More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.48

Awesome: 13.64%
Worth A Look: 15.15%
Average: 13.64%
Pretty Bad: 21.21%
Total Crap36.36%

2 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Rage: Carrie 2, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"What a big long drama with almost no payoff!"
1 stars

OK, OK, I rented the damn thing, so I get what I deserve, right? I just didn't expect it to be so damn boring! You could edit out the first 45 minutes and it would still be too long. Someone apparently forgot to tell director Katt Shea she was working on a horror movie. It doesn't offer much in the scares department, but it was a damn good after-school special!

Poor Rachel. She's unpopular and she has fair skin with dark hair. (Never a good combination in high school apparently.) So things seem pretty OK for her, going to high school and living with foster parents. Her real Mom is a nut, you see, and was carted off to the loony bin one night when Rachel was real little. It was a loopy scene, trust me. Enter Jesse, a teenager who is as handsome is he is 30. He flirts, she comes out of the shell I guess she was supposed to have, but they forgot to mention it earlier. Then the hot young sweetie from American Beauty flings herself off the roof of the school, and we begin the long road to "Who will die at the end?"

Emily Bergl plays Rachel, and she's not too bad, although you must realize all she has to do is look pale and unhappy. Jason London has the blank stare down pat, and he plays Jesse all non-conformist and earnest, so you just know it's all bullshit. Guess what? Amy Irving shows up to reprise her role as SUE SNELL! She's a high-school guidance counsellor now, apparently just waiting around for another telekentic psycho to show up.

I think this one might have fared a little better if it separated itself from the original Carrie. Without the flashbacks and silly references to Carrie White, I might have bought it a little more. Granted, they could have called it "Free Head!" and I don't think I'd have liked it. There's just waaaaaaaaay to much superfluous crap about Rachel and Jesse, Rachel and SUE SNELL!, Rachel weeping about the dead American Beauty girl, Rachel getting slapped by her step-daddy, Rachel finally getting down and dirty with the stud Jesse. Blah blah blah.

Then we get to the big carnage-filled ending. (Hey, just like that movie Carrie!) My life seems a little brighter as craniums get impaled with fireplace pokers, and those whiny teen teases get their throats slit with some flying CDs. Ah, yes. This is what I want. Thirty seconds later, the credits roll. You were warned.

A few references to a better horror movie and one bloody-mayhem scene do NOT a horror movie make. You want character development and the three-act structure? HA! To those horror devotees who realize the goods when they see it, skip this one entirely, except for maybe the last ten minutes. Drama belongs on stage, not in my horror sequels.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1567&reviewer=128
originally posted: 11/28/99 11:34:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/19/11 moose rapper Better then I expected, but now even close to the original book/movie 3 stars
3/08/09 Amy I loved this movie ,and the school it was filmed at was near me ! I thought she was bad ass 5 stars
7/31/07 Bitchflaps Decent at first, but gets less and less watchable as it progresses. 2 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini HORRIBLE, ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE 1 stars
5/21/05 Dr. Lecter Watching this abomination causes cancer 1 stars
2/24/05 Cody not as the first, but cool special effects and character! party scene is awesome! 3 stars
5/04/04 Whatevr A 100 megaton bomb 1 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt MUCH better than the crappy original and highly underrated. Bergl is very likable and cute. 5 stars
4/06/04 Mr X I nearly went blind watching this movie 1 stars
3/31/04 American Slasher Goddess Watchable stuff. 3 stars
2/26/04 authea graham can you send me a screensaver of the rage :carrie 2 5 stars
11/12/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) My Sister went to Grinnell(sp) College with Bergl. She was a whore and still is. This SUX!! 1 stars
9/28/03 Kyle It's "okay" but how anyone could think it supasses the original is beyond me! 3 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus way better than the first, except on cable! I HATE CENSORS!!!! 4 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Very good sequel to Carrie! This one is very underrated! 4 stars
6/08/03 Hottie bad but not totaly 2 stars
5/19/03 Stacy it was good at the end when Rachel goes mad. 4 stars
4/25/03 Jack Sommersby Underrated sequel surpasses the original. Well-made and tension-filled. 4 stars
2/02/03 scott SUCKS 1 stars
11/21/02 fxfsdfs . Monica's glasses shatter and the broken pieces slit her eyes.She turns in pain ,falls 4 stars
11/09/02 sChLiK Woke up 2 find this on tv,bout 30 mins in,ez2 folow,ez2 pick up,perfect fri nite chill film 5 stars
10/20/02 Charles Tatum Actually, a sequel that works 4 stars
3/13/02 Jenny Tullwartz A more pointless and disappointing sequel could scarcely be imagined. 1 stars
1/20/02 anna batt this movie sucks 1 stars
12/17/01 Andrew Carden Slow Movie, but Great Ending...but Dull Performances. 3 stars
12/10/01 x x 4 stars
11/24/01 Wladzimir Tak, na prawo! 3 stars
6/03/01 Thrillhouse I agree with you, TAJ! It's suck-tacular! 1 stars
5/23/01 Erik North An okay film--but a disappointment compared to the original 3 stars
4/05/01 Jeff You'll really hate the ending if you're a guy 4 stars
2/28/01 jo I thought Zachery Bryan was good in the movie. 4 stars
9/12/00 Ground Zero almost as bad as watchin a badly done The Outer Limits episode 1 stars
7/21/00 Elvisfan liked Jason London, rest was forgettable 2 stars
7/13/00 Tom Emily Bergl gave a strong performance. The film is average. 3 stars
5/01/00 Cheeseboy Really boring! No body never get killed until at the end of the movie. 1 stars
4/29/00 Negative Norm please burn all copies of this tepid uninspired dreck! 2 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Your basic sequel. It's sad, cuz the damn thing had the pretense of potential. 2 stars
12/16/99 Gary Durso eeeeh....kinda freaky......a bit to lame. 2 stars
11/29/99 The King of the Bros Angry Jew is right. Rent this and FF to the last ten minutes. 1 stars
11/28/99 Joel Harwood FUCKING Awsome 5 stars
10/24/99 Lame-Oh the second one makes the first movie look like Psi Factor 2 stars
10/24/99 Jennie Miller I think The Rage: Carrie 2 is alot better than the first one 5 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey crap 2 stars
4/12/99 Technorama Screwed up crap! Bad acting, trashy script, ridiculous movie ever. 2 stars
4/05/99 Stephanie Original, GREAT acting, a must see. And I'm a Carrie 1 purist! 5 stars
4/02/99 The Incredible Sulk Hey Thanatos, you're right. 2 stars
4/01/99 Thanatos There's enough blood and guts in this movie to last any deranged psycho a week...at least!! 5 stars
3/27/99 El Dorko Ah, telekinesis... ah, forget it... 2 stars
3/20/99 Dee Dee Hey Mr. Showbiz, you're right. What a turd movie. 2 stars
3/17/99 Mr Showbiz Sexploitation director Shea takes entirely the wrong approach to the trashy script. 2 stars
3/17/99 Becky better than sitting home on a Friday night 3 stars
3/15/99 Felicia I loved it, I mean it's not as great as the original but it's great 5 stars
3/15/99 CYaniDERuSH A rather slow begining, but the second half of the movie is way worth it! FUCKED UP SHIT! 4 stars
3/10/99 Oggy This movie is Matilda on crack. Come up with some shit cast and FX 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Mar-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Jul-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast