More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.03

Awesome: 21.84%
Worth A Look: 13.79%
Average: 21.84%
Pretty Bad31.03%
Total Crap: 11.49%

3 reviews, 69 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

Aquaman by Rob Gonsalves

Man Who Killed Don Quixote, The by Peter Sobczynski

P Storm by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jawbreaker
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Empress of Ice

"Sugar, Spice, & Everything Nice? Not these bitches!"
3 stars

Tight clothes, hot chicks, a highschool setting - what isn't perfect about this movie's appeal to the largely growing marker that is the teenage movie-goer? Sure, it's a trite, hackneyed plot that aims at being the "Heathers" of the nineties but falls a bit short. However, as a grade-B film watched purely for mindless fun, without a belabored examination of plot or continuity, it's a whole lot of fun!

I picked this movie up as a lark - it was on sale for $3.99 and I thought, "it can't suck that bad, and if it does, well, at least it has Rose McGowan in tight fitting sweaters, mini skirts, and cleavage-exposing shirts." So my roomate and I sat down to watch it, armed with saltine crackers so that we would be able to deal with all the cheese that was sure to come our way, but we were pleasantly surprized. The thing about "Jawbreaker" is that you can't really think about it, or else it sucks. It's purely mindless entertainment, much along the lines of other '90s, 'aimed at teen' flicks - "She's all That" being the first to come to mind. "Jawbreaker" is fun - one of those movies that is so bad at times that it seems almost to be making fun of itself. Oh, and did I mention Rose McGowan in tight sweaters?
There is, of course, the whole plot issue. The movie begins with a voice-over, which, as a general rule, is something I can't stand - especially when it turns out to be _completely_ unneccessary. But who's talking here? Who is this omniscient woman who obviously has some weird obsession with the popular girls at her school? Cue the school nerd, complete with drab clothing, long, out-of-style hair. She's carrying books and stumbles, so she must be a geek. I mean, books? in school? so she studies? ew - what a freak! Next, we are treated to a view of color-coordinated high heels, as we pan up several sets of shapely legs to the "popular" girls. Far be it from me to comment, but I find it really amusing that not one of these women could possibly be younger than 25. I guess if you are pretty, it doesn't matter if you have to stay back a couple of years. I tell you this - if people at my highschool looked half as good as the students in this movie, I would have failed a few grades myself!
The reason I went into such detail in describing this opening sequence is that The. same. series. of. shots. of. the popular girls. walking. is repeated. about fifty times. throughout the movie. The rest of the movie should take about ten lines to sum up. It is one of the fab four's (TM - my roomate) birthdays, so the remaining three decide, hey! wouldn't it be a great idea to break into our friend's house, tie her up, and stick her in the (tiny) trunk of our hot convertable? Yeah, great plan says I - damn, why couldn't my friends in high school have been this cool? Gee, maybe because they had brains? I forgot the most important piece of info (like anyone cares) - to shut her up, they gag her. WITH A JAWBREAKER! Because Courtney (played by a wonderfully malicious Rose McGowan), AKA "Satan-in-heels", thought it would be funny. Anyhow, their friend gags on the jawbreaker, and dies. The girls decide to keep quiet about the whole death thing, and make it look like their friend was raped. Great friends, these girls. Wow! I don't know about you, but I never saw that one coming. Long story short - the nerdy girl, Fern (remember her from the opening scene?), finds out what happened - and the bitches offer her a chance to be popular if she keeps her mouth shut. Of course, she jumps at the chance to be popular! These girls are responsible for the murder of their best friend, but hey, they've got dates to the prom! The plot is completed with the one member of the group (Noxema girl Rebecca Gayheart) who wants to come clean and tell the police what happened. Of course, she is immediately ostracized! Much manipulation occurs, till the final showdown at, duh, the Prom! And does the truth ever come out? Does anyone care?
Pam Grier makes an altogether-too-short appearance as a suave detective - and might I suggest watching Foxy Brown or even Jackie Brown as opposed to this piece of colorful crap? So watch it for fun - but don't look for those basic movie contrivances such as a plot that makes sense or any sort of continuity from scene to scene. If you are trying to appeal to teenagers, I guess thought just isn't necessary. Whatever.
Rose Mcgowan's best role since playing 'Amy Blue' in Doom Generation may just make this film worth watching. She plays a wonderful bitch... Unfortunately, though, you really want to root for her - but the evil bitch, according to Hollywood, must die!

This movie requires little to no thought - it's ideal audience would be either 13-year-old males or persons with low IQs. Marilyn Manson as a low-life sleazy bar owner is perhaps the best part of this movie - but even he and Rose can't rescue this doomed vehicle. That's it! I want a 3 million dollar budget right now, cause I know I could come up with a better script. Hell, monkeys could come up with a better script!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1561&reviewer=174
originally posted: 11/14/99 13:33:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/01/10 Dane Youssef A poor man's Heathers. In fact, the poorest man's Heathers. A dying man's Heathers. AVOID. 1 stars
12/07/09 art JAWBREAKER is the best teen satire!,TAKE THAT MEAN GIRL"S! 4 stars
8/18/09 art SORY MEAN GIRL"S but YOU have TO TAKE A BACKSEAT TO JAWBREAKER! 3 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Very Boring! 2 stars
2/14/08 art a GRIM SATIRE OF HIGH SCHOOL CLIQUE"S 3 stars
7/21/07 fools♫gold Really? I can't really pick out any singular good moments from this (okay) flick. 4 stars
2/22/07 Beau typical teen girly movie, but had some good moments in it. 3 stars
11/24/05 cr sexy girls, good story, teenage revenge story what can l say 3 stars
9/27/05 Daveman Doesn't even attempt to be good, absolutely dreadful. 1 stars
7/27/05 tony it was wierd! and gay. 2 stars
6/05/05 rose's no1 fan i loved jawbreaker - rose mcgowen is brilliant 5 stars
2/25/05 dbx one of the worst films I have EVER seen 1 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams Gayheart looks like an alien, but it's all trashy fun 4 stars
1/25/04 Elena This film isnt meant to be literal; it is symbolic; that's why it's also timeless in style 4 stars
12/10/03 Samuel Great-looking cast and a decent enough story...I liked it! 3 stars
8/31/03 Megan ? what is the song that plays at the very begining of the movie.email frozen_embers@hotmail 5 stars
12/13/02 Brittany Erickson This movie is awesome because it is funny and stars Marilyn Manson 5 stars
9/26/02 snowconehead Rose McGowan's best role, Rebecca Gayheart is a child-killer 5 stars
5/19/02 fi0na this movie sucked ass, but manson was a sexxx fiend and thats what I like ;-) 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake Rose McGowan's work is great in this film. 5 stars
3/07/02 Amber Learn it, live it, love it 5 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress OK, but woulda been better had they recast the thing, particularly Gayheart. 2 pop culture. 4 stars
2/06/02 Devin I loved this movie! I thought it was upbeat, had cool, dark humor, and well acted! 5 stars
2/03/02 Andrew Carden Goofy Plot, but It Was A Watchable Little Chick Flick, and Nothing More. 3 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty Most underrared movie ever. Rebecca Gayheart, Judy Greer, Rose McGowan all superb 5 stars
7/15/01 Basil Guilty pleasure. 5 stars
6/21/01 MIKE rocked my world 5 stars
6/10/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker More funny than mean, though pretty sick. And an excellent dialogue with great quotes 4 stars
4/29/01 Erika K i like it! 5 stars
3/30/01 Rampage sooo boring, hated it so much, it sucked 1 stars
2/11/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Well, I for one thought it wasn't all bad...did I see the same movie?? 4 stars
12/12/00 Ground Zero terribly bad, makes Boston Public look like Caitlin's Way 2 stars
11/13/00 Stuntman this was a waste of time 2 stars
11/01/00 Damion Cain This movie blows. If you haven't seen it, don't! (manson rules though) 1 stars
8/30/00 Bender One-Note, but watchable. 3 stars
8/11/00 JKM I thought it was just okay 4 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus McGowan is a no-skill llama, Manson is a crone-done dickhead 1 stars
7/13/00 Tom Very campy. The Donnas are the cool band at the prom. 4 stars
5/01/00 Steve Layne A little entertaining, but it drags too often. 3 stars
4/30/00 toneely This movie is so much fun to watch.....loved it 5 stars
4/27/00 Pansy highly illogical and stupid movie 2 stars
4/24/00 Ryan I loved it... it did have a cult feeling in it... it was very smart anf funny.. 5 stars
2/29/00 Mr. Kramitall I've seen better acting and better direction on Melrose Place 2 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Oh, good God...stop frying your brains looking for DEPTH!!! ENJOY, for a change!!! 5 stars
1/03/00 Lindsey I thought this was kinda a good, unique movie. It was different, so I liked it! 4 stars
10/14/99 Lame-Oh Gayheart used to be the cool-ass actress... now it's back to Judge Judy 2 stars
7/30/99 Thantalos I havent seen dialog this bad since gradeschool 1 stars
7/26/99 K. it was pretty good. 4 stars
6/20/99 Movie Freek can we say Heathers wanna-be? I've seen more creative things in the toliet. 1 stars
6/06/99 deana lorenzelli it was areally good black comedy, and rose mcgowans role that she played really suited her! 5 stars
6/06/99 Belinda Bell I loved it, it was great!! 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo HEATHERS was so fucking better than this piece of shit. Sorry Rose, I still love you. 2 stars
4/09/99 Wendy It kicked ass! 3 stars
4/08/99 Daun Harner It wasn't THAT bad. 4 stars
4/02/99 The Incredible Sulk Clueless meets Heathers on crack... Manson can bite my collective butt, that bastard! 2 stars
3/29/99 jvt Step above VARSITY BLUES, but by no means memorable 2 stars
3/27/99 El Dorko sucked 2 stars
3/21/99 Monky I am really tired of seeing near 30 Rebecca Gayheart playing a highschool girl. 3 stars
3/14/99 Dharma Just recalling the memory of this movie is enough to make me sick. 5 stars
3/10/99 Oggy Weak! 2 stars
3/08/99 CanadianChica come on, Manson sucks ass...other than that it was good. 3 stars
3/08/99 Tammy I loved this movie because it was a mix of Clueless and Heathers and cause Manson is in it 5 stars
3/06/99 Mike Rotch The review was right. Movie totally sucked. Manson sucks! 2 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz Enough eye-candy to distract most "been there done that" viewers. 3 stars
3/01/99 Reyna This movie shows how teens really deal with life. We don't take everything seriously. 5 stars
2/25/99 Viral Messiah Damn you and your movie. Also Marilyn Manson. Asshole. 2 stars
2/24/99 mochacchino it really sucked the big one! 1 stars
2/24/99 cheryl_ann the only redeeming value was the donnas. although i have no idea how they got in this movie 2 stars
2/23/99 Shanandler Bong It was okay. I like crappy teen-angst flicks, and it had a tiny Indie style. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Feb-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Jun-1999


Directed by
  Darren Stein

Written by
  Darren Stein

Cast
  Rose McGowan
  Rebecca Gayheart
  Pam Grier
  Chad Christ
  Julie Benz
  Marilyn Manson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast