that. The most popular guy in the class, Guy, asks her to prom and she goes shopping with the popular girls. I must say however the prom scene was very unrealistic. Whose prom is that flamboyant? What, did they have a million dollars to plan it? No, I don't think so. My prom was in the Knights of Columbus Hall that had a bowling alley in the basement, not a million dollar mansion. The prom scene however, had the most acting in it. The rest of the time it seemed like Drew was just having a really good time portraying Josie.
In the prom scene, close to the film's end, Drew really dug deep into her soul when all Josie's feelings come to a point of no return. It is either act now, or regret it for the rest of her life. My favorite quote of the film comes from Josie, who states in horror, "What! You don't think that I can grab the bull by the balls."
Drew, who also executive produced the film, was simply superb and if she keeps going the way she is, she could single handedly corner the market for romantic comedies. Let's look at her past - 'The Wedding Singer', 'Ever After', 'Home Fries', 'Boys On The Side', 'Everyone Says I Love You', and a cameo in 'Scream'. Each of the films was good in it's own way. In the end Josie takes the jump and bares her soul to all of Chicago. Does she get the guy? Well, you shall have to go and see for yourself.
The rest of the cast includes Molly Shannon from 'Saturday Night Live' as Anita, Josie's oversexed co-worker. John C. Reilly from 'Boogie Nights' as Gus, Josie's boss. Jeremy Jordan (who also sings on the soundtrack) as Guy the hottie high school boy who invents his own language (rufus means cool). He was really the only character that I didn't like. In a way he reminded me of Leonardo Dicaprio, he was very thin and tall, in a way waifish, (think Kate Moss) as a guy and almost greasy looking - definitely not my idea of a hottie. Also Leelee Sobieski, last seen as Elijiah Wood's love interest in 'Deep Impact', as the nerd who initially befriends Josie.

My advice, take your best gal pal and head to the nearest theatre. I saw it with 3 guys....they just couldn't fully appreciate the romance...it may be a chick flick in some people's eyes...but I just thought it was great. Also the soundtrack rocks!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1556&reviewer=88
originally posted: 04/16/99 16:48:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/22/10 PAUL SHORTT MILDLY AMUSING BUT MUDDLED 2 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. a cute little movie that alot of us can relate to, in one way or another. :] 4 stars
11/27/08 little Red I love this movie 5 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
11/13/06 cody a pretty cool movie that remains everbody how bad highschool was. 3/5 3 stars
8/02/05 love not realistic, but still adorable, love you drew 4 stars
10/23/04 Hilary Adamson What planet can Chris Parry be from,hating this&liking 10 things I hate about you? 5 stars
6/03/04 Jim Main characters are sad sacks; their mooning over teenagers is just creepy. 1 stars
4/09/04 phoenix I so want Jessica Alba to suck my cock bone dry. 4 stars
2/21/04 Santa Monica Yu Mora 387.St,Kentucky Locations 5 stars
3/23/03 Santa Monica Yu Mora 387.St,Kentucky Locations 4 stars
2/26/03 R.W. Welch Pretty familiar routine teen stuff which nonetheless made mucho $$ 3 stars
2/08/03 Alyssa Young I loved the movie. Drew Barrymore was awesome. 5 stars
1/04/03 Matt Leblanc & Monica Yu Mora 387.St,Kentucky Locations 5 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon Mainly a showcase for the eternal Drew Barrymore. Excellent music. The rest, so-so. 4 stars
8/25/02 Retarded Homo Yeah Jessica Alba is fuckalicious! I wanna take a shit in her mouth, yeah, chow my turds! 5 stars
6/05/02 hassan zafar good 5 stars
5/24/02 Kristen great fun 4 stars
5/22/02 Professor Shithead True Hollywood shit in the grand tradition 1 stars
5/20/02 siro Why do chicks dig Drew Barrymore so much??? Let's be honest -- she SUCKS!!! 1 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Jessica Alba is so fuckable. Damn I want to fuck her in the ass, and have her suck my cock. 4 stars
4/27/02 esfse SUCKS! 1 stars
4/03/02 hannah fun, light, and happy ending. Loved it! Loved it! 5 stars
3/28/02 Sery I thought this movie was really cute. 4 stars
3/24/02 verbina King of the Bros: You are an IDIOT. WORST REVIEW EVER 4 stars
3/22/02 chris Jesus this movie fucking sucks so much ass Drew sucks ass 1 stars
1/30/02 Jessica Davis I'd be a Drew Barrymore fan if she were always like this! Charming! Hope casters take note. 4 stars
7/26/01 moviegoer Full of heart and humor. While it had it's umm... strange moments, I found it wonderful. 4 stars
4/16/01 LiL This was great, funny and had Drew Barrymore in it 4 stars
4/11/01 totally contrived, better than it should be thanks to Drew Barrymore's charm. 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a really good movie. Drew Barrymore's best I think! 4 stars
3/28/01 saucy terrible!!! terrible!!! terrible!!! 1 stars
3/12/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Okay, kill me if you must, but I really loved this movie. I even RELATED to it!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Horrible, Drew Barrymore at her worst, which--is pretty bad. 1 stars
9/29/00 The King of the Bros You want informative? How's this, YOU SUCK! 1 stars
9/10/00 Bob Fugate As a reviewer you are neither informative nor funny, what you are is a loser. 4 stars
9/03/00 Bill McNeal Some embarassing jokes, but it's incredibly sweet & Drew is very charismatic 5 stars
8/11/00 Bender Decent teeny bopper fluff. 3 stars
8/03/00 Elvisfan so awful that i am amazed it got released to the public at all 1 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez Man the guy who said that this movie is fuckig rufus is fucking right thi movie sucks 1 stars
6/06/00 Michael Grimm average entertainment, few laughs 3 stars
5/31/00 natasha disturbing-- even if she was 25, he was her teacher and didn't know it 3 stars
4/09/00 Amber Marie Schubert The movie was awesome and the teacher was hot 5 stars
3/19/00 Jed OK teenie flick 3 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright Tries to be charming and sweet, but instead is manipulative and thoughily irritating. Yuck. 2 stars
1/21/00 kmk i love drew barrymore, but this movie is pitiful 1 stars
9/17/99 strike The flashbacks were truthful, but still this is formulaic and the finale was childish. 2 stars
8/14/99 Mac Barrymore is excellent 5 stars
7/23/99 John Lyons Trite & predictable 3 stars
7/19/99 TOMB AMAZING 5 stars
7/09/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Will strike a chord with some. Overall a very sweet and depressing film. 3 stars
7/06/99 Angie Drew Barrymore is the queen of teen stardom...absolutely adorable movie w/ real moral value 5 stars
7/03/99 Daria Absolutely contrived and predictable, but Drew made it a fantastic experience. 5 stars
6/15/99 David Drew makes this one watchable; without her, the lame predictable story would suck all ass. 2 stars
5/27/99 darren Ack. Ptui. I walked out after 20 minutes and got my money back. 1 stars
5/15/99 Javachik Drew looked horrid, plot was totally incapable of happening, end was kinda nice 2 stars
5/10/99 Murrieta Man Possibly the worst film I have every seen. 1 stars
4/30/99 Sentaia E Very nice, but it kinda scared me... 5 stars
4/30/99 Goddess It was pretty good. Rufus! 4 stars
4/30/99 Angie Adorable movie!! Drew was a gem!! 5 stars
4/26/99 Mr Showbiz Who knew Drew Barrymore was a world class prat-faller? 5 stars
4/25/99 aoakely13 chick flick but okay 3 stars
4/22/99 Jessica THIS WAS THE BEST MOVIE!!!! MICHEAL VARTAN IS SOOO HHHHOOOOOTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/19/99 Malbert Who is this Michael Vartan guy? he was great, as was Drew B. 4 stars
4/18/99 ladyace a mishmash of the truman show & every other teen movie; the cool cast is wasted! 2 stars
4/16/99 Dave Drew kicks ass! 3 stars
4/10/99 mara funny movie. drew stirs your empathetic nature. dave arq. VERY cute in tightie whities. 4 stars
4/07/99 Hannah Leach It's really interesting 4 stars
4/07/99 Michael Grimm good beginning and middle, but the end? 4 stars
4/03/99 E Essentially an ensemble piece, with Arquette as another high-school drop in. 3 stars
4/02/99 Rodger Fun film. Moves well. Drew is great. But the wheels fall off at the end. 4 stars
3/31/99 The Graduate A sweet, entertaining flick--Drew is very watchable 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Apr-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jul-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast