More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.14

Awesome: 9.89%
Worth A Look: 7.69%
Average: 6.59%
Pretty Bad38.46%
Total Crap: 37.36%

9 reviews, 37 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Reaping, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Lybarger

"Even the Egyptians didn't deserve a plague like this."
1 stars

The most striking image in “The Reaping” is a repeated shot of unusual looking wind chimes blowing in the breeze. By continually panning his camera to the chimes, director Stephen Hopkins (“The Ghost and the Darkness”) unknowingly admits that the rest of his movie isn’t worth watching.

“The Reaping” is a supernatural snoozer that owes an overwhelming debt to scarier movies like “The Exorcist” and “Rosemary’s Baby.” At times, screenwriters Carey and Chad Hayes appear to be plagiarizing the page numbers from the previous scripts.

Two-time Oscar winner Hilary Swank picks up some extra grocery money by playing Katherine Winter, a former pastor who has now devoted her life to debunking bogus miracles.

A science teacher (David Morrissey) from a small Louisiana town requests her services because the local river has turned into a liquid that resembles blood. We know Morrissey is British in real life because he’s the only actor in the film who tries a bayou accent. Needless to say, it’s unconvincing.

Because of a ghastly recent murder the town has been afflicted with the same plagues that are described in Exodus. It’s obvious the plagues are supposed to be real because having them be the result of human endeavor would negate all the producers spent of special effects. Besides, the only time fictional stories reveal that supernatural events are phony is in “Scooby Doo” episodes.

All the other clichés are out in full force. Katherine has an African-American sidekick (Idris Elba) whose death is practically faxed to audiences ahead of time. There’s also a creepy little girl (AnnaSophia Robb) who looks like she lost the auditions for “The Ring.”

All of this might have been forgiven if the plagues themselves were suitably imposing. Year after year people ignore the clunky dialogue in “The Ten Commandments” because director Cecil B. DeMille knew that audiences want eye candy that genuinely awes.

Hopkin’s visuals are curiously both heavy handed and anemic. When the frog plague comes into being, only a half dozen rubber amphibians plop from the trees. The music starts blaring as if to make up for how wimpy the plague looks. Where are the frogs from “Magnolia” when we need them?

I will give the filmmakers credit for continuing their efforts after Hurricanes Katrina and Rita hit. Doing so helped the Louisiana economy. Unfortunately, the filmmakers chose to release a film that deals with religious issues in a tawdry manner on the same week as Passover and Easter. Because “The Reaping” fails to address some important questions of faith and offers no thrills to speak of, it is entitled to no charity at the box office.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15612&reviewer=382
originally posted: 04/05/07 23:01:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/17/17 brian Rational explanations don't mean God didn't do it. But He didn't do THIS. 3 stars
9/14/17 morris campbell no bad 3 stars
1/01/10 art CARRIE PLUS ROSEMARY"S BABY EQUAL"S A RIP OFF! 1 stars
12/04/09 art IT"S CARRIE MEETS ROSEMARY"S BABY!,EXCELLENT! 4 stars
9/30/09 matt this movie made absolutely no sense 1 stars
7/15/09 art AN EXCELLENT CHRISTIAN THEMED THRILLER! 5 stars
6/10/09 CTT Predictable, lowbrow horror 2 stars
10/02/08 Rene I liked the movie, you should think before you act! 5 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner Great Horror film!! 5 stars
6/15/08 PAUL SHORTT AN INSULT TO INTELLIGENCE AND FAITH ALIKE 3 stars
5/03/08 Patrice Liked the movie..loved the windchimes. How can I get one? 5 stars
4/11/08 Holli I'm trying to find the whale wind chime..loved the movie. 5 stars
11/11/07 Suze Love the wind chimes! Not the best movie I've seen but effective for what it was. 4 stars
10/29/07 Pam Enjoyed the movie- very creepy- cool old house & I want the fulgurite chimes. 4 stars
10/23/07 Daniel found it to be spiritually conflicting and the science of it was aloofing 4 stars
10/20/07 David L. Stone I WANT TO KNOW WHERE I CAN GET THE WIND CHIME!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/20/07 action movie fan could have been better steals too much from the ten commandments--weak movie 2 stars
10/18/07 Pamela The chimes are made of FULGURITES and prisms. You have to make them yourself. 4 stars
10/16/07 Beau Pretty freaky if your religious! its a dark develish film which really scared me, spiritual 3 stars
10/10/07 L Cole Movie sucked.Llooking to buy wind chimes also.Not found on ebay. Any suggestions? 1 stars
9/24/07 Hey Amanda! Amanda, the chimes are made of Fulgurite. You can buy it on ebay. 4 stars
6/19/07 Valerie Carmichael Yep, Stephanie, Hilary Swan could make taking a dump a class act, but THIS is STILL garbage 1 stars
6/14/07 Vincent Ebriega B-apocalypse film that didn't scare me that much, but it's tolerable and watchable. 3.5/5 3 stars
6/09/07 Stephanie Throckmorton What to say?? - Hilary Swank can be a class act even when given garbage to work with. 1 stars
6/08/07 Ruby Spinel Was Lauren an angel or a demon? Never mind - she isn't credible as either! 1 stars
5/17/07 Lane It was much better than I had expected. Wind chimes, where can I get? Please tell me. tks 5 stars
5/06/07 topebrown7 The movie was a seious dissapointment can't believe i spent over an hour of my life 1 stars
4/30/07 i don't like you america sucks, religion sucks, and you're all fucking idiots! 1 stars
4/28/07 Jennifer best part of that movie was the chimes, second on wanting to know where to get those chimes 1 stars
4/26/07 Amanda I WANT TO KNOW WHERE I CAN GET THE WIND CHIME!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/23/07 Kylekylester FX are pretty good, script's got the right dose of smartness & reflection; effective scares 3 stars
4/22/07 victoria i really didint like it and some parts i didnt understand , like why kill the girl? 2 stars
4/19/07 The Critic This movie was good this article over exagerates and the author should be shot 5 stars
4/13/07 Douglas movie is weak.But there are many scientists who are ministers 2 stars
4/10/07 Ole Man Bourbon Michael Bay's "The Exorcist." 1 stars
4/08/07 Meagan I liked it for the most part... 4 stars
4/07/07 the wizz um...wow... what a terrible way to spend a movie budget! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Apr-2007 (R)
  DVD: 16-Oct-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Apr-2007


Directed by
  Stephen Hopkins

Written by
  Chad Hayes
  Carey W. Hayes

Cast
  Hilary Swank
  David Morrissey
  Idris Elba
  Annasophia Robb



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast