More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.63

Awesome: 28.28%
Worth A Look35.35%
Average: 16.16%
Pretty Bad: 11.11%
Total Crap: 9.09%

9 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Drive Me Crazy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Wait, haven't I seen this one before?"
3 stars

Something that always bugs me about movies like this: What WORLD do these teens live in? The high school is a marble palace, everyone drives wonderful new (OR vintage) cars, NO student has a job, and their prom always looks like the Royal Wedding. EVERY girl is gorgeous, and every guy is chiseled, even the nerds, once you brush their hair for them. These depictions of adolescence are the greatest form of revisionist history ever, written by guys who never got laid in high school because they were too busy writing.

Drive Me Crazy is almost an exact remake of Can't Buy Me Love, the mid-80's pseudo-classic with Patrick Dempsey. But then again, this movie is also nearly identical to any one of a thousand high school movies. The key ingredient here is not originality, but who looks pretty and making sure that every character gets a girl at the end.

All the standard requirements for a high-school comedy are present and accounted for: The popular girl, the 'uncool' boy, the 'nerdy' friends, the bitchy girls, the abusive jocks, the venomous social outcasts, the meaningless parents, the obtuse school staff, and the BIG prom at the end, in which all the ugly truths about popularity and honor always prevail. The bottom line is that if you want to buy a used car, at least get one with a nice coat of paint. Drive Me Crazy has a pretty respectable coat of paint.

Melissa Joan Hart is quirky and cute and Nicole, who bucks all Hollywood trends by being both popular and sweet. She lives next door to Chase (Adrien Griener) and they used to be friends, before the unbearable angst of junior high tore them apart. Chase loves his (soon to be ex-)girlfriend Lacey, Nicole loves jock Brad. The two pair up for a 'mutually exclusive arrangement' to get the mates they lust after. If you don't know where this is headed, you really need to see more movies. There are several appealing subplots, such as those involving Chase's 'computer-oriented' buddies and a 'cyber-girlfriend'. Another nice touch was having the most popular girl in school profess to Chase that she used to be really fat and unloved, yet she still wonders which life is more fulfilling, the In Crowd or Out. (It was just a sneaky bit of intelligence, and it nearly shocked me.)

A few gags will catch you by surprise, and the performances will win over a lot of people. MJ Hart performs respectably, letting loose and having some fun playing an obviously overused character. Greiner stands out the most, not showing too much cockiness when he's on top nor too much misery when he's just the 'kid next door'. The supporting cast steals much of the show, and it's always nice to see people under 20 playing teenagers.

Although the icing is really nice, Drive Me Crazy is still the same old cake, and while it does offer some entertaining scenes, there is just not enough there for the movie to stand on it's own. There's only so many times the identical story can be told after all. It's easily recommended to high school girls, or fans of the rapidly souring genre, but it's nothing to holler about either.

As much as I tried to hate this movie, it actually sorta won me over a bit. Granted, this is also coming from a guy who recommends She's All That, but usually my bullshit tolerance is pretty low. While you've seen absolutely all of this before, you'll enjoy this one. (And IF you've seen this story elsewhere, then you obviously like these movies ANYWAY!)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1557&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/06/00 16:07:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/17/09 Shaun Wallner Great Film! 4 stars
4/25/06 bonet this the best movie ever!! has simplicity but can amazed you... 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor The teen movie era is slowly going down hill 1 stars
11/25/05 cr a very good teen flick with some class and true story how people lives change melissa fine 4 stars
7/15/05 love it has the most stupid ending i 've seen in long time! 2 stars
9/22/04 MICHAELWOOD FANTASTIC 4 stars
6/28/04 Laura It was a really cool movie. Adrian Grenier is hot! 4 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Formulaic but admittedly pleasing. 3 stars
1/27/03 leoni absolutely fantastic!!! 5 stars
12/04/02 Brittany Dune i wish they would have shown adrian Grenier naked and i mean the dick 5 stars
9/18/02 Jake Good cast and quite entertaining, I couldn't stop watching. 4 stars
8/25/02 Michael the Shark I came to post what a great movie this was, but I can't get past KOTB's hilarious review 5 stars
2/25/02 Tracy Frummond Melissa Joan Hart so lovely, she could even be beautiful taking a dump! 5 stars
2/04/02 Natalie Stonecipher Utterly mixed bag. Dee Vine most interesting char., Ali Larter most wasted cast member 3 stars
12/30/01 sarafina The movie lived up to its title.. it drove me crazy 1 stars
9/23/01 ron COOOL!!!!!!!! MOVIE I REALLY LOVE MELISSA JOAN HART!! 5 stars
8/17/01 R.P. hit by a car rules like getting fucked by a rhino's horn, it leaves you bleeding, but all in all satisfied. 5 stars
5/19/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! KOTB was screwing his sister when he should have watched this ultra mega awesome movie. 4 stars
5/14/01 Satan I would rather hang out with andy dick all night!! 5 stars
4/10/01 Gary I dislike Joan-Hart but this is still a charming teen flick. 4 stars
2/26/01 Chanel GREAT! but u should of put Mark Webber who played Dave in more scenes 'cause he is HOTT! 4 stars
1/26/01 jemma i loved it i thought it was great 5 stars
1/09/01 vicky it was totally awesome!!!!1 5 stars
12/19/00 Thrillhouse Get that damn Britney song outta my noggin! 3 stars
12/05/00 KIRSTIN LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/25/00 jennifer holden i luv adrien greiner he is SOOOOOOO HOTTTTTTTTTTTTT 5 stars
11/16/00 HIgh School Janitor Bob I love high school ! Can't wait to go back tomorrow 5 stars
9/15/00 jess it is a great movie 5 stars
8/03/00 YMohamed Good 5 stars
6/25/00 Andrew Lines Tottally fabulous. All the cast play to perfection. The two leads are great,ESPECIALLY MJH 5 stars
6/10/00 Richard Wright Humourless,predictable teen flick without an original moment in it. Far too many of these.. 1 stars
5/10/00 Steve Layne Predictable from the word go, but still somewhat entertaining. 3 stars
4/25/00 John Lyons Not bad considering the type. Didn't like Melissa, though. 4 stars
3/22/00 Booyah! A shame that the marketers inflicted a Britney song on it. 4 stars
2/17/00 sharleen great movie!!! i wanna see it again 5 stars
2/12/00 Lame-Oh Get that damn song out of my noggin! By the way, my belching act better than this hogwash. 2 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski After this horseshit, I was missing Melissa in her "Clariss Explains it All" days...tosh... 2 stars
10/29/99 Amy It was cute 4 stars
10/27/99 Lindsay I loved it! 5 stars
10/16/99 Jason Melissa Joan Hart to a total hottie (just look in Maxim) 5 stars
10/12/99 Sherry Good for anyone under 13. Otherwise... pretty crappy. 2 stars
10/10/99 Bobby I had gone in to see this movie and expect it to be pretty bad, but it was actually good. 5 stars
10/10/99 Lindsey I absolutely looooved this movie!! It was great!! Adrain Greiner is awesome too! Go see! 5 stars
10/01/99 Nelle It was definitly a chick-flick, and what happens would probably NEVER happen, but its good. 5 stars
10/01/99 C.A.T.M. Britney Spears has a gorgeous chest, but Melissa Joan Hart went to my high school. Bah! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Oct-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Feb-2000 (M)


Directed by
  John Schultz

Written by
  Rob Thomas
  Todd Strasser

Cast
  Melissa Joan Hart
  Adrian Grenier
  Kris Park



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast