More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.63

Awesome: 28.28%
Worth A Look35.35%
Average: 16.16%
Pretty Bad: 11.11%
Total Crap: 9.09%

9 reviews, 45 user ratings



Drive Me Crazy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"What? Britney's not in this movie? Shit!"
4 stars

A teen movie, but one that actually shows what jerks high school kids are, most of the time. It's Backstreet Boys soundtrack undersells it; it's actually quite intelligent and entertaining, when it's not being completely predictable.

With lumps of dog crap like "She's All That" and "10 Things I Hate About You" crowding our movie screens, it's easy to harken back to the glory days of John Hughes movies (No, NOT "Baby's Day Out") and remark, "They just don't make 'em like they used to. Where's my whiskey? Grandpa needs his medicine!" But what loveable ol' Grandpa fails to realize (aside from the fact that Grandma poisoned the whiskey on account of his messing around with that hussy Agnes next door) is that at the same time that Hughes was producing his classics, there was plenty of teen crap that we don't remember. Look at a video store shelf once in a while; "Mischief", "Meatballs 2", "Tomboy", "Hot Dog: The Movie", "We're Teens; Let's Us Have Some Sex" - all these movies were out the same time as "The Breakfast Club" and "Pretty in Pink". My point? There's always been good teen movies and lousy-ass teen movies. This is one of the good ones. Most of the time.

The exciting tale: Good-looking boy (Adrian Grenier)gets dumped by his girlfriend. Good-looking girl (Melissa Joan Hart) loses out on dating hunky basketball player. Big dance coming up. Let's go together, make the people we really want jealous, and feel absolutely no attraction towards each other. Should be a perfect plan.

The movie manages to move past its rather old plot by showing high school accurately; that is, as a seething cauldron of hellfire. Good-looking boy is one of the "misfits" (who boo at pep rallies and don't attend school dances) while good-looking girl is on the yearbook committee. The movie shows how difficult it is to escape the cliques that kids are lumped into almost immediately upon entry into high school, no matter how hard we try. One of the most sympathetic characters is "Designated Dave", a boy so eager to be accepted by the popular kids that he'll leave his friends so he can drive a drunken popular kid home. His growing resentment as good-looking boy moves into the popular crowd with little to no effort was well-portrayed.

There are few surprises in this movie; although the scene with good-looking girl and her father in the hot air balloon was very well done, and the Designated Dave storyline ends nicely - it has a Ducky in "Pretty in Pink" feeling to it. We know that they're going to fall in love, yeah, but it's nice to watch and it kills time. And it shows that the popular boys are drunken jerks and date rapists and that the good-looking girls should date nerds and weirdoes, which should make all us high school geeks happy, because dammit - we've known it for years.

See this movie if you can still remember the names of at least 5 people who picked on you in high school. It's like "Welcome to the Dollhouse" starring Jennifer Love Hewitt.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1557&reviewer=27
originally posted: 03/19/00 18:54:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/17/09 Shaun Wallner Great Film! 4 stars
4/25/06 bonet this the best movie ever!! has simplicity but can amazed you... 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor The teen movie era is slowly going down hill 1 stars
11/25/05 cr a very good teen flick with some class and true story how people lives change melissa fine 4 stars
7/15/05 love it has the most stupid ending i 've seen in long time! 2 stars
9/22/04 MICHAELWOOD FANTASTIC 4 stars
6/28/04 Laura It was a really cool movie. Adrian Grenier is hot! 4 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Formulaic but admittedly pleasing. 3 stars
1/27/03 leoni absolutely fantastic!!! 5 stars
12/04/02 Brittany Dune i wish they would have shown adrian Grenier naked and i mean the dick 5 stars
9/18/02 Jake Good cast and quite entertaining, I couldn't stop watching. 4 stars
8/25/02 Michael the Shark I came to post what a great movie this was, but I can't get past KOTB's hilarious review 5 stars
2/25/02 Tracy Frummond Melissa Joan Hart so lovely, she could even be beautiful taking a dump! 5 stars
2/04/02 Natalie Stonecipher Utterly mixed bag. Dee Vine most interesting char., Ali Larter most wasted cast member 3 stars
12/30/01 sarafina The movie lived up to its title.. it drove me crazy 1 stars
9/23/01 ron COOOL!!!!!!!! MOVIE I REALLY LOVE MELISSA JOAN HART!! 5 stars
8/17/01 R.P. hit by a car rules like getting fucked by a rhino's horn, it leaves you bleeding, but all in all satisfied. 5 stars
5/19/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! KOTB was screwing his sister when he should have watched this ultra mega awesome movie. 4 stars
5/14/01 Satan I would rather hang out with andy dick all night!! 5 stars
4/10/01 Gary I dislike Joan-Hart but this is still a charming teen flick. 4 stars
2/26/01 Chanel GREAT! but u should of put Mark Webber who played Dave in more scenes 'cause he is HOTT! 4 stars
1/26/01 jemma i loved it i thought it was great 5 stars
1/09/01 vicky it was totally awesome!!!!1 5 stars
12/19/00 Thrillhouse Get that damn Britney song outta my noggin! 3 stars
12/05/00 KIRSTIN LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/25/00 jennifer holden i luv adrien greiner he is SOOOOOOO HOTTTTTTTTTTTTT 5 stars
11/16/00 HIgh School Janitor Bob I love high school ! Can't wait to go back tomorrow 5 stars
9/15/00 jess it is a great movie 5 stars
8/03/00 YMohamed Good 5 stars
6/25/00 Andrew Lines Tottally fabulous. All the cast play to perfection. The two leads are great,ESPECIALLY MJH 5 stars
6/10/00 Richard Wright Humourless,predictable teen flick without an original moment in it. Far too many of these.. 1 stars
5/10/00 Steve Layne Predictable from the word go, but still somewhat entertaining. 3 stars
4/25/00 John Lyons Not bad considering the type. Didn't like Melissa, though. 4 stars
3/22/00 Booyah! A shame that the marketers inflicted a Britney song on it. 4 stars
2/17/00 sharleen great movie!!! i wanna see it again 5 stars
2/12/00 Lame-Oh Get that damn song out of my noggin! By the way, my belching act better than this hogwash. 2 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski After this horseshit, I was missing Melissa in her "Clariss Explains it All" days...tosh... 2 stars
10/29/99 Amy It was cute 4 stars
10/27/99 Lindsay I loved it! 5 stars
10/16/99 Jason Melissa Joan Hart to a total hottie (just look in Maxim) 5 stars
10/12/99 Sherry Good for anyone under 13. Otherwise... pretty crappy. 2 stars
10/10/99 Bobby I had gone in to see this movie and expect it to be pretty bad, but it was actually good. 5 stars
10/10/99 Lindsey I absolutely looooved this movie!! It was great!! Adrain Greiner is awesome too! Go see! 5 stars
10/01/99 Nelle It was definitly a chick-flick, and what happens would probably NEVER happen, but its good. 5 stars
10/01/99 C.A.T.M. Britney Spears has a gorgeous chest, but Melissa Joan Hart went to my high school. Bah! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Oct-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Feb-2000 (M)


Directed by
  John Schultz

Written by
  Rob Thomas
  Todd Strasser

Cast
  Melissa Joan Hart
  Adrian Grenier
  Kris Park



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast